PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


English Ales Brewery - Marina, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 19, 2014 @ 02:57 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Marina > English Ales Brewery
English Ales Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
English Ales Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.1 / 100
223 Reindollar Avenue
Marina, CA 93933
United States
(831) 883-3000
Listed Since: October 2003
Last Updated: May 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Marina, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of English Ales Brewery
14 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Tue 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Wed 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Thu 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Fri 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) The OL'FACTORY Cafe
(3 miles)

2) Post No Bills
(3 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BEACH DUNES INN
2) COMFORT INN MARINA
3) HERITAGE MARINA DAYS INN CA
4) MARINA DUNES RESORT
5) SUPER 8 MONTEREY BEACH DUNES C
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bontadelli, Peter J., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Pizza Paradise
2) Domino's Pizza
3) Doorbell Dining
4) Francisco's Restaurant
5) Hanna Lounge
6) Jack In The Box
7) Lola's Catering
8) Lola's Kusina
9) Mai Thai Cuisine
10) Marina Club
11) Mecca Delicatessen
12) Michael's Catering
13) Michael's Grill & Taqueria
14) New Hong Kong Restaurant
15) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
16) Quiznos Sub
17) Starbucks
18) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
19) Ticos Breakfast & Lunch
20) Tully's Coffee
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great
Consistently excellent selection of beers. The cask conditioned Porter is one of the best I have ever had. The fish and bangers with chips were pretty damn good, but most of the other food we tried was relatively unexceptional. The service was initailly a little slow, but once the server realized I was there to sample a variety of brews he opened up and discussed his brews. I even got to go behind the bar to check out the porter cask.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Even Holmboe Even Holmboe, Nipomo, CA
(03/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Great
A great little hole in the wall. The beers are all brewed here. they do carry Strongbow for a cider, if you like that. We did a little beer tasting and was fairly well impressed with most of the selection. Some fell a little flat, but oveerall were pretty good. The food is like what one would make at home. Basic sandwhichs burgers and hotdogs, nothing really impressive. Otherwise it is a nice little local place where the RFC comes after its games to celebrate or medicate whichever is required. Will definately go again if in Seaside. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steph Steph, Monterey, CA
(09/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
A very nice locals place. Good people, good atmosphere. Server knew the patrons and their preferences. A hole in the wall joint in a good way.

Unfortunately, the Porter was so-so. I drove an hour out of my way to go here and really wanted to enjoy the beer, but it just wasn't to be, and I was thirsty too. The Porter wasn't bad, it just had no flavor at all. How you can make a bland Porter is a mystery to me. It should have some flavor pleasing or not?

I was unable to try other beers as my final destination was elsewhere, but won't go out of my way to return here. Sorry...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Seattle, WA
(07/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
Great english brews and good food, very friendly staff and customers. The Big Sur Golden and the Prohibition Lager stood out for me. Like a previous poster said its hard to spot, look for an older quasi commercial industrial type of building.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Thomas, Lakewood, CA
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
The beer was good, very "English" The fod was the same, "English" that is (bland). It's good for a bite to eat, great for a drink or four. The service is great, the atmosphere upbeat, and the decorations authentic (this coming from a Californian who went to London once).

Overall, since there's nothing good in Monterey/Carmel, make the drive to Marina for this great stop. Have a sampler, and order your favorite pints. If you are a local, buy a mug and hang it on the ceiling. There are over 500 already there, and aparently a customer made them a special tool for fetching them from the celing.

Enjoy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Santa Barbara, CA
(03/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
If the business mantra "location,location,location" meant anything, English Ales would never survive.Small place buried in a small commercial area should spell disaster but the couple hundred personal beer steins hanging above the bar and from the ceiling says this place has a following.And after a pint each of Ramsays Fat Lip (5.5%),Monks Brown Ale(4.8%) and Black Prince Porter(5%) I can see why. Should have had the sampler to try all eight of their drafts. Next time. And on the recommendaton of the previous review tried the Philly cheesesteak. Excellent!And the addition of jalapenos on the barkeeps advice made it even better.Jump off Hwy.1 in Marina and give this place a try.You will not be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(02/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I discovered this great place after living in the area for 3 yrs. It's small and easy to pass by if you're not looking for it... but OMG the food is out of this world! I am in love with the philly cheese steak sandwich! I'm an avid philly eater and can tell you that hands down this pub has the BEST one you will ever eat! If you enjoy little pubs with a huge selection and a great, cozy atmosphere this is the place for you. It's not one of those loud, noisy pubs (unless it's a Friday or Saturday night) that you can't hear yourself think in at all. We have even eaten here with our 2 yr old in the back dining area! Service is top notch as well! You can not find a nicer guy than the owner. He is almost always there when I drop in to pick up my to go orders of the best philly's in the world. :) A+ all the way on this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mariah Mariah, Seaside, CA
(01/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
One of the greatest brewerys on the coast. Highly recommend if in the Monterey Bay Area. A++ Pub!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Buck Blackwell Buck Blackwell, Seaside, CA
(04/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
This may be the best kept secret in Monterey. The beer variety is outstanding. The food is great and the service.... well Karen is about as good as it gets! This has quickly become my favorite Pub!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Watson Tim Watson, Morgan Hill, CA
(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
English Ales is both a production brewery and a pub. Their ales are seemingly becoming available throughout the San Francisco and Monterey Bay areas. I saw several of them at the Englander Pub in Dublin, and the brewery website lists many more places where their brews can be found.

The pub is small and fairly light and airy. The beer line-up is not small. I found ten selections available when I stopped for lunch last Friday, mostly UK-inspired ales as the brewery name implies. Choices included their flagship EA Pale Ale (formerly “1066”), Dragon Slayer IPA, Monk’s Brown Ale, Borthwick’s Best Bitter, Ramsey’s Fat Lip Ale (a Scottish), Black Prince Porter, Black Hound Stout, plus a lighter golden or cream ale, and a filtered Monterey Bay Wheat. The porter was also available on cask and there was an ESB in the fermenter. I enjoyed the very tasty brown ale and the Scottish ale with my fish and chips, which was a popular menu choice with the lunch patrons that day. Karen was a delightful presence behind the bar. This is a recommended stop just off of Highway 1 north of Monterey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
very very good beer and Husson is the best bartender in the WORLD!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from eric nielsen eric nielsen, salinas, CA
(02/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is THE place on the Monterey Peninsula. Oustanding pub food, beer selection, ambiance - Hassan and Karen make this a must-visit experience!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Powser Bill Powser, Salinas, CA
(01/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Drink 1066 cause it's good and high alcohol. Also, don't miss the traditional cask-style beer. YUMMY! You can get a personalized mug, which also gets you bigger beers with your purchase.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dusty Dusty, Marina, CA
(01/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This is the best brewpub in the Monterey area. They serve english style ales and standard pub fare. Don't miss the Pendragon ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ratman Ratman, Arvada, Co
(07/27/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.266 seconds) 02:57:11 54.90.115.122, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS