PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Capital Ale House - Glen Allen, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 20, 2014 @ 05:56 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Glen Allen > Capital Ale House
Capital Ale House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Capital Ale House
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 86.4 / 100
Shoppes of Innsbrook
4024-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, VA 23060
United States
(804) 780-ALES
Listed Since: April 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Glen Allen, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
12 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Bailey's Smokehouse and Tavern
(4 miles)

2) Williamsville Brewery
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Virginia Cliffe Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES RICHMOND INNSBROOK
2) COMFORT INN EXECUTIVE CENTER
3) COMFORT SUITES INNSBROOK
4) COURTYARD RICHMOND NORTHWEST
5) HAMPTON INN RICHMOND WEST
6) OAKWOOD SHORT PUMP
7) OAKWOOD WYNDHAM
8) QUALITY INN WEST END
9) RICHMOND MARRIOTT WEST
10) STUDIOPLUS RICHMOND INNSBROOK
11) SUPER 8 RICHMOND BROAD ST VA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Laurel Industrial School Historic District
2) Walkerton
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Bellagio Restaurant
2) Boychiks Deli
3) Capital Ale House
4) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
5) Chen's Restaurant
6) China Pearl
7) Cup A Joe
8) Curry House
9) Debbie's Kitchen
10) Domino's Pizza
11) Five Guys Burgers & Fries
12) Great Taste Buffet
13) Innsbrook Cafe
14) Joncee's Cafe
15) Little Szechuan Chinese Rstrnt
16) Madison Street Cafe
17) Mamma Felicia's Ristorante
18) Market Cafe'
19) Moe's Southwest Grill
20) Mulligan's Sports Grille
21) Padow's Hams & Deli
22) Panera Bread
23) Pita Pit
24) Place At Innsbrook
25) Quiznos Sub
26) Rainbow Food Svc
27) Smoky's Tavern
28) Starbucks
29) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
30) Virginia Cliffe Inn
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome! Great
Qualifying the food as "so-so." I do not eat meat and it seriously affects my overall impression of a place like this. Beer selection is outstanding, bartenders are very knowlegdable and that makes up for the food. I will still go there, but not to eat. They need a new menu and perhaps a chef.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, Berkeley Springs, WV
(01/03/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
This remains a very nice beer bar with an actual restaurant with good food. I am normally a brewpub patron over a beer bar patron but this is an exceptional beer bar. All but one of my draft requests were stocked. 51 beers on tap tonight, and on this particular Sunday night, the American micros were $2 during my stay from 6:30-9. I also like Legend brewery in town, but for a beer bar, I can certainly recommmend the Capital Ale House.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Leesburg, VA
(03/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Went on a Friday night and found lots of room at the spacious bar. Barmaid (is that sexist?) was very helpful and informative. Twenty-three beers on tap with a great selection. Bottled beers to rival the Brick. Chicken wings were broiled, not fried, with plenty of side sauce and bleu cheese. Can even take out bottled beers if you meet the 20$ minimum. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dan mc cabe dan mc cabe, gaithersburg, MD
(02/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Great
They were changing out a lot of the taps when we went in, so they didn't have my first four choices of brew. The food was a bit overpriced for what seemed like regular pub food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Newport News, VA
(01/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Great selection of beers, good atmosphere, plenty of hotels close by. Service was a little scattered and the price of the Belgian beers was sky high. Overall, a great place if your in the area... Hard to beleive, but a pretty good Cuban sandwich.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ian Quittner Ian Quittner, Hendersonville, NC
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Great selection of beer and has the cool ice rail already mentioned. Food was only good not great, but still worth a stop for the beer. Two nearby hotels, make this a great stopover if traveling through Richmond. I know that Capital Ale House and the beer store "Once Upon A Vine" will be frequented during my trips down south.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott  D Scott D, York, PA
(09/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Wow. One of the best selections of beers on tap I have seen, and I have seen a lot! This place is a little out of the way, but worth the trip. The bar is nice, clean, and the service good. I was there early Saturday evening, and it was pretty empty. I have heard that it can get crowded in the evenings. The ice rail at the bar is a nice touch, but do most beers need that? Its still pretty cool. We only had the fries as a snack, and they were very good. They have on tap right now Eggenburger Samichlaus Dopplebock, an ass kicking beer, one of the best I have ever had. Its not for the faint of heart, however, only serious beer drinkers need apply for this one. Bottom line, if you are in the Richmond area, and you love a great selection of brews on tap (and they have quite the bottle list, too), you need to visit Capital Ale House.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ware Chris Ware, Fairfax, VA
(02/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Hate to have two reviews in a row, but if no one else is so inclined... This is indeed a great beer bar, but better yet, it's a great example of getting it all right. The service is excellent--it almost seems at times that the servers help you in waves. I was at the bar, and I know I was helped by at least four different people. No matter how good the beer is (and it's awesome), it's the service that will keep people coming back. Lots of great bar talk--a great couple new to the area (via Cali, Tex and Ga) was on their first visit and provided very nice conversation partners. Hope they find that 420 (isn't that from Sweetwater in GA?) that they were looking for. I'll be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Wow! I should probably leave it at that, but I'll continue. This could very well be the best beer bar I've ever been to! There's such a wide selection which pushes the envelope in quality, I can't think of anything even slightly negative to say. Three bars with 75 or so taps and bottles, bottles, bottles! My server seemed almost eager to run from bar to bar just to pour samples! I felt badly putting him through the paces, but it was no big deal to him. Insofar as Belgians are concerned, as I sit here looking at the beer menu, I count well over 40, and probably as many Belgian-styled beers from USA and Canada. Hadn't had a Cuban sandwich in ages, and it was excellent! I've got to find an excuse to come back here often. I wonder if they're hiring?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I disagree about the Belgian Selection. They have an extensive menu in Innsbrook that includes 50 plus Belgian bottles all chatagorized. Here in Richmond its rare that a Beer and Wine store carries that many. I've been getting a few to go each evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Manning James Manning, Mechanicsville, VA
(09/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Lots of beer but nothing special. The same stuff you can get in a quality beer store, you just pay 3 time the price. Their Belgium beer selection is weak at best. Sure they have Chimay but this is not a rare find

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Parrott Chris Parrott, Glen Allen, VA
(09/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
These folks continue to impress. Seriously, what a great job they're doing. My wife & I went with another couple on their opening weekend. I knew they'd have a bunch of taps (probably 1/3rd more than the downtown location)but I was concerned about service/food issues that come with opening a new place. But, much to my suprise, the service and food were exactly like the original location. Perfect.

They consistantly provide outstanding beer selections, really good food and knowledgable wait staff.

The downtown location has a little more character but the Innsbrook location has more beer. Plus, they have a smoke free bar, which is great. I've also sat out on the patio.

Since they opened in late April, I've been there about a dozen times. I haven't been disappointed once.

With the combination of everything, this is my favorite beer bar in the country. If you're anywhere close, you really should try it out.

Anyone planning on opening an establishment like this one should talk with these folks. This is what a beer bar should be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, VA
(07/13/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.725 seconds) 17:56:56 54.237.38.30, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS