PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


William D. Alandale Brewing Company - Kirkwood, MO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 07:21 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MO > Kirkwood > William D. Alandale Brewing Company
William D. Alandale Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
William D. Alandale Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
[Closed - 2009]
105 East Jefferson Avenue
Kirkwood, MO 63122
United States
(314) 966-2637
Listed Since: October 2006
Last Updated: February 2011
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kirkwood, MO
Beer Guide for Missouri

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
9 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Tue 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Thu 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:30AM

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Dewey's Pizza - Kirkwood
(0 mile)

2) Highlands Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Schneithorst's Hofamberg Inn
(3 miles)

4) Growlers Pub
(3 miles)

5) Sportsman's Park
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Eastlake Inn Bed & Breakfast
2) Fissy's Place
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN KIRKWOOD INN
2) BEST WESTERN KIRKWOOD INN
3) COMFORT INN SOUTHWEST
4) DAYS INN ST LOUIS MO
5) DRURY INN AND SUITES FENTON
6) HAMPTON INN SUNSET HILLS
7) HILTON ST LOUIS FRONTENAC
8) PEAR TREE INN FENTON
9) STRATFORD INN ST. LOUIS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barretts Tunnels
2) Barretts Tunnels
3) Bayley, Romanzo N., House
4) Blake, John P. and Dora, House
5) Busch's Grove
6) Clarke, Judge Enos, House
7) Comfort, James H. and Marietta, House
8) Cori House
9) Des Peres Presbyterian Church
10) Ferguson, Charles W., House
11) Fishback, George W. and Virginia, House
12) Gorlock Building
13) Grace Episcopal Church
14) Halsey, Egbert W., Cottage
15) Hawken House
16) J. Milton Turner School
17) Jarville
18) Keith, David, House
19) Kirkwood Missouri Pacific Depot
20) Long, William, Log House
21) McLagan, Lizzie, House
22) McMullen, Patrick and Moire, House
23) McPherson-Holland House
24) Mudd's Grove
25) Nipher, Prof. Frances e., House
26) Pappas, Theodore, A., House
27) Plant, Samuel, House
28) Price School
29) Richter, Theodore and Lena, House
30) Robinson, George R. and Elsie, House
31) Rock House, Edgewood Children's Center
32) Sappington, Joseph, House
33) Sappington, Thomas J., House
34) Sappington, Zephaniah, House
35) Tolhurst, G.W., House
36) Tuxedo Park Station
37) Unsell, Elijah J., House
38) Way, James W. and Mary, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Touch Of Creole
2) Amichis Restaurant
3) Andre's Banquet Facilities
4) Arby's
5) Bellaluna
6) Bistro 517
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Blue Water Grill
9) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
10) Bubble Room
11) Burger King
12) Cafe Provencal
13) Camille's Sidewalk Cafe
14) Chang Hing Inn
15) Chef's Express At Schnucks
16) Chef's Express At Schnucks
17) Chili's Grill & Bar
18) China Country
19) Chuck's Bar & Grill
20) Citizen Kane's Steak House
21) Culpeppers
22) Daily Perc
23) Dairy Queen
24) Danny O'Toole Pub & Grill
25) Denny's
26) Dewey's Pizza
27) Dineby D'Zine
28) Domino's Pizza
29) Down Under Restaurant & Pub
30) Eleven Mile House
31) First Watch Restaurant
32) Fortel's Pizza Den
33) Fuddruckers
34) Gelato Paradiso
35) Generations Nightclub
36) Gerard's Restaurant
37) Grahams Grille Inc
38) Great Restaurants Inc
39) Hardee's
40) Helen Fitzgerald's Irish Grill
41) Horn Restaurant
42) Howard Johnson
43) Imo's Pizza
44) Imo's Pizza
45) International House-Pancakes
46) International House-Pancakes
47) Joseph's Italian Cafe
48) Kfc
49) Kirkwood Grill
50) Kirkwood Ice & Fuel Co
51) Lion's Choice
52) Lion's Choice
53) Lion's Choice
54) Lion's Choice Restaurant Corp
55) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
56) Long John Silver's
57) Longhorn Steakhouse
58) Longhorn Steakhouse
59) Massa's Restaurant
60) Mc Donald's
61) Mc Donald's
62) Mc Donald's
63) Mike Duffy's Pub & Grill
64) New York Burrito Gourmet Wraps
65) New York Burrito Gourmet Wraps
66) O'charley's
67) P J's Tavern In Kirkwood
68) Pasta House Pronto
69) Pizza Hut
70) Pizzeria Uno
71) Quizno's Classic Subs
72) Quizno's Classic Subs
73) Quizno's Classic Subs
74) Quiznos Sub
75) Red Lobster Restaurant
76) Rich & Charlie's
77) Richard's Ribs
78) Ruby Tuesday
79) Saint Louis Bread Co
80) San Sai Japanese Grill
81) Sesame Chinese Restaurant
82) Showok Chinese Carry-Out
83) Sonic Drive-In
84) Spencer's Grill
85) St Louis Bread Co
86) St Louis Catering
87) Starbucks
88) Steak & Rice
89) Steak N Shake
90) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
91) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
92) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
93) Sunny China Intl Buffet
94) Sunset 44 Restaurant
95) Sweet Tomatoes
96) Taco Bell
97) Texas Roadhouse
98) Two Nice Guys
99) Wan Fu Chinese Restaurant
100) Zu Zu Petals
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Update: This place has new ownership, now called The Highlands Restaurant and Brewing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, O'Fallon, MO
(07/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So
First things first, I find it surprising that a brewpub would not offer beer samplers. They will bring you a little taster of a specific beer if you ask, but they do not have the option of getting a sampler tray of each beer.

We went for a late lunch on a Wednesday, so the place was fairly empty and service was fine. The food was pretty good, the portion sizes are huge. While they offered a selection of about 8 beers, none of us were particularly impressed with any of them, I thought they were drinkable yet unremarkable.

Too many excellent micros brewed in St. Louis, it's a tough market to break into. I wouldn't go out of my way for the beer here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(08/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy N/A
We were greeted by the hostesses and walked into the bar where we found a table. And we sat--waiting. Nobody said a word to us. Granted, it was busy that night and I applaud Alandale for having what seemed to be a popular establishment. But after waiting 20 to 25 minutes without anyone even noticing us, we decided to leave. As we were getting up one of Alandale's waiters did finally approach us and ask if he could get us something. My wife's idea is to not reward poor service with a sale. I tend to agree. We declined his offer and told him we'd waited long enough. I could go into his indifference, but that's probably another topic.

Remarkably, the management's reply was this:

"Unfortunately we are here now, and you left not being able to experience or fine beers and food. I invite you to come back and try us, but from the situation you describe it doesn't sound like you will be back. Please when you do get tired of the same old bar and grill food that PJ's Duffy's, Ice and Fuel, ect.. please come give us a try again, and let me prove to you that this was an isolated incident. It was [sic]no the typical level of service."

This wasn't the only report of shoddy service we'd heard, but we made the mistake of giving it a try. We'll listen to our friends a bit more often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John , Kirkwood, MO
(11/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I am not easily impressed by most brewpubs, but this one is truly an exception. The staff was extremely friendly and seemed genuinely interested in my impression of their beer. I tried the eight beer sampler and found all true to their style and extremely satisfying. Although I tend to lean towards the heavier beers, I would have been very satisfied with any of the eight I tried. (I shy away from the fruity beers so did not try the raspberry.) Although somewhat off the beaten path, I will gladly make the journey next time in St. Louis and bring my colleagues with me. All brewpubs should follow Alandales example.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Hoey Jim Hoey, Leonardtown, MD
(05/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
From the moment we walked in we were treated like friends. We sat in the bar which over looks the brewery. You can tell that they put a lot of thought into the building, the bar was in the shape of an A for Alandale. I tried the sampler to begin with, I was impressed with the different styles they had on tap. I had the rueben which is made with house cured corned beef.(when was the last time you saw that) My buddy tried the cuban(a sandwhich which according to the menu had been shared between Pope John Paul II and Fidel Castro) I will be back often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis,  M
(04/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
New place in town, just opened in July. Went there on a Tuesday afternoon, so there was no crowd to speak of. Greeted at the door by the manager Mike Bucchino, who after initial greetings allowed us to wonder the building to get the general layout, has a cafe style in the front and a general dining area behind that, with a couple of rooms off the rear area that could be used for a more secluded dining experience.

We ended up in the bar area, real comfortable place with warm wood tones and a large bar on one wall, to the left of the bar is the brewing area (large glass windows for viewing) with a walking area so you don't have people bumping into you while looking.

Danielle, was our server and she was fantastic, brought over a sampler, 8 different types/styles they were out of the Oatmeal stout & Wheat Ale but the others made up for that. Blond Lager, nice clear golden color with a good easy finish. Vienna Lager, Light amber color with a good nose also has a crisp finish. Very refreshing brew. Amber Ale, Coppery color, very nice flavor and plenty of malts to give is a lasting taste. America IPA, Light amber color, very aromatic, with a slight bitterness to the taste, extra hops give this a lasting impression in the taste buds. Doppelbock Lager, clear dark amber color, good nose, very heady beer, very sharp taste, OUTSTANDING beer. One thing I'd recommend is letting this one sit out and get closer to room temp in the true nature of a Doppelbock. Alandale Pilsner, clear golden color, nice nose, very assertive hop flavor with a nice bitter balance. Alandale Light Pumpkin Ale, clear coppery color, has a pumpkin/spicy nose (wonder why), not a bad beer, if I had to label it I would say this is a girly beer. ( I tend to favor the more stronger versions, IPA's, Dopplebocks, Stouts), but my wife liked the taste of it. Winter Ale, light coppery color, with a fruity/nutmeg nose, had a spicy flavor that wasn't to bad.

Overall the beer selection was Outstanding, and the taste/quality was Superior. Talking with the staff they all have there favorites there by most liked the Vienna.

*****THEY HAVE GROWLERS ON ORDER, BUT YOU CAN BRING IN ONE FROM ELESWHERE AND THEY WILL FILL IT *********

We had lunch there, Onion Strings were good with a chipotle dipping sauce. I had the Cuban (most popular sandwich), my wife had the Grinder. They were good sandwiches with ample fries (seasoned). ALL IN ALL A NEW PLACE THAT HAS IT GOING IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION. COME ON AND GIVE THEM A TRY....I'LL BE BACK.

Kurt

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt Wise Kurt Wise, Foley, MO
(01/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I was very impressed with this place! Of course I had just had a horrible experience at Square One. Everyone was pleasant and every beer was great! I visted on 18 December 2006. On tap that day: Plaliner blond lager, amber ale, american IPA, Alandale pilsner, vienna lager, American wheat, oatmeal stout, Alandale light pumpkin ale.

I had the pumking first. It was like pumpkin pie in a glass--but not sweet. Some pumpkin ales are a bit cloying--not this one. Delicious and a nice clean finsh.

Second was the oatmeal stout. It had a thin foamy head and a chocolate/caramel nose. The taste is a complex one--malt, coffee, chocolate--a delicious flavor.

Third was the American Pale ale. A thick lacy head, dark amber color, and nice hoppy nose. It was wonderful.

While I sat drinking I was able to listen to the interchanges between the wait staff and other clients. They were pleasant, friendly--this place has it down. Service and beer were both exclent! This will be a regular stop for me each time I make it back to Missouri!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(12/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Lousy So So
Very up-scale brewpub if you can call it a brewpub. Very nice neighborhood but on the Saturday afternoon that we were there, we had a hard time finding a place to park. We had an uncomfortable feeling from the time we walked in. We sat at the bar and after about five minutes the bartender finally took our order. We got a couple of samples and each ordered a different style of beer. They had eight of their beers on tap but not even one of them had anything worth writing about. Nothing outstanding that's for sure. We never had a second beer because the bartender disappeared and didn't return for twenty minutes. Several people came in and sat at the bar and left because of no bartender. Tough to sell beer if you don't have anybody to serve it. Too many really good Breweries and Brew Pubs in St. Louis to bother with this place again. We won't be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beersoles beersoles, Beecher, IL
(11/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
Well, it appears that I am the first to review this place for Pubcrawler...I'll consider it an honor.

Alandale opened for business about 3 1/2 months ago. My wife and I made our first trip last night for her BDay. We were very impressed.

We showed up around 6pm, and were told that there would be a 40 minute wait. Noticing that we had our 17 month girl with us, they said that they would try to get us a table as quick as possible. We sat at the bar while we waited.

I had the IPA, wife had the Amber. Both were very good and true to style. They did serve them both in a glass from the cooler, which I don't care for. But there were true pints glasses...becoming more and more rare. Regular price: $3.50/pint; 50 cents for a sampler. WHAT A DEAL!

The bartender was very knowledgable about the food, beer, background on the place, etc. This was opened by 5 partners, most of which are siblings (the name represents all of their names).

Got a table in 20 minutes. Wait staff was fantastic. Tried the Dopplebock and Oatmeal Stout...both delicious. Food was great. Owner came around to ask how everything was.

This is the kind of dining experience you wish you had everytime...and they've only been open for 3 1/2 months!!! I honestly don't see any wrinkles needing ironing.

Highly recommnended, and can't wait to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(11/05/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.252 seconds) 07:21:20 54.204.215.209, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS