PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Alchemist Pub and Brewery - Waterbury, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 29, 2014 @ 09:37 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Waterbury > The Alchemist Pub and Brewery
The Alchemist Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
The Alchemist Pub and Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85.6 / 100
23 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05676
United States
(802) 244-4120
Listed Since: December 2003
Last Updated: February 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Waterbury, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
19 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Arvad's
(0 mile)

2) Waterbury Wings
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Black Bear Inn
2) Inn At Blush Hill
3) Old Stagecoach Inn
4) Thatcher Brook Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN WATERBURY-STOWE
2) TRAPP FAMILY LODGE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Colby Mansion
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Angelo's Italian Deli & Import
2) Ben & Jerry's
3) Crossraods Beverage Ctr
4) Depot Beverage
5) Farr's Roadhouse
6) Full Of Beans Coffee House
7) Kellee's Creemee & Grill
8) Le Petit Gourmet Catering
9) Mist Grill
10) Park Row Cafe
11) Waterbury Wings
12) Zachary's Pizza House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I note that my earlier thoughts were written under a slight beer haze. This will not happen again.

Not often I find a rival for the Mountain Sun in Boulder but after visiting The Alcamist once or twice a year,   i  now declare that The Mountain Sun has a worthiy  match.

the Alchemist , in Waterbury, Vermont  One of those places that you remember,  not just  for it's  Holy Cow  iPA - IBU 85   but also for the double IPA - Heretic -  99IBU  and of courser its Heady Topper -(IBU's - plenty) but who's counting?  Of  course they  had other beers but i don't care,  OK you might so it's worth mentioning that the Harvest Ale comes in at 35 IBU's   and the Porter IBU's are only 26 IBU but its full of flavour and I'm calling it Wobbly Harriet". It seemed to sink so smoothly and deliriously down her throaght. - they call it Pappys Porter and my sip indicated a a smoothie with deep chocalate tones, but I was going to drive - you know that is? Room for one more. The Friday cask offering, looked like a wheat beer, tasted adequately hopped and only had 4.5% by vol. So I had two - as one does. I  can't try them all so let's consider food.   The tomato  soup does for soup what double IPA does for pale ale. Chunks of uncircumcised tomato float in a creamy tomato and basil support system. This could be described as Tomato Stew.. If you like heavy IBU's in beer, then this ones for you, not to mention  the chicken pate and the pizza. At least SWMBO (She Who Must Be Obeyed) didn't share my pate. My only swear word thar effects her is "liver." Mussels in a sausage sauce - who would have thunk it? This is not pub grub. My sausage in sauercrout  was just too much so finish with maple pie. SWMBO dove into that one! Warning, this place fills and you have to drink whilst waiting for a table. Oh dear!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoffrey Bruce Geoffrey Bruce, Arvada, CO
(10/16/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
There is one brewpubs that can be compared with this brewpubs . It is the Mountain Sun in Boulder CO. The Alchemist has better food so I declare the Alchemist as the best brewpubs in the USA.

A fuller report will follow but in the meantime - those three IPA's - oh now I know there is a beer heaven - and the porter is superb - this place - keep it a secret - only just room for you and me and the friends you make there. I'm going again tonight - which is not soon enough.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geofrey bruce Geofrey bruce, Arvada , CO
(10/15/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is one of the very few brewpubs that we can honestly say meets all of the requirements for an absolutely perfect combination of high quality beer, food and atmosphere. We are pubcrawling across the country (from the Oregon Coast to Maine and then back to the Oregon Coast) and would come back to this establishment with no hesitation. Between the four of us, we had pints of the Donovan's Red (a malty, red ale), the Holy Cow (IPA) and Heady Topper (Imperial style IPA), the Dunkler Stern (a Schwartzbier which is a dark, stout like beer) and a taster of the Heretic, a sweet and florally strong American Pale Ale. Every beer was true to the style and excellent. I have no doubt every beer they brew is made with similar quality standards.

The food was similarly excellent. Between us we had red beans/rice with andouille sausage, three cheese pizza, a cheese plate w/ toasted baquette slices, three different types of Vermont cheese and figs, and salad. All were done exceptionally well, with the red beans/rice and andouille a standout.

And lastly, the atmosphere was great. It is a perfect mix of pub and restaurant, being just boisterous enough for fun but not to excess.

This is a must stop on a pubcrawl through New England.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Brad, Tillamook, OR
(10/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Great Good
First: The beer is EXCEPTIONAL. Go there, order anything and you'll enjoy it. Then, order another. 'nuff said.

Secondly: It WILL be crowded, but the staff is very friendly. Much friendlier than I'd be if I was as busy as they are, and I'm a friendly guy.

Thirdly: Don't go for the food. It's pretty mediocre and not worth the wait for a table, really. Ordered an item that was supposed to contain Roma tomatoes and was unhappy to find regular old sandwich tomatoes. The sweet potato fries are not bad, but that's an easy one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Arkonbey Arkonbey, Underhill, VT
(01/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
The Alchemist makes incredible beer and has great food...there's no reason not to stop here. From the hoppy Holy Cow IPA to their sour cherry beer, there isn't a single bad beer to drink. On the negative side, the owner refuses to fill growlers because it won't be drank at the "proper temperature." The food is reasonably priced and excellent, typical pub fare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dylan Dylan, Sparta, NJ
(06/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great
Dropped 50 people in their lap Saturday night and no problem. Some people decided to eat and sit at tables, but I relegated myself to the bar as is my custom. I looked at the two blokes tending and said "this ought to be good" meaning it'll be Tuesday before I get a beer. Wrong. I'm sorry I forgot their names but nobody nowhere could have handled a crowd as deftly as these guys did. And friendly!

We all tried different beers and compared notes and all I saw was raised eyebrows. I remember one beer was 140 IBU's (!), but other than that I lost track of what we drank (it was a long day and no I wasn't driving). It doesn't matter - they were all good.

Two minor complaints. The Sox were playing but they had no TV's (a rare complaint as I rarely watch TV). That and get rid of the pool table. No need to get into why.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(10/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
I have to agree with the last review 100%. We were touring breweries in Burlington and made the half-hour trip to the Alchemist and it was well worth it. The food and beer were excellent, and the service was good too. There was an abundance of IPAs, so my one critique would be to expand the beer selection. Would definately go back again if I was in the area. This is one that shouldn't be missed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Gansevoort, NY
(09/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
During a recent trip to Vermont, friends and I, in search of a place for dinner and beering, stumbled into this worthy addition to the New England brewpub scene. Well, to be honest, we didnt really stumble; but, in fact, came here deliberately on a quest for some great food and some excellent brews.

Situated on Main Street in the bucolic town of Waterbury (1,706), the Alchemist Pub & Brewery is where much of the populace seems to spend their evening  so prepare to wait for seating. In any case, the crowd was a diverse one, all ages (the young and the old) and backgrounds (from the well to do to the neer-do-well) being represented. Located in what was once the town post office, the Alchemist is not a large and rambling establishment; upon entry, to the right is a crowded bar area; to the left, and separated by a dividing wall of hightop tables, is the dining area. Toward the back, where we waited during our 45-minute wait to be seated, is a pool table (which should really be replaced with additional seating so more people can actually eat and drink).

Now lets hear about the beer. The Alchemist Pub is a 7-Barrel facility that, despite its capacity offered a wide selection of housecrafts on tap, including several guests  a total of 10-12 taps. During this visit, I enjoyed: Rapture American Double IPA (77 IBU), Holy Cow IPA (85 IBU) and Pappys Porter (4.6 ABV).

As you can see, their brewer is definitely fond of hops; this makes for a great place for the hophead. Even the without the beer, the food alone would have made this a worthy trip. In any case, no Vermont pubcrawl, at least no definitive one, should exclude a stop in Waterbury for a few quaffs at the Alchemist, a great place with excellent food, friendly atmosphere and efficient service  oh, and craft beer is to die for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(08/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
3 DIFFERNT IPAS...HOLY COW, HEADY TOPPER, AND RAPTURE. YOU GOT TO BE KIDDING ME. GOT TO TRY THE DRY RUBBED FRENCH FRIES.AWESOME!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(08/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Now this is a brewpub !! I had heard so much good about this place that I was afraid I had entered with way-too-high expectations. I had samples of Broken Spoke Pale, El Jefe dark IPA, blonde ale, Holy Cow IPA, and Wild Child (fermented with Brett). Didn't care for Wild Child, but the others were all fantastic. IBU's on their pales and IPAs were running 65 and up to 100. Obviously they like to make their beers hoppy here. The beer did have the malt backbone to carry it though. I was extremely impressed. This has become my favorite brewpub anywhere. Bar none.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Weaver Mike Weaver, Batavia, NY
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I stand by my review from a year ago--this place rocks! HAD to stop on my way to the beer fest, and was not disappointed. It seemed as though their brewing wings are being spread and new styles were the order of the day. Weizen was good (I'm not a fan of the style) with BIG banana flavor, a bit tart. Red--smooth/malty, IPA--balanced, slight smokiness as well. Wild Child was lambic-ish, very tart with cinnamon hints. Pappy's Porter had a great vanilla infused nose with big roastiness throughout. Heady Topper (the big boy IPA) was fruity and fresh. 140 IBU!! On the cask also, this should come with a Surgeon General's warning--"This beer is too good, too strong and too easy to drink--be ready to sleep in your car!" Employees couldn't have been nicer. Found out I was visiting and insisted I try all their beers (I would have anyway) and I literally had to leave a few bucks 'cause they didn't want to charge me! A must-stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
IT'S BACK. Sterk Wit has returned, it was cask conditioned this past weekend. There was a great new offering I believe it was Thacther Brook Blonde (don't let the word blonde mislead you)nice and crisp with subtle flavors. We had a BBQ chicken pizza with fresh cilantro, very tasty. This place just seems to do everything right. Keep it up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Bobee Joe Bobee, Hinesburg, VT
(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Awesome!
We weren't thrilled with all the beers, but the ones we did like we really enjoyed. The place is great-funky in the best ways. Food was pretty good, too. Servic was quick and friendly. A small town experience. It was a main destination for us when we were visiting the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Smigielski Michael Smigielski, Ypsilanti, MI
(12/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We went ot Ben & Jerry's and made a couple of other stops near Stowe and decided to try this place for lunch after the reading the reviews - it sounds great. Unfortunately, it doesn't open until 4 pm on Saturday. Seemed kind of odd to not be open on a Saturday afternoon in the Fall for lunch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BeerBill BeerBill, Laurel, NY
(10/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The beer speaks for itself and the staff is great. Definitely try the chicken wings with the dry rub. Will be back soon!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Restino Gary Restino, Round Lake, NY
(10/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Wow! Definitely one of the best places I've ever been to for beer in all of New England. Everything on the menu had flavor, but even better, character. There were 8 choices when I visited, and there wasn't a bum in the lot. The hops I'd been missing throughout much of my trip across New England all landed in Waterbury, Vermont! The lighter summer styles were crisp and refreshing, with the porter and stout rich and roasty. The ales were my favorites. There were three IPAs to choose from! Holy Cow (I think it was rated at 80 IBU) would be my everyday beer, were I lucky enough to live here. There was a dark IPA (El Hefe?, not sure) that I was told had been dry-hopped just the week before--what a great mix of malt and hops and smells and tastes! Heady Topper was their Imperial IPA--listed as 8% and 120IBU. It was incredibly smooth if those figures are even close to being accurate. Don't walk, don't run--FLY to The Alchemist. Unless you're allergic to flavor (and hops!) in your beer, you won't be disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Everything the previous reveiwers said was right on. The only difference was the beer selections, there are more summer offerings, all excellent. I particularly liked the Sterk Wit due to it's complexity. I'll be adding this to the regular rotation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Bobee Joe Bobee, Hinesburg, VT
(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I concur for the most part with the previous review; with this place and Bristol's Bobcat Cafe, Northern Vermont is really blessed in the brewpub scene at the moment. Really can't say that I have any quibbles here. Nice atmosphere, NONSMOKING!! Huge plus. Waitress originally got one of my samples wrongs, so gave me the right one for free, and a bigger-than-average one at that. Super-hoppy over-the-top porter El Jefe was the star, the Rye beer was one of the very few in this small style that I've found had any real "rye" character, and even the brown and red ales were tasty and had some hops in them. Food excellent as well, with some awesome Belgian-style peppery/herbed fries being the standout. Will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(01/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
This place opened less than a month ago. The owners used to work at "The Vermont Pub and Brewery" in Burlington. We recognized other faces from there as well. I guess some people wanted to get out of the big city. I started out with an IPA. It had lots of hop bitterness and aroma. My only criticism would be to add more flavoring hops, but it was still a great beer. My wife started out with the porter. Many brewers make porters as if they are to be drunk by people who don't like dark beer. They kind of taste like Michelob Dark. Not this place. The first thing I noticed in their porter was the powerful smell of roasted malt. That was followed by a full, roasty mouthfeel, with just enough hop bitterness to balance it out. For seconds I ordered the Rye Beer. I didn't have any expectations, as it's not a common style of beer. It was great, with a crisp, rye flavor and plenty of hop bitterness. My old lady ordered the Red—a style I don't usually care for—and it was another great beer. The food was very good, although my burrito might have been a little hotter out of the kitchen. My son's pizza was awesome, as was my wife's sandwich. The fries would be worth ordering just for the presentation. The only real complaint is the noise level: beautiful hardwood floors and loud music combine to distract from the dining experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Magill Stephen Magill, Moretown, VT
(12/08/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.321 seconds) 21:37:26 54.167.244.71, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS