PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Troll Tavern - Helen, GA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 23, 2014 @ 07:54 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > GA > Helen > Troll Tavern
Troll Tavern Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Troll Tavern
The Castle Inn
8287 South Main Street
Helen, GA 30545
United States
(706) 878-3117
Listed Since: October 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Helen, GA
Beer Guide for Georgia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
3 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Georgia Mountain Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Altstadter Weinstube and Biergarten
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Black Forest Bed & Breakfast
2) Caffery Springs Inn
3) Edelweiss German Country Inn
4) Grampa's Room & Bed & Breakfst
5) Hilltop Haus
6) Horton Creek Inn
7) Ivy Ridge Bed & Breakfast
8) Lodge At Windy Acres
9) Nacoochee Valley Guest House
10) Royal Winsor
11) Tara Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN ALPINE HELEN
2) COMFORT INN HELEN
3) COUNTRY INN SUITES HELEN
4) DAYS INN HELEN GA
5) ECONO LODGE HELEN
6) HAMPTON INN HELEN
7) RAMADA LTD HELEN
8) SUPER 8 HELEN GA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Stovall, John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alice's Restaurant
2) Alpine Dog
3) Alpine Ice Cream Shoppe
4) Cannibal's
5) Chattahoochee Barbecue
6) China Chef
7) Farmer's Market Cafe
8) Hans Restaurant & Lounge
9) Hofbrauhaus Inn Restaurant
10) Hofer's Bakery & Cafe
11) Jazzee Pizza
12) LA Cabana Express
13) LA Cabana Mexican Restaurant
14) Lynns Country Diner
15) Magnolia Terrace Wedding Chpl
16) Mom's Way Cafe
17) Mustang's Restaurant & Lounge
18) My Girls
19) Nacoochee Grill
20) North Georgia Barbeque Co
21) Old Bavaria Inn
22) Oscar's
23) Paul's Restaurant & Lounge
24) Pizza Pub
25) Scoop-De-Scoop Ice Cream Prlr
26) Scooter's
27) Southside Bar & Grill
28) Steak N More House
29) Sunset Tavern & Restaurant
30) Swiss Country House Inn
31) Troll Tavern
32) Waterwheel Ice Cream
33) Wooden Shoe Dutch Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
First of all, the place is way over priced for the mediocre food and 70's decor. Secondly, we went there with a party of 8, including 2 kids. We were sat for over an hour before our food came out. Our server done nothing, said nothing, and when WE said something, she said it wasn't her fault, it was the kitchens. She obviously did not care because the gratuity was included for parties of 6 or more. At the start of the debaucle, the waitress asked us if we want a split check, we said yes please, she came back after the meal, an hour and a half later, asked if we still want our check split. Yes. She walked away without finding out who was on what check, came back with the check on one bill. I went to find her to reiterate that we had requested split checks, and I even marked 1, 2 and 3 for our three groups to help her itemize it easily. My wife was waiting in line for the toilet, when she heard the two waitresses saying how rediculous we were and it doesn't work like that. When she told me that it was the last straw for me. She had asked if we wanted the check split, why ask if you think it is rediculous? I confronted her, she started saying that it wasn't her fault the food took so long, I was talking about you calling us rediculous on the floor in front of other customers, I have never been so mad at a restaurant, the manager walks by, a blonde that looked about 18, sorry, she said, I just got here and I don't know whats going on, then WALKS AWAY!!!! Unreal, she never gave us a discount, she never removed gratuity on our request, we were treated like I suppose they treat every complaint, it is a tourist town, we don't care. I NEVER write reviews, but I had to, I worked in the industry for over ten years and I understand things go wrong in the kitchen and when waiting, but when they do, make sure to make amends, nothing was done. I have never worked anywhere that let someone walk out with such a bad taste in their mouth..... I implore anyone to avoid this place, there is a great place acroos the street and across the river. GO THERE INSTEAD, OR ANYWHERE ELSE!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ewan Dickson Ewan Dickson, Chicago, IL
(12/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy Lousy
We were there to meet friends. The server must have decided that she was not making enough 10/17/09. She made our friends pay our tab after we had left. We bought 3 pitchers and our tab was $33 and some change plus a tip. I guess our mistake was paying cash and leaving. We live here and I would not advise anyone to pay cash as this is just an opportunity for the server to make an extra tip. In these times, I believe everyone needs business, however I guess the server at the Troll is only looking out for herself. If you go to the Troll don't pay cash!

Danna in Cleveland

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Danna Lee Danna Lee, Cleveland, GA
(10/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
We had a couple of meals at the Troll Tavern on a recent visit to Helen. My wife thought her Reuben sandwich was one of the best she has ever had… so good she ordered it each visit and rated it highly each time. I had a couple of different bratwurst/knockwurst combinations and I thought they were very good as well. In Helen, a good beer selection generally means that the restaurant has a good variety of German and other European imports. American craft beers appear relatively scarce. The Troll Tavern has a few beers on tap and more choices in the bottle but the overall beer selection was not exceptional. Indeed we saw some more interesting bottle choices at another restaurant in Helen. That being said, the Troll did have an Erdinger Hefe Dunkel promotion that included a nice logo glass that you could take with you. We liked the Troll's location under the bridge along the Chattahoochee River, but the cold weather during our November visit did not encourage use of the outdoor seating.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(11/29/2008)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.871 seconds) 07:54:24 54.80.43.90, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS