PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Covey Restaurant and Brewery - Fort Worth, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 04:11 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > Fort Worth > The Covey Restaurant and Brewery
The Covey Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
The Covey Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
3010 South Hulen Street
Fort Worth, TX 76109
United States
(817) 731-7933
Listed Since: May 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Fort Worth, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of The Covey Restaurant and Brewery
12 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

2) Ginger Man
(3 miles)

3) Shamrock Pub, The
(3 miles)

4) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(3 miles)

5) Rahr and Sons Brewery
(4 miles)

6) Sherlock's Baker Street Pub and Grill
(4 miles)

7) Irish Pub
(4 miles)

8) Blarney Stone
(5 miles)

9) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(5 miles)

10) Pig and Whistle Pub-Downtown
(5 miles)

11) Billy Miner's Saloon
(5 miles)

12) Flying Saucer
(5 miles)

13) Durty Murphy's
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Etta's Place
2) Hill Top Bed & Breakfast
3) Locheart Gables
4) Texas White House B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES FORT WORTH CITYVW
2) BEST WESTERN INN AND SUITES
3) BLACKSTONE COURTYARD FT WORTH
4) BW WINSCOTT INN AND SUITES
5) CLARION HOTEL FT WORTH
6) COMFORT SUITES
7) COMFORT SUITES SOUTH
8) COURTYARD DFW WEST-LANDS END
9) COURTYARD SOUTH UNIVERSITY
10) DAYS INN FT WORTH UNIV DRIVE
11) DAYS INN SOUTH FT WORTH
12) EXTENDEDSTAY FT WORTH CITY VIEW
13) FAIRFIELD INN FORT WORTH
14) FIRESTONE UPPER WESTSIDE
15) GREEN OAKS HOTEL
16) HAMPTON INN FT WORTH I30
17) HAMPTON INN FT WORTH SW
18) HOMESTEAD STUDIOS FT WORTH
19) LA QUINTA INN & STES FTW S.W.
20) LA QUINTA INN FT WORTH WEST
21) LA QUINTA WEST MEDICAL CENTER
22) OAKWOOD FORT WORTH
23) PARK CENTRAL HOTEL FORT WORTH
24) RADISSON PLAZA FT WORTH
25) RAMADA INN
26) RENAISSANCE WORTHINGTON HOTEL
27) RESIDENCE INN UNIVERSITY DRIVE
28) SPRINGHILL SUITES FORT WORTH
29) STUDIOPLUS FORT WORTH CITY VIEW
30) THE TEXAS WHITE HOUSE
31) TOWNE PLACE SUITES-FORT WORTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allen Chapel AME Church
2) Anderson, Neil P., Building
3) Austin, Stephen F., Elementary School
4) Benton, M. A., House
5) Blackstone Hotel
6) Bryce Building
7) Bryce, William J., House
8) Buck Oaks Farm
9) Burnett, Burk, Building
10) Eddleman-McFarland House
11) Electric Building
12) First Christian Church
13) Flatiron Building
14) Fort Worth Club Building--1916
15) Fort Worth Elks Lodge 124
16) Fort Worth High School
17) Fort Worth Public Market
18) Fort Worth US Courthouse
19) Gulf, Colorado and Sante Fe Railroad Passenger Station
20) Hogg, Alexander, School
21) Hotel Texas
22) Johnson-Elliott House
23) Knights of Pythias Building
24) Markeen Apartments
25) Montgomery Ward and Company Building
26) Morning Chapel Colored Methodist Episcopal Church
27) Our Mother of Mercy Catholic Church and Parsonage
28) Paddock Viaduct
29) Pollock-Capps House
30) Rogers-O'Daniel House
31) Saint James Second Street Baptist Church
32) Sanger Brothers Building
33) Sanguinet, Marshall R., House
34) Shaw, Thomas and Marjorie, House
35) Sinclair Building
36) South Side Masonic Lodge No. 1114
37) St. Mary of the Assumption Church
38) St. Patrick Cathedral Complex
39) Tabernacle Baptist Church
40) Tarrant County Courthouse
41) US Post Office
42) Waggoner, W. T. Building
43) Westover Manor
44) Wharton-Scott House
45) Woolworth, F. W., Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aardvark
2) Bella Pasta & Pizza
3) Bellagio Italian Bistro
4) Bennigan's
5) Bistro Louise
6) Blue Mesa Grill
7) Bobby Cox Co Inc
8) Boston Market
9) Burdav's Cafe
10) Burger King
11) Burger King
12) Caro's Restaurant
13) Cellar
14) Charleston's
15) Charlie's Old Fashioned Hmbrgr
16) Chef Chen Buffet & Club
17) Chick-Fil-A
18) Chicken Express
19) Chili's Grill & Bar
20) China Jade
21) Chipotle Mexican Grill
22) Chuck E Cheese's
23) Deli Partners LTD
24) Don Felipe Mexican Restaurant
25) Educational Catering
26) Epohana Hibachi Sushi
27) Fat Harry's Daiquiris & Tavern
28) Fernandez Cafe
29) Fishmongers Seafood Market
30) Five Star Food Inc
31) Flamers Charbroiled Hamburgers
32) Fresh Choice
33) Frullati Caffe
34) Fuddruckers
35) Fuzzy's Taco Shop
36) Fuzzy's Taco Shop
37) Genghis Grill
38) Good Eats Grill
39) Gunsmoke Grill
40) Halo Lounge
41) Hoffbrau Steaks
42) Hong Kong Restaurant
43) Hooters
44) Hunan Chinese Restaurant
45) Ionian Grill
46) Jack In The Box
47) Jack In The Box
48) Joe's Crab Shack
49) Joe's Pizza & Pasta
50) Jons Grille
51) Kazusan Japanese Restaurant
52) Keg Steakhouse & Bar
53) La Piazza
54) La Tortilandia Mexican Food
55) Marble Slab Creamery
56) Mc Donald's
57) Ocean Rock Seafood
58) Olive Garden
59) One Asia Bistro
60) Opah Greek Flavor
61) Oui Lounge
62) Overton Deli
63) Pancho's Mexican Buffet Inc
64) Panda Express
65) Park Hill Sandwich Co
66) Perrotti's Pizza
67) Perrotti's Pizza
68) Philadelphia Steak & Sub
69) Plaza Cafe
70) Potbelly Sandwich Works LLC
71) Pub
72) Quizno's Classic Subs
73) Quizno's Classic Subs
74) Quiznos Sub
75) Red Hot & Blue
76) Red Lobster Restaurant
77) Rockfish Seafood Grill
78) Rosa's Cafe
79) Snookie's Bar & Grill
80) Souper Salad Restaurant
81) Starbucks
82) Starbucks
83) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
84) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
85) Swanson's Eat Shop
86) Tahi Mana Juice Bar
87) Taiwan Restaurant
88) Takueria Melis
89) Texadelphia 5
90) Tgi Friday's
91) Tia's Tex-Mex Grill
92) Wok & Grill
93) Wok & Roll
94) Yoshi's Japanese Fast Food
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Sadly, The Covey has closed. They ceased operations in October 2010. Too bad, as they made some of the best beer in North Texas, and had very good food to accompany it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from roach roach, plano, TX
(11/11/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Great beer ,but food was overpriced. It's a shame they closed tHe doors on September 24th of this year . There were not many customers and iwould visit @ different times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fort Worth, TX
(11/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Made two trips to Covey's just to get more tastes, both of the beer and the food. They an IPA at 8.8%, dark belgian ale at 7.7%, a great stout but the star of the show had to be the prickly pear wheat in all it's pink beauty. And the food was out there too. Gator-stuffed jalapenos?! Pheasant quesadillas?! Almost wish I lived in the D/FW area so I could keep checking out what these guys are up to. The atmosphere's a bit upper end but not over the top. As a tourist, felt like I was a regular. For those on the road, Covey is conveniently sandwiched between I-20 and I-30 at eithers Hulen Rd. exit near the TCU campus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(10/07/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Made this my first stop on a baseball vacation thru Texas and couldn't have started off any better. Liked the place so much went back a couple days later. Came for the beer;returned for the food. Tasted a pint each of the Altbier, Crystal Imperial IPA (8.8%),Predicament III (A 7.7% Belgian style dark ale), 12 Gauge Stout and ,the star of the show, The Prickly Pear Wheat in all its pink glory. Everyone a winner. The food menu was even more outrageous. Gator-stuffed Jalapenos? Pheasant Quesadillas? And that's just some appetizers. The atmosphere is a bit upscale as is the neighborhood. For the tourist, it's conviently located between I-30 and I-20 on the Hulen Rd. exits just west of d'town Fort Worth by TCU. Full bar and outdoor patio as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(09/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
We drive 25 miles, past maybe 50 beer places, to drink Covey beer. It is that good! The food is also excellent. My 80 year old Dad wanted to come here for his birthday. So did my 22 year old son. It's a place for beer lovers. But, don't expect any friendly words or warmth from the owner and brewmaster. Making customers feel welcome is not his strong point. But, his craftmanship with beer is outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from whistler whistler, Arlington, TX
(08/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Awesome!
We visited The Covey for the second time in a couple of weeks which is no small feet given it is an hour drive. The second trip did not disappoint either.

Certainly not a perfect place, but from a North Texas Beer Hell perspective, this is about as good as it gets. The standout beer was clearly the Barley Wine...perhaps one of the best BWs I’ve ever had. They had a very good Trippel and an unusual but tasty Brown ale that was also very good. The IPA was not bad at all but a little too California hop bomb for my druthers. Unfortunately, their WBC award winning Vienna Lager was out still. The two North Texas Beer Hell state required “light” beers were unsurprisingly every bit as insipid as the local beer tastes require.

When the Vienna Lager is back, it will round out a selection of very nice beers and I would heartily recommend it to you, though right now all they have is pretty big and bold. The food we had was quite good. So don’t overlook The Covey. We can’t afford to loose another place that knows how to make a good beer. We will be as regular as we can be with a place this far off our regular paths.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Plank Tony Plank, Dallas, TX
(05/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I visited last week during a weekday-my second visit to this establishment. The bar area was about 1/2 filled. The Covey is certainly a very nice, well decorated brewpub (I hate to use that term as it presents itself as an upscale restaurant that brews on premises).

The beer selection was average but a nice Belgium dubbel on tap more than made up for the blandness of the rest of the beer menu. The staff did manage to secure another Belgium triple that was in the fermenter (thanks for the effort).

The menu was chock loaded with game and meat. They have some wonderful looking dishes-but given my per-diem I settled for an eggplant dish that was good but perhaps a bit overdone.

This would be a nice place for a quiet, romantic dinner with your spouse. I just hope the lack of customers I noticed was just because it was a weekday and not a trend-this is a nice place to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(09/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We visited on the Fried Chicken Sunday Dinner - It was awesome! The chicken was cooked perfectly, and the cream corn is the best I have ever tasted. Great deal with dessert included!! This new chef has turned the corner on this establishment! Good Luck to the Covey and a great manager Jamie! Bill

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Lourcey Bill Lourcey, Fort Worth, TX
(07/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I visited this brewpub on 1/13/07 and had the following brews; Cowboy Lager, Texas Wheat, Amber Ale, Pale Ale, Abbey Ale, Coconut Brown & Porter. I found all the brews well within their style except the Amber which I thought to be not malty enough for the style. It was still very drinkable. I found the menu a bit pricey but worth the visit. Still no souvenir glassware at this time. I will definitely make a return visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(01/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So So So
The nine dollar hamburger was tasty but small, maybe a 1/4 lb or less. The fries were good but served cold and there were only three other dining parties in the whole restaurant. The smoked chicken sandwich was nothing special but the lobster bisque was excellent, with nice chunks of lobster. The two beers we tasted were very good. The waitperson was excellent and very nice, but still, some of the food was served cold, so.....is it his fault, the kitchen? We noticed that Charleston's next door was PACKED but as I said, only three other dining parties at 12 noon on a Friday. Not a good sign. The decor is gorgeous. Pricing for the sandwiches is a bit high but not outrageous. Lunch entrees seemed high and I did not like that they CHARGE for splitting an entree or pizza. Tacky! Will we return? I doubt it. Too many places that rate excellent in most catagories competing for our dollars.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fort Worth, TX
(10/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Covery is a O.K. place to go, but would not go out of my way to visit. The selection of beers that are offered was and made you think which beer to try next.

Two of the beers that I tried where good and would have again. Covey's Heteweizen is a perfect summer time beer and great taste, this is one I would have again. Second Covey's Amber has good bitter taste and is a solid amber beer, another one Covey's beers I would have again. One of Covey's beer that I was disappointed with was the Texas Wheat, very light tasting wheat beer, may be a good starter beer and then finish with two listed above. Covey's Pale Ale also was in the average catagory, O.K. beer but good aroma.

One problems we noticed about the layout of the restaurant was the pizza oven on the dinning side of the building puts out some most heat it causes the air conditioning to run full bast to keep the dinning side cool, so the bar side also gets the air conditioning full bast and is 10 to 15 degrees colder (which I guess would keep your beer colder).

Since Covey just opened my wife and I will give it another chance sometime and this time we will both bring jackets.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce J. Dana Bruce J. Dana, Fort Worth, TX
(08/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
The only bad thing about The Covey is it's 50 miles from home. In spite of the white tablecloths this place is unpretentious, with staff that is friendly and informative without being intrusive. Didn't try the food but the menu is varied, with wild game, steaks, seafood and pizza, all sounding good and at reasonable prices. Beer was very good, especially for an operation only 3 months old. Brewer Jamie is said to have experience at the Blue Star brewpub in San Antonio and a brewing certificate from Germany. Entry level lager was an excellent Munich Helles style, crisp and bright. Two wheat varieties displayed the differences between the Bavarian and American variations. Amber and pale ales were very good in the British style. Rauchbier was mildly smoky, not over-done. All samples were well conditioned and tasty. Pints and sampler trays are $3.75, well priced for high quality brew. The 7 bbl brewhouse sits between the pub and dining room sections of this tastefully decorated wood and stone building. Growlers to-go are restricted by lease terms, too bad. This place has a lot going for it, easily the best brewpub in Texas. Head to The Covey!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(07/12/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.611 seconds) 04:11:35 54.237.184.242, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS