PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Opa-Opa Steakhouse and Brewery - Southampton, MA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 07:36 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MA > Southampton > Opa-Opa Steakhouse and Brewery
Opa-Opa Steakhouse and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Opa-Opa Steakhouse and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
169 College Highway
Southampton, MA 01073
United States
(413) 527-0808
Listed Since: September 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Southampton, MA
Beer Guide for Massachusetts

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
8 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Mon 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Tue 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Wed 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Thu 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Fri 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bloomsbury Bed & Breakfast
2) Diantha's Garden Bed & Brkfst
3) Mc Kinley House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) US Post Office--Easthampton Main
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Chad's Trading Post Restaurant
2) Fps Inc
3) Opa Opa Steakhouse & Brewery
4) Paisanos Restaurant & Pizzaria
5) Paisanos Restaurant & Pizzaria
6) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So So So Good
Before I start my review, to be fair let me say that I made my one trip to Opa Opa on Saturday night of St Patricks Day weekend, and the place was packed with people. The place was well-reviewed by some people I was meeting with over the weekend, so maybe I'd have had better luck on another night.

Went in, got a seat at the bar, got instant service from the bartender, and ordered a Buckwheat IPA. If I had stopped right there this would be a great review. The Buckwheat IPA is awesome!!! Unfortunately, things sort of seemed to go downhill after that (maybe because of the huge crowds?).

Had a look at the menu, and waited, and waited, and waited, and waited some more, for one of the bartenders to come back or notice me waving at them. Finally got to order an appetizer and a steak, and for a short time the bartenders were very attentive again. Asked for and received a sample of their A-10 Double IPA, which was a little too strong for my taste. Decided to get a pint of the ESB, and either they poured me the wrong beer (it sort of tasted like a brown ale???), or it's the worst ESB I've ever had in my life. Ended up sending it away and going back to the Buckwheat IPA (they didn't charge me for it at least, which was points in their favor).

Waited again for a long while and finally got my appetizer (garlic bread with cheese) which was very good. In fact most of the appetizers I saw coming out looked pretty good. Then waited, and waited, and waited some more for my steak. A bartender went to check on it and came out and told me it would still be awhile because the kitchen was backed up. Not one minute later a waitress brought it out. I just wasn't that impressed - it didn't seem like a great cut of meat.

Finished my meal, and again had to wait and wait and wait for my check, as the bartenders were too busy talking to a couple of their friends at the end of the bar to take care of customers.

So unfortunately my one experience to date with Opa Opa was decidedly so-so. To be fair, the Buckwheat IPA was so good that I'd like to try going back there one more time when it's not so busy, to see if things go any better. Otherwise it would be a place just to go only long enough to fill up growlers. (I did end up buying a 6 pack of IPA to take home with me).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from travelmedic travelmedic, Clifton Park, NY
(03/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Technical difficulties have delayed this review from July. Made it to Opa Opa on a rainy Thursday night, and I'm glad I made the effort. Place was packed to the gills; I was fortunate to get a bar seat. Service was always spot on, even given the crowd. 16 beers listed, a few were out, but impressive nonethless. Got a sampler of 6, tried to not go overboard after a bit of driving left me bushed. Blueberry very light and delicate, Brown very mild, not roasty or sweet. Honesty 47 a pale copper ale, nice for what it was, Dry Stout was very dry, almost thin, flavor kind of got lost. IPA was bitter, not fruity or citrusy; straight to the point. Double IPA--Whoa! A real eye opener at 11.5%. Malt/alcohol very noticable. Food was simple but tasty. Crowds tell me they're gonna be around for a while!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
My only complaint was that the service at the bar was kinda cruddy. It was a Thursday night and wasn't that busy. I had thier Pale Ale which I thought was excellent. Their porter was a little too burnt and the cask conditioned stout was a bit too cold. Their prices are great ($9 for a growler!) and they give you way too much food. It's a pity that it's in the middle of nowhere and not right next to my house.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Windsor Locks, CT
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The food was delicious and the staff was exceptional. My husband and I have visited the restaurant a few times and it is always busy. It is a great restaurant to visit. They have big portions for reasonable prices

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Natalie Natalie, Springfield, MA
(03/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Tried several beers, all were awesome. The food was great too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy Good
Only thing I have to complain about was the service. Granted it was a very busy Saturday night, and being a bartender I fully understand the situation. However, the service was terrible. 3 bartenders and it took 20 minutes to get a beer and we were not allowed to order any food at the bar, apparently because it was too busy. One bartender was sweating so profusely he had stains all over his shirt and was wiping his brow with his bar towel (not really appetizing). Food was excellent and the beer was the best I have had in Western MA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Whately, MA, MA
(11/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great
They're open now and I predict success.

We went for dinner on opening day (Labor Day). They were about half full already. We had to wait at the bar for a table to be ready but the barman was friendly and understood the concept of having room-temperature glasses available in addition to the frozen ones.

Dan only had one of his beers so far (more by now), a malty dark amber ale. We found the service very good, especially for opening day.

I guess that the best way to say how good our dinner was is to mention the only flaw I found - they used a St. Louis BBQ sauce on their Texas ribs. (Nothng like a geek reviewing restaurants, eh?)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BruPilgrim (Ralph S Sturgen) BruPilgrim (Ralph S Sturgen), Easthampton, MA
(09/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Stopped in the other day to look the place over. They aren't open yet (scheduled for Labor Day) so can't rate them on anything. I expect their beer to be excellent as their brewer is Dan Kramer (late of Maplewood's in Amherst, MA). The plan is to have 6 of their beers on tap plus 2 'guests'.

The menu looks good: various steaks, prime rib, ribs (Texas beef and St Louis pork), chicken, crab cakes, salmon, cod, burgers, and the occasional Greek bit such as saganaki. Entree's run about $12 - $20. The owners are long-time successful restauranteurs in the area so I expect the food to be good.

The decor is kinda 'faux Southwest' but nicely done in wood and stone. There is also an outdoor deck with its own bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BruPilgrim (Ralph S Sturgen) BruPilgrim (Ralph S Sturgen), Easthampton, MA
(08/30/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.395 seconds) 19:36:14 54.82.142.246, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS