PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Foothills Brewing - Winston-Salem, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 17, 2014 @ 03:59 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Winston-Salem > Foothills Brewing
Foothills Brewing Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Foothills Brewing
Overall: Great    Score: 74.5 / 100
638 West 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
United States
(336) 777-3348
Listed Since: March 2005
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Winston-Salem, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Foothills Brewing
20 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Augustus T Zevely Inn
2) Brookstown Inn
3) Colonel Ludlow Inn
4) Henry F Shaffner House
5) Lady Anne's Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADAMS MARK WINSTON SALEM
2) BW SALEM INN AND SUITES
3) COMFORT INN COLISEUM
4) DAYS INN WINSTON SALEM NORTH
5) HAWTHORNE INN AND CONFERENCE C
6) INNKEEPER WNSTN SALEM SOUTH
7) SUNDANCE PLAZA HOTEL AND SUITE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Atkins, S. G., House
2) Bahnson, Agnew Hunter, House
3) Black, George, House and Brickyard
4) Blair, William Allen, House
5) Bland, Joseph Franklin, House
6) Brickenstein--Leinbach House
7) Brown, W.C., Apartment Building
8) Conrad--Starbuck House
9) Craver Apartment Building
10) Crews, Thomas A., House
11) Gilmer Building
12) Goler Memorial African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church
13) Goler Metropolitan AME Zion Church
14) Hill, J. S., House
15) Hylehurst
16) Indera Mills
17) Lloyd Presbyterian Church
18) Lowe, Cicero Francis, House
19) Ludlow, Col. Jacob Lott, House
20) Mars Hill Baptist Church
21) Nissen Building
22) O'Hanlon Building
23) Paisley J. W., House
24) Poindexter, H. D., Houses
25) Robinson, A., Building
26) Rogers, James Mitchell, House
27) Salem Tavern
28) Salem Town Hall
29) Shamrock Mills
30) Shell Service Station
31) Single Brothers' House
32) Smith, W. F., and Sons Leaf House and Brown Brothers Company Building
33) Sosnik-Morris-Early Commercial Block
34) Spruce Street YMCA
35) St. Philip's Moravian Church
36) Wachovia Building
37) Washovia Bank and Trust Company Building
38) Winston-Salem City Hall
39) Winston-Salem Southbound Railway Freight Warehouse and Office
40) Zevely House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ackingna's Place
2) Alex's Cafe
3) Bayberry Restaurant
4) Burke Street Pizza
5) Burke Street Pub
6) Camel City Cafe Inc
7) Chelsee's
8) Curly's Harley-Davidson
9) Dancing Goat
10) Destinations Cafe
11) Downtown Thai Restaurant
12) Elegant Occasions
13) Flash Back Smoothies & Soda
14) Food Lion
15) Gatsby's Pub
16) Island Pastry Carribean
17) Kababs Indian Bar & Grill
18) Maria's Tacos
19) Marshall Street Smokehouse
20) Mayberry Ice Cream Restaurant
21) Mayberry Restaurant
22) Mise En Place
23) Mixed Concepts Inc
24) Mr Lu's Chinese Restaurant
25) New South Grill
26) Pizza Hut
27) Silver Moon Saloon
28) Speakeasy Jazz
29) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
30) Sweet Potatoes
31) Taqueria California
32) Thea's R & B Night Club
33) West End Tap Room
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy So So So So
This place has so much potential, it’s a shame it hasn’t been exploited. I tried; the Hoppyum as I had drank that at another place and it was not bad. I would have tried the Double but it arrived in a half pint glass. I asked why and was told because it’s 10%. That didn’t sit well! I have been drinking for about 50 years and being put on restricted drink sizes by a slip of a waitress really gets my goat. Needless to say, I told her to keep it. The food, well, I ordered the club sandwich and a potato salad. I was told the potato salad was “off” so I ordered fries, my wife ordered a burger & onion rings. We both left the meals half eaten. The sandwich was constructed without much thought and the fries and onion rings looked and tasted like they had been deep fried in the same oil they put in the fryer the day they opened. They were almost black, greasy and rancid. I might drink there beer again but not in that establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Greensboro, NC
(08/09/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We did stop again, and were not let down. The place was full of people from this college town. Everyone was having a good time, and respecting others too. Not at all like it can be in our college town which is home to the so-called #1 party school in the USA. Anyhow, we will continue to visit and will only rate again if the quality improves, or (shudder) declines.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BR, State College, PA
(01/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I don't understand the negative stuff. The food, beer, service and atmosphere were great. Plan on stopping again on my next time thru town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BR, State College, PA
(07/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So
on a cold night, the place was cold (ceiling fans were on) and had to eat with our coats on. The "fish and chips" (their "signature dish") was over-battered and the fries were warm at best. We had early reservations (5:45) thinking we would beat the rush, and an hour later we had to ask when our food was coming out. I read previous reviews back to 2005 and one would think that if they paid any attention to these reviews things would have improved..NOT!! A very disappointing experience, especially since we were willing to give the downtown area a try again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from charlotte charlotte, winston Salem, NC
(02/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
I was very disappointed and left feeling this place was mediocre at best. The space overall is beautiful, they did a great job making it look nice. However, the atmosphere and employees reminded me of folks that either had a chip on their shoulder or simply had no clue about beer and creating an atmosphere. I would describe the vibe as a step above a sports bar with overpriced food.

There is a bar in the back and although I enjoy the allure of tight topped bartenders and their goods on display, it just felt kind of cheap for a craft beer establishment to use that kind of ploy to earn patrons. Finally, the classic rock soundtrack complete with satelitte radio dj accompaniment really blew it for me.

Do yourself a favor and go to the Mellow Mushroom up the way, great beer selection and a proper pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul paul, atlanta, GA
(02/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I've read some of the other reviews and take strong exception to those who say the food is pricey and the service bad. We had a great experience, better beer and an enthusiastic server all on a Saturday night. The beer selection was standard but the quality was very high. The IPA had a hoppy flavor and a warm backflavor without taking my head off. The other beers were equally as nuanced. The food was good pub fare and was reasonably priced. We haven't seen soft pretzels since we moved to North Carolina and were surprised at how complimentary the maple butter spread was with them. The chicken tenders would not have been special until we realized how tenter they were. I would have served them with a variation of the maple butter or with a honey mustard, but the server got us some anyway. The server, Mickey, was just perfect. She was attentive, knowledgeable and efficient. We were there on a Saturday night in the bar with 2 exciting football games on and still did not get lost in the crowd. We will make the Foothills a regular stop everytime we travel to Winston Salem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob StJohn Bob StJohn, Charlotte, NC
(11/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
I enjoy craft beer and this is one of the few establishments in the Winston-Salem area with decent beer at a reasonable price; however, the service is horrible and the food is over-priced. They barely acknowledge anyone not a regular is there. Also, even though the brew master has won a number of awards, most don't seem to show up on tap. Makes me wonder if he's brewing the really good stuff at home. I wish they had some real competition to make this a better place to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barbara Barbara, Livingston, TX
(06/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Good
i'm a local, so may be biased, never been happy with the kitchen nor the wait staff, bartenders have always been knowledgable and dependable but reg servers not so good. im very particular to the seasonal Hefeweizen it is far and away the best ive tasted in this country and if u ever find urself here when its on tap it is imparitve you try this selection, Jaime the brew master is very adept at his profession and all his brews are top notch

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from scott dugenske scott dugenske, winston salem, NC
(05/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Foothills Brewpub has a lot to offer. The downtown location has a good interior layout. The food is good if a little spendy. Beer is excellent, across the range from pils to stout. Double IPA was bracing for an icy night. The consistently high quality of the beer makes this one of Carolina's finest brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(01/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Kudos for brewing a variety of different brews and experimenting with styles. Example was a recent IDA India Dark Ale. My favorite spot in Winston Salem. Though the beer could use a longer second fermentation, though this is difficult for a lot of brew pubs to do because of limited spacde and brewing capacity.

Food is good to great. I've had pizza, burgers, fish, steaks and all have been very edible.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bru Bru, Greer, SC
(04/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Lousy So So
Only the double IPA was worthy of my praise. The food was adequate. My friend was pretty much ignored by the waitress. The prices were decent, however, the only beer that I really enjoyed came in a small glass. The atmosphere was nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roger Roger, Charleston, WV
(02/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Glad to see Piedmont NC has been getting better in all regards compared to when I grew up there. While visiting my family in nearby Greensboro this Thanksgiving I went to Winston-Salem to pick up a turkey and stopped for lunch at Foothills Brewing located downtown. When I was growing up in NC going into any drinking establishment meant bad beer and a black lung disease. Things have improved in both regards. While Greensboro has a better brewpub, Natty Green's, I have to say that Winston's Foothills Brewery was more than decent with regards to the beer. I concentrated on the Double IPA, as usual, and found it adequately hopped for the 9% weight, no overt sweetness lingering in the full golden malt, and with an unexpectedly nice aromatic head almost like a stout. Foodwise, competent on the fried calamari with spicy sauce, lettuce not-so-fresh on the salads but what the heck, it was Thanksgiving week and business was slow. I would and will go back some time. If you are traveling across NC on I-40 be sure to take the business route through downtown, then it's a quick on and off the highway.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Easong Easong, Santa Cruz, CA
(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Worth the trip. We stopped in just to try the beer and while I am not really a Pilsner fan theirs was quite good. The IPA and Pale Ale were outstanding. It was quite the happening place on a Saturday night. Unlike the previous posting, I did see quite a few kids in there. But lets rememeber it's a brewery restaraunt.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(10/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
We stopped here for lunch with two children. It wasn't really a kid friendly place , but we were so early that no one was there to be offended by our darlings. We had a pizza and app. sampler which were both good. My favorite beer by far was the Pale Ale. It wasn't too hoppy for my tastes. For hop heads they did have an IPA and a Double IPA which was not for the faint of heart. My husband really liked the Double IPA sample, but he was driving and couldn't order a whole one(I think it was about 9-10%). We also tried the ESB which was drinkable and some others I can't remember.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marna Saunders Marna Saunders, Owingsville, KY
(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Awesome!
Went out to Foothills last night, the food was absolutely great. I highly reccomend a big ol' slice of pizza and a tall cold pint of the xxx stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sam Yates Sam Yates, Lexington, NC
(12/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This review may be a bit biased since I visited on a tour with a local brewing club. We had opportunity to see the operation, sample the beers and talk with the brewmaster. The eight or more beers usually available were all outstanding. A seasonal Scottish was especially noteworthy. We visited in mid-afternoon after having had a late lunch so many of us only ordered appetizers. The food was excellent, and the menu was quite extensive with a variety of entrees along with the usual pub grub. Can't vouch for the service since we received special treatment, but from what I observed "regular" guests were being well treated. I plan on making a repeat visit with the wife when we next pass through town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(07/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
We went the first weekend it was open and are so very happy this area finally has a brewpub! We've went several times after that and have taken out of town family and friends about 6 times. Everyone seems to really enjoy it. The staff & management have always been very fun, nice and enjoyable. A definite "keeper" for this area. The beer selections are good for just starting up and the food is good and affordable as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve & Sandi Culver Steve & Sandi Culver, Germanton, NC
(06/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
They opened up just weeks before we were moving away. My husband and I went a few times before we left. The beer was decent, certainly better than you can find in most of the bars in Winston. I was a little disappointed in the selection, but they are just starting up, so they have basically just stuck with the basics, which they do well. We ate dinner a couple of the times we went, and found the food to be good. No one was willing to try the "wild game platter", but it is a unique menu item. We never had any problem with service, and they were more than willing to accomodate our request for a quieter table when we took our parents. It's not the most spectacular brewpub I've ever been to, but I'd recommend a visit to any beer afficionado who is passing through Winston.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Jennifer, Wheaton, MD
(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy Good
I went with friends the other night. First, we had a few beers in the bar. I like hoppy beers, so first I tried the IPA, and it was very good. Then I had the Pale Ale, but it didn't seem very hoppy, perhaps it was by comparison to the beer I had already had. Then I had the ESB, and it wasn't very hoppy either. Then we decided to have dinner. It was a Friday night, and they were very busy, so we were waiting quite a while. Then a hostess said for $10 she would seat us right away, so we paid. I had mixed feelings about this. We ordered appetizers and entrees. The entrees came first, and they were cold. Then the appetizers came, and they were even colder. As it's the only brewpub in town (?), I'd probably go back, just to try the rest of the beers; but my friends say they probably won't.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Nowatney Michael Nowatney, Plano, TX
(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
We have been waiting ever sooo patiently for this to open and all i can say is the waiting was well worth it... thanks to all!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Maria Maria, Winston-Salem, NC
(03/25/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.515 seconds) 15:59:19 54.90.201.145, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS