PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Lion and Rose - San Antonio, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 23, 2014 @ 05:41 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > San Antonio > The Lion and Rose
The Lion and Rose Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
The Lion and Rose
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.6 / 100
5148 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
United States
(210) 822-7673
Listed Since: October 2004
Last Updated: July 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for San Antonio, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of The Lion and Rose
21 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(12 within 5 miles)
1) Cementville
(0 mile)

2) Double Dave's Pizzaworks #4
(0 mile)

3) Double Dave's Pizzaworks #2
(0 mile)

4) Joey's
(3 miles)

5) Blue Star Brewing Company
(3 miles)

6) Acapulco Drive Inn
(4 miles)

7) Alamo Beer Company
(4 miles)

8) Dick's Last Resort
(4 miles)

9) Kangaroo Court
(4 miles)

10) Ranger Creek Brewing and Distilling
(5 miles)

11) San Antonio Homebrew Supply
(5 miles)

12) Durty Nellie's
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Aaron's Garden Bed & Breakfast
2) Abh Management
3) Academy House of Monte Vista
4) Adams House Bed & Breakfast
5) Arbor House
6) Beauregard House B & B
7) Beckmann Inn & Carriage House
8) Bed & Breakfast Host
9) Bed & Breakfast on the River
10) Bed & Breakfast-Bonner Garden
11) Belle of Monte Vista
12) Brackenridge House B & B Inn
13) Bullis House Bed & Breakfast
14) Chabot Reed House Bed & Brkfst
15) Christmas House Bed & Brkfst
16) Columns on Alamo B & B Inn
17) Inn At Craig Place
18) Inn on the River
19) Joske House
20) Little Flower Inn
21) Lyons Escape.com
22) Noble Inns
23) O'Casey's Bed & Breakfast
24) Oge House
25) Painted Lady
26) Riverwalk Inn
27) Royal Swan Guest House
28) S A Yellow Rose B & B
29) Tara Inn Bed & Breakfast
30) Terrell Castle Bed & Breakfast
31) Victorian Lady Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALAMO CITY RIVERWALK PLAZA
2) AMERISUITES AIRPORT
3) ANTONIAN INN AND SUITES
4) BEST WESTERN SUITES DOWNTOWN
5) BEST WESTERN SUNSET RIVERWALK
6) BW POSADA ANA INN AIRPORT
7) CLARION HOTEL RIVERWALK
8) COMFORT INN SAN ANTONIO
9) COMFORT SUITES
10) COMFORT SUITES DOWNTOWN
11) COURTYARD SAN ANTONIO AIRPORT
12) COURTYARD SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN
13) DAYS INN ALAMO RIVERWALK
14) DAYS INN COLISEUM
15) DAYS INN DOWNTOWN
16) DAYS INN SAN ANTONIO EAST TX
17) DAYS INN SAN ANTONIO NORTH
18) DAYS INN WINDCREST
19) DOUBLETREE HOTEL
20) DRURY INN & SUITES RIVERWALK
21) DRURY INN SAN ANTONIO A/P
22) DRURY INN SAN ANTONIO NE
23) ECONO LODGE AIRPORT
24) ECONO LODGE EAST
25) ECONO LODGE INN AND SUITES
26) EMBASSY SUITES
27) EMILY MORGAN
28) FAIRFIELD INN SAN ANTONIO ARPT
29) FAIRFIELD INN SAN ANTONIO DTWN
30) FAIRMOUNT HOTEL SAN ANTONIO
31) HAMPTON INN DOWNTOWN
32) HAMPTON INN S ANTONIO NE
33) HAVANA RIVERWALK INN
34) HAWTHORN SUITES SAN ANTONIO TX
35) HILL COUNTRY INN & SUITES
36) HILTON AIRPORT NORTHSTAR
37) HILTON PALACIO DEL RIO
38) HOMEGATE STUDIO SUITES-AIRPORT
39) HOMEWOOD SUITES RIVERWALK
40) HOTEL VALENCIA RIVERWALK
41) HOWARD JOHNSON AIRPORT SAN ANT
42) HOWARD JOHNSON EXP INN DWNTN
43) HOWARD JOHNSON RIVERWALK
44) HYATT REGENCY SAN ANTONIO
45) KNIGHTS INN WINDSOR PK SANANTO
46) LA MANSION DEL RIO HOTEL
47) LA QUINTA INN MARKET SQUARE
48) LA QUINTA INN WINDSOR PARK
49) LA QUINTA SAN ANTONIO AIRPORT
50) LA QUINTA SAN ANTONIO CONV CTR
51) MARRIOTT SAN ANTONIO RIVERWALK
52) MENGER HOTEL
53) MICROTEL INN & STES NORTHEAST
54) MICROTEL INN & SUITES
55) NOBLE INNS
56) PEAR TREE INN SAN ANTONIO
57) QUALITY INN & SUITES
58) QUALITY INN & SUITES COLISEUM
59) QUALITY INN NEAR SEAWORLD
60) RADISSON MARKET SQUARE
61) RADISSON SAN ANTONIO AIRPORT
62) RAMADA LIMITED DOWNTOWN
63) RAMADA LIMITED EAST
64) RED ROOF SAN ANTONIO AIRPORT
65) RED ROOF SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN
66) RELAY STATION MOTEL
67) RESIDENCE INN ALAMO PLAZA
68) RESIDENCE INN SAN ANTONIO
69) RESIDENCE INN SAN ANTONIO ARPT
70) RIVERWALK INN
71) RIVERWALK VISTA
72) RODEWAY INN DOWNTOWN
73) RODEWAY INN NEAR FT SAM HOUSTON
74) SAN ANTONIO ALAMO RIVERWALK TL
75) SAN ANTONIO COURTYARD NORTHSTA
76) SAN ANTONIO MARRIOTT RIVERCTR
77) SHERATON GUNTER
78) ST ANTHONY WYNDHAM
79) SUPER 8 DOWNTOWN I10 EAST
80) SUPER 8 SAN AN ARPT FT SAMAREA
81) SUPER 8 SAN AN SBC COLISEUM
82) SUPER 8 SAN ANTONIO DWNTWN TX
83) THE CROCKETT HOTEL
84) THE WESTIN RIVERWALK
85) TRAVELODGE DOWNTOWN NORTH
86) WELLESLEY INN AIRPORT
87) WOODFIELD SUITES DOWNTOWN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alamo Methodist Church
2) Alamo National Bank Building
3) Alamo Portland and Roman Cement Works
4) Alamo, The
5) Aztec Theater
6) Barr Building
7) Bexar County Courthouse
8) Bonham, James Butler, Elementary School
9) Brady Building--Empire Theater
10) Brooke Army Medical Center
11) Builders Exchange Building
12) Burns Building
13) Bushnell
14) Calcasieu Building
15) Central Trust Company Building
16) Church of Nuestra Senora de la Candelaria y Guadalupe
17) City of San Antonio Municipal Auditorium
18) City Public Service Company Building
19) Clegg, L. B., House
20) Elmendorf, Emil, House
21) Fairmount Hotel, The
22) First National Bank of San Antonio
23) Fourth Ward School
24) Franklin, Thomas H., House
25) Garcia-Garza House
26) Goad Motor Company Building
27) Guenther, Carl Hilmar, House
28) Halff, A. H., House
29) Havana, The
30) International & Great Northern Railroad Passenger Station
31) Lee, Robert E., Hotel
32) Livingston--Hess House
33) Majestic Theatre
34) Maverick Building
35) Maverick--Carter House
36) Meerscheidt, Otto, House
37) Menger Soap Works
38) Merchants Ice and Cold Storage Company
39) Morrison, William J., Jr., House
40) Navarro, Jose Antonio, Elementary School
41) Navarro, Jose Antonio, House Complex
42) Old Lone Star Brewery
43) Old Lone Star Brewery (Boundary Increase)
44) Partee, Hiram, House
45) Pershing House
46) Post Chapel, Fort Sam Houston
47) Prospect Hill Missionary Baptist Church
48) Quadrangle, The
49) Saint Anthony Hotel
50) San Antonio Casino Club Building
51) San Antonio Drug Company
52) San Antonio Loan and Trust Building
53) San Antonio Water Works Pump Station No. 2
54) Schroeder-Yturri House
55) Scottish Rite Cathedral
56) Smith--Young Tower
57) Southern Pacific Railroad Passenger Station
58) Spanish Governor's Palace
59) St. Mark's Episcopal Church
60) Staacke Brothers Building
61) Stevens Building
62) Thiele House and Thiele Cottage
63) Uhl, Gustav, House and Store
64) Ursuline Academy
65) Vogel Belt Complex
66) Woodward, David J. and May Bock, House
67) Ximenes Chapel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adelante Mexican Food
2) Amy's Ice Cream
3) Anthony's Pizza
4) Anthony's Pizza
5) Arby's
6) Arby's
7) Argyle
8) Arrachera House
9) Au Bon Pain
10) Barnacle Bill's
11) Baskin-Robbins
12) Beijing Broadway Express
13) Beto's Latin Grill
14) Bill Miller Bar-B-Q Inc
15) Billy T's Burger Shoppe
16) Blanco Cafe
17) Boardwalk Bistro
18) Bombay Bicycle Club
19) Branchizio's Naples Restaurant
20) Broadway Fifty-Fifty
21) Bun 'n' Barrel
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Business Management Systems
25) Cafe Milano
26) Cafe Salsita
27) Cafe Soleil
28) Canyon Cafe
29) Cappy's Restaurant
30) Cappyccino's
31) Carriage House Kitchen
32) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
33) Cementville
34) Chapala Taco House
35) Cheers Inc
36) Cheesy Jane's
37) Cheesy Jane's
38) Chili's Grill & Bar
39) China King Buffet
40) Chipotle
41) Chipotle Mexican Grill
42) Church's Chicken
43) Chuy's Restaurants
44) Crumpet's Restaurant & Bakery
45) Dante's Sub's & Ristorante
46) Delaware Sub Shop
47) Denny's
48) Domino's Pizza
49) Double Dave's Pizzaworks
50) E Z's Brick Oven & Grill
51) E Z's Brick Oven & Grill
52) Earl Abel's
53) Ebb Tide Lounge
54) El Maracumbe Ii
55) El Taco De Jalisco
56) Elton's Inc
57) Fire Bowl Cafe
58) Florio's Pizza
59) Fort Sam Houston Food Court
60) Framex
61) Frederick's Restaurant
62) Garage Taco
63) Godfather's Pizza
64) Golden Peony Restaurant
65) Good Time Charlie's Bar & Cafe
66) Gourmet Fresco Cafe
67) Gourmet Grub
68) Harlequin Dinner Theater Box
69) Harper's Burgers & Brew Inc
70) Hometown Buffet
71) Hung Fong Chinese Restaurant
72) International House-Pancakes
73) J Alexander's Restaurant
74) Jack In The Box
75) Jamie D Bar BQ
76) Jim's Restaurant
77) Jim's Restaurant
78) Joe's Crab Shack
79) John The Greek Restaurant
80) Kfc
81) Kim Tran Restaurant
82) King's Palace
83) Koi Kawa Japanese Restaurant
84) Koi Kawa Yakitori & Sushi Bar
85) Koreana
86) L'etoile
87) La Boca Loca
88) La Calesa Restaurante
89) La Fonda Broadway
90) La Madeleine Alamo Heights
91) La Madeleine French Bakery
92) Laboratory Brewing Co
93) Las Palapas Mexican Cafe
94) Lion & Rose Pub
95) Little Caesars Pizza
96) Little Cafe On Broadway
97) Lucky Dragon Restaurant
98) Malik's Philly Phamous
99) Manereno's Italian Steak House
100) Marble Slab Creamery
101) Mc Donald's
102) Mc Donald's
103) Metropolitain
104) Millsap Cafeteria
105) Mon's Thai Bistro
106) Mr Gatti's Pizza
107) Naples Famous Italian Restrnt
108) New Blanco Cafe
109) New Braunfels Smokehouse
110) Ocean Star Seafood & Grill
111) On The Border Mexican Cafe
112) One-O-Six
113) Orderup
114) P F Chang's China Bistro
115) Paesano's Restaurant
116) Page Barteau Catering
117) Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine
118) Panda Express
119) Panda Inn
120) Papa John's Pizza
121) Papa's Bar & Restaurant
122) Piatti Italian Restaurant
123) Picante Grill
124) Picante Grill
125) Pizza Hut
126) Pizza Hut
127) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
128) Quarry
129) Quarry Cantina and Fine Tex-Mex
130) Quiznos Sub
131) Quiznos Sub
132) Raffles Restaurant & Bar
133) Rascal's
134) Recovery Room
135) Red Baron Lounge
136) Runners
137) Sake Cafe
138) Schlotzsky's Deli
139) Senor Willie's Mexican Grill
140) Seoul House Korean Restaurant
141) Sherwood's Cafe
142) Silo Restaurant
143) Sonic Drive-In
144) Sorrento Pizza & Restaurant
145) Souper Salad 132
146) Starbucks
147) Starbucks
148) Starbucks
149) Stone Ruth Catering
150) Stone Werks Cafe & Bar
151) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
152) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
153) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
154) Taco Bell
155) Taco Cabana Inc
156) Taqueria Ballarta
157) Taquiera El Charro Tapatio
158) TCBY
159) Thai At Tongs
160) Thirsty Turtle
161) Thousand Oak Cafe II
162) Thundercloud Subs
163) Tomatillos Cafe Y Cantina
164) Tong's Thai Restaurant
165) Tower Cafe
166) Trios
167) Twin Sisters Bakery & Cafe
168) Van's Chinese Seafood Rstrnt
169) Viet Nam Restaurant
170) Volare-Gourmet Pizza & Pasta
171) W D Deli
172) Water Street Oyster Bar
173) Wendy's
174) Wendy's
175) Whataburger
176) Willies Tex-Mex Grill
177) Zarazua's Cafe
178) Zoopa Alamo Quarry
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Stone Oak:

Several of us went there in the afternoon to experience the pub and only received the noxious stence of tobacco smoke. We left and have never returned.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Nesbett Michael Nesbett, San Antonio, TX
(12/07/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Good
I visited at 6pm on a Monday. It was happy hour, but the price specials only included the common "domestic" longnecks, or Dos Equis pints, no English pints at this English pub. I paid $6.50 each for my beers.

The only employee that I interacted with was the bartender, and I thought he was a bit surly. I think he had an English accent, so maybe that makes this place "authentic"?

They have a website, I think they make some effort to update it. I clicked on "What's Happening Today" and it did have last Friday, which is more current than many websites; but it wasn't today. And the list of their beers was not 100%, they didn't have the Young's Double Chocolate Stout on draught.

I had a London Curry for dinner, I liked it quite a bit.

Overall, it's probably typical for an English pub in Texas, with some pros and some cons.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Nowatney Michael Nowatney, Plano, TX
(01/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I haven't been there enough to comment on overall service, but can give two confirmations: first, I am a San Antonio native who lived for two and a half years in London and worked at an English restaurant in the heart of the theater district, and the food and beer at L&R is unquenstionably superb to both the food I served and every other Brithish menu I sampled during my stay. Top recipes for all dishes. And the second qualification: since I married in London, my wife and I had our anniversary party at the original Lion & Rose on Broadway. Despite being obviously busy setting up the first new location at 410 and Blanco, the GM made a special trip to our party, where there was difficulty with the picture slides, and smoothed everything over with true panache. A top notch establishment as far as I'm concerned. -scot f guyanakoolaid@hotmail.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from scot scot, san antonio, TX
(12/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Good Great Awesome!
I really like the new location on Blanco. They have the smoking section and nonsmoking section completely seperate, i.e., no overflow of smoke from the smoking side. And, unlike the place in Alamo Heights, nonsmokers aren't in a boring cave, but actually have an atmosphere to enjoy. Yea!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Siren Siren, Live Oak, TX
(12/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have always loved the Lion & Rose Pub since it opened in 2004. Now there is a second location in San Antonio at Blanco & Loop 410. The newer location is mostly non-smoking. The smoking area is in a closed area that is set away from the non-smoking area. Both sides have the large plasma screens for watching all the live sports. They even have a screen in the restroom. Like the first location in Alamo Heights, the food, beer, and service is fantastic. See you there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JC Collins JC Collins, San Antonio, TX
(07/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Smoking? I can't stand smoking, and if it's full of smoke like normal bars with no class, I'll refrain from going there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Almost Almost, San Antonio, TX
(06/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My friends recommended The Lion & Rose as a great place to hang out but I never expected it to be this nice. I really felt like I was in england. They not only have a great selection of draft beers but the food is fantastic. The food ranges from Crab Cakes to Shepherds Pie to Steaks to Pastas and much more. They even have live English soccer matches as well as local sports. The staff is really friendly and I love the pretty girls in the mini skirts/kilts. There is a fantastic game there called Bar Billiards. It's an addictive game played on a small antique table imported from England. I have found my new home away from home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave F Dave F, San Antonio, TX
(03/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great So So Lousy
Because of the smoking allowed in the majority of the restaurant, I was only able to 'enjoy' the small, plain, uncomfortable non-smoking room. You have to walk through the smoking area to get to it and with every swing of the doors to the room, waves of smoke smell came with the occasional waiter/ress. I guess I won't be back until the '09' district passes a no smoking ordinance for restaurants.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roxanne Roxanne, San Antonio, TX
(11/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Pub Crawl — The Lion & Rose Web Posted: 06/23/2005 12:00 AM CDT

San Antonio Express-News

(Edward A. Ornelas/Express-News)

A suit of armor acts as a sentry at the English pub The Lion & Rose.

The Lion & Rose Address: 5148 Broadway (in the Stewart Shopping Center)

Hours: 11 a.m.-2 a.m. Monday-Sunday

Phone: (210) 822-7673

Web site: www.thelionandrose.com

Snapshot: Handsome English pub with its hefty wooden bar and even heftier beers is about as close to the real British thing as you'll get in San Antonio. It's no wonder it has quickly become a popular hangout for knocking back a pint or two or catching a bit of televised soccer. It appeals not only to an international crowd — "ex-pats" from all over, from South Africa to Canada to Australia, as manager Paul Creagh of Liverpool put it — but to Americans as well. Busiest nights are Fridays and Saturdays. Though seating is plentiful and varied, from comfortable booths to barstools to domino tables with corner pockets that conveniently hold beer glasses, a short wait is known to happen.

Behind the bar: The bar offers every spirit, but it's the pub's impressive selection of light, honey-colored and dark-as-coal brews that will make your head spin, even before you take a drink. Smooth, yet rich, favorites on tap are Old Speckled Hen of England, Smithwicks of Ireland and Stella Artois of Belgium. There's Chocolate Stout that will fill you up faster than a shepherd's pie (though the dish, also served here, is satisfying). Numerous bottled beers, foreign and American, also are available. It's a haven for wine lovers as well with the list running the gamut, from Pinot Grigios and Chardonnays to Cabernets and the reddest of Shirazes. Imported beers start at $5. A glass of wine is reasonable, ranging from less than $5 to $9.50.

Who goes there: Though all ages are welcome, regulars tend to be professionals in their 30s, 40s and 50s. Dress is casual in this coziest of establishments, though patrons tend to be neat and on the stylish side.

Munchies: The menu is an Anglophile's dream, including "bangers and mash" (sausage and mashed potatoes), corned beef and cabbage, beef stew and, of course, fish and chips. There's an extended list of appetizers as well. For those seeking more traditional fare, a varied American menu is also available. Kitchen closes at midnight, but the bar remains active until 2 a.m.

Fun and games: Pastimes include games of darts, as well as chess, checkers or dominoes on the domino tables. Less active is the sports-watching on the many TVs that are conveniently located around the establishment.

Soundtrack: Live music with a Gaelic or Celtic feel is sometimes available on Fridays and Saturdays.

The skinny: The place is colorful and European, while also being laid-back and low-lit. Visual treats include suits of armor, polished wood and waitresses in British schoolgirl garb. There are smoking and nonsmoking areas. Particularly fun is when waiter Allan Bakewell of Nottingham serves you and recommends the truly British best. Even people who aren't beer drinkers will crave more Old Speckled Hen after one glug.

—Jeanne Jakle

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Antonio, TX
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Thank God for the Lion and Rose pub. Finally a place in San Antonio that is staggeringly like an English pub. The place has beautiful wood finishing all over the place and makes you feel like you just walked into an up scale pub in London. I went to the Lion and Rose on Saturday to watch the FA Cup Final LIVE. While I was there watching the best FA Cup Final ever, I met so many gents from the British Sporting Club, they all love the place too. The staff was great and even met the British manager, Paul. The food was great too. Had the fish & chips with bubble and squeak, man it was awesome. This pub is one of the only places in town that is serving Stella Artois Ale. That is the best European beer ever! I tell you, I have found a second home. Live soccer and rugby as well as the Stella Artois, who could ask for anything more. This place is the best pub to hit San Antonio and Paul says they are going to open another in Helotes. Hope you enjoy the place as much as I do. Greg C.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, San Antonio, TX
(05/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great So So
Having lived in England for 7 years and Pub hopped for most, I can say with authority that this is not even close to an English Pub. I will call it another sports bar with an English decor. Where is the imported English keg beer? Plenty of common German, Aussie and no name brands plus the usual US stuff. As for food, when did pre prosessed frozen rounded fries have the gaul to be called chips? The true English Pub has a bar or bars but the area for dining is not in the bar. This local has all the dining in the bar. Exception, the no smoking dining area is very small and set off by itself. And last but not least, what civilized English Pub would play the music (most don't have it) so loud that you cannot hear the company you are with.

Back to England for the real thing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from A. Freidell A. Freidell, Hayes County, TX
(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I understand that the Lion and Rose has now included nonalcaholic beers, along with the great selection of other regular domestics and imports.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Helotes, TX
(02/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So N/A N/A N/A
It's a shame that this fine establishment doesn't offer non-alcoholic beer to those designated drivers or others that still like to mingle & socialize. I'll come back when they do.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rios rick rios, san antonio, TX
(02/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great food and service. Beer selection is great. Took some friends from out of town and they loved it. I think they need music to fit the atmosphere. Great place to watch a game.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, San Antonio, TX
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Actually Mike from 'Fredericksburg' was there at about 1:30 p.m. om a Tuesday afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Potts Mike Potts, Fredericksburg, TX
(01/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Review from the SA Current

The Lion & Rose Pub: Fit for a king

Imperial pints are the way to go

It is common knowledge among circles of stuffy historians that King William "The Lion" of 12th-century Scotland was a fiery fellow with a tendency to invade northern England. Lesser known is whether he would have preferred to infiltrate The Lion & Rose Pub, a new "authentic English pub" in Alamo Heights that takes the King's legacy as its namesake.

The Lion & Rose

5148 Broadway 822-7673 11-2am $3.75-4.25 bottle, $5 draught (20-oz. imperial pints) A brief history lesson: William once adopted for his royal symbol the rampant red lion on yellow background that rears high in Scotland even today. As for the "Rose," legend speaks of a lusty maiden named Mary Rose who once refreshed the besieged King's life by introducing an attacking soldier's throat to the sharp end of an arrow.

So now that the King has been saved, let's send him for a meal and ale at The Lion & Rose.

Once there, he is unlikely to mistake his servant for Rose herself. Upon requesting Scottish ale, the King is astounded to hear the girl remark snidely, "This is an English pub" (as one such waitress did to this amateur historian). The coup de grace, however, arrives with the King's reply: "So why are you all wearing kilts?"

Service aside, the King is extremely apt to enjoy his food, billed as a blend of traditional English recipes with an American twist. He would likely savor the Cornish Crab Cakes, which are light and flavorful. He might, however, run into trouble with the creamed spinach, coming as it does mixed with a healthy dose of mozzarella; cheese dangling from the royal mouth is rarely construed as becoming.

All is redeemed, though, with the main course, for the King finds the English Beef Crock as it is: delectable. As for ale, a draught of Old Speckled Hen does the King just fine. Imported from Suffolk, the hen is a reddish creature with fruity overtones and a pleasing effect on the regal cerebellum.

Stuffed, William is put at ease by the medieval ambience - the lanterns and suits of armor - although bewildered by the numerous plasma TVs transmitting bizarre battles over strangely shaped balls. So he visits the dartboard, visualizing King Henry II as the target. Completely sated now and slightly buzzed, the King stumbles out onto Broadway. — Brian Chasnoff

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Antonio, TX
(01/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Great
"Mike from Kerville" must have gone to the pub 2 minutes before closing, because I was just there and had a wonderful time. AJ The manager came by to make sure all was well...we said CHEERS!!! Our server Justin made sure our glasses never ran dry, and the neighbors were more than friendly! A GOOD TIME WAS HAD BY ALL!!! If you go expecting a dingy, dark bar with so-so food...this ain't your place! Go to have a good cold draw and take a friend or two... Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, San Antonio, TX
(01/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy So So
Here's a copy of an e-mail I sent to The Lion & Rose folowing my visit, I've not yet received a reply : Dear Allen, My wife & I made a point of driving to San Antonio from our house in Fredericksburg to visit The Lion & Rose on the 27th. of December after hearing about you from a friend and a newspaper article. We found the address with little difficulty and were impressed with the signage & quirky entrance, after opening the front door my first impression was of being stared at (in a non-smiling way) by both staff & a couple of patrons alike, as if we had wandered into a private club by mistake. None of the staff welcomed us in any way. The sight of two cheesy plastic dart boards, rather than the real thing in the corner may have influenced my mood for what followed. We found a seat at the attractive bar and ordered a Guinness & a Newcastle Brown which were well kept & tasted very good, after having to ask a fellow bar patron for his menu, as none was offered, we decided to share a couple of dishes for lunch. We ordered chips & curry sauce and the beef crock with mashed potatoes & mushy peas - I have no doubt that you've heard the following critiscism before but they were both dismal in the extreme - 'mushy peas'? yeah right! some frozen garden peas in a jejeune white sauce are hardly mushy peas and the stew tasted like it had come right out of a Dinty Moore can with some stout mixed in to improve the colour, the potatoes were OK though :) May I recommend that next time you're in Dallas you stop by 'Trinity Hall' Irish pub at Mockingbird & Central to learn what real chips & curry sauce should taste like?, a thin white sauce of dubious ancestry with a little curry powder added for flavour is hardly one of the spicy mysteries of the sub-continent now is it? and anyone can buy those nasty round frozen 'French Fries' at the supermarket. We were offered no condiments of any kind with the food and when we asked, only salt & pepper were brought, I later found out where you hide the vinegar on a trip to the restroom. I understand that you've only been open for a short time and it's possible that I may make another visit next time I'm in town to see if things have improved. Forgive me for the negative tone of this letter, but I was really loking forward to enjoying a true 'pub' experience, but was sorely disappointed. Best wishes for you future'

Michael Potts

http://www.britannia.com/cooking/recipes/mushypeas.html

http://www.greatbritishkitchen.co.uk/recipes/sauces/chipshopcurrysauce.htm

p.s. that second recipe needs about double the amount of curry powder & a little cayenne to make it

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Potts Mike Potts, Fredericksburg, TX
(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Antonio, TX
(12/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
After waiting on pins and needles for The Lion and Rose to open, I finally got in on the third day open. As expected, there were some kinks to work out (questions on the menu were not known by the staff, a few bar stools were too high for the table, etc.). The atmosphere (after a bit of tinkering with the lighting) was very relaxed and casual and there was a well placed TV set in every direction. I think I have found my new favorite place to watch sports. I will definately be going back very soon. It is not your ordinary establishment for food and drinks, it is much better than that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marty Marty, San Antonio, TX
(12/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Allen, San Antonio, TX
(09/30/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.452 seconds) 17:41:10 54.89.36.104, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS