PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Depot Deli and Lounge - Shenandoah, IA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 21, 2014 @ 04:46 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IA > Shenandoah > Depot Deli and Lounge
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Depot Deli and Lounge
Overall: Good    Score: 64.2 / 100
101 N Railroad Street
Shenandoah, IA 51601
United States
(712) 246-4444
Listed Since: July 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Shenandoah, IA
Beer Guide for Iowa

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
12 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN SHENANDOAH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Wabash Combination Depot--Shenandoah
2) Women's Christian Temperance Union Public Fountain
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Breadeaux Pizza
2) Casey's Carry Out Pizza
3) Main Perk
4) Mike's Place
5) Terry's Matador Lounge
6) Wing Wang Chinese Buffet
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good So So So So
I've been here several times for beer & dinner after work. Most of the time I've ordered common beer as they seemed to only have swill beer. I learned they had brewery and thought OK I'll try one of their beers. I ordered dinner and a beer, got a Red Ale. Micro choices; Wheat, Red Ale, Bock. The beer was not really red, more brown-like. I moved to the bar after my beer arrived because all four chairs were awefull. I drank my beer and ate my food. Food was good. Ordered another red ale, it came back light red. I asked it this the red? They said yes. I ordered a 3rd red. I watched the barkeep pour bock into the glass and I told him stop, I want a red ale. He's like yah I know, and fills the pint 1/3 full of bock then tops off with Miller lite!!! He then tells me they are out of red ale and that's now how they make them. I reluctantly drink the beer and then decide to try the wheat. He then tells me they are out of wheat. I guess you can't make a wheat with bock and miller and pass it off as wheat! Drink the New Belgium Beer Selections.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Schlenkerla Schlenkerla, Des Moines, IA
(08/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Great building and location, the worst service I have ever had, filthy awfull stinking bathroom. Low quality food and so slow. I do try this place about twice to three times a year, hoping it has improved, seems to be getting worse. Too bad, it could be a great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mark mitchell mark mitchell, shenandoah, IA
(04/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So
Lemon Wheat 2/10, where 10 is best. The other brew on tap is bock. The owner states that 20 kegs is microbrewed every six weeks - that being the reason the brew room appears to be typically inactive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So
Wheat 1/10; Bock 1/10. Rating is where 10 is best. Concur with the 28 JUN 2006 comment by a member that the beer is likely an extract, as the brewing equipment on-site appeared to not be utilized.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(06/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Any small town would die for a place like this. Pints of their own Micro-Brew are $2, try that in any other micro-brewery or restuarant anywhere. The Bock is as good as any I've tried, try the wheat for lunch. I travel to shenandoah about 2 to 3 times a month and never miss eating lunch or dinner there. We road our bikes there last summer on the Wabash Trace, a 63 mile nature trail (acording to Chuck Offenburger of the Des Moines Register, "would not exist if not for the hard work of Bill Hillman and the Depot in Shenandoah"). We had breakfast there. Try the breakfast burrito. I've been there for live music and dinner at night, lunch at noon, and now breakfast. We have always loved the food, beer and service. Great place for the whole family. I recomend it highly!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Henderson Joe Henderson, Omaha, NE
(12/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
The atmosphere is the best characteristic of the establishment. The beer, 90% of the time is average to good. However, the owner has brewed a couple of batches that I would rate as great-awesome. However, I am always willing to support the local guy. We had our rehersal dinner in the 'banquet room' - this was the best food and service I have ever received from The Depot. On the downside of things, I would have agree with what the other reviews allude to, the overall quality of the place lacks consistency. From one visit to the next, the food can go from "I'll never come back", to "I'd like to have the recipe for that."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brock Brock, Essex, IA
(10/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Great Good
Some brewing equipment was on site but none of it was plumbed in. IF brewing is done there I suspect it is strickly extract. We had a vanilla cream ale that would of been a good vanilla soda and a nonadventurous wheat beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Better service at a boat dock in winter. Better food at any gas station anywhere. really great atmosphere to bad food and service have always been horrible. I try it about one or two times a year just to see if has gotten any better and it never does it just gets worse. Maybe some day someone who cares about quality and service will take this dump over. Because you can get warm crappy beer anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mark mitchell mark mitchell, northboro, IA
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
Where 10 is best: Red Ale 1/10 (combination of Wheat beer and Bock beer, mixed from the tap by the bartender).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
09 APR 2005: Bock beer 5/10, where 10 is best. Good taco salad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(04/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
29 MAR 2005: Wheat is rated 2/10, where 10 is best. Three micro brews available today, brewed on-site:: wheat, stout, bock.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(03/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Rasberry Wheat rates 6/10, with 10 being best. The restaurant/deli is located in a restored RR depot, close to the "Wabash Trace" hike/bike trail in SW Iowa.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(06/19/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.202 seconds) 04:46:45 54.226.21.57, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS