PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Cornerstone Brewing Company - Berea, OH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 09:23 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OH > Berea > Cornerstone Brewing Company
Cornerstone Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Cornerstone Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 72.4 / 100
58 Front Street
Berea, OH 44017
United States
(440) 239-9820
Listed Since: October 2004
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Berea, OH
Beer Guide for Ohio

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Cornerstone Brewing Company
47 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) The BREW Kettle Taproom and Smokehouse / Ringneck
(5 miles)

2) Fatheads Brewery and Saloon
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN & SUITES CLE ARPT
2) BEST VALUE INN CLEVELAND AIRPOR
3) BEST WESTERN ARPT INN & SUITES
4) CLEVELAND AIRPORT MARRIOTT
5) COMFORT INN AIRPORT
6) COURTYARD AIRPORT SOUTH
7) COURTYARD CLEVELAND AIRPORT N
8) DAYS INN CLEVELAND AIRPORT
9) DAYS INN CLEVELAND-WEST
10) DAYS INN STGVL ARPRT SOUTH
11) ECONO LODGE AIRPORT WEST
12) HAMPTON INN AND SUITES
13) HAMPTON INN NORTH OLMSTED
14) HLTN GRDN INN CLEVELAND AIRPORT
15) HOMESTEAD CLEVELAND ARPT N OLMS
16) HOWARD JOHNSON CLEVELAND AP
17) KNIGHTS INN CLEVELNDFAIRVWPK
18) OAKWOOD MIDDLEBURG
19) QUALITY INN & SUITES CLEV APT
20) QUALITY INN N STES CLE ARPT
21) RADISSON HOTEL CLEVELAND AIRPT
22) RED ROOF CLEVELAND MID HGTS
23) RED ROOF INN CLEVELAND
24) SHERATON CLEVELAND AIRPORT HTL
25) STUDIOPLUS MIDDLEBURG HEIGHTS
26) STUDIOPLUS NORTH OLMSTED
27) TOWNEPLACE SUITES CLEVELAND AP
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Berea District 7 School
2) Berea Union Depot
3) Buehl House
4) Columbia Baptist Church
5) Columbia Town Hall
6) First Universalist Church of Olmsted
7) Fort Hill
8) Grand Pacific Hotel
9) Lay, Samuel, House
10) Lyceum Village Square And German Wallace College
11) North Olmsted Town Hall
12) Northrop, Julia Carter, House
13) Old District 10 Schoolhouse
14) Olmsted Falls Depot
15) Pomeroy, Alanson, House
16) Rocket Engine Test Facility
17) Stone, Valerius C., House
18) Strong, John Stoughton, House
19) Wheeler, John, House
20) Whitney, George W., House
21) Zero Gravity Research Facility (B-2)
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amazon Trail Seafood & Steaks
2) American Legion Berea Post 91
3) Andrew's Market
4) Asian Feast
5) Barbarino's Lounge
6) Berea Cafe
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Book & Bean
9) Bucci's Restaurant-Berea
10) Burger King
11) Burger King
12) Cafe Ah Roma
13) China House
14) Cooker Bar & Grille
15) Dairy Queen
16) Domino's Pizza
17) Donte's Restaurant & Pizza
18) East Of Chicago Pizza Co
19) Eastland Inn
20) Encore Bar & Grille
21) Farris's Drive-Thru Beverage
22) Frank & Tony's Place
23) Fresh Cut Deli
24) Gionino's Pizza
25) Grand Pacific Hotel
26) Gretchen's Kitchen
27) Grindstone Cafe
28) Hot Dog LTD
29) Kfc
30) Marco's Pizza
31) Mc Donald's
32) Midway
33) Mootown Creamery
34) Mr Hero
35) Nam Wah Chinese Vietnamese
36) Nuevo Acapulco Mexican Rstrnt
37) Oriole Cafe
38) Oven Fresh Pizza Co
39) Palm Spreng's Cafe
40) Panini's
41) Papa John's Pizza
42) Pizza King Inc
43) Pufferbelly Restaurant
44) Sandwich Delites
45) Sophia's Restaurant & Cafe
46) Speed Wok
47) Sportsman's Tavern
48) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
49) Thyme In A Garden
50) Tony K's Bar & Grille
51) Upper Deck Sports Cafe
52) Zach's Place
1) Amazon Trail Seafood & Steaks
2) American Legion Berea Post 91
3) Andrew's Market
4) Asian Feast
5) Barbarino's Lounge
6) Berea Cafe
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Book & Bean
9) Bucci's Restaurant-Berea
10) Burger King
11) Burger King
12) Cafe Ah Roma
13) China House
14) Cooker Bar & Grille
15) Dairy Queen
16) Domino's Pizza
17) Donte's Restaurant & Pizza
18) East Of Chicago Pizza Co
19) Eastland Inn
20) Encore Bar & Grille
21) Farris's Drive-Thru Beverage
22) Frank & Tony's Place
23) Fresh Cut Deli
24) Gionino's Pizza
25) Grand Pacific Hotel
26) Gretchen's Kitchen
27) Grindstone Cafe
28) Hot Dog LTD
29) Kfc
30) Marco's Pizza
31) Mc Donald's
32) Midway
33) Mootown Creamery
34) Mr Hero
35) Nam Wah Chinese Vietnamese
36) Nuevo Acapulco Mexican Rstrnt
37) Oriole Cafe
38) Oven Fresh Pizza Co
39) Palm Spreng's Cafe
40) Panini's
41) Papa John's Pizza
42) Pizza King Inc
43) Pufferbelly Restaurant
44) Sandwich Delites
45) Sophia's Restaurant & Cafe
46) Speed Wok
47) Sportsman's Tavern
48) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
49) Thyme In A Garden
50) Tony K's Bar & Grille
51) Upper Deck Sports Cafe
52) Zach's Place
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Holy crap! These guys no nothing about running a restaurant and waaaay less than that about making beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Naveen Naveen, Westlake, OH
(12/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy So So Lousy
Oh my. This pub makes me feel 22 years old... When nearly every little brewpub sucked this bad (16 years ago). What an offing waste of time and gas. Sorry beer and literally the shittiest food I've had in quite a while. The Cleve area has some really good beer spots (Brew Kettle, Buckeye, Grwat Lakes and even a decent tap at Thirsty Dog in Akrin) but don't waste your time on this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gilligan's Island Gilligan's Island, Cumberland, MD
(11/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Only one problem. They brew a favorite of mine, but by the time i get there it is all gone. They always have at least five or more selections. This is a small place, but by~george they take excellent care of their guests.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Snauz The Snauz, Dayton, OH
(07/30/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Awesome!
wait the food it brought to you by Sysco i really wouldnt call that fresh it is delicious though just wouldnt call it "fresh" their fried pickles which mad people rave about come in a box from sysco wtf

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review berea, OH
(07/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Just a nice friendly family type place. Food is prepared fresh --- never from a box or the freezer. At least seven different kinds of brew always available. Three type a standard fair. The other four, or more, change often. No cursing, or drunk individuals. Bring kinds of all ages as they are welcome. In the warm weather there is outside dining or just sit and drink a beer. Also have a hard drink license.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review LaGrange, Oh
(01/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good So So Lousy
If you're going to Cleveland for the pub scene, skip this sorry excuse for a pub. I haven't been to this pub for more than five years when I came here for a Fenians concert (I uploaded a photo of that night to this page.). I had heard that it was one, but to my surprise it had just changed hands. When I came to Cleveland for a conference at the IX Convention Center, I gave it a try. What a disappointment. beer was easily the lousiest i've had in the last 5 years and the service was really poor for there only being like 5 people in the place. Wish I hadn't come back here. It taints what was one of my five all-time favorite pub memories.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darla Darla, Beaver Falls, PA
(10/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great So So So So
Went here on a recent vacation to the Cleveland area. Brewed and drank some great beer just up the road at the Brew Kettle and while we were in the neighborhood, we decided to give the Cornerstone a try. Maybe they should call it the Headstone, since I can't believe they can keep going with the beer quality and serivce they have there.

Our waitress was not pleased to be there or it seemed to us and let our beers run dry and like others have said the place really wasn't very busy. I tried two seasonals, a blueberry ale and an alleged saison. Neither were good at all. I could barely drink the saison and my brother-in-law left half of his. Normally I would consider this a sin against nature, but in this case, it was the better part of valor.

I ordered a pizza which was really pretty good and the place really has a nice atmosphere, but that was about it. Glad it is out in Berea rather then in Westlake where I hang out when there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, Austin, TX
(06/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
well where should i begin? its a weeknight and you would think that such a small establishment would be able to handle at least (i counted) 15 partons,to my avail..the service was BEYOND lousy. i begin by standing by the door waiting to be seated 15 minutes later i was finally allowed to sit down. the my waitress,i think her name was Patra,must of been having a terrible evening cause i could not crack a smile out of her at all.i ordered a sample of a beer i thought i would like,and she brought it..then i needed just one more to make my mind up and it seemed like that really annoyed her because she kept insisting that i buy the $8.00 sampler.i didnt want a sampler,yet she kept at it.---then i ordered bavarian pretzel chicken and it was severely undercooked. i sent it back and the next time they brought it back,it was quite charred. i refused to eat it,gross. so dismayed,i moved myself and my partner to the bar,where two seats opened up,and the bartender was not a pleasure to order from. her name was Lana,all i kept seeing from her was nothing but talkin with other people completely ignoring us and some others it seemed.finally she gets our order and sloppily puts the drinks on the bar without coasters (a first for me,being that the bar is full granite) wait it gets better....then i go to drink my beer,and the glass is chipped on the drinking edge.i politely inform her of this..gets me another...THEN WASHES THE GLASS AND PUTS IT BACK IN ROTATION. im done at this point. they obviously dont care about customers and their safety,and so with that i move on. without so much as a goodbye from the bar,or any employee..i felt as if i was an enemy to them coming to invade their village.-----bottom line,please pass this place up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from alex alex, brunswick, OH
(11/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy Lousy
Here here. I wish I'd read Beav's reviews before driving to Berea at $4 / gallon gas prices. The food was OK, nothing to write home about and the beer was below average. The descriptions of the beers seemed to have been written before the beer was brewed. Overall, I would not return unless I was already in the area. BTW: The service between lunch and dinner hours was absolutely aweful. We felt like we were throwing a wrench in their plans and were served with a scowl.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carson Carson, Akron, OH
(07/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy N/A
So against my better judgement, I decide to give this place another chance from my last pitiful experience. I consult their website, check for the opening hours and strike out to start a Saturday pub crawl while in town. Park on the street and wait a 15 minutes for the 1130 opening bell. Nothing. It's about 1140 and an employee is coming out the door. I get out to enter and try their beers; "We don't open until noon." When informed that I was siting there the better part of a half hour and their website said (still does--just checked it) open at 1130, all I got was an "oh really?" Next time, I go with my better judgement.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My boyfriend and I go there about once a week. We love the beers and atmosphere. The bartenders are so friendly and quick to serve. I give this place my best ranking. It is hard to find a unique place to hang out in Berea.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lorain, OH
(10/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I have been going to the Cornerstone since the opening day and nothing could keep me away! Keep up the great work team:=0) Deborah Fought

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deborah Deborah, Columbia Station, OH
(03/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
Rusty Pheasant described as an autumn rye ale, not as crisp as most rye beers I've tried before. Xmas Ale full of flavors: cinnamon, ginger, clove, orange peel and honey--pleasant. When I entered, I asked the bartender to taste the above two so I could make a choice. Samples SLAMMED down on bar, I gave a thank you to no reponse. Ordered a pint, another thank you, again nothing. Paid for it (because he asked, no running a tab here?), change slapped onto bar, another thank you from me with not so much as a grunt. This pitiful attitude was certainly not due to a huge crowd--less than 20 patrons in the whole place and he had at least one waitress helping. I went to the rest room, and when I returned, my $1.50 in change had DISAPPEARED. Folks, I hope having this human on staff is worth it, as I won't be back. Hopefully, others who are local will have second thoughts?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Is it true that this place is up for sale? Heard a rumor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Mollins Rich Mollins, Berea, OH
(08/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Tried a few that were new to me this visit. Erie Blu featured raspberries and blackberries and was quite a bit over the top with those flavors. O'Hooley's Stout was on a nitro pour, nicely roasted, not too bad at all. A decent lunch crowd there the day I stopped by. Seven (their IPA) was out this trip, it's usually my favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I haven't been there in awhile @ a year. but what I do remember is a very positive expierience on all fronts. The burgers are top notch, the bar itself was very nice, and the servers were great. The beer was also good, with the esoteric ale being one of my favorites. I also enjoyed "seven" and the breakfast stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(06/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
So a friend told me that I shouldn't have posted anything to this site because I was getting bashed. I am here to say that if your friends at pc check the ip addresses you will find that I made no posts to any of the aforementioned sites. Who would use their real name. Why would I claim to hail from Berea. The fact is I am not in the industry and have no pretense of returning. I have moved on to better things with some better people around me - though I admit that some of the best people I ever knew I met through the quarryman - John Stark, Brian, Brian, Brian, Brian, Brian, Brian, Brian and Brian, etc. Whatever. I wish Luck to Doug and the rest. I have no hard feelings... The review is in many ways right, though. I've eaten and drank at Cornerstone. Nice, but it's not the same feeling you used to get at the Quarryman. There ar ethose who were loyal to the place - and some who would have it changed. Whatever. I posted nothing on her ein years, and now this is my last post. Long live real beer. The End.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Sutula Dave Sutula, Bratenahl, OH
(11/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good
I visisted this brewpub on 10/10/05 and had the following brews; Grindstone Gold, Oktoberfest, Seven, Original Brown, Erie Blue, Blonde Ale, Java Berry Stout, & Otis Brown. I had the appetizers at the Brew Kettle and came here for dinner. I wish I would have done it in reverse order. The Erie Blue was a great fruit beer and the stout was very good too. The others just seemed to lack a little something to make this a great place for beer. Our waiter did need a little more training to identifiy the beers he was serving. I had to check at the bar to determine what was what. Overall a nice experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
How IRONIC...the reviewer "Dave" whom also wrote a review for The BrewKettle and Fort Street breweries used to be associated with these brewers. Whats that phrase...you should never burn your bridges...Dave, lil too late to try to rebuild your reputation. I have been patron to The Brewkettle, Quarryman Tavern and now The Cornerstone, and can say that I have had enough dealings with Dave to say unfortunately he ruined a good thing for place(Quarryman). Building a business is hard for anyone, but when you abuse your staff and don't appreciate your customers, it's bound to fail. The brewers and all three establishments are always trying to keep those loyal customers happy and trying to convert the "average" beer drinker into a beer enthusiast! It's working! Keep it up guys! We appreciate your hard work and overflowing pints!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cleveland, OH
(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
I haven't been here since it reopened about a year or so ago. what a change. This place is not the place it used to be. Say what you will about the former staff and owners, this was a friendly place. It was the kind of place you wish you had in the neighborhood. Whatever. It's a good restaurant, I guess, but so is TGIFridays.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Berea, OH
(10/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Seven on tap--most I didn't recognize from last year's visit. Most of the offerings were average, but there was a good range of styles to please most beer drinkers. Two versions of the amber, one dry-hopped, one not. The dry-hopped one was the keeper. Java Berry Stout pretty good, not overbearing in any regard--well-balanced. Seven was my favorite last trip through and again this time. However, it seemed a bit more subdued than on my first try; perhaps a recipe tweak for the masses?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Lousy So So
food was pretty kick ass dessert was good our waiter was a f****** d***

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Westlake, OH
(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So Good
I was in here a few years ago - doesn't seem that long, though. It was a great place. I agree with a few folks who thought it was pretty friendly. I met the previous owner. I liked it alot - live music on a sunday... It is still a good place. The food and service are lower-minded now, but still pretty good. I think it just lacks the "Cheers" type feeling it used to have. Oh well, all good things...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Breathed Jon Breathed, Akron, OH
(05/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Seven was approprialty hoppy - imperial or double IPA but with a substantial malty backbone, great job! Oakenbock lacked the intense malty character I would expect and had some chocolate overtones which are inapropriate for a bock. Nice effort.

Best bruger and fries I've had for a while. Blues tape playing. Wish I wasn't driving and had a chance to sample a few more brews but I'll definately be back. Well worth searching out if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tr6harp tr6harp, tulsa, OK
(04/18/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.299 seconds) 21:23:28 54.226.235.222, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS