PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Boulder Dam Brewing Company - Boulder City, NV
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 11:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NV > Boulder City > Boulder Dam Brewing Company
Boulder Dam Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Boulder Dam Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 71 / 100
453 Nevada Highway
Boulder City, NV 89005
United States
(702) 243-2739
Listed Since: March 2007
Last Updated: January 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Boulder City, NV
Beer Guide for Nevada

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Boulder Dam Brewing Company
21 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 90:0PM
Mon 03:00PM - 10:00PM
Tue CLOSED
Wed 03:00PM - 10:00PM
Thu 03:00PM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BOULDER DAM HOTEL
2) BW LIGHTHOUSE INN AND RESORT
3) SUPER 8 BOULDER CITY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boulder Dam Hotel
2) Old Boulder City Hospital
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Backstop Sports Pub
2) Chiarelli's Deli Market Eatery
3) Creekside Restaurant
4) Dairy Queen
5) Dolce & Capone Restaurant
6) Domino's Pizza
7) Evan's Old Town Grille
8) Gino's Italian Eatzy
9) Matteo's Restaurants
10) Mel's Diner
11) Milo's Best Cellars
12) Stagecoach Saloon
13) Starbucks
14) Tony's Lounge
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So
Seems family friendly enough to bring the kids for a nice lunch. Service was extremly slow and food was too pricy for what I was served. Beer was not the greatest that I'd ever had, but they did have 6 differnt beers on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(10/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
What a difference a year makes! Last year, the beer was barely tolerable. A classic case of trying to stretch the yeast too far IMHO. Everything had a slight autolysis nut flavor. On my latest visit, every beer was clean and drinkable. Nothing to write home about, but good quaffable brews. I particularly liked the hefe and the stout (more like a porter, but still tasty). As for the IPAs, a traditional and a black, not my favorite hop blends and not quite enough hops or alcohol for the style category. Sierra Nevada Pale has more hop character than these IPAs, but I have a Blind Pig/Pliny the Elder palate, so I may be a bit numb from over-hopped beers.

Worth the 20 mile drive from the strip, just to get away from the LV craziness. Good food, very friendly staff, but I still prefer the Draft House in North LV and Chicago BC in Summerlin when it comes to LV brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Rancho Cucamonga, CA
(07/30/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
It's a great pub to get away from Las Vegas and the people who work there and their patrons are real nice. It id also the best tasting beer in the Vegas Valley.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenny Kenny, Las Vegas, NV
(01/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Marginal at best would be overrating this place. 1/4 lb burger for $9???? and have have to pay $1.50 extra for the fries I didn't order? My wife got a dish she didn't order and it was like pulling teeth to get that resolved. We should have figured it out when we walked into the place and the tables were filled with empty domestic beer bottles, rather than empty "micro brew" glasses. Worst "Dam" brewery I have visited.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Henderson, NV
(07/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
So, came to the brewpub on vacation. Sat outside in their beer garden. It was amazing. Like Las Vegas Review journal said, it is the only true beer garden in Nevada. They had five beers on tap, i enjoyed the Hefe and the IPA. Was very surprised with the Stout. Not a big fan of dark beers but this one is very tasty. Tried it with cider too!!! They even have what they call a "Real Beer Float." Kinda weird, not willing to try but waitress say people order it. Love that it is a family owned business, you can tell the brewer and Dad love beer!! Service is top notch! Cute bartenders! I would highly recommend this place. I'm going back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Temecula, CA
(04/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
After visiting the dam, we had to stop in and have a brew or two. It's not often that I find the reviews to be off and this was not an exception. I ordered the sampler and tested all that was in that day. The hop crisis IPA and Hefe was okay and that's what saved thier grade to good. The stout was almost undrinkable. The pilsner and light were bland and a waste of time. It's too bad because I really liked the atmosphere of the place and the two waitress' were friendly. Didn't try any of the food though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ypsilanti, MI
(11/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
So I go to Boulder Dam Brewing about once a month (this is my third review) always hoping for good things but always being disappointed. So on my two most recent trips (both within the past 3 weeks) I began wondering if I should continue visiting the Brewpub or maybe it was time for me to just give up on this place. The beers I had during these two trips were the Hefeweizen, Cerveza, Stout, and IPA. I'm still not tasting a wheat beer from the hefeweizen and what is the deal with an orange slice in a GERMAN wheat beer! The wine bar down the street knows to include a lemon slice in a German style wheat beer. The Cerveza was simply the pilsner with '50 lime squeezes'. For the first time in the 5+ months of visiting the Brewpub the Stout was a little off. It is probably the second most consistent beer I've had, though it's been the most consumed beer of choice for me. The IPA is the most consistent but for me is still lacking some hoppiness. For a place with 7 or 8 serving tanks, the variety stinks. It seems to be the four same styles, Pilsner, Stout, Hefeweizen, and IPA. And they'll have a fifth one which varies between the Red and the Light, and now the Cerveza. How about a Belgian Wit (then you can use those darn orange slices) or a Belgian Dubbel/Tripel or a Kolsch (oh, I would be in heaven) or a unique fruit beer or two (peaches, cherries, raspberry). As for the food, the frech fries and mozerella (spelling?) sticks or good, just the right amount of batter on them. As for the entrees, the burgers are okay and what happened to the chunks of real tuna that were in the tuna salad wrap. The one I had looked like liquified tuna salad. And since they're serving a 'light' beer, does that mean they're going to stop selling that Bud/Miller/Coors crap? Well, after expressing my opinions on here for the third time and being able to analyze it all I think B.D.B. is going to get a few more chances to improve before I completely write them off. Stay tuned for another review or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder City, NV
(08/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Lousy So So
I've passed this place a few times and made plans to check it out with the fam one afternoon. It was packed, so I cannot knock the staff for being slow to get to me. The bartender was waiting tables, sadly we didn't get her. The waitress let us sit idle for 45 minutes (with chldren, mind you) and was genuinely angry that I had helped myself to menus. No 'hello' or 'sorry we're understaffed' was ever uttered. She scornfully said 'you got your own menus' to me. We ordered our food a two beers (hefe and an Amber) and they came pretty quickly. They both had a rotten taste and aside from the slight variation of color, they were the same beer. Maybe a lemon wedge might have helped the hefe, but I was not asking for that. Substandard. The food was mediocre at best. It was a couple of weeks ago so I forgot what my meal was, but is was practically thrown at us before the waitress ran out the door. I had to get up and find silverware and straws. I hope she's not mad at me for that too! As an appetizer we ordered the beer battered mushrooms. What a huge mistake! I don't know how one could mess this up, but once you get through the batter, a hot blast of flavorless liquid fills your mouth. In closing, please avoid this place at all costs. Coming from Vegas, the land of chain restaurants, I pride myself in seeking out the little guy and giving him my business. I really wanted to like you guys!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Las Vegas, NV
(06/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
Okay, so this was my sixth time here (this is my second review) and they finally had 6 beers on tap. So I started off with the sampler. Six three-(or so) ounce beers for $10, not a bad start. The six beers they had were the Pilsner, Hefeweizen, Raspberry Vice, IPA, Red, and Stout. The Pilsner seemed a little off, not sure what it was but it had this strange taste on the back of the tongue. As for the Hefeweizen, first off you don't serve a German Wheat Beer with an orange slice, maybe with a Belgian Wit. Secondly, if I wasn't told that that was a Hefeweizen, I would have never guessed it in a million years. I wanted to like it so much I had a half pint. It still didn't taste like a Hefeweizen and it was way too cold. I couldn't find any spicy notes at all. The color seemed appropriate as well as the (usual) cloudiness. The Raspberry Vice was, well, raspberry flavored. I wish I knew what the goal of this beer was suppose to be. If it was simply suppose to be a fruit beer then they succeeded. The IPA was good, a good, pleasant hoppiness. I could stand it being just a little hoppier. I do love super hoppy beers. The Red was...a beer. Not sure what the aim was with that one. The Stout had to be my favorite. Nice coffee and chocolate undertones. The Stout has been the only beer with any consistency. As for the food, good beer battered fries, even though THEY DON'T MAKE THEIR OWN BEER BATTER. Tuna Salad Wrap was very good, nice large chunks (dare I say fillets) of tuna. The dressing was a bit too oily for me. Typical service, bartender was nice but forgot to get an answer for my question regarding the place brewing a Belgian Ale. Two final comments: it seems that Boulder Dam Brewing is starting to make more food items with its own beers (good start but a little behind on the eight ball); and why would any self respecting brewpub serve Bud/Miller/Coors!?!?!?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder City, NV
(05/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by for a beer while wife cruised the antique shops. Only tried the IPA and the stout. IPA was great on a warm afternoon although the unfiltered look is takes a little getting used to. Nice mix of hoppiness and citrus aftertaste. Wish I'd had time for another one. Stout was good, too, but not the stand-out the IPA was. Service was friendly and attentive. They obviously have a lot of pride in this place, and they should. I intend to make this place a must-visit on every trip to Vegas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dennis dennis, San Diego, CA
(04/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Being from Seattle, we like to think we know good brewpubs. I stopped by several on my last trip to Vegas, and this one was by far my favorite. They had five brews on tap; hefeweizen, raspberry weisse, IPA, red and stout. I thought all of them were excellent examples of their styles. I ordered the hot wings for food, and they were as good as any I've had elsewhere. The service was awesome (I wish I could remember the guys name.) I sat in the beer garden, which is great! Perhaps the review that complained about the brewpub only having 3 or 4 styles available was because, at least on the day I was there, this place was packed! Overall, I would highly recommend this place to anybody coming through Vegas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, Seattle, WA
(04/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just want to acknowledge a mistake I made. The brewpub does offer a Stout Beer Float. Didn't notice that when I was there. My apologies.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder City, NV
(04/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Good So So
I just recently moved to the area and have been to Boulder Dam Brewing about 5 times. On all but one trip they had 3 beers available, the other time they had a whooping 4. Each time they had the Pilsner and the Stout available. I've been wanting to try the Hefeweizen but I've always been a day or two early. Heck, the one time I was a day early for the Hefeweizen AND it was my birthday and they still refused to allow me to try it. Having been to numerous brewpubs in the eight short years I've been legal to drink alcohol, this brewpub had the poorest selection of beer. I think they need to re-organize the management responsible for brewing. As for the beer quality, here it is to the best of memory, in no particular order: IPA: had this one two days ago; very nice hoppiness; would go great with anything spicy; I know about the whole 'unfiltered' business but that's not part of the IPA style Pilsner: okay; it's kind of hard to call it a Pilsner when it has the same color as the IPA; back to that 'unfiltered' business; I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure different styles often have at least sutle color differences Stout: good; nothing good or bad to say about it Red: very good: again with this unfiltered stuff One thing to say overall about the quality of the beer. I enjoy an unfiltered beer as much as the next guy...WHEN THE STYLE CALLS FOR IT. As a former homebrewer (no time to brew anymore), the reason I didn't filter was simple...$$$. I think Boulder Dam Brewing needs to go ahead and invest in a filtering system. Remember, you may own the place but the customer is the one that keeps you open. As for the food, it's your typical pub grub. What I (and I'm sure several others) would love to see is food utilizing the beers in sauces and soups. Maybe even a dessert like bread pudding or a Stout Beer Float. Service is what I typically see at any restaurant, nothing to write home about (or in this case, write on the web) but still good. Overall, I feel with a little outside consulting this place could be spectacular. I suggest visiting other brewpubs (especially the ones in my hometown of Pittsburgh) to see how they manage their brewing and food preparation, I'll continue to visit Boulder Dam Brewing, in all hopes of someday having the forbidden Hefeweizen and to hopefully see the pub improve on its weak points.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder City, NV
(04/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
After reading several negative reviews of the beers, we stopped here with limited expectations. I ordered the beer sampler and tried all six varieties on hand. Yes, as others have noted, and as the brewery itself explains, all the beers are unfiltered and quite cloudy in appearance. This in itself does not bother me. In fact, I found all the beers to be quite drinkable, with the Black Canyon Stout being fairly good and the High Scaler IPA appropriately citrusy and hoppy. Other choices, a hefeweizen, amber ale, and an interesting but thin blueberry bock were decent but unremarkable. My biggest problem was with the Powder Monkey Pilsner. A pilsner should be clear and bright, with a pale gold color and a crisp, clean taste. Boulder Dam's version of a pilsner, while drinkable, seems nothing like a real pilsner. The German's have a name for an unfiltered pale gold lager  kellerbier  and this is what Boulder Dam's pale lager appears to best resemble. If this brewpub chooses to produce nothing but unfiltered beers, that is fine. However, they should be honest with themselves and their customers and call a beer what it really is. We just had an appetizer so comments on the food would be inappropriate. One plus: they do start you off with a bowl of freshly popped popcorn. The outdoor beer garden would have been nice on a pleasant day, but we were there on a rainy afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(03/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Great So So
great location, and service, brewmaster needs to checkout Big dog's IPA and Stout . food can get "kicked up" one or more levels. the place can be a great one!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review las vegas, NV
(02/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great Great Great Lousy
I ordered the IPA.

The IPA was brought to me and it looked like a mug of yeast slurry.

I waited 1 minute and the mug still looked like yeast slurry.

I took a sip and, Mother Moses, it was pure yeast slurry.

I called the waitress, and to be fair i asked, "Is this the way this ale is always served?" She responded, "Yes. My brother has been brewng for 10 years and he loves unfiltered beer!?

Well, I have been brewing for 25 years, and I love unfiltered beer also, but, I have never seen a beer so "unfiltered" as to look like dish water and give the goddess-of-yeast-bite bites! Yikes!

This is the WORST ale I have ever had.

Think 30 times before entering this establishment to drink beer.

f you come ONLY to et the food, then do so. The food is GREAT!

Dan

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Paul, MN
(01/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So
Most of brews availabe where of the fruit variety. I ordered the only beer (pale)on tap that did not have a fruit associated it. I swear it was a Hefe. My appetizer (pretzel) came after I was done with my lunch. There was some dispute among the servers. Menu selection was small unless all you want is a hot dog. Definitely one of the poorest brew pub I've been to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terry Terry, Fairfax, VA
(09/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The experiance was great the beer was some of the best I've ever had and the enviorment was some of the coolest I have ever been in relaxed but still had a pulse. I would recommend going and will go multiple times again myself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Wingate Jason Wingate, Tacoma, WA
(05/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
We had great food, great beer and great service. Would go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review stephenson, VA
(04/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good Lousy
Stopped in before a red-eye to Vegas. 5 beers were on tap and they were brewing 2 more. 3 of them advertised as having wheat malt included. Wife had the dunkelweisse and I had the bock. Each had a terrible flavor and aftertaste, we left ours. Overall, a very amatuerish effort. Staff was friendly enough and the bucket of peanuts was cool but the poor beer ruined the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BeerSnob1975 BeerSnob1975, P-burg, PA
(04/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Just opened up. Seven pub-brewed beers when I was there. Cool decor. Great outdoor beer garden. Service, atmosphere and food was great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder City, NV
(03/01/2007)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.268 seconds) 11:29:17 54.81.211.100, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS