PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Southport Brewing Company - Branford, CT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 12:20 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CT > Branford > Southport Brewing Company
Southport Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Southport Brewing Company
Overall: Good    Score: 67.8 / 100
850 West Main Street
Branford, CT 06405
United States
(203) 488-3663
Listed Since: March 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Branford, CT
Beer Guide for Connecticut

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
10 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) By the Sea Inn & Spa
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN CONFERENCE CENTER
2) DAYS INN NEW HAVEN
3) RAMADA INN BRANFORD CT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Baldwin, George, House
2) Baldwin, Timothy, House
3) Baldwin, Zaccheus, House
4) Beach, Samuel, House
5) Blackstone House
6) Bradley, Timothy, House
7) Frisbie, Edward, Homestead
8) Frisbie, Edward, House
9) Harrison, Thomas, House
10) Hoadley, Isaac, House
11) Hoadley, John, House
12) Hoadley, Orrin, House
13) House at 161 Damascus Road
14) House at 29 Flat Rock Road
15) Howd, Eliphalet, House
16) Lewis, Isaac C., Cottage
17) Norton House
18) Palmer, Hezekiah, House
19) Palmer, Isaac, House
20) Pine Orchard Union Chapel
21) Rogers, John, House
22) Stick Style House at Stony Creek
23) Swain-Harrison House
24) Tyler, John, House
25) Tyler, Solomon, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 280 Pub
2) Alexandria Corp
3) Anne's Place
4) Ashley's Ice Cream
5) Assaggio's Restaurant
6) Bassetti's Italia Importing
7) Bella Nadia
8) Born In America Restaurant
9) Branford Pizza
10) Branford Townhouse Restaurant
11) Bread Star Bakery
12) Bucko's Sports Pub
13) Calypso River Grill
14) Carmela's
15) Che Tango
16) China Garden Buffet
17) Chowder Pot Family Restaurant
18) Cookhouse
19) Cranbury's Catering & Cafe
20) Da Carmine's
21) Darbar India
22) Deli Wrap
23) Dellarante's Pizzeria & Deli
24) Domino's Pizza
25) Donovan's Reef
26) Foe An American Bistro
27) Fortune Village Chinese Rstrnt
28) George's Express Pizza
29) George's Pizza
30) Gourmet Wok
31) Grace's Kitchen
32) Ground Round
33) Harbor Street Market
34) Hole In The Wall Deli
35) Ice Creamworks
36) Indian Neck Market LLC
37) Indian Neck Pizza
38) Jack's Concessions
39) Jalapeno Heaven
40) Joe's Cafe
41) LA Cuisine
42) La Luna Ristornate
43) Le Petit Cafe
44) Lenny's Indian Head Inn
45) Lion City Chinese Restaurant
46) Lynn's Deli
47) Main Street Lunch
48) Main Street Pizza & Pasta
49) Marco Pizzeria
50) Marco Pizzeria
51) Margaritas Mexican Restaurant
52) Mc Donald's
53) Mc Donald's
54) Mc Donald's
55) Mcdonald's Restaurant
56) Meadow Muffins Restaurant
57) Meadow Restaurant
58) Mike Jersey Subs
59) Minervini's Pizza & Deli
60) My Dad's Place Cafe
61) N E Restaurant Consulting
62) Nata's Restaurant Alternative
63) Nina's Pizzeria Napoletana
64) North Light Deli
65) P & M Fine Food Delicatessen
66) Pacileo's Apizza & Pasta
67) Palma's Deli & Catering
68) Panevino
69) Parthenon Diner Restaurant
70) Pasta Fair Restaurant
71) Pearls Pantry
72) Penang Grille LLC
73) Pepe & Rose Pizzeria
74) Pine Orchard Market
75) Quiznos Sub
76) Qwik Stop Deli Mart
77) Rosecreek Grill
78) Salerno Pizza
79) Sam's Dockside
80) SBC Restaurants Brewery
81) Scotty's Breakfast Connections
82) Shoreline Buffet Restaurant
83) Shoreline Foods
84) Short Beach Gen Store Deli
85) Sli Casa Mexican Restaurant
86) Starbucks
87) Steve's Deli & Catering LLC
88) Su Casa Mexican Restaurant
89) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
90) Tenderloin Steak House LLC
91) Thimble Islands Lobster Co
92) Tommy Sullivan's Cafe
93) Vincent's Drive-In
94) Waiting Station
95) Webster's Restaurant
96) Wendy's
97) Woodwinds
98) Yooki Yama Japanese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
They do not brew at this location but only serve beers brewed at their other locations. They sometime also have good guest beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George George, New Haven, CT
(09/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
A lot of people really dont like this brewing company but I had a wonderful time. They offer two different samplers and all the beers we tried were good representatives of their style. Nothing stood out but thats okay too. When you brew for the masses sometimes you cant offer many standout beers. With my experiences with chain brews, this place is better then Gordon Biersch, Hops, and John Harvard's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(03/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
It's been my experience in Connecticut that nothing can touch Willimantic Brewing when it comes to great beer. Its latest victim? SBC of Branford. This was a nice place to visit on a rainy Saturday afternoon, but a fairly forgetable experience. I expect a true IPA to be ballsy in the hops department. Theirs was modestly hopped for the style and thus lacked any zing. The english pale ale was nice with hints of butterscotch and average to good body. I'd rate it a b-. The atmosphere is contemporary...a bit large and lacking in character in the bar area, but otherwise, interesting. And although the barmaid was young and curvey and reason enough to stop in, this brewpub brews ho-hum beer and is clearly an underachiever.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jim St. Louis, Wethersfield, CT
(05/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
Although I love the names of the beers (having lived in this area my whole life), they are flat and fairly boring. Yet, it is a nice looking, fun place to hang out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Pete, New Haven, CT
(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Good Good
A large selection of brews to choose from. I had 2 different IPA's. Neither were very hoppy. I would stop in again if I'm in the area but I wouldn't go out of my way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, meriden, CT
(09/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Great Good
Weak beer, tried 3 different kinds. One pitcher was incredibly flat and another lacked any body.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Branford, CT
(07/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Oops, previous review I meant to say the selection was great, but the quality was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Beacon Falls, CT
(07/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
This place wants to remind me of the Hops brewery/restaurant chain, but the food and beer quality is better. Good selection of beers, 10 to choose from. The porter and stout were good compared to some of the others I have tried. They need to rinse the glasses a little better because the stout had a very faint soapy taste...(could of been the beer though?!) Overall it was a very nice friendly establishment. I will be back to sample a few more selections and even try their after dinner selections too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Beacon Falls, CT
(07/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Good So So
HIGH PRICED FOR A MIDDLE OF THE ROAD BREWPUB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ, PRESTON, CT
(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
The atmosphere was nice. However, just like Hops, the food was really good, but the beer sucked!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Groucho Groucho, Berlin, CT
(05/25/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.867 seconds) 12:20:56 54.87.138.122, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS