PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Keegan Ales - Kingston, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 21, 2014 @ 09:13 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Kingston > Keegan Ales
Keegan Ales Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Keegan Ales
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.7 / 100
20 Saint James Street
Kingston, NY 12401
United States
(845) 331-BREW
Listed Since: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kingston, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
14 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon CLOSED
Tue CLOSED
Wed
Thu 03:00PM - 70:0PM
Fri 03:00PM - 70:0PM
Sat 12:00PM - 70:0PM

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Sturgeon Wine Bar
(0 mile)

2) Ugly Gus Cafe and Bar was Conca Doro Silcilian
(0 mile)

3) Sweetwater Cafe
(0 mile)

4) Skytop Steakhouse and Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adele's Rondout B & B
2) Black Lion Mansion
3) Capt Spenser's Boat N' Brkfst
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) HYATT REGENCY BISHKEK
2) RAMADA INN
3) SUPER 8 KINGSTON NY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bevier Stone House
2) Boice House
3) Chichester House
4) Clinton Avenue Historic District
5) Community Theatre
6) Dutch Church, Old, Parsonage
7) House at 184 Albany Avenue
8) House at 313 Albany Avenue
9) House at 322 Albany Avenue
10) House at 356 Albany Avenue
11) Kenyon, William, House
12) Kingston City Library
13) Kirkland Hotel
14) Maizefield
15) Second Reformed Dutch Church of Kingston
16) Senate House
17) Sharp Burial Ground
18) Smith, George J., House
19) Smith, John, House
20) Ten Broeck, Jacob, Stone House
21) Van Steenburgh, Tobias, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 23 Broadway
2) 4 Star Cafe & Catering
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Artemis Diner
5) Arties Bar & Grill
6) Barista's Expresso Cafe
7) Bella Carne
8) Big Apple Pizza
9) Blimpie's Sandwich & Salads
10) Bo's Soulfood Restaurant
11) Boston Market
12) Bread Alone
13) Broadway Joe's
14) Brothers Grocery
15) Burger King
16) Cafe Nouba
17) Daybreak Seasons Pizza
18) Di Bella's Pizza Shop
19) Dragon Garden
20) East Wok
21) Ecce Terra
22) El Coqui
23) Enzo's Ristorante & Pizza
24) Flow Lounge
25) Foxhall Deli
26) Foxhall Tavern
27) Gabriels
28) Great Bear
29) Ground Round
30) GSM Svc Inc
31) Hickory
32) Hobo Deli
33) Home Plate Deli
34) Hot Corner Cafe
35) Hurley Mountain Inn
36) International Diner
37) Joe Beez Kitchen & Catering
38) Joyous Cafe & Catering
39) Kelly's Shamrock Tavern
40) Kings Pizza Restaurant
41) Kingston Deli Inc
42) Kingston Grand Slam
43) Kyoto Sushi
44) Mama Rosa Pizzeria
45) Market Basket Deli
46) Mickey's Igloo
47) Mickey's Igloo II
48) Misasi's Italian Deli & Ctrng
49) Morgan's
50) Nekos Luncheonette
51) New York Deli
52) Panera Bread
53) Panini Cafe & Expresso Bar
54) Paulina's Restaurant & Bar
55) Peter B Deli & Grocery Inc
56) Pizzamia
57) Planet Taco
58) Preet Gourmet Pizza & Deli
59) Quick Stop
60) R J's Lounge
61) Riverside Deli & Pizza
62) Roudigan's Restaurant
63) Savona's Plaza Pizza
64) Sidestreet Deli
65) Sizzler
66) Steel House Restaurant & Bar
67) Steve's Pizza & Deli Inc
68) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
69) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
70) Sunshine Market
71) Taco Maker
72) TCBY
73) Terri's Grocery & Deli
74) Third Base
75) Tommy's Deli
76) Uptown A Gathering Place
77) Zenon's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good Lousy
If they sell beer, then why doesn't it taste like beer?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kingston, NY
(12/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Great
We sampled all of the beers including the award winning Joe Mama Stout and they were excellent. The brewer and wait staff were some of the friendlest people we have met. The food was good typical bar food that hit the spot after drinking these beers. It took us a while to find the place but it was worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chesapeake, VA
(09/25/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Good lord, this beer was awesome, words fail me with this place. If the food is half as good as the beer then this place will take off like a rocket. The 3 main beers are marvelous as well as the mixtures of the beers. My wife and I got seriously buzzed on the beer here, and this was after a huge lunch. I cannot wait to go back that way for more beer and their food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McIntyre Bill McIntyre, Coxsackie, NY
(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
Beer is excellent. Awards have been won.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathleen McGrane Kathleen McGrane, Kingston, NY
(03/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
It`s great to have this place in my backyard.I think their best is the mothers milk but there all real good.It`s a great place to meet people and sometimes on weekends they have good live music.What more could you want then good free beer, music, and people.Since it`s all free don`t be cheap,tip the bartender girl shes cool.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from david borsay david borsay, kingston, NY
(11/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Drove up to Kingston to try this place out, and BOY!, was I not disappointed. They only have 3 beers, but they are fantastic. I would trade this for a brewpub that make 6 beers that are not top-notch.

Old Capitol: a wheat-infused american pale Hurrcane Kitty: a hoppy amber Mother's Milk: an oatmeal milk stout

The pale & stout are the standouts, IMHO. I cannot say enough about these. As I am drinking it right now, the Mother's Milk has a perfect balance of roast, hopping, and sweetness. With an abv around 5%, it is a semi-session beer that can be enjoyed w/o knocking you out.

Look out for Keegan. He is definately a diamond in (what I believe to be) a lethargic NY State craft-beer culture.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John B John B, Newark, DE
(05/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I finally found this place tucked away in an industrial complex part of Kingston off a narrow street. They have thier own parking lot which was cool cause street parking is hard on the narrow street.

There is not much to say about the three beers on tap that haven't already been said. They all taste great. The drinking room has gotten I little more complex with some couches and coffee tables as well as some high stools.

They still do not have a resturant set up but after talking to Tom Keegan one of the owners they were working on it. He gave me and my girlfriend a tour of the brewery in the back which can be seen thru a glass window of the bar.

Thursday and Fridays from 3-7 PM are Happy Hours which Tom Keegan gives out free taster cups of about 6 ounces and nobody stops you from getting seconds or thirds. They only have 3 beers on tap. I was kind of disappointed cause I like red beers and they didn't have any. He also doesn't make a hefeweizen which I thought was odd cause a lot of people enjoy those beers also. This is why I give it a SoSo in Selection.

The service is great nothing to complain about and the customers help you out telling the story and introducing you to the owner if you haven't figured it out when you walk in the door.

This is the coolest brewery I have been to and would come back to fill my crawler anytime. It matches the Red Car Brewery in Torranc California for being the coolest place around town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(02/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So N/A Awesome! Great
I hate to rate the selection "so so" but there are only three beers! That's too bad too because the three they have are great. Mother's Milk is a delightful creamy sweet stout (milk stout according to their web site). But their flagship beer in my book is their Hurricane Kitty which is a terrific, properly hopped IPA. Just like some pubs try to get cute with the hot sauce on the chicken wings, some brewers try to get cute with their hops in their IPA's. Not the case here. This is a "perfect" example of what an IPA is supposed to be. Colin is a wonderful host at the taps and brewer/owner Tom always makes it a point to say hello. I have a feeling these guys are going to be around a while! And Colin – I didn’t forget the “Woodstock” glass!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Was informed that they opened within the last several months and was interested to see how their beer was recieved by the public so early on. Simply said, "they love it!", and so did I. Colin get the award for most enthusiastic employee any company could ask for. He took "helpful" to another complete level. All the beers were fine, with my favorite being the Mothers Milk Stout. Blends of the ales were offered as well and all who were there (the place was jumpin', and this is just a tap room!) were having a ball! Good luck to you in the future at Keegan Ales!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
We stopped in during the Saturday tasting room hours and were greeted by Colin, a very amiable employee, who took us through generous samples of the three styles offered (as well as a half and half --"Old Mother "-- for my wife and a black and tan -- "Milk for the Kitty" --for me). I rated the selection as Great even though there are only 3 offerings. This is because, after talking to owner/brewer Tom Keegan, I found that his philosophy of limiting styles and doing them ALL well makes great sense. The 3 brews offered meet 3 different basic demands: Old Capital is a Golden Ale for the person who prefers lighter, quaffable beers, Hurricane Kitty is for the Hophead and Mother's Milk is an awesome Milk Stout. I generally classify myself as a Hophead, but the Mother's Milk was fantastic. Kitty was great and Old Capital was also very drinkable. Those of you clamoring for BIG beers might be disappointed, but you should give these a try for the quality alone. Tasting room has shirts, hats, glasses and growlers for sale. The bottling line is still being refurbished, but should be up soon, no doubt increasing availability. Great beers and great people -- Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Technically speaking, very well made beers. From an artistic standpoint, not distinguished. "Old Capital" very similar to Sierra Pale. "Mother's Milk Stout" although delicious, was not extraordinary. (Third product, "Kitty IPA", not available at the restaurant) But it's nice to have great local products available. These are beers worth seeking out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jt jt, middletown, NY
(02/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
This is a real brewery; not just a pub. When you walk in there's a relatively bare room that is COLD in the winter (heated? Eh... maybe...), a couple chairs, and a big window looking in on the brewery staff at work.

There's a small bar/serving area. The bartender is terrific and friendly. The three beers on tap were wonderful. Tasting glasses are free and generously poured -- if you want a full-size mug you pay for it. No food served, although some folks brought in their own cheese and crackers or chips.

Kegs and growlers are available for take home (including smaller five-gallon kegs). Worth a visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rhinebeck, NY
(02/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Hurricane Kitty is right up there with IPA's from Dogfish Head,Harpoon,etc...Great tasting-room,great people(Tom & Colin). So good to have great microbrews within a 10 mile drive from home. Go There NOW!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mick Leland Mick Leland, saugerties, NY
(01/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great
Tommy Keegan is an excellent brewer, and I've tasted the beer to prove it. Mother's Milk Stout is rich and rocking, Hurricane Kitty Pale Ale...well, most breweries would call this crisp, snappy beer an IPA. Get on up to Kingston and check it out, you can thank me later.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(01/13/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.281 seconds) 09:13:25 54.90.195.67, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS