PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Blue Dog Pub - Lansdale, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 10:59 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Lansdale > Blue Dog Pub
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Blue Dog Pub
Overall: Good    Score: 70 / 100
950 South Valley Forge Road
Lansdale, PA 19446
United States
(215) 368-6620
Listed Since: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lansdale, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
17 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Superfoodtown was Vidalia Marketplace
(0 mile)

2) Iron Hill Brewery Restaurant -- North Wales
(3 miles)

3) Drafting Room Taproom and Grille
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) John Kindig House B & B
2) Morgan Hughes Homestead B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN AT TOWAMENCIN
2) BW THE INN AT TOWAMENCIN
3) COMFORT INN MONTGOMERYVILLE
4) COURTYARD PHIL-MONTGOMERYVILLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bridge in Franconia Township
2) Bridge in Hatfield Township
3) Jenkins Homestead
4) Knapp Farm
5) Morgan, Edward, Log House
6) Morris, Anthony, House
7) Wentz, Peter, Homestead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Gallo Affair
2) Abacus Chinese Restaurant Inc
3) Arnold's Way
4) Astor Diner
5) Blue Dog Pub
6) Boston Market
7) Broad Street Bistro
8) Broadway Deli & Cafe
9) Burger King
10) Butterworth's Hickory Pit
11) Campagnola
12) Carolyn's 25 South
13) Casa D'amici
14) Christine's Family Restaurant
15) Coffee Corner
16) Dairy Queen
17) Domino's Pizza
18) Donatos Pizza
19) Famous Pizza Ltd
20) Fifth Street Pub
21) Freshens Premium Yogurt
22) Friendly's Restaurant
23) Giovanni Ristorante
24) Giuliano Market & Deli
25) Golden Chopsticks Chinese
26) Gourmet 2 Go
27) Hong Kong Kitchen
28) Huey's Grill And Tavern
29) Imperial Restaurant
30) Italian Delite
31) J D's Homestyle Family
32) J D's Tavern
33) Johnnie's Pizza
34) Junction House Pub
35) KERR Enterprise
36) King Garden
37) Krispy Kreme
38) Lansdale Beverage Co
39) Lansdale Pizza
40) Les Pigs Extraordinaire
41) Little Szechuan Restaurant
42) Mariano's Tavern
43) Marjeane Caterers
44) Mc Donald's
45) Mc Donald's
46) Mc Keever's Tavern
47) Molettiere's Cafe
48) New Station Pizza
49) Nino's Pizza
50) Palermo's Pizza
51) Panera Bread
52) Papa John's Pizza
53) Patio Snack Bar
54) Phillip Fox Hotel
55) Pizza Hut
56) Pizza Time Saloon
57) Przyuski Family Restaurant
58) Quality Pizza
59) Ravenna
60) Ray's Pizzeria & Steaks
61) Riccardi's Beef & Brew
62) Rita's Water Ice
63) Rovin's Restaurants Inc
64) Slack's Hoagie Shack
65) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
66) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
67) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
68) Tex-Mex Connection
69) Tony's Pizza Palace
70) Via Marconi Pizza Pub
71) Village Caterers
72) Wendy's
73) Wendy's
74) West Point Deli Store
75) Yannis Family Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Great selection of beer ONLY if you want it in bottles. The selection on tap is the usual found anywhere with usually only 2 or 3 good ones....the rest is the mass produced horse swill you want to stay away from.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lansdale, PA
(09/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Good
the staff and facility is normal lansdale pub quality. the food has a tendency to be great or foul for the $$$ .it seams that some great young cooks are working through these places and it is hit or miss. i mostly get the hits . its the best of the bunch and the beer selection is top notch!!! compaired to the likes of the other non franchise eateries it is a great place to stop in if the lines are big elsewhere! if you love beer on tap it is the best place for something new!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from a.c. smith a.c. smith, hatfield, PA
(11/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy So So Lousy
Did the cooks change? We have eaten here in the past and it was good. Last nite, absolutely terrrible!! Ordered entrees, big mistake. Filet tips ordered medium came out very well done and very dryed out. I could not eat this meal, complained to the waitress who did offer to bring me something else but I had lost my appetite, was charged full price, took only two bites, it was inedible. My husband had prime rib that was cooked correctly but tasted like lighter fluid! Prime rib was grilled and tasted just awful. Garlic wings that had no taste of garlic whatsoever. Bartender should stick to beer or get a recipe book. Ordered margaritas up, they were horrible and warm. Will NEVER go back, everything was just too terrible to chance again!!

Kathy, Lansdale, Pa.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lansdale, PA
(09/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
The Blue Dog is a nice place to go if you don't get the entrees, but stick with the "bar food" like burgers, cheesesteaks, wraps, fajitas, etc. The "finer" entrees are terrible. I enjoy the atmosphere, the service is very good, and the beers there are terrific.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review North Wales, PA
(07/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Lindsay is a great waitress. The food is consistently outstanding. The reviews I've read don't seem to say the same but they're also dated ... maybe the cooks changed hands, I don't know, but every time I've gone in there to eat/drink (which is pretty often) the food, for a small bar is top notch. Hats off to the cook! The beer choices are excellent. Lindsay has been very halpful to both myself and my boyfriend in helping us pick out really tasty beers too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donna Donna, Lansdale, PA
(06/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Lousy So So So So
I've eaten here before and the food was great. Today was absolutely awful. I could've gotten better food at McDonalds for half of the price. The hamburger looked like a frozen beef patty, no FF it came with chips? Tossed salad with chicken. The salad was that crappy grass, no iceburg, stale burnt crotons. I won't be going back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rose rose, lansdale, PA
(02/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great
Must have been a bad day or maybe someone new.Seems like they have alot of turnover there. I visit the Lansdale Blue Dog here and there, although i visit the one in chalfont much more. I have always enjoyed the service at both places. Most of the bartenders are very entertaining and when I occasionally eat in the table section the service there is usually good. The food is good yet inconsistant (potatoes cold, soup oily etc) but when they do get it right is is much better than any other bar i frequent. Overall A-

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Miles Wagner Miles Wagner, Philadelphia, PA
(11/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
just out of curiousity what did the bartender look like?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review north wales, PA
(10/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great
Taps were good, above-average, but the bottle selection was absolutely eye-popping; tons of big-bottle specialties and one-offs. The Blue Dog is nothing to look at: a strip-mall storefront, and not much more than that inside. I'm usually more of a fan of atmosphere. But the bottle selection just blew me away. Food was good, serviceable, maybe a notch above bar food. Service was disinterested; the barmaid spent most of the half hour I was at the bar talking on her cell (I wanted to hit it with a hammer), but she did get me my beer and lunch when I needed it. Definitely a return visit kind of place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(09/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So
Was only in there a couple of times. Lots of beer to choose from (including YOUNG'S Chocolate Stout which I had). The atmosphere was ok I guess, typical of a Lansdale pub. The service was spotty and I noticed I was charged a different price from the first pint to the second (which was higher), however I did have a different bar maid each time. It had that sterile, mall like feel to it and the TVs were not in the best of positions from my seat at the bar. the crowd didnt seem particularly friendly and I grew up in Lansdale. I give it a 6 out of 10

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from c c, Salford, PA
(03/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Great
I live in the housing development behind the strip mall where the Blue Dog Pub is located. While not a barfly, I've been there enough times to give a good review...

This place has one thing going for it, the beer. Lot's of choices. Good quality. And they will usually have one micro on special (may not be advertised...ask the bartenders). One night my friends and I were drinking an obscure Winter Lager for $1.50 / pint! Can't beat that.

Food? I have a neighbor who swears by the place, but I have yet to have a great meal there (and I have had a few). They have a lot of interesting options on the menu, but they never turn out as well as advertsed. I would stick with the basic apps, cheesesteaks, and burgers and you will do OK. I would never order a $15 - 20 entree here again.

Service: I have to agree that service is spotty. Bartenders take a while to service you (even on slow nights) and not particularly knowledgeable of the brews they serve. Same can be said for wait staff.

Atmosphere: Well, it's in a strip mall. Not a lot of room for tables. They have a dart board and pool table. Decent crowds each night. Somewhat of a local crowd. Wouldn't call it a meat market...Big selling point for me is that I can walk there!

All that being said, Blue Dog is probably the best pub in the Lansdale area...which is a tribute to the Blue Dog and an indictment on the Lansdale pub scene.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Lansdale, PA
(12/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Good
Beer is really good here, however the bartenders arent very happy and their service is ok at best. Ive benn to the other BlueDog in Bucks County and the beer selection isnt as good but the service was outstanding. The barkeeps were knowledgeable and funny. Overall these places are good and much better then corporate places like fridays and applebees

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George Rectran George Rectran, Lansdale, PA
(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Lousy So So
What are you guys the owner? Bad service, bad food and yes great selection but very pricey! Atmosphere is terrible and food is Okay! This guys must work there...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Morrick John Morrick, Lansdale, PA
(05/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Chimay, Young's, Allagash, Lucifer, Dogfish Head, Victory, etc, rate a Lousy for Beer Quality?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Newtown, PA
(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
On the same night you were there, I brought my wife home a sandwich. Because this sandwich was so good, I am a really lucky man. I am sorry the cuisine wasn't up to the mass-market standard of Friday's, however I'm sure if you tell them what you expect, you will get what you deserve.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Maxwell Snort Maxwell Snort, Lansdale, PA
(04/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Terrible food! Left overs from night before if I had to guess. Dirty eating area and rude management! DON'T WASTE $$$! Fridays is even better and that's not saying much!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review sellersville, PA
(03/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Don't let the Macro-Brew neon signs outside fool you--there's some really great stuff in there!

About 20 drafts, with Chimay, Young's, Allagash, Lucifer, Dogfish Head, Victory & others (they rotate some of those), and a great bottle lineup including Rogue, Young's, Chimay, Allagash, DeGroen's, Avery, Dogfish Head, Flying Dog, Stoudt's, Flying Fish, sierra & anchor.

They occasionally do food specials prepared with beer, also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bensalem, PA
(07/03/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.336 seconds) 22:59:52 54.81.170.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS