PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Big Dog's Brewing Company was Draft House Barn and Casino - Las Vegas, NV
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 23, 2014 @ 10:33 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NV > Las Vegas > Big Dog's Brewing Company was Draft House Barn and Casino
Big Dog's Brewing Company was Draft House Barn and Casino Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Big Dog's Brewing Company was Draft House Barn and Casino
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.9 / 100
4543 North Rancho Road
Las Vegas, NV 89130
United States
(702) 645-1404
Listed Since: February 2004
Last Updated: February 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Las Vegas, NV
Beer Guide for Nevada

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
21 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COURTYARD MARRIOTT SUMMERLIN
2) FIESTA RANCHO HOTEL CASINO
3) HAMPTON INN SUMMERLIN
4) LA QUINTA INN & STES SUMMERLIN
5) LOMA VISTA
6) OAKWOOD DESERT SHORES
7) SANTA FE STATION
8) TEXAS STATION HOTEL & CASINO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Eureka Locomotive
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arby's
2) Babas Tsibugan Restaurant
3) Bailey's Sports Bar & Eatery
4) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
5) Baladie Cafe
6) Baskin-Robbins
7) Bob Taylor's Ranch House
8) Burger King
9) Cafe Ted's
10) Carl's Jr Restaurant
11) Chicago Cactus Club
12) Chow Chow Express
13) Cuisineclub.Com
14) Dairy Queen
15) Del Taco
16) Dimas Tacos
17) Domino's Pizza
18) Draft House Barn & Casino
19) East Coast Pizza
20) Fatburger
21) Fatburger
22) Foothills Ranch
23) Fortune Inn Chinese Restaurant
24) Gekos Lounge
25) Grand China
26) Grand China Ii
27) Jack In The Box
28) Jammer's Real Italian Ice Cafe
29) Kerry's Sports Pub Pizza
30) Kfc
31) Kfc
32) LA Montagna Italian Bistro
33) Larry's Hide-A-Way
34) Las Vegas Outing
35) Lino's Pizza & Subs
36) Little Caesars Pizza
37) Lunchbox Catering
38) Marco's Ristorante Italiano
39) Mc Donald's
40) Mc Donald's
41) Mc Donalds
42) Memphis Championship Barbeque
43) Mission Mikes Bbq
44) Montesano Italian Deli
45) Mr Eatz
46) Mulligans Landing
47) New York Pizza Steve-'o
48) Panda Express
49) Panda Express
50) Papa John's Pizza
51) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
52) Pizza Dog
53) Pizza Hut
54) Pizza Hut
55) Plums
56) Port Of Subs
57) Quizno's Classic Subs
58) Quiznos Sub
59) Restaurant At Los Prados
60) Roberto's Taco Shop
61) Santa Fe Mining Co
62) Shogun Japanese Restaurant
63) Sonic Drive-In
64) Starbucks
65) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
66) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
67) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
68) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
69) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
70) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
71) Taco Bell
72) Taco Bell
73) Takeria Puebla
74) Taos Steakhouse
75) TCBY
76) Ti Amo Italian Dining
77) Triple Bar Bar Bar
78) Villa Pizza
79) Viva Mexico
80) Wendy's
81) Wienerschnitzel
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Went to this brewery for the War Dog IPA tapping and had a few other beers as well. The IPA was out of this world. By far the best IPA brewed in Nevada. We got to go on a little tour in back and the brewmaster was very knowledgeable. I was a fan of the War Dog and Dirty Dog, but some of the other beers lacked the luster that these had. A month later I had their Sled Dog Stout and that was phenomenal! They need to work on some of their beers, but overall very good. Also the atmosphere and the especially the food was great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jonathan Taylor, Las Vegas, NV
(01/06/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
I wasn't expecting much, but had the time to visit a few brew pubs while in Vegas. The beers here were excellent. I sampled the Holy Cow Pale, Red Hydrant which tasted like a subtly less malty scotch ale, and the Dirty Dog IPA, along with a seasonal Dog's Bullocks IPA which is more like a double at 8.1ABV. All these beers were on the mark, very clean finishes and hopped to nail the variety. I didn't eat, but if you have time, these are beers worth seeking out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, grafton, OH
(04/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Solid brew pub located away from all the hectic strip traffic. We stopped in one evening during a football game and ordered the sampler. It was a very tasty treat from top to bottom. The food was excellent and I'd go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ypsilanti, MI
(11/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I disagree with the dude from LV that stated he must move to avoid cig smoke. DUDE, if you do not care for bars with cig smoke, STAY HOME!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phyl H Phyl H, Las Vegas, NV
(11/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
12 HOUSE BREWS AND SAMPLED ALL. WHEAT VARIETIES ESPECIALLY STOOD OUT (BELGIAN IN PARTICULAR). SEVERAL LOCATIONS IN SIN CITY WITH ONLY ONE DOING ALL THE BREWING. THE BREWERY IS OUT OF THE WAY...BUT A GOOD ESCAPE FROM THE MASSES OF TOURISTS ON THE STRIP.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(05/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Was out there in the spring, just found my notes. Tailwagger Wheat - slight lemon nose & taste, hazy golden straw color banana finish, crisp and refreshing. Holy Cow! Pale Ale - Creamy, nice hop flavor, little to no aroma though, light gold color lingering bitterness. Dirty Dog IPA - slight hop nose, huge hop flavor. Black Lab Stout - Thick, slight burnt taste lingers with a long lasting, thick tan head. Oktoberfest - Malty, golden brown color with a dry finish and little nose. The Draft House Burger was huge with a heap of hot fries to go with it. Very Yummy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Holt, MI
(11/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Went in for breakfast. Had their K-9 Krolsch with an english muffin sandwich. Great start! Fri 9am with a quiet atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David K Haines David K Haines, Las Vegas, NV
(10/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Was at The Draft House this past Thursday night for the tapping party for the new Belgian Dubbel. Let me tell you, this beer is one of Dave Otto's best I've had so far. It has a bit of a sweet flavor to it, and a nice chocolate tint in color. And at 7.5% ABV, it will easily knock you on your behind if you aren't careful.

I also had my first taste of his Cranberry Ale, though they were on the last keg of that, so it could easily be gone already. My first cranberry brew was Sam Adam's Cranberry Lambic. Let me try to compare the two, though they really aren't comparable. The best way I could describe them is the Sam Adam's is a brew for a non-beer drinker, where Big Dog's Cranberry Ale is for a beer drinker. It tasted more like a beer, where the Sam Adams (to mee) tasted more like cranberry juice.

As for the service, Dave the bartender, Sheila, and the rest of the crew are always on top of it, always smiling, and always good for a laugh.

The food, I can't think of one thing I've eaten there that I didn't like. If you've never had their beer cheese soup, you should have a cup on your next visit. The Blackened Ribeye sandwich is another lunchtime favorite of mine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Las Vegas, NV
(12/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
This establishment is a little out of the way from the Las Vegas strip and is well worth the visit. It has a country western atmosphere with great beer and good food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Wilson Joe Wilson, Oxnard, CA
(08/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Even though I miss the old "Holy Cow", I've started to get accustomed to the drive out to Big Dog's to remember their beers. The food is great (I think they have the best ribs ANYWHERE!) and the beer is slightly better! As an old "hop head", I alway have the IPA and also tried the Imperial Ale (I think that's what they called it). It was smooth, hoppy and had way too much alcohol to enjoy several (Heh, heh, heh!). I can't wait to get back...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Lewis Mark Lewis, Odessa, TX
(06/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
The brewer here is a veteran of Las Vegas brewpubs, having worked as the assistant initially at the first-ever brewpub to open in town and then moving to the position of head brewer when the original head brewer left for Michigan. He has expanded this brewery from its original capacity and now has the equipment and skills to produce beers and ales of great variety and quality. In witness to that, he recently won a gold medal at the World Beer Cup in Seattle for his Red Ale. He always has something in the line of a bock/dopple bock on hand, usually something Belgianish, often an Imperial Stout or some other high-gravity brew, in addition to the more traditional Pale Ales, Red Ales, Hefeweizens, and the like. His Pale Ale recipe is still the same one that this brewery won a gold medal with at the GABC back in 1993, in their first-ever entry in that competition. It's never lost its appeal for me, yet.

About the only downside to the place is that, as is normal in any Las Vegas bar, there are a lot of smokers, Nevada not being enlightened about restricting smoking in bars or restaurants yet. That can be annoying when you're trying to savor the taste of one of the fine beers on tap here and you're seated downwind of a human steel mill. I've been known to change my seat a couple of times per visit just to stay out of someone's smoke plume so I can taste the beer & food here without tainting it with the aroma of a cigarette.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe S. Joe S., Las Vegas, NV
(06/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So Good
Not so great. Better when the holy cow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I miss the Holy Cow, but this new place isn't bad. I sampled several good beers while having a tasty Wisconson Brat Combo with chicken. Holy Cow Original Pale Ale was flavorful with a great texture, could drink many pints. Big Dog's Real Draft tasted better than it smelled, was light bodied and good for lots of drinking. Red Hydrant Ale was a dry, bitter amber with minimal body. Black Lab Stout was a smooth, great tasting (imperial?). Dirty Dog IPA had great flavor with a heavy body and taste. Centenial IPA was strong, thinner than Dirty Dog, and reminded me of a cider. For desert my wife and I tried a peach cobbler, but that was disappointing. We look forward to a repeat trip to Big Dog.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(12/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beers are excellent. Loved the pale ale, and the hot dog,rib eye steak combo. The discounts during happy hour can't be beat. I will spend alot of time here enjoying the brews and the friendly people. A Las Vegas must.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo de Leon Leo de Leon, Redlands, CA
(09/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
10 beers on tap. Stopped by late afternoon. Had the Belgian White Ale served very cold. Good to style.

Weinzenbock sample. well done, high ABV.

Tailwagger Wheat. Good American style unfiltered wheat for the heat.

Would go back here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Having been a long-time visitor to the old Holy Cow! brewery on Sahara (too bad that life-size cow is not still around), it was great to see the new brewery open up a while back. The original fantastic pale ale is still around, but Dave Otto's brewing opportunities have expanded a lot. Being a fan of hoppy beers, I suggest trying the regular IPA and if you're lucky the newer "War Dog" double IPA will be available - a real hops treat (take the enamel right off your teeth). There is also a nice barley wine - to me, many examples of this style are really oppressively sweet whereas this one is less sweet but smooth, creamy with a nice full flavor.

Las Vegas may not be in the Pacific Northwest, where there would be a dozen breweries or more in a city of this size, but there are some good beers around and this place happens to be my personal favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Schulte Paul Schulte, Las Vegas, NV
(05/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Good
I am glad the brewmaster of the Holy Cow is back in Buisness. The beer quality and taste is up to its wonderful standards. The taste of the Red and Pale Ale should be award winning.

This place is a bit hard to find but not that far from the strip. It seemed like only a short 2 or 3 mile drive up Rancho Rd north behind the Rio Casino.

I loved the beers but was in shock when I saw what the old Holy Cow turned into. The atmosphere looked like any regular old dumpy bar from back in the late 1970's. There was not as many slot machines to play while drinking the delicous beer. I even missed the self guided tours of the old Holy Cow where you could go ustairs and look and read how beer was made. If I didn't know the reputation of the old Holy Cow I would have skipped this place entirely and gone on to classier places like Monte Carlo or Ellis Island.

My only advise for this place is not to judge a book by its cover. The inside and outside might look like a dump but the beer and appitzers are great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(04/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Big Dog's Brewing Company is ready to celebrate our 1st anninversary. We are the pedigree of the Holy Cow! Brewery on the strip. Same beers, only better with a larger selection as well. We have 12 house beers on tap! We mooved our brewery from its former location to our flagship property at The Draft House and changed our name to honor our late founder Tom "Big Dog" Wiesner. We are 15 minutes from the strip. Give me a call for easy directions. 702.290.5573

Dave Otto; Brewmaster

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Otto Dave Otto, Las Vegas, NV
(01/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Black Dog's Pale Ale and Black Lab Stout were pretty good. All Americanin Cream Ale and Legliftter Ale are just OK. Tailwagger Wheat was subpar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Lemar Sean Lemar, Elk Grove, CA
(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
dirty dog IPA the best I have had. My wife liked the leg lifter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review harrah, OK
(06/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy Good Great Great
I acutally went to the Big Dog on West Sahara rather then the main one listed here, which explains the choice of two beers, an amber and a pale ale. Both were very good and I was disappointed there weren't others. The bartender said that they must have run out over the weekend as they get their beer from the brewery brewput under this address. The service was excellent and friendly. The place has a locals feel and it was nice to be there for a change from the strip. The food (pizza) was pretty good too. Worth the trip off the strip if you find yourself out in west Vegas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(04/03/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.211 seconds) 22:33:38 54.211.231.221, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS