PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Moan and Dove - Amherst, MA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 31, 2014 @ 10:52 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MA > Amherst > Moan and Dove
Moan and Dove Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Moan and Dove
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85.8 / 100
460 West Street
(Route 116 North)
Amherst, MA 01002
United States
(413) 256-1710
Listed Since: May 2003
Last Updated: February 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Amherst, MA
Beer Guide for Massachusetts

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Moan and Dove
13 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 01:00PM - 01:00AM
Mon 03:00PM - 01:00AM
Tue 03:00PM - 01:00AM
Wed 03:00PM - 01:00AM
Thu 03:00PM - 01:00AM
Fri 03:00PM - 01:00AM
Sat 01:00PM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Amherst Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Old Amherst Ale House
(0 mile)

3) Spoke
(0 mile)

4) Cerveceria Centro Americana S.A.
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Allen House Victorian Inn
2) Amity House
3) Black Walnut Inn
4) Delta Organic Farm-B & B & Ctr
5) Emily's Amherst B & B
6) Ingate Farms Stables
7) Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
8) Parsonage Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) UNIVERSITY LODGE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Amherst West Cemetery
2) Conkey-Stevens House
3) Dickinson, Emily, House
4) Goodwin Memorial African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church
5) Pelham Town Hall Historic District
6) Pelham Town Hall Historic District
7) Strong House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amber Waves Far East
2) Amherst Chinese Foods
3) Amherst Crepes
4) Amherst Restaurant Enterprises
5) Andiamo
6) Anita's Bakery & Restaurant
7) Athena's Pizza
8) Barsie's
9) Ben & Jerry's
10) Black Sheep Deli
11) Charlie's
12) Chezalbert
13) Chicago Pizza
14) Fatzo's
15) J & L Caterers Inc
16) J & L Caters At Hickory Ridge
17) Java Hut
18) Karen's Kitchen
19) Lone Wolf
20) Loose Goose Cafe
21) Mc Murphy's Uptown Tavern
22) Michael's Billiards & Sports
23) Monkey Catering
24) Nancy Jane's All Occasions
25) Pengyew Catering
26) Pirmo Pizzeria Too
27) Portabella Catering
28) Russell Hall T Pub
29) Starbucks
30) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
31) Thirsty Mind Coffee House
32) University Catering
33) Via Via Cafe Of Amherst
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Half the bartenders are cool, the other half are snotty. I was served two beers and shut off while a regular next to me drank six beers in the same amount of time and was wasted for certain. Females were also served much more than males (the bartenders were male). Partialness was certainly exhibited.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ware, MA
(01/25/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Was looking forward to a stop here as my first experience, as great as it was, didn't last long enough. Arrived disappointed due to their ad in Yankee Brew News that said "noon 'til 1 am every day". Definitely my fault for not calling, but guys, how about proofreading the ads for your pub before they go to print? Hope to see you next time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
You know it's gonna be good when you the see the shelves of appropriate glassware for each individual tap. this is a beer place for beer people. incredible diverse high call selection, lots to try and even more to enjoy. heaps of comp peanuts keep you busy, and atmosphere is conducive to enjoying the quality brews:dark, woody, but open. a rare gem in the ct. river valley. definitely worth the visit when in area. there is no kitchen though, but they allow you to bring your own grub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jess Jess, new haven, CT
(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
As if the blackboard listing the Moan & Dove's diverse draft selection (including some great offerings from Anderson Valley, Bear Republic, Rogue, Allagash and McNeill's) and its two page bottle list (featuring a great many fine Belgians, West Coast "Hop Monsters" and several others) were not enough of an indication of this bar's dedication to the fruit of the barley, the television was not even tuned into the Yankees/Red Sox game! Now these guys mean business! Excellent service only capped off what was a great beer drinking afternoon. I only wish I could get back the time we wasted at the Amherst Brewing Company downtown and spent it here. Live and learn... p.s. The Yankees won.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(07/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This place is great! On my next trip through, I'll start here rather than only have time for one or two. It's small in size, but big in selection and quality. Lots of old favorites on draught and in bottles and some new "old favorites" too. The Bear Republic Hop Rod Rye is superb! Please send your product to PA (if anyone is listening)! Check out the hours--a little funky; 3PM opening many days, but it's worth the wait and it's worth a trip!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was my hang out throughout my final years at Umass, and it was the type of bar that not only brought in college students, a variety of people of all ages from all the local communties stopped in. It's an incredible bar with a staff that rocks. The beer is the best selection in the area. :)And the atmosphere is chill with great music.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review springfield, MA
(04/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I was at first a bit skeptical when the Old Amherst Ale House was sold to make way for the Moan and Dove; the Ale House had been the local watering hole for over ten years and did a pretty good job of supplying a homey, quality-selection haunt without the college frat presence. Well, I didn't know what I was missing- The Moan and Dove is under the ownership of Dan Lanigan, a real sharp guy who's transformed the place into an even more welcoming tavern with an artist's flair and a beer list that blows away anything I've ever seen. The atmosphere is relaxed and unspoiled by blaring televisions...the decor has been simplified with a tasteful eye... the music is coolsville and the too-salty popcorn has been replaced by a peanut barrel... I'm glad to say my reservations were proved unwarranted! Great place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Longey Dave Longey, Amherst, MA
(06/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I have dreams about this place

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rudy, South Hadley, MA
(03/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
If you have a taste for beer, this is the place to be! Simple atmosphere but the quantity of quality brews and the people here make up for it. (See other reviews for additional info.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Springfield, MA
(03/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great
This is a great bar for the beer lover or someone who is looking for a low-key place to grab a pint. The guys and girls behind the bar are some of the nicest people I have ever met. If you want to learn more about beer this is the place to go. But watch out for a patron who goes by the name Kells.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Nate Goddard, So Deerfield, MA
(03/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
only serious beer bar in western mass

20 drafts, 3 casks, 180 bottles-

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from daniel daniel, amherst, ma
(01/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Formerly the Old Amherst Ale House, completely redecorated and with new ownership and a rejuvenated attitude. There are now 20 taps and two casks, with a third on the way. Extensive bottles, especially Belgians (also one on tap). One cask from MacNeill's of Brattleboro, excellent. The other two will be imports--I'm skeptical about these being reasonably fresh, but we'll see. What I really like about the beer selection is that the easy choices people tend to fall back on are missing--no Bass, Sam Adams, or BudMillerCoors. (PBR on tap, and Schlitz and Schaeffer in cans!) Guinness, of course, another import or two, and a broad selection of micros, most rare in these parts. A small but varied choice of Scotches. The TV is always off, and the music is usually kept to a comfortable converstional level. The decor is simple, warm colors, with rotating art on the walls. The only food currently available is burritos, chicken or bean, but a planned expansion will include a proper kitchen. This is now the beer mecca of western Massachusetts. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Tattie Heid Mr. Tattie Heid, Springfield, MA
(01/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Belgians and micros on tap- no AB/Miller/Coors products served! Food operation sketchy as of Jan 2003 but promises to improve in the future. No smoking any reasonably quiet atmosphere is a welcome change from the old regime.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from CB Rollins CB Rollins, South Amherst, MA
(01/14/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.787 seconds) 10:52:45 54.161.155.142, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS