PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rivertowne Pour House - Monroeville, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 24, 2014 @ 09:46 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Monroeville > Rivertowne Pour House
Rivertowne Pour House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Rivertowne Pour House
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 87.9 / 100
312 Center Road
Monroeville, PA 15146
United States
Listed Since: May 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Monroeville, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
15 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Mad Mex
(0 mile)

2) Bella Luna Trattoria
(0 mile)

3) Gateway Grill
(0 mile)

4) Carl's Tavern
(2 miles)

5) Ugly
(4 miles)

6) Full Pint Brewing Company
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN CONFERENCE
2) DAYS INN MONROEVILLE
3) EXTENDEDSTAY MONROEVILLE
4) RADISSON HOTEL PITTSBURGH
5) RED ROOF PITTSBURGH MONROEVILLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bowman Homestead
2) Westinghouse Air Brake Company General Office Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amili's Pizzaria
2) Arby's
3) Au Bon Pain
4) Ayman Snack Shop
5) B & M Catering
6) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
7) Baskin-Robbins
8) Baskin-Robbins
9) Billu's Indian Grill
10) Blair's Country Coffee
11) Boardwalk Custard
12) Boston Market
13) Bruster's Old Fashioned Ice
14) Burger King
15) Caputo's Friendly Inn
16) Carhops
17) Casa Di Monzo's
18) Casa Mia Pizzaria & Deli
19) Charley's Steakery
20) Charlie's Ice Cream
21) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
22) Chin's Polynesian Garden
23) China Fan
24) China Palace
25) Chuck E Cheese's
26) Churchfield's Restaurant
27) Cici's Pizza
28) Cinnabon
29) Cooker Bar & Grille
30) D & T Sandwich & Snack Shop
31) Dairy Queen
32) Dairy Queen
33) Damon's The Place For Ribs
34) Davoli's Catering
35) De Nunzio's Italian Trattoria
36) Denny's
37) Domino's Pizza
38) Eat N Park Restaurants
39) Eat'n Park Restaurants
40) El Campesino
41) Esta Esta Restaurant
42) Fox's Pizza Den
43) Fox's Pizza Den
44) Fox's Pizza Of Monroeville
45) Gateway Grill
46) Gloria Jeans Gourmet Coffee
47) Gold Rush Restaurant
48) Gold Rush Restaurant
49) Golden Rose Restaurant & Sln
50) Grazie Restaurant & Cocktail
51) Holiday Inn
52) India Garden
53) Jaden's Family Dining
54) James Street Tavern
55) Johnny Carino's Italian
56) Kfc
57) King's Family Restaurant
58) LA Cucina Dolce Inc
59) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
60) Long John Silver's
61) Mama Giovanna's Pizzeria
62) Max & Erma's
63) Mc Donald's
64) Mc Donald's
65) Mo's Luncheon Place
66) Monterey Bay Fish Grotto
67) Napoli Pizza Inc
68) Nick Marie's Italian Rstrnt
69) Outback Steakhouse
70) Overlook Lounge
71) Papa John's Pizza
72) Papa Rocks Pizza
73) Parkway Tavern
74) Pasqales's Pizza
75) Penn Monroe Grill
76) Peppermill Inn
77) Pitcairn Grill
78) Pizza Hut
79) Pizza Hut
80) Pizza Take Out
81) Ponderosa Steakhouse
82) Potato Sack
83) Quiznos Sub
84) Red Lobster Restaurant
85) Restaurant Technologies Inc
86) Ribkens CPR
87) Rita's Italian Ice
88) Rita's Water Ice
89) Roly Poly Sandwiches
90) Rosecliff Lounge
91) Rudy's Submarines
92) Sbarro
93) Sharwood Lounge
94) Slammers
95) Starbucks
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
98) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
99) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
100) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
101) Super China Buffet
102) Taco Bell
103) Unique Pizza Factory
104) Veltre's Pizza
105) Vocelli Pizza
106) Vocelli Pizza
107) Wendy's
108) Wooden Nickle
109) Yu Jia Song
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Passing through on the way home, so this made for a logical place for a lunch (and beer) stop. Checked out what was new to me, so I sampled a few. Rx Pils was nice; refreshing--a good example. Last Chance Vienna didn't trip my trigger, but I really enjoyed the Perked Up Pale on cask. I must admit, if it's on cask, I'm probably gonna try it! Again was there during the Sunday brunch which is an excellent value--a little something for everyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome all around for sure. Makes me not miss John Harvard's much, if at all. Love the "cheesy grits". Service is beyond awesome. You gotta go here when the Penguins are playing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BR, State College, PA
(05/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Holy Moly! All of those beers, and all from the back room. Most brewpubs don't have that many taps, let alone all house beers. There was fruity beer, light beer, dark beer, wheat beer, ipa, i-ipa, stouts, pilsners. I wish the sampler was two dozen glasses. The food and drink were great too. The owners are AMAZING people, and its a treat to talk to them, when we're there. I would reccommend this to the casual drinker, the connissuere, <----the spelling teacher, and the whole family. Kid friendly, and it also looks like they have enough room for multiple closed events. GO THERE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, Indiana, PA
(04/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good
Impressive selection of styles of beers here. The food menu is quite extensive as well. We were in town for a hockey tournament, so we ordered some pizzas to go. While waiting on the pizza, I sampled about half of the available beers on tap, and bought a growler of the IPA to take to the hotel. I would likely stop back by if in the area again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Short Doug Short, Indian Springs, OH
(12/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Impressive is the best description I can think of--what else can you say about 17 house beers on tap, and all of them better than average to excellent. I won't try to list all the beers I tasted, but I will give you some of my favorites. Summer's Milk Stout was very good--rivalled Lancasters Stout, but perhaps a bit thinner. Old Wylie's IPA has a very interesting hop profile--Chinook, Cascade, Centennial, Warrior, Willamette... Melting Pot Pale seemed pretty complex for a pale ale--nice. West Coast Stout was hearty, with hops noticable at the finish. My favorite however, was Shloppy Monster and Imperial IPA just bursting with IBUs. Was there for the Sunday brunch so food was plentiful and tasty. Definitely an emarassment of riches--beer wise. Well done!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
After reading so many good things about this place we decided to check it out and are glad (and sad) we did. Glad because it lived up to everything everyone has said about the place: great beer, great food, great service. Sad because it isn't closer (I'll take it in my neighborhood anyday). It's about a 30 minute drive (thank God for GPS) so we have to be careful one of us can find the way back home, but it is definitely worth the trip. I will agree that with the vast beer selection it borders on overkill and after your fifth or sixth beer they can start to blend together. The IPA and the Melting Pot pale ale were very good as was the wit beer and the saison. The hefe was okay, nothing great and the kolsch was alright - not my favorite. Even if beer isn't your thing the food is another reason to go. Their menu is almost as vast as the beer selection. Page after page of appetizers, salads, sandwiches, wraps, dinners, pizza. You can get lost just looking through it. Started off with a bucket of mussels and half-bucket of whole wings. The wings were good but the mussels were excellent - especially if you like garlic. Ending up getting another bucket with our dinners. Their sandwiches are huge and come with either homemade fries or homemade chips - both a good also. The staff is very friendly, knowledegable and helpful. Very big and clean inside. As I've always dreamed of having my own brewpub this place is almost how I pictured it would be (maybe they can open another a little closer?). Definitely worth the trip and will be going back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Lewis John Lewis, Pittsburgh, PA
(08/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have to agree with everyone who posted here. The place is awesome! Although I have to say the beer selection is so vast, that after a while it was hard to determine some of the finer points in the flavors. I love the constant changing taps. Always a reason to go back and try something new. The bartenders are not only good at serving, but they were also knowledgable and passionate about the beer. The food is also excellent here. The beer battered salmon is a great choice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Dunbar, PA
(03/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
But why did they have to put the place so close to where I live? I can't stay out of there. At least with John H being on the other side of town, I was able to limit my visits to once a week. It's comparable to a small town being awarded a major league franchise (and we got the Yankees). Since I travel all over the country, I get to see a lot of brewhouses. Andrew & Co. are right up there with the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JOHN R JOHN R, MONROEVILLE, PA
(11/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Stopped by to see Andrew a while back and sampled about 6 beers and they where fantastic. The Imperial stout aged in the Bourbon Barrels was Great!!! I don't write about to many places so when I do it is worth it.

Cheers Guys and keep bringing great beers to us here!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pennswoods, PA
(08/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I agree with the previous comments regarding the brewers. The beers are excellent. I had the IPA and it was excellent. Very similar to Hopdevil, but smoother. Also sampled the Barleywine, and Scotch Ale, and both were superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(07/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I wish you had a rating higher than awesome. The brewers at this establishment are true craftsmen. They are gifted in the art of making beer. They have 16-17 beers on tap. The variety is varied from the Ultra Light, to a tasty Stout. Ask the server to discover what flavor is on cask. They have made something for every person's taste. The staff is friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the beers. Oh, and the food. I have tried several items and have not been disappointed. The menu is varied and reasonably priced. (Try the lettuce wraps) Since the Pour House has been open only a short time, they are still adding things. I'm looking forward to the patio area that is under construction. My husband and I plan on going there every day for the rest of our lives!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynn D Lynn D, Monroeville, PA
(07/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place has everything you could want in a microbrewery. There are two top notch brwerers with state of the art equipment. The staff is very knowledgeble and friendly. My wife and I have sampled all 16 beers and find them all to be well crafted. We will be getting small kegs of the IPA and Scottish ale for our home system. Besides the beer, the most appealing feature of the place is that they do not allow any smoking until after 10 pm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Kelly Larry Kelly, Saltsburg, PA
(06/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We are turly blessed here in Monroeville, PA! At present they have 16 different beers- from 'Ultralight' to 'Imperial Stout' something for everyone! The brewers are talented and passionate about what they do. The establishment is beautifully appointed, yet comfortable and welcoming. You can tell the the staff has been well trained to help the newbie find the perfect beer match and the food- so far we've tried just a few things but food was excellent and served quickly and reasonably priced. My husband and I plan on going there every day for the rest of our lives!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynn D Lynn D, Monroeville, PA
(06/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The building's previous life as the "Parkway Tavern" made for a crowded, smoky and awful experience. NO LONGER!!!

This place is beautiful, the Rivertowne crew has taken it to the next level! This pub has all the makings of a top notch establishment. I've long been a fan of Andrew Maxwell's (formerly of John Harvard's in Wilkins Twp.) elixirs, and he does not disappoint at the Pour House. He and his partner Barret put together 14 different brews and 2 sodas for their grand opening, including two fruit beers. Talk about some busy brewers! I tried 3 different beers during my inaugural visit: A deep and complex dry hopped IPA, a rich and fulfilling Amber and an UNBELIEVABLE bourbon barrel aged Imperial Stout. By last call I signed up for their mug club (a steal at $30) and was left wanting more!

The staff consists of some veteran brewpub and beer bar folks as well as some newbies. Overall they were pleasant and well informed.

The bar itself has some really nice woodwork and the entire building has a nice inviting flow about it. There is plenty of room at the bar, and plenty of "sit down" areas for dining or just hanging out.

The walls are yet undecorated (not counting the plasma screens), but judging by the Rivertowne's other establishments, that will change soon.

5 out of 5 stars by me. Visit this place and see (taste) for yourself. You will NOT be let down.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Turtle Creek, PA
(06/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I cannot wait for this place to open. Everyone in the area (Eastern USA) knows the quality of beer produced by Andrew Maxwell. Anderw is the Chief Brewer, and part owner of this new place. Rivertowne Pour House should be open for business by mid June, 2007.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Latrobe, PA
(05/19/2007)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.406 seconds) 09:46:09 54.167.75.155, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS