PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Tap Brew Pub - Haverhill, MA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 20, 2014 @ 01:08 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MA > Haverhill > The Tap Brew Pub
The Tap Brew Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
The Tap Brew Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 79.1 / 100
100 Washington Street
Haverhill, MA 01832
United States
(978) 374-1117
Listed Since: June 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Haverhill, MA
Beer Guide for Massachusetts

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
13 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Mon CLOSED
Tue 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Sat 11:30AM - 10:00PM

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN MERRIMACK VALLEY
2) COMFORT SUITES HAVERHILL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abbot-Baker House
2) Atkinson Academy School
3) Buswell, J.E., House
4) Daddy Frye's Hill Cemetery
5) Dolan, Terence, House
6) Dustin House
7) Emerson House
8) Emerson, Capt. Oliver, Homestead
9) Emmons, G.B., House
10) First Baptist Church
11) First Church Congregational
12) Hardy, Urias, House
13) House 15--19 Park Street
14) House at 10 Park Street
15) House at 113--115 Center Street
16) House at 13 Annis Street
17) House at 23 East Street
18) House at 306 Broadway
19) House at 4 Birch Avenue
20) House at 491 Prospect Street
21) House at 50 Pelham Street
22) House at 526 Prospect Street
23) House at 9 Park Street
24) Intervale Factory
25) Johnson House
26) Lawrence Street Cemetery
27) Methuen Memorial Music Hall
28) Nevins Memorial Library
29) Nevins, Henry C., Home for Aged and Incurables
30) Park Lodge
31) Peabody School
32) Perkins, Joseph, House
33) Plaistow Carhouse
34) Primrose Street Schoolhouse
35) School Street School
36) Searles High School
37) Simpson, James E., House
38) Swan, Asie, House
39) Tenny Castle Gatehouse
40) Turnpike House
41) Waldo, George A., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 99 Restaurant & Pub
2) Anthony's Marketplace
3) Athen's Pizza & Subs
4) Benedetti's Deli
5) Benny's Food & Spirits
6) Bickford's Family Restaurant
7) Bickford's Family Restaurant
8) Bistro 45
9) Broadway Caterers
10) Burger King
11) Burke's Old Fashion Ice Cream
12) Cafe' 97
13) Cheerleaders Sports Bar
14) Chicken Connection
15) Chit Chat Lounge
16) Corporate Chef's Inc
17) Country Kettle
18) D'angelo's
19) England's Micro Creamery
20) Friendly's Restaurant
21) Galley Seafoods
22) Heathers Cafe & Catering
23) Hilldale Pizza & Subs
24) J J's Kabob & Pizzeria
25) Jackson Sandwich & Variety
26) Johnny's
27) Lantern Cafe
28) Lasting Room
29) Lindsay Rose Catering
30) Mandarin Buffet
31) Mangu Restaurant
32) Mark's Deli
33) Mc Donald's
34) Mc Donald's
35) Oriental Garden
36) Papa Gino's
37) Papa Gino's
38) Pat's Function Halls
39) Pizza Place
40) Pizzeria Eros
41) Pizzeria Uno
42) Scovotci's Deli & Market
43) Taco Bell
44) Tacos Lupita
45) Tap Brew Pub & Restaurant
46) Telly's Pizza
47) Toody's Of Haverhill
48) Victoriana Catering
49) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I've been to The Tap a few times in the late summer and early Fall of 2007 and was never disappointed by the beer or the food.

There's plenty of parking in back of the building and there is on street parking as well.

During the warm weather they have a large patio area out back which overlooks the Merrimac River.

Highly recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Irza John Irza, Andover, MA
(01/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Five of us went there on 11/25/05, the day after Thanksgiving, and had a wonderful time. The appetizers were outstanding, especially the crabcakes & onion rings. Everyone thought well of the entrees, including my self. However my lamb tips, although tasty and rare as ordered, were curiously a little tough. Our server, if anything, was too solicitous. He seemed to return to the table every five minutes. It was early P.M. and the the room was only half full at the time. He also didn't understand the statement; "Ted Williams was the real John Wayne." But that's getting off point.

The Leatherlips IPA is a Hop-Head's wet dream of World-class proportions. Don't leave without taking a couple or three containers away with you. The other brew of note was Lucky 7.

We will definitely be returning here again and again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gene Mynahan Gene Mynahan, Wayland, MA
(12/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
great staff, great food and of course great beer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Elfman Dan Elfman, haverhill, MA
(10/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
While the beers were good (there were five house beers and three guest beers), ,none of them really stick out as exceptional. Food was good and in good portions. The staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(10/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
For a first-time visitor, get directions. It's located in a quaint section of town in an1897 tavern; ocean murals, tons of character in the place. I was pleasantly surprised by the beer quality. The summer ale had a fruity quality to it, the IPA seemed to well balanced, and the Kings Slipper was malty, brown and tasty. It was right after opening, so the bartender was busy setting up, but remained helpful with beer info and directions to the interstate. Worth another stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Dude you really get around!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Warwick, RI
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Awesome!
I grew up in Haverhill, so it's nice to come home to some top-notch fresh brew. Although it's sad to see Tod Mott move on to the Portsmouth Brewery, I'm confident Dann Paquette (formerly with Concord Brewery) will continue to brew some quality ales and lagers. My most recent trip included full samples of the Bock (stellar), Mild and Honey Ginger Porter (nice finish for dessert). The food has improved markedly since opening though the kitchen timing still needs work. The service is hit or miss - mostly kitchen issues and not bartender knowledge. It tends to be cool in the bar area, so keep you coat handy. Even with the doors closed, the high ceilings seem to encourage the heat to rise far away from your barstool.

The atmosphere is classic. Lots of dark, rich wood. Brew kettles on display upstairs and fermentors, etc. on display on the basement level. Growlers are available to go, though they seem to have trouble keeping a good supply of them, so bring a clean one from home and they will happily fill them. An oasis in the Merrimack Valley beer desert for sure.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Bristol, RI
(02/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Too bad Tod is gone!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Y. Y., East Kingston, NH
(02/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Nice old bar propoerty in the main drag of this mill town. Very good beers cross the spectrum. Had the sampler of house beers plus one good local guest tap. Winter ale was a ginger porter; much better tasting then it sounds. Other house beers were all tasty, well conditioned, and loyal to style. Brewer has been around the scene for a while and is building up the beer sales vloume here. Make the trip out of Boston, worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(01/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
I live in Haverhill and have been going to the TAP since it reopened. The beer is great and the atmosphere is wonderfull. Live bands on weekends Blues/Jazz depending on weekend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Roche Dave Roche, Haverhill, MA
(01/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Lousy So So
Tod Mott is Da Man and makes great beer but we went here on a recent blustery weekday at noon and although we were literally the only customers at the bar, the staff was only concerned with its own comfort and had both front and back doors wide open. I retrieved my winter coat from the car and put it on. The bartender finally grudgingly closed the front door, and just as I was about to finish my beer and leave the back door was shut. I was at Back Bay in 1995, and it was freezing there, too. Perhaps this is why all Tod's bars close-- the customers all die of exposure.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ODENTON, MD
(10/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I've been there 3 times over the last 2 months. Haven't been disappointed with any meals or beers yet. My last trip on 7/31 was rewarded with my first taste of their Steam beer. I thought it was great. Can't wait to go back. The bartender said they had a Hefe Weizen ready to go, just trying to find tap space for it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from spatenman34 spatenman34, Salem, NH
(08/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
All in all this place has great decor and is verfy friendly. The food is top notch and the beer is not far behind.

Once the bugs are worked out in the brewery I bet this will be another fine example of what a fantastic brewer Tod is. The initial beer offerings are very good and will only get better. I cannot wait for the Big Beers to start showing up...

Good Luck!

>>This is Tod Motts new brewing venture.

About Tod:

AWARDS Great American Beer Festival, 2001 Denver, CO Gold Medal for Irish Red Ale

Great American Beer Festival, 1999 Denver, CO Gold Medal for Strong Scottish Ale

Real Ale Festival, 1998 Chicago, IL Silver Medal for Brown Porter

Great American Beer Festival, 1997 Denver, CO Bronze Medal for Weizenbock

Best of Boston 1999 Awarded by Boston Magazine for best small batch crafted micro brewpub

Best of Boston 1998 Awarded by Boston Magazine for best small batch crafted micro brewpub

Best of Boston 1997 Awarded by Boston Magazine for best small batch crafted micro brewpub

Tod Mott, a.k.a. "oh bearded one" started home brewing in the 1980's when his mother (at his wife's suggestion) presented Tod with a "True-Brew" homebrew kit that tickled Tod's interest in brewing. What started as a hobby turned into an obsession that was easily quenched. After a wimpy Pilsner attempt with an all-extract kit, Tod realized he needed more information to enable him to create his own style of brewing. Some readings in the beer brewing literature plus a course in brewing enabled Tod to produce professional quality beer and go on to win awards. His prior professional experience included a period with Catamount Brewing Co., in Vermont, Mass Bay Brewing Co. in Boston, the head brewer at Commonwealth Brewing Co and at the Back Bay Brewing Co.>>

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Skotrat Skotrat, East Kingston, NH
(06/23/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.195 seconds) 01:08:42 54.166.173.147, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS