PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Black Canyon Restaurant and Brewery - Montrose, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 20, 2014 @ 09:37 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Montrose > Black Canyon Restaurant and Brewery
Black Canyon Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Black Canyon Restaurant and Brewery
[Closed]
512 East Main Street
Montrose, CO 81401
United States
(970) 252-9925
Listed Since: February 2005
Last Updated: June 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Montrose, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
5 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Horsefly Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast At the Rusty
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Townsend, Thomas B., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Black Canyon Bar & Grill
2) Blue Havana Lounge
3) Cazwellas
4) Coffee Trader
5) Colorado West Hunting Guides
6) Cowboys Grille
7) Double Rainbow Gourmet Ice Crm
8) Grand View Palace
9) Grandma's House Family Rstrnt
10) Java Express
11) Jetway Cafe
12) Los Jilberto's
13) Mc Donald's
14) Mc Donald's
15) Niko's
16) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
17) Pig Out Bbq LLC
18) Pine Cone Catering Co
19) Portal Pub & Pizzaria
20) Quiznos Sub
21) Sam's Tavern
22) Starbucks
23) Suds Tavern
24) Tarragon Restaurant At Elk Mtn
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good Lousy
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
this place has been closed for years....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review montrose, CO
(06/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Well Black Canyon looks to be getting out of the business.

The business is for sale up on Ebay for $659,000.

From the ad: "Your chance to walk into this turn key operation...all of the setup work is done for you! Get Fresh With Us! is the motto for this newly renovated restaurant & brewery in Montrose, Colorado. Everything is prepared fresh daily, including the beer! Menu includes all of the favorites. Some of the menu items are: steaks, hamburgers, pizza, fish, chicken, salads and appetizers.

Wildlife and antique theme completes this 120 seat restaurant with full bar and 4 brewing tanks. Brewing tanks are the latest, high-tech equipment available. Brewing your own beer is an ease with this system. This turn-key operation includes real estate, all trade fixtures, licenses and equipment in the store. Building includes 3125 square feet with ample public parking located in the rear. Opened March 2005, this popular restaurant already has a strong, established customer base. Restaurant is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and 5 days a week for breakfast."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(12/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good Lousy
Avoid. The beer is simply undrinkable. We tried, but couldn't finish our pints. My first batch of homebrew wasn't this bad. I cannot fathom how anyone can go to all the trouble and expense of opening a brewpub, then produce such an utterly unviable beer. Did the brewer taste it and think to himself, "Yeah, that's just what I was trying for!"? I have been a beer drinker for over thirty years, and have sampled the best and worst beers in countries all over the world, and I can say with certainty that these are the worst attempts at beer brewing that I have ever tasted. I am embarrassed for the brewer.

The food and service are fine, however.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Robinson Andy Robinson, Denver, CO
(07/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good Lousy
My friend and I stopped in Montrose last month during a cross-country motorcycle trip. As usual, my first action after checking in to the motel was to grab the local Yellow Pages and look up "Brewpubs".

We rode to the Black Canyon Brewpub - everything inside looked fresh and new (in hindsight, that should have been a warning sign). We were greeted and seated quickly; and I ordered their Pale Ale.

The beer arrived - looked to be a good, golden color. First sip. Eeech! What's wrong with this beer? Is there still some soap left in the glass after it was washed? It tasted, literally, like weak, slightly soapy water. Okay, I'll let it sit a while -mebbe it just needs to warm up a little.

A few minutes later, our food arrived. I tried another sip of beer. Horrible!!! Now it tasted like WARM, weak, slightly soapy water.

I called the waitress over and advised her of the situation - she was pleasant, and offered to replace it with one of their Stouts (IRRC). I accepted readily.

A moment later another woman, possibly one of the managers, arrived at the table and wisely offered me a tumbler full of their Stout. I sipped it warily: it was a darker-colored version of warm, weak, slightly soapy water.

At that point, I inquired as to how long their brewpub had been in operation. "Oh, about 4 weeks" was the reply. It being Cinqo De Mayo (sp?), I was successful in trading the beers in for a margarita.

This place needs SERIOUS work on their beer. Food & service are okay, but that makes for a decent restaurant; not a brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Myles Greg Myles, Annapolis, MD
(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Planned Opening date March 1, 2005

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Custer, SD
(02/13/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.231 seconds) 21:37:01 23.20.33.176, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS