PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Gardner Ale House Brewery and Restaurant - Gardner, MA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 18, 2014 @ 10:58 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MA > Gardner > Gardner Ale House Brewery and Restaurant
Gardner Ale House Brewery and Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Gardner Ale House Brewery and Restaurant
Overall: Good    Score: 67.1 / 100
74 Parker Street
Gardner, MA 01440
United States
(978) 669-0122
Listed Since: January 2006
Last Updated: October 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Gardner, MA
Beer Guide for Massachusetts

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Gardner Ale House Brewery and Restaurant
9 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Mon 05:00PM - 90:0PM
Tue 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 12:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Maguire House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CLARION HOTEL COLONIAL
2) SUPER 8 GARDNER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Elm Street Fire Station
2) First Minister's House
3) Garbose Building
4) Gardner News Building
5) Heywood, Levi, Memorial Library Building
6) Lake Street Fire Station
7) Partridge, Jabez, Homestead
8) Smith, F.W., Silver Company
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anthony's Place
2) Blimpie Subs & Salads
3) Blue Moon Diner
4) Boardwalk Restaurant
5) Burger King
6) Cathy's Central Cafe
7) Chair City Diner
8) Characters
9) Coffee Cup Cafe
10) Colley Mccoy Offices
11) Country Style Pizza
12) D'angelo's Sandwich Shop
13) Domino's Pizza
14) Duguay's Fried Chicken
15) Eggs Cetra
16) Friendly's Restaurant
17) Grandma's Pizza
18) Grinder Gourmet
19) Il Forno Brick Oven Pizza
20) Kenny's House
21) Kfc
22) Mahaki Restaurant
23) Marcos Pizzeria
24) Mc Donald's
25) Northeast Military Sales
26) Papa Gino's
27) Paramount Cafe Inc
28) Parker House Of Pizza
29) Patriots Pizza & More
30) Pete & Jeff's KOZY Kitchen
31) Pleasant House Of Pizza
32) Stanley's Lunch Inc
33) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
34) Suzette's Breakfast & Lunch
35) Szechuan Restaurant
36) T Paul's & Cheryls Village Spa
37) Village Pizza Ii
38) Wayno's Dug Out Inc
39) Wendy's
40) Williams Restaurant
41) Yen Yen Chinese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Lousy Lousy
I've hurd some good things about this place. someone told me the octoberfest beer was great so fri after work 6:30pm I stopped in for a beer and a bit to eat. I sat at the bar and waited 10 mins for one of the bar staff to ask me if I would like something. Asked for a octoberfest beer and a menu. Was told that beer sold out the weekend before. I ordered another beer which was good. 30 mins later my mug was empty and I have'nt even been asked if I wanted another beer let alone what I wanted to eat. I put $5 under my mug and left very dissapointed. It may be that they can't handle there own success.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R R, fitchburg, MA
(10/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Stopped en route to Vermont on a recent beer trek. 5 brews on tap: Hefe, Kolsch, Pale, IPA and Stout. IPA nice, kind of a Brit/US hybrid, although US hops at finish carry the day. My pick, however was the stout. Dry, hints of licorice, good roastiness. Liked how when a sampler tray was ordered, register prints out the beers in order, with brief descriptions. Good idea.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So So So
I'm not using my name but the other night when I ate at the Gardner Ale House I was not pleased with the service nor the food. The overall experience wasn't what I had expected. Nothing ruins a place like bad food ( I got the Hadock with lobster stuffing, No lobster in the stuffing and it was dropped on the fish with an ice cream scoop.) Nice presentation and less than exceptional waitressing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jodie Jodie, Ashburnham, MA
(12/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
beers had nice malty base flavor, different for each beer. beers were to style with no major flaws.

Summer's End was light and refreshing kolsh style Facelift IPA could use more hops, but i'm a hop head. Alt beer is the one wife and i selected after the sample. very drinkable

food-its pub food...decent flavor and portions

service-much better than previous posts

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from nog brewer nog brewer, leominster, MA
(12/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
The Gardner Ale House now have FIVE of their own freshly-made beers on tap, including an Oktoberfest lager, a German summer ale, a German Altbier, an extra hefty IPA, and a rich and dry Irish style stout. Additionally, they have a lovely pub-style food menu, with amazing burgers, wonderful fish sandwiches, even a vegetarian [or two] choice, and delightful appetizers (for those with smaller appetites, this may comprise a meal in itself). The service is very good, the staff are very friendly, and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Today, Saturday, 30th September 2006, is their official grand opening; even though they've been open since the end of June 2006. This Oktoberfest-style opening will supposedly be a kid friendly, family style event. They will have outdoor crafts and an outdoor biergarten under a big tent. There will also be Bavarian food, a Bavarian organ grinder and a lot of people. Plus, their great food menu and wonderful microbeers will be served inside this restaurant ale-house, as usual. If you go to microbrewery restaurants [or would just like to try a nice, relaxed, restaurant ale-house, in the area] this is a definite MUST. Cheers, Sari

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sari Schaffer Sari Schaffer, Phillipston, MA
(09/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
These guys are great --- they're doing a fast learning curve, and this brewpub improves week by week. I first went to the Gardner Ale House on Sunday, July 2nd, when the food was good, the staff was delightful, but the service slow. By the following Sunday, July 9th, most of these kinks were ironed out. The staff was still wonderful, the food was great, the service was excellent, and the menu was lengthier. Supposedly, (I spoke with a knowledgeable staff person) they have not even officially opened yet. Their grand opening will be in October (kind of like an American Octoberfest), their own microbrew will be ready in August, and they keep adding improvements. As far as the the other microbrews they carry, the Red Hook ESB is great and so is the Magic Hat Circus Boy. I'm going to the Gardner Ale House againt this coming weekend, and I can't wait to see what other additions they've made. This is an up and coming brewpub, with a great friendly atmosphere. Keep on the outlook for additional innovations, week by week.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sari Schaffer Sari Schaffer, Phillipston, MA
(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This establishment just opened. I could say the same reamarks you've made for several well-established brewpubs/restaurants when they first opened. I'll wait until the fresh house beer is flowing (was told, "August") before paying a visit and reviewing. Service and kitchen timing are two common areas that can take some time to iron out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Somewhere in, MA
(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So Good Lousy So So
not your average restaurant, many of the items are homemade. but some of the items are like anywhere else. IE: french fries. The service is Terrible, slow as can be. I was in there for over 2 hours just for an appetizer, burger and pizza. The beer is not ready yet acutally it looks as if they havent even started brewing it yet, they serve the regualar ales such as sam adams and wachusett (local company) which does not make it at all unique. all I can say it is not that great of a restuarant and I honestly think that they will not make it, just like the other restaurants in that location, if they dont step up the service up a notch. NOT RECOMENDED

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Foodie Critic The Foodie Critic, All towns, MA
(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Gardner commissioners voted unanimously in favor of a license for the Gardner Ale House, Brewery and Pub.

It is expected to open in April 2006.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(12/31/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.357 seconds) 10:58:16 54.227.5.234, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS