PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hereford and Hops - Cranberry Township, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 06:51 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Cranberry Township > Hereford and Hops
Hereford and Hops Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hereford and Hops
Overall: Great    Score: 71.8 / 100
[Closed - 2008]
1740 Route 228
Cranberry Township, PA 16066
United States
(724) 742-2339
Listed Since: March 2006
Last Updated: October 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Cranberry Township, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hereford and Hops
29 Reviews / 7 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Domenico's Ristorante
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES CRANBERRY TOWNSHIP
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Allerdice, Taylor, High School
6) Alpha Terrace Historic District
7) Armstrong Tunnel
8) Armstrong Tunnel
9) Arsenal Junior High School
10) Baxter High School
11) Bayard School
12) Bedford School
13) Beechwood Elementary School
14) Beltzhoover Elementary School
15) Beulah Presbyterian Church
16) Bindley Hardware Company Building
17) Birmingham Public School
18) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
19) Bost Building
20) Bowman Homestead
21) Bridge in Shaler Township
22) Buhl Building
23) Burke Building
24) Butler Armory
25) Butler County Courthouse
26) Butler County National Bank
27) Butler Street Gatehouse
28) Byers-Lyons House
29) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
30) Campbell Building
31) Carnegie Free Library
32) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
33) Carnegie Free Library Of Braddock
34) Carnegie Free Library, Beaver Falls
35) Carnegie, Andrew, Free Library
36) Carson, Rachel, House
37) Clow, James Beach, House
38) Colfax Elementary School
39) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
40) Conroy Junior High School
41) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
42) Coraopolis Armory
43) Coraopolis Bridge
44) Coraopolis Railroad Station
45) Davis Island Lock and Dam Site
46) Dilworth Elementary School
47) Dollar Savings Bank
48) Dunlap, William B., Mansion
49) Duquesne Incline
50) East Liberty Market
51) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
52) Emmanuel Episcopal Church
53) Evergreen Hamlet
54) Ewart Building
55) Fifth Avenue High School
56) Firstside Historic District
57) Fort Pitt Elementary School
58) Fortieth Street Bridge
59) Foster School
60) Frew, John, House
61) Frick Building and Annex
62) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
63) Fulton Building
64) Fulton Elementary School
65) Fulton Log House
66) Gardner-Bailey House
67) Greenfield Elementary School
68) Greersburg Academy
69) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
70) Heathside Cottage
71) Henderson-Metz House
72) Highland Building
73) Highland Towers Apartments
74) Hoene-Werle House
75) Homestead High-Level Bridge
76) Homestead Pennsylvania Railroad Station
77) House at 200 West North Avenue
78) Houses at 2501-2531 Charles Street
79) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
80) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
81) Hunt Armory
82) Jerome Street Bridge
83) Jones, B. F., Memorial Library
84) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
85) Knoxville Junior High School
86) Krepps Covered Bridge
87) Langley High School
88) Larimer School
89) Latimer School
90) Lawrence County Courthouse
91) Lawrence Public School
92) Leatherman Covered Bridge
93) Lemington Elementary School
94) Letsche Elementary School
95) Liberty Bridge
96) Liberty School No. 4, Friendship Building
97) Lightner, Isaac, House
98) Lincoln Elementary School
99) Linden Avenue School
100) Longfellow School
101) Lowrie, Sen. Walter, House
102) Lyle Covered Bridge
103) Madison Elementary School
104) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
105) McCleary Elementary School
106) McClelland Homestead
107) McConnell's Mill Covered Bridge
108) McKees Rocks Bridge
109) McKees Rocks Bridge
110) McKeesport National Bank
111) Merrick Art Gallery
112) Merrill Lock No. 6
113) Mifflin Elementary School
114) Monongahela Incline
115) Moreland-Hoffstot House
116) Morrow, John, Elementary School
117) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
118) Neville House
119) New Castle Armory
120) Ninth Street Bridge
121) Oakdale Public School
122) Oakland Public School
123) Old Economy
124) Old Heidelberg Apartments
125) Old Homestead
126) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
127) Park Place School
128) Passavant House
129) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
130) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
131) Pennsylvania Railroad Freight Station
132) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
133) Pennsylvania Railroad Station-Wilkinsburg
134) Perry High School
135) Phipps Conservatory
136) Phipps--McElveen Building
137) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
138) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
139) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
140) Quay, Matthew S., House
141) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
142) Rodef Shalom Temple
143) Roebling, John, House
144) Roebling, John, House
145) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
146) Schenley High School
147) Schiller Elementary School
148) Scott, James, House
149) Sellers House
150) Seventh Street Bridge
151) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
152) Shields, David, House
153) Singer, John F., House
154) Sixteenth Street Bridge
155) Sixth Street Bridge
156) Smithfield Street Bridge
157) Snyder, William Penn, House
158) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
159) South Side High School
160) South Side Market Building
161) South Tenth Street Bridge
162) Springfield Public School
163) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
164) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
165) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
166) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
167) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
168) Sterrett Sub-District School
169) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
170) Union Trust Building
171) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
172) Vicary, Capt. William, House
173) Walker-Ewing Log House
174) Washington Vocational School
175) Way, Nicholas, House
176) West End-North Side Bridge
177) West End-North Side Bridge
178) Westinghouse Air Brake Company General Office Building
179) Westinghouse High School
180) Westinghouse, George, Memorial Bridge
181) Whitehill-- Gleason Motors
182) Wightman School
183) William Penn Hotel
184) Woods, John, House
185) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adrian's Pizza
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) Blue Fella's Bar & Grille
4) Boston Market
5) Bravo Italian Kitchen
6) Burger King
7) Chick-Fil-A
8) China Garden
9) Climo's Pizza & Chicken Inc
10) Cranberry Big Boy
11) Cranberry Creamery
12) Cranberry Station
13) Dairy Queen
14) Denny's
15) Dingbats
16) Domenico's Ristorante
17) Domino's Pizza
18) Dunkin Donuts
19) Dynasty International Buffet
20) Echo Restaurant
21) Flavor of India
22) Hardee's
23) Hartner's Lounge
24) House Of Chen
25) Jersey Mike's Submarines
26) Kilarney Restaurant Mgmt Inc
27) King's Family Restaurant
28) Long John Silver's
29) Marble Slab Creamery
30) Marty's Suburban Bar
31) Mc Donald's
32) Mitchell's Homemade Ice Cream
33) Monte Cello's Of Cranberry
34) Monte Cello's-Cranberry
35) North Park Lounge Deckhouse
36) Olive Garden Italian Rstrnt
37) Orrico's
38) Panera Bread
39) Papa John's Pizza
40) Perkins Family Restaurant
41) Pizza Hut
42) Pizza Outlet
43) Pizza Roma Family Restaurant
44) Quaker Steak & Lube
45) Quiznos Sub
46) Rita's Italian Ice
47) River City Grille
48) River Roys Real Pit Bbq
49) Roly Poly Sandwiches
50) Safari Sam's
51) Sir Pizza Cranberry
52) Smokey Bones Barbeque & Grill
53) Snake River Grill
54) Starbucks
55) Starbucks
56) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
57) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
58) Szechuan Taste
59) Tri County Management
60) Wendy's
61) Wind Haven Restaurant & Lounge
62) Wing Kings
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sad news: After being in bankruptcy protection for a few months, these guys finally closed their doors - 5/5/08.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pittsburgh, PA
(05/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
I've eaten at H&H twice. The first time I had them cook my steak, the second time I cooked it myself. H&H has large refrigerators with steaks in them. You can pick the steak you want to cook. I HIGHLY recommend that you cook your own steak if you go there. I asked one of the cook's that was assisting customers at the grill what they do with the steaks if they are not sold right away. He told me the freshest steaks go in the display refrigerators for customers to cook. If the steaks start to turn brown they take them to the back and they are the ones the restaurant serves to customers who prefer to have their steaks prepared for them. I'm sure all restaurants serve questionable food on occasion but I was surprised that this employee openly admitted that they serve meat that is starting to spoil. I enjoyed the different beers they have and I like the atmosphere. I recommend the restaurant but as I mentioned, cook your own steaks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wexford, PA
(11/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
My wife and I went early on a Saturday afternoon. No crowd, no waiting, the owner and brew master came by to talk with us. I hate to let everyone know this, but early afternoon at most places is the best time to test the beers and meet the staff. They aren't as harried. Of course, if everyone does that, I'll have to change my methods.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Kelly Larry Kelly, Saltsburg, PA
(11/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
I have been to H&H about once a month since it opened and have enjoyed the beers. However, the last visit a few weeks ago was a real disappointment. I had a schwarzbier and a stout and my wife had a bock and a stout - we both remarked that the beer tasted more like flavored water than real beer. It definitely lacked body and had not after-taste. I don't remember it being this bad on previous visits. I hope that they are not brewing for the masses (e.g., IC Light stouts) -- there are too many places to get good beer in Pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Lutz Bob Lutz, Jeannette, PA
(05/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy So So
We came here to celebrate my husband's birthday. The beer was OK, but nothing special. The steaks were excellent and the side dishes good to acceptable. When I asked the waiter if they did anything special for birthdays, he offered a discount on the food. The manager came back later and asked for *ID* -- since we celebrated his birthday a day earlier, no discount. We came to enjoy ourselves, not get interrogated! Sorry -- there are too many places in the area with excellent food and drink and much friendlier service. We won't be going back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review mcdonald, PA
(04/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great So So
first thing i noticed when walking up to hereford and hops was the height of the building and wondered what they were doing with the space inside... still found no use for the high building. it's no longer cheap and never was efficient to heat a place like this when the temp. outside is 13, so random extra space like that just makes no sense to me. once inside i was greeted with a meat cooler containing aging beef. a little nauseating for a vegetarian but it is a steakhouse. got a sample of all 10 beers and waitress brought a printout of their names and put them in order on the table then checked back later and chatted about the beer and their ingredients. similar taste in all the beers b/c same ingredients are used. i'll list here as i tasted them down the list, the full names were not printed on the sheet she gave me, check their website maybe eventually they'll list the beers they make. 1- whitetail: was light, watery and tasted like rolling rock to me. apparently that's a popular one there. 2-cashel brown: thick but light on taste, slight coffee flavor. 3-cleary red: thin, mild malt flavor. i liked the aftertaste of this one. reminds me of my first taste of sam adams after years of light beers. 4-harmony: tired taste, windex aftertaste 5-belgian: this was orange/red in color, nice fruit smell, reminded me of yuengling 6-schwarzb: stout, comparible to the cashel brown but slightly lighter in color and thinner. 7-india pale: very hoppy flavor, too much for me. rough going down and bitter aftertaste 8-helles: unique taste here. almost a fruity scent.. pear maybe. i would order this 9-butler: they called this a lager and a bock in their description.. not sure which it is. tasted alright, bitter in the aftertaste. 10-allegheny ale: hoppy, not as much as the india pale though similar

now on to the food. everywhere i go i at least would like a green salad. its healthy and helps everything else go down. they have salad bars set up in all the rooms here and you have the option to add it to an entree for $2. i ordered a margarita pizza which was fine, crust was seasoned and very flavorful, and h & h house salad and the salad was horrible. uninspired, really. 9 or so dollars for the salad and not a green leaf. iceburg lettuce does not cost that much. maybe in some of the extra space they have they can grow some leaf lettuce.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from amanda amanda, pittsburgh, PA
(01/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
While traveling on business I stopped by to check it out. Really wanted to try the nut brown, but it wasn't "in season" they said. I ordered the I.P.A. and it was good, but no extraordinary. I sat only at the bar and also order a 10-12oz. filet, and it was decent. I ordered the Schwarzbier as per reccomendation from the bartender. Was dark, and smelled decent, but a bit lighter than what I was looking for on this cold day. So then I sampled the Bock, and it was like I ordered a light beer. I decided on the Stoudt and it was heavier than the Schwarzbier but still a little too light for my liking. My reccomendation, MORE FLAVOR in the beers. Kind of dissapointed the Porter wasn't available.. and maybe the nut brown. Off to Domenico's tomorrow night!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Fort Washington, PA
(01/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
10 taps of their house beer this stop. Not very ambitious with their offerings for the most part. ABV for instance, ranged from 3.0 to 4.5 with one exception. Not that you can't make a good "mild"; it just seems like most places don't. Some of my notes: Whitetail--thin, their best seller, Harmony--Blah!, Panther--at least it tastes like something, Cleary Red--a light version of Killians, Cashel Bay Stout--"it's like a Guiness (no it's not!). To be fair, then it got somewhat better: Schwarz--nice flavor, a bit thin, Porter--slight sweetness, over carbonated, Hop Rocket--Great nose, nice flavor. The porter they served (7.4%) was the best of the lot, but they didn't include it in the sampler, had to ask for an "extra". Actually, some of the servers almost seemed to discourage having the sampler. Management types used the bar as a short cut, often engaging (distracting) servers. All in all, better than I expected, but still not that great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(12/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Nice new building, but a new building doesn't matter much when everything else needs improvement. I'd take Domenico's anyday over this place, with their excellent food, multiple craft beers on tap and bartenders that don't leave you stranded. Don't let the rave reviews from someone closely associated with this place fool you....this place is nothing special.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wausau, WI
(12/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
When they were building the place and I saw the sign for a steak house brew pub, I was counting down the days until it opened. Before H&H in Cranberry the nearest microbrewery was either Penn down in the burgh or North Country up in Slippery Rock. The first thing that struck me was the scale of the place. Most of the pubs I go to are a bit smaller and have that cozy feel. I got a chance to talk to one of the owners and he said that they seat 460 people…. I think…anyways that is one big place. I like how the separated the bar “ Pub” from the dinning rooms, the façade for Cleary’s pub looked like it could be right at place in Ireland or Scotland. They have a nice beer selection and I was lucky that the owners were in and gave me a tour of the brewery; I didn’t learn much (being in the bear business I have a good knowledge of anything bear related). The prices are average to low for a microbrew.

I met some buddies at the pub and after having the Cleary’s red (ale) we decided that we would like to grill our own. This is fun if you have a group of friends…I’m not sure if I would do this if I came in with my wife or the kids…unless they wanted to but I’m always up for grilling and bear. They I went there were two grill chefs on duty. After talking to a waiter he recommended going to grill with Adam (I think that was his name….it started with an “A”). After talking to him he told me a little about the place and that he was a college student. We lucked out because he not only is very helpful and has good grilling tips, he also plays the bagpipes. That is one of the things my buddies and me enjoyed the most. That’s the only place in Cranberry that I can get good food and good bear and get to hear some good tunes on the pipes. I think they are a unique contributor to the atmosphere at Hereford & Hops.

The service was good…although I would like to see more bartenders. I did have to go to the other grill room to get some steak fries as to the grill was busy and Adam was running to get more….but I didn’t want to wait….things appeared to be a little rocky in the other grill room…maybe it was the group of people or the other grill chef, I don’t know.

I highly recommend going to Hereford and Hops at least once…and would say if you have some good friends see if Adam can play a tune or two for your party.

Overall it was a blast and everything was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patt Patt, Pittsburgh, PA
(11/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
I have had wonderful experiences at the Escanaba MI and Wausau WI locations. I'd rate this location a "D."

Rule number One: Do not ever leave the bar unattended. Not ever.

I sat 5 minutes before I was noticed and then it took 2 or 3 more minutes to get a beer. I commented that my pint looked a bit flat-- certainly there was no head at all- not one bubble.

The food was decent enough. I would have tried a pint of something with a smidge of residual carbonation but since I was ignored until too late, I passed.

Idea- the hostess stand is hidden around the corner and I found my way to the bar before I was greeted. The hostess was pleasant but not located where she could be very effective.

If H&H wants to see an example of a well run restaurant-- take a 4 mile ride down Route 19 to Atrias. They run a spectacular facility. Their bar was 1/2 the size of H&H with twice the bartenders and the service was exemplary. It isn't a Pubcrawler type of place but it is too good to pass up when I travel to the north side of Pittsburgh.

Suggestion 2: go back to Wausau and get a patrons view of a well run place. The bartender said this Cranberry location is "new"-- but they will be "gone" if they can't offer better service than what I saw.

Pubcrawler offers too many very nice options for this area-- e.g. Domenico's

If H&H is still open when I return in 5 6 weeks, I might sneak back in to have a beer... and stay a while... unless it takes too long to get one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Kraus Joe Kraus, Geneva, NY
(09/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
The current choice is the Panther Pils. A very good offering of a European pilsner. It's close to a Victory Prima Pils without the big alcohol kick. I tried the Allegheny Pale Ale and was underwhelmed. Just a good session ber.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(07/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Me and a freind/nephew visited saturday early afternoon were asking about the beer menu,(no hop rocket that day), and the brewmaster happened by and recomended the Allegheny Pale Ale. WOW!!!! Fantastic taste and flavor all the way through, very consistant, I now have a new favorite. I only rated the food a good because I had a meatloaf sandwich....not a culinary feat. The staff and most especially the brewmaster were very helpful. I will visit again soon for sure. My thanks and compliments to Jim the brewmaster.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Fatula Chuck Fatula, Ellwood City, PA
(07/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
I tried the Hop Rocket...wow if you are a hop monster, say you like Troegs Nectar, you will like this.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Fatula Chuck Fatula, Ellwood City, PA
(06/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
It is quite apparent, that there are those (investors?) who feel it is in their best vested interest to continue to counter negative feedback on open forums such as this one. Just look at how quickly the glowing reviews are posted, obviously looking to counter the negative reviews. Keep in mind, only a small portion of the population will ever read pubcrawler reviews. Word of mouth travels quickly. Check back here in a few years, better yet... ask some of the locals how they feel about the place. And even better yet, check the place out for yourself. Then let everyone you know how your experience was.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wausau, WI
(05/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I stumbled across this brewpub while traveling. It opened this March and apparently it has caught on quite well in the area, as it was packed. I had a sampler of 8 of the 10 beers that were on tap, and all were excellent. I have never been to another brewpub with such a solid line up of that many beers. The pub itself was hugh.The menu was quite extensive featuring streaks and prime rib. I had the prime rib which was outstanding. A must stop if traveling through PA!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from brewgeek brewgeek, pueblo, ND
(05/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Really enjoyed the restaurant. The food was superb. We had the choice steaks that were excellent, the pub wings, calamari and mussells as appetizers were also something everyone enjoyed. I can't forget the crab bisque and cheddar ale soup which were excellent! The beers are top notch & the children ejoyed their own home brewed Root Beer! We look forward to stopping in when we drive through the area next time. Thanks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Erie, PA
(05/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy So So
Quality. I sampled seven of their brews at a buck a piece. They were all different hues of the same brew, very indifferent in taste and somewhat watery. I did find the porter the most drinkable.

Selection. They also serve Coors. Obviuosly they don't have high expectations or regard for the brewmaster.

Food. Very good. They understand how to make a burger. I wouldn't stray too far from the beef. One gentileman at the bar ordered "white chili". It was Irish Stew. No beans, no peppers, no spice, plenty of potatos and carrots. He questioned the prepartion. The bartender responded with "that's what it is". Puzzled, the gentileman asked for his check.

Service. Ten patrons at the bar, two disappearing bartenders, equals lousy rating. Too much down time between pints.

Overall. Every new establishment deserves a second chance. If you are looking for a good beer try elsewhere. Come back next year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Bock Jim Bock, Verona, PA
(05/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy So So
My husband likes the beer okay, and they have samplers which you can get to try different ones which I think is good if you are uncertain. They have a lot to chose from. What I want everyone to know about is this: My husband and I took a guest there to dinner last night. I ordered a filet medium rare and our guest ordered a filet medium. My husband ordered a strip steak. We had them cook the steaks. When the food came, the filet for our guest was so small, it wouldn't have been enough for a child's portion ! My husband and I were mortified ! I would have given our guest half of mine which was huge and easily broke in two, but it was cooked differently, and he didn't want it. We did not want to embarass our guest by complaining, although I mentioned to him how small his steak was. He graciously said oh well, when I cut it up it covers the plate. NOT ! Not only that, but our waiter who was very nice but not around very often, never asked if everything was okay and never even offered coffee or dessert ! What an awful dining experience for us - so embarassing! If we hadn't have had a guest with us, I would have complained to management on the spot. We won't be going back, and won't be recommending it to our friends either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ruthann Sesti Ruthann Sesti, Gibsonia, PA
(05/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
They have a good variety of beers. The service is good if you are at a table. When the bar is crowed it takes too long to get service. The bartenders that I have encountered did not show much beer knowledge. (I was surprised by that) You may be better off getting a table just outside the bar area. There were 2 different IPA syle beers on tap. I think the hop rocket is slightly better than the regular IPA. The food is ok. It can be pricey if you go for the aged beef. They have a unique table side pitcher with a tube in the middle that keeps the beer chilled. I think that they should consider incorporating a happy hour. I was told that will be coming. Otherwise plan to spend $4.00 to $5:00 per 16 to 22oz. An averaged price meal will range from $20.00 on the low side to $45.00 on the high side for your entree.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Carroll David Carroll, Bridgeville, PA
(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The food and the beers were decent, but not great. It's a nice place and the atmosphere blends in with the more upscale Cranberry Township area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(04/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
They now have lunch hours, and are open 11:00am everyday but Sunday, when they open at Noon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(04/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The hours are posted, I've seen them,so you must have missed the sign. It opens every day at 4:00pm. I think the web site issue is because this is a chain. Give this place another try. It's worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Was looking forward to checking this place out. Stopped by on Friday 3/24 at 2:30 in the afternoon. What I found was a mostly empty parking lot and locked doors. No sign with hours of operation anywhere within my eyesight. Hugely disappointed as I cut my visit at North Country short just to check this place out. Maybe the person that placed the ad disguised as a review on pubcrawler would have better used his time by placing the business hours on the front door so that we would know...DUH! Would still like to visit again at some point but now consider it low priority. One more thing... please update your "all new website". It's completely useless!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(03/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Awesome! So So
Basically, this place is a glorified Ponderosa Steak House. The Pub Area is nice, but the restaurant section has no atmosphere, just a place to cram in and chow down. This was designed for hungry people. Wave after wave of Cranberrian women in their best "going-out sweatsuits" and their husbands wearing Stiller ball caps and Wrangler jeans came flocking. Not worth a 2nd visit. After all, this is Cranberry, a typical cookie cutter Pittsburgh suburb with no culture. Hefeford & Hops is located between a bunch of chain restaurants which doesn't help its cause. If the setting were unique such as somewhere in the city, that would have scored a lot more points with me.

The beer is okay but nothing special.

The service was spectacular. I was expecting it to be a zoo since it is a newly opened restaurant, but the wait staff was always checking on me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, Pittsburgh, PA
(03/30/2006)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.423 seconds) 18:51:05 54.235.16.159, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS