PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe - Bridgeville , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 12:27 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Bridgeville > Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe
Overall: Great    Score: 76.7 / 100
1597 Washington Pike
Route 50
Bridgeville , PA 15017
United States
(412) 279-8170
Listed Since: May 2004
Last Updated: November 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bridgeville , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe
16 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub
(0 mile)

2) Paddys' Pour House
(5 miles)

3) Ciao!
(5 miles)

4) Sapphire's Lounge
(5 miles)

5) Bella Piatto
(5 miles)

6) Wright's Seafood Inn
(5 miles)

7) McGrogans's Tap Room
(5 miles)

8) Sharp Edge Brasserie
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN BRIDGEVILLE
2) EXTENDEDSTAY CARNEGIE
3) HGI PITTSBURGH SOUTHPOINTE
4) KNIGHTS INN BRIDGEVILLE PA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boyce Station
2) Carnegie, Andrew, Free Library
3) Erie Trust Company Building
4) Neville House
5) Oakdale Public School
6) Walker-Ewing Log House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abicristo Pizzeria
2) Angelia's Pizza
3) Any Thyme Gourmet
4) Armstrong's Express
5) Bee'z Pizza & Pasta
6) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
7) Boots Texas Roadhouse
8) Bruster's Old Fashioned Ice
9) Burger King
10) Burgh's Pizza & Wing Pub
11) Chuck E Cheese's
12) Cici's Pizza
13) Classic Chinese Cuisine
14) Country Style Pizza
15) Dairy Delite
16) Fairview Sunset Room
17) GAC King Buffet
18) Good Wood Grill
19) Grey Stallion Inn
20) Icee USA
21) King's Family Restaurant
22) Massetti Co
23) Mc Donald's
24) Metro Media Restaurants
25) Moon Chinese Buffet
26) New Dragon Express
27) New York Pizzeria
28) P J's Deli & Catering
29) Pepe's Fairview Inn
30) Pittsburgh Ice Cream Co & Deli
31) Rag Top Bar & Grill
32) Railroad Street Cafe
33) Raya's Pizzeria
34) Renaissance Deli Provision
35) Rotelli Pizza & Pasta
36) Rythm House Cafe
37) Senor Frogs Restaurant
38) Serafina's Pizza
39) Starbucks
40) Station Sandwich Shop
41) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
42) Taco Bell
43) Tambellini Bridgeville Rstrnt
44) Village Inn
45) Wheel Bar & Lounge
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Good
I visited when it first opened and then twice in the last week. It is a sterile atmosphere, and always cold. Wear a sweater. Otherwise I don't have a problem with the ambience. The crowd is varied and hopping, even on weeknights. But I have to loudly agree with most -- the girls were hired more for their looks than for having any concept of customer service -- or math. We constantly had to flag down a waitress, even though she passed by us constantly, and when my friend ordered a Miller Lite, she brought a Coors Light (yeah, yeah, we don't exactly go for the wide selection, although it's a great value proposition). Last night, we sat at the bar, and again constantly had to wave our empty bottles in the air right in front of the bartender. My bill was $5.50 (I drank more; others were buying), I gave her a $20, and she gave me $13.50 change. The drawer was $1 over last night -- unless she does that to everyone, in which case, what a neat way to make money. You know, I'll give the place another chance, but I sure hope Marc is listening and realizes that the customer experience can make or break you. Train the girls or get new ones!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nora Nora, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
I've enjoyed the Bottleshop since it's opening. The fact is the selection is great and reasonably priced (certainly better than the Sharp Edge). The service has improved over time. It was very erratic at first, but the last 2 or 3 times I've visited, it's been above average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(01/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great
Did a book signing at the Bottleshop three weeks ago, and finally got to try the food. Wow. One of the very best pieces of filet mignon I've had in a long time, with a delicious mushroom-filled sauce. Beers were excellent and fresh, selection was very broad. Overall suffers a bit because of the fairly sterile decor; better bring your own atmosphere -- and most people do! Great place to get some beers and check out the populace.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(11/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Bottleshop is expanding. A new lease signed 9/28 for the adjoining space will give us all more space and attract a larger crowd.

New website for the Bottleshop too. Features on the wait staff and more info on the cigar menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Good Good Good
I feel the need to respond to Deb, Though you have more experience here than I, I can say the handful of times I've been in PBC I have not experienced such problems. We stopped in on a recent Sunday afternoon when things were quiet and the dozen or so patrons seemed absorbed in the football games on TV (and was that Dan Marino at the corner of the bar, drinking Stella Artois? Sure looked like him). Our waitress, besides being a serious looker (as usual here), was reasonably attentive (though I did have to go up and ask for a glass for my Midas Touch) and our food was delivered in a reasonable amount of time. It probably didn't hurt that the menu is limited on Sundays, but still, we were in and out pretty fast.

I DO agree with other posters that the tap selection is a bit lame, given over to pap on about half of them (which I'm nevertheless sure goes a long way toward paying the bills, so here's to Bud and Miller), but the fare in the coolers is very good. It's sort of the opposite of, say, Fat Heads, where the taps are great but the selection in the Beer Union Six-Pack Shop upstairs is pretty slim. I've spoken with Mark Davis a couple times here and he's been generous at pricing his product when I've bought mix-and-match take-out sixes. Gave me some tap samples too. He seems very eager to make friends, and he's made one out of me. It doesn't hurt that his place is more convenient for me to get to than Sharp's, Fat Heads or D's either.

So in the absence of a truly bad experience here, I'm inclined to give PBC the benefit of the doubt. Of course, it's possible that if Mark reads this site he's made some adjustments in staff attitudes since Deb posted.

The decor of the place, as others have noted, isn't much. But what wall space there is is given over to what it SHOULD be given over to, which is beer coolers. That, and the eye candy help, is about all the decor I need.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(10/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Lousy So So
I realize I am spoiled by being a frequenter of the Sharp Edge, but I have tried, many many times to get to like this place and I just can't seem to do it! It is right down the street from my house, less than a five minute drive, and it would be wonderful to know that I can just pop down for a great beer, but I just can't! After 5 or 6 seperate visits I do not think I will be returning again. My only question, WHAT DOES IT TAKE TO GET WAITED ON IN THIS ESTABLISHMENT?!? I see the hottie waitstaff, and maybe that is a good enough reason for a guy to be patient, but eye candy is just not enough for me. I have tried waving my arms, flashing a wad of cash (almost always grabs a bartenders attention), eye contact, asking to be waited on... I am at a loss. I have been in on slower nights, mid-afternoon, weekend nights, doesn't matter, still can't get waited on. My husband & I went in for dinner one night, sat at a table, helped ourselves to a beer from the cooler, went and asked the bartender for some glasses and menus. She gave me the glasses & said she would be over in a few with menus. 30 minutes later, not a server to be found, second beer drunk already, still no menus, and a large froup of the staff chatting and sitting on the laps of a few guys at the bar. I got mad, intended to pay my bill and leave, waited for 10 more minutes to flag down a bartender so I could tell her 1) what I drank and 2)pay for it. This has been a consistent problem, maybe it's because I have boobs, but I always thought my money was good, too.

Long story short, never had the time to eat there, but I have heard it is ok fare and I just end up leaving there more aggravated that when I came in. I guess I will just take my business to Burg's, where the service is slow, but at least existant or the Sharp Edge, where I am always well taken care of.

Soory PBC, I gave you more chances than I ordinarily would cuz I wanted to like it, but I just cant bring myself to go again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deb Deb, Carnegie, PA
(06/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
NO ONE ELSE reviewed this place in four months? Jeez...Oh well. The beer has gotten even better, the atmosphere is improved with some nice decorating, the service is more personable. Mark is hitting this nail square on the head.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
You know, I had a fantastic time here, but I'd also agree with Jen from C-ville: ZERO atmosphere...unless the joint's rocking. Looky here, I stopped in on a WEDNESDAY night, it was raining, it was half an hour till closing time, and the PBC was jumping, busting out at the seams with hot chix, big cigar guys, a coupla geeks, more good-lookin' bartenders than you could shake a tip at -- and I'm looking around, completely baffled. The PBC is in a strip plaza, it's just one big high-ceilinged room with very little decoration, a few tables, a bar with about 16 taps on one side (decent taps, though: Bell's 2-Hearted, Erdinger Weiss, Southern Tier Porter, Arrogant Bastard), and a wall of coolers on the other, filled with hundreds of beers, and not just crap, rare and excellent beers. What were they there for? Is there nothing else? Maybe it's the beer, maybe it's the bartenders, maybe it's owner Mark Davis (who was all over the place, keeping it happening), maybe it's the beer (did I say that? You bet!), but this place DOES have something...and my bet is that it's going to get better. Make the trip, it's easy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
I thought the place was great and the waitress that we had named Lauren was really wonderful. She was very helpful with our menu selections and she gave us wonderful service. She was also very friendly and cute! The beer that she suggested also tasted great along with the food that we ordered. We will certainly go back for more visits!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sam T Sam T, South Fayette, PA
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I am new to the drinking world,(well legally anyways) and the Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe is a great place for those who don't know a lot about beer or who haven't yet found their likes and dislikes. The bartenders, all gorgeous and the nicest girls you will meet, are more than willing to pour you a small sample of any of the 12 drafts to see if you like them or not. The bar and restaurant is also the melting pot of Pittsburgh. I spoke with retired men to the up and coming corporate executive. Definitely a great place for business networking or just having an enjoyable night out. The food was more than you typical bar fare. All of the meals were reasonably priced and the portions were huge. My sandwich, a Guinness Pot Roast sandwich, was as thick as it was long. My girlfriend had the Turkey Club and couldn't finish the whole thing. So for under 40 bucks, the two of us enjoyed a great meal and each had 3 beers. I had a great time and met some great people. The food was great, service was great, and I will definitely become a regular at the Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Myers Brian Myers, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
After back to back negative toned reviews posted on the same day (did you folks visit together?) I had to return to the Bottleshop to check things out.

I had been there intitially in a pre-opening phase.

Let's describe this place. The BottleShop is a new strip mall location in Collier Township right as you come through Heidelberg along route 50. It is behind the Damon's steakhouse. This being a strip mall and new--- character of the overall area is blah-ha. See the photo of the exterior.

Inside, things are more attractive. How attractive this place is depends on your taste. The walls are rose colored. There are some funky silver lights and shiny metal ventilation pipes overhead. All that along with some large PA type speakers.

There are about 15 seats along the bar, 2 booths and 5 sit up high tables in the middle of the place.

The walls are barely decorated with just a few beer promo mirrors. Not cluttered like a lot of places. All clean and new. I can understand how the three door coolers, totaling 9 doors overall could detract from the interior. However, they have decorative panels to integrate them into the place, are new and more attractive than most coolers.

My waitress for lunch was a 40something. A beautiful blonde former beauty pagent type. Good looking waitstaff is seemingly a part of the formula at the BottleShop.

Beyond being a knockout, my waitress was attentative and prompt. Zero issues, helpful. No empty glass at any point.

Food was an issue. No vegetarian sandwiches or entres. Food is fairly limited to about eight appetizers, six or so sandwiches and a few chicken/seafood offerings.

I ordered a salad and eggplant appetizer. The salad was very good. Really high quality spring greens. A large meal sized salad. The appetizer was served with a large side of marinara. Pretty good as well.

I spoke with Marc (owner) about everything and the complaints that were posted along with the veggie/limited diet issues. Marc is interested in hearing about any problems. He's there a lot. He was in the kitchen this lunch time working on the food.

The bottle selection is pretty decent. There were a few beers I hadn't seen in Pittsburgh before. The tap selection most notably has Victory Hop Devil and Stone Arrogant Bastard.

This is a new place with business on the upswing. By all means give this place a try and let us hear about any problems and the good parts too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, pittsburgh, PA
(07/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
I agree with Jen from Cockeysville, this place lacks atmosphere. I sat at the bar for 10 minutes before the bartender asked if I wanted anything. Meanwhile, she was 3 feet away washing glasses. She charged me the wrong price, and served my beer in a 10 ounce glass (Hopdevil). Heck most places don't even use 12oz glasses anymore. The selection was okay, although one handle was empty, which was odd. No need to go back there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So Lousy
I found this establishment to be extremely lacking. I went there on a Saturday evening, expecting to find some type of atmosphere or energy. There was none to be found. The service was decent, although the waitress did get our order wrong, brought our food to the table at different times, and failed to bring us napkins, plates and utensils. The food was standard greasy bar fare. The bbq wings were okay. The draft selection was mediocre. They do have a large bottle selection, but the set-up of the cafe makes you feel like you're at a convenient store shopping for 40's of malt liquor, rather than high-end Belgians. This place had ZERO atmosphere, no decorations, loud music, and uncomfortable tables. Based on the other reviews of PBC, I was highly disappointed. The establishment had no good qualities that would mandate another visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jen Jen, Cockeysville, MD
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
Food is good. Good healthy portions. I will definately go back. Met the owner, good guy; very friendly. Waitresses need more knowledge of the bar. One waitress was rude, but the other waitress was nice and professional. I would say, good over all. I will be going back. It is new and has a good atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(05/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Well Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe is bound to become the home bar for PubCrawler... It's a very local place in the fairly beer lacking area we reside in.

We visited the Bottleshop during April - pre-opening. The light fixtures were still waiting to be placed overhead and the smell of freshness filled the space. The Bottleshop is an intimate space that the in-a-hurry crowd will drive by at 60MPH. That is a good thing in this case though. Marc is aiming towards more educated taste buds. With 200+ bottled varieties of beer in coolers that line probably over 30 linear feet this isn't your average hole in the wall bar.

What makes this such a cool space ala NYC or San Fran or etc. is that the patrons on our initial visit ranged from regular truck driving blue collar working folks to more discerning yuppified folks like us to a couple on the Harley... This is a real fusion place like you find in every other city except Pittsburgh.

The space is small by most bar standards - but intimate. A large bar lines one whole wall with two very lovely televisions mounted behind the bar. The fixtures and interior are very moden and again not typical for the 'burgh.

We had the luck of having Marc Davis on hand and serving up a few free beers. Marc is most recently departed from Pittsburgh Brewing - the folks that make Iron City beer. Marc is responsible for another flagship beer via Sam Adams and Pittsburgh brewings continued contract brewing arrangement. Marc is a heavyweight with 20 years of brewing experience. Don't hold his affectionate liking of the Iron City as an indicator of anything but Marc's attachment and personal preference.

Well talk about a nice place. When was the last time someone significant in modern beer history poured you a free glass of good beer? Beyond this kind act, Marc spent some time to chat with us and give some additional info on the place and where he was going with things.

We'll be back with an additional feature review and photos of this place very soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Super-hot bartenders and waitresses, and amazing micro and macro beer selections. Owned by an award winning brewmaster. read these articles on this new brewpub: http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/04106/300904.stm http://pittsburgh.bizjournals.com/pittsburgh/stories/2004/03/15/smallb1.html

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Landis Pete Landis, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/10/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.251 seconds) 12:27:22 107.22.37.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS