PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Split Crow Pub - Halifax, NS
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 19, 2014 @ 05:11 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NS > Halifax > Split Crow Pub
Split Crow Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Split Crow Pub
1855 Granville Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1Y1
Canada
(902) 422-4366
Listed Since: June 2003
Last Updated: March 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for Nova Scotia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Split Crow Pub
2 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Granite Brewery
(0 mile)

2) John Shippey's Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Rogue's Roost
(0 mile)

4) O'Carroll's Restaurant and Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Maxwell's Plum English Pub
(0 mile)

6) Hart and Thistle Gastropub and Brewery
(0 mile)

7) Garrison Brewing Company
(1 mile)

8) Propeller Brewing Company
(1 mile)

9) Maritime Beer Company
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYVIEW MOTOR INN
2) BURNSIDE HOTEL
3) CAMBRIDGE SUITES HOTEL
4) CASINO NOVA SCOTIA HOTEL
5) COASTAL INN CONCORDE
6) COMFORT INN DARTMOUTH
7) COUNTRY INN STES DARTMOUTH
8) DELTA BARRINGTON
9) FOUR POINTS BY SHERATON
10) FUTURE INNS DARTMOUTH
11) HALLIBURTON HOUSE INN
12) HOWARD JOHNSON SUITES HOTEL
13) LORD NELSON HOTEL
14) PARK PLACE RAMADA PLAZA HOTEL
15) PRINCE GEORGE HOTEL
16) QUALITY INN DARTMOUTH
17) RADISSON SUITE HOTEL HALIFAX
18) THE WESTIN NOVA SCOTIAN
19) WAVERLEY INN
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Restaurant
2) A Taste Of India Foods Inc
3) Advanced Rejuvenation Medi - Spa
4) AM Aloha
5) Blockbuster
6) Blockbuster
7) Blockbuster Video Canada Inc
8) Blowers St Paperchase Cafe
9) Bluenose II Restaurant
10) Brothers Meats & Delicatessen Ltd
11) C&s Auto Limited
12) Chabaa Thai Restaurant
13) China Classic Restaurant (1998) Ltd
14) Chives Canadian Bistro
15) Commons Inn
16) da Maurizio Dining Room
17) Darrell's Restaurant
18) Deli Green Bakery & Catering
19) Dino's 2 for 1 Pizza
20) G & D Catering Services
21) Gigantic Video
22) Great Wall Restaurant The
23) Halifax Club
24) I Love Sushi Japanese Restaurant Inc
25) Italian Gourmet
26) J I T Information Systems - Image Group Inc
27) J I T Information Systems Image Group
28) J J Korean Oriental Foods
29) Jean's Chinese Restaurant
30) Julienne's Catering
31) Just New Release Video
32) La Perla Dining Room
33) Landmark Catering
34) Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
35) Michael's Bar & Grill
36) Mongolie Grill The
37) Mr Changs Chinese Food Emporium
38) Nectar Social House
39) NL Jungle Pets Store
40) Old Triangle Irish Ale House The
41) Park Lane
42) Pathfinder Group - Thompson A B Assoc
43) Peter's Pizzeria
44) Petrie's Halifax Feast Dinner Theatre
45) Piccolo Mondo
46) Quinpool Circle K
47) Residence Inn By Marriott
48) Ristorante A Mano
49) Robie Street Circle K
50) Showtime Video & Variety
51) Silver Dragon Restaurant
52) Smith's Bakery & Cafe (Est 1932)
53) Sore Spots Massage Therapy
54) Split Crow
55) St Mary's Boat Club (Apr-Nov)
56) The Press Gang
57) Tomavino's Cellar Ristorante
58) Toulany's Bash Fine Food
59) Triple A Convenience
60) Turkish Delight Restaurant
61) Velos Pizza
62) Video Difference Ltd
63) Viva's Cafe Grill & Pizza
64) Walker's Gas & Electric Ltd
65) Wok Box
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
The Split Crow is a dive.

I will, of course, qualify that statement. To begin, the beer selection is... well, not really much of a selection at all. To give you an idea, when I asked the server what stouts were on tap, he replied "uh.... Keith's Red?" This isn't a problem if you just want to pound back stale Keith's IPA all day long, of course. Even then, however, the beer isn't served in a proper beer mug, as it would be in a proper bar.

If you do need to visit the Split Crow, I wouldn't advise staying there for long, and here's why. The men's bathroom consists of two urinals, two toilets, and two sinks squeezed into a very small area in the basement. This becomes a real issue when the bar fills up to the brim with people (as it often does) - every time I've been there, there has been so much urine on the floor that it has spilled out into the hallway. The toilets are usually clogged, too.

As for the food, since there is no real kitchen in the bar, it is all just deep-fried finger food, such as deep-fried pepperoni and mozza sticks. It's loaded with salt and grease, and not even good by the standards of pub food.

Despite all of the aforementioned issues with the Split Crow, the poor quality of the staff is really what has made me decide to never go there again. In addition to a general attitude problem that they all seem to have, at least one of the door staff looks for excuses to get into brawls with customers. Because one of my friends got into a verbal argument with the other door staffer because he wouldn't let him back in to retrieve his jacket, the violent one (whom no one was even talking to) came over, kicked my friend out, and actually started swinging at us outside the bar. The door staffer in question is a short, bald, white man. He eventually backed down when he realized that there were eight of us, but the fact that the Split Crow employs door staff who are actively looking for a fight is enough to

Overall, this is the second-worst bar to which I have ever been. In the worst, it was common for people to snort cocaine off the tables, and it was unusual for a Friday to pass without the ambulance showing up to tend to a stab victim.

The good thing about Halifax is that there are many, many other bars from which to choose. I highly recommend bars such as The Foggy Goggle, The Red Stag, the Lower Deck, and, best of all, the Henry House.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fredericton, NB
(01/06/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Just around the corner from O'Carroll's (see my reveiw), the Split Crow is located in the Historic Properties area on the pedestrianized Granville Street, at the sign of the two-headed ("split") crow sits this convivial martitime-themed establishment. According to them, Brewer John Shippey opened a tavern by the same name 250 years ago; in any case, this pub claims some history to it, though not this particular location.

That said, it is a split-level pub with a dining area and bar complete with outdoor seatings that is a nice place to hang out on a nice day. Great people watching and beer drinking.

The beer selection consists of domestic (the ubiquitous Alexander Keith's), import (Guinness), micro (Halifax's own Garrison) and several taps of John Shippey ales (IPA, Amber, Red, etc.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(11/03/2007)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.254 seconds) 05:11:00 54.92.236.20, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS