PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bobcat Cafe and Brewery - Bristol, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 03:36 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Bristol > Bobcat Cafe and Brewery
Bobcat Cafe and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Bobcat Cafe and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 79.1 / 100
5 Main Street
Bristol, VT 05443
United States
(802) 453-3311
Listed Since: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bristol, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
11 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bristol Coach House Bed & Brkf
2) Crystal Palace Victorian B & B
3) Inn at Baldwin Creek
4) New Haven Mills Bed & Brkfst
5) Old Hotel Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Lampson School
2) South Starksboro Friends Meeting House and Cemetery
3) Union Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Almost Home Market
2) Cubbers Restaurant
3) Main Street Diner
4) Ming's
5) No-Knee's Bar Inc
6) Rockydale Pizza
7) Snap's Restaurant
8) Speeder & Earl's Coffee
9) Squirrel's Nest Restaurant Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
I am really having a hard time agreeing with all of the "awesome" reviews listed for the Bobcat Cafe from various other pubcrawlers. Awesome for Bristol, Vermont? Perhaps. But not up against many other Vermont brewpubs and certainly not nationwide. The beer is not offensive, mind you, but nothing really stands out, either. The main sticking point I have with the establishment, however, is the exorbitant prices they charge for their food. I live in New York City so I am no stranger to paying top dollar for my meals. But, when I am served a shallow bowl of beef stew that is on par with a can of Dinty Moore (or worse) and am charged close to 15 dollars for it I have a problem. No real reason to visit unless you are,like me, trying to fill in your Vermont Brewery Challenge Passport.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(02/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Opened especially for us on a very rainy Saturday afternoon (thank you!). A nicely appointed pub both inside and out. A long bar on the left yet not enough room this day. I guess it didn't hurt to sit a table just once!

I ordered the sampler of five beers at a very low price of 75-cents a sample (4-ounces). The Pilsner was all Saaz but over the top. Remember - the water is key. It did warm up nicely though! The Pale and IPA were good, but the show-stopper was the Witches Brew Oktoberfest-style lager. In a very short time everyone in our party was drinking it and commenting that it was one of the best we've had.

The brewer came out and talked to the group and served up a sample of his latest. A friendly and knowledgeable chap indeed (and thank you for taking the time for us)!

The food was good, but the menu was limited and just a little more expensive than I would like. $10.95 for an Angus burger is a little much. Sorry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(10/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I planned this as a stop during our visit to Vermont a few weeks ago. We were impressed with the selection of on-site brewed beers - there were a total of 8 on tap, ranging from a light summer ale to a deep, dark porter with scottish and brown ales, IPA's and a tasty special bitter rounding out the selection.

We sat at the bar to sample each of the brews and spoke to the bartender for quite some time. While we were not very hungry, we ordered some appetizers that happened to be on special that night. We sampled their quesadilla, nachos and Cabot white cheddar "macaroni and cheese" (penne with a cheese sauce). The former two apps were very, very good, but the 'mac and cheese' completely knocked our socks off. I have never tasted a pasta dish quite as spectacular. Maybe the beer tasting influenced my recollection, but my wife agreed - it was the best pasta + cheese we have ever had. I can only imagine how their entree's must taste!

Bristol is a sweet little town; everyone I met or spent time around bubbled with polite courtesy. Anyone in the Bristol area (or even traveling on Rte. 7) should take the time to stop by this town and try out what Bobcat has to offer. I believe you will not be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen C. Allen C., Blacksburg, VA
(06/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The brewmaster was one of the best we ever had the opportunity to chat with! If we lived a bit closer, Bobcat would definetly be on our frequent visit list!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Furst Glenn Furst, Eagle, WI
(05/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
We stumbled across this place during a recent visit to VT. What a find !! They offered 3 in-house beers, a kolsch, IPA, and ESB. The kolsch was light, fruity, and very enjoyable. The IPA was super. Good hop notes from beginning to end. My only complaint was that the beer was served too cold. But a little time in the glass fixed that. They also had a very wide range of other, local and non-local beers on tap. Menu looked very tasty but our budget was getting low so we passed on the food. Bartender was super friendly and outgoing. This place is definitely worth going out of the way for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Weaver Mike Weaver, Batavia, NY
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
Bristol (Population 4000), the Gateway to the Green Mountains as well as home to the July 4th Outhouse Races, is where you will find BobCat Cafe. Situated on Main Street and across the street from the Bedford Falls-like town square, Bobcat is a very popular tavern (15-minute wait) that serves excellent food and brews several tasty house beers. Unfortunately, several of the more popular styles were unavailable during my visit (Bobcat has a very small capacity), I did enjoy their very malty porter - though the body was a little thin. They did offer a selection of regional micros, including one extremely hoppy Smuttynose IPA. Great food, cozy ambience and superb service made for an enjoyable night out at Bobcat. Great beer can always be had in Vermont...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(08/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We liked the Bobcat so much we came back twice in one weekend. A great selection of house and regional micros. The house Porter was fine, the Stout better. GN

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(10/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
Could not believe that this place did not open till 4:30 on a Saturday and it was a holiday weekend ( Columbus Day ). Don't waste a lot of time here head over to The Alchemist.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Restino Gary Restino, Round Lake, NY
(10/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Great Good
This place was a wonderful find in a small, off-the-beaten-path town. It is located in the middle of the main block of buildings. The bar is of the big, old wooden speak-easy style - very comfortable. Both bartenders were extremely friendly. Beers are excellent. The only downside is that they only had two of their own. The bitter is a very good example of an English special bitter. The porter is medium body with a sweet mouthfeel and nice, dry finish. Free peanuts for munching. Two frinds tell me the food is outstanding, and whatever they were cooking at the time sure smelled it. Alas, we had other plans. I will certainly be back. And if they get another beer or two on tap, I will revise my rating.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from max max, nashua, NH
(08/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Stopped by after the brewers fest, as they were not in attendance. It's located on the main street of a quaint, small town that could be on the cover of Vermont Magazine (if there is one). They had two of their own beers on tap; a summer bock and an ale, both of which were tasty, clean and fresh. There were several other VT beers on tap to choose form as well. Pez dispensers decorate much of the bar (not that there's anything wrong with that). The menu looked very interesting and the entrees which were being carried past me makes me want to back to try hopefully more styles of thier beer, and their food!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I visited the Bobcat late in the summer, shortly after opening. They only had 2 of their own beers on tap, which is why they fail to get the top rating for selection; there were however several other VT micros available, and old standby Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. But their own beer, ohmigosh. The Old Ale was the best I've ever had, fruity and leathery and oaky and winey; the South Mountain Stout, nearly as good and enough to make you never want Guinness again. I had a great strip steak, the salads were awesome with such interesting bits as julienned sweet potato topping them. Nice combination of old pub/fine dining atmosphere, if you can envision it. I have to get back and try some more beers now that they have a full line-up, but this could be my new favorite place in N. Vermont for a brew (sorry VT Pub and Brew, you will always have a place in my heart).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(01/08/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.391 seconds) 15:36:25 54.225.18.187, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS