PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Union Barrel Works - Stevens, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 07:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Stevens > Union Barrel Works
Union Barrel Works Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Union Barrel Works
Overall: Great    Score: 79.3 / 100
6 North Reamstown Road
Stevens, PA 17578
United States
(717) 335-7837
Listed Since: June 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Stevens, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
14 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Clearview Farm Bed & Breakfast
2) Doneckers the Guesthouse/Inns
3) Fine Furniture At Doneckers
4) Historic Smithton Inn
5) Meadow Valley Farm Guest House
6) Twin Pine Manor
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN DENVER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Connell Mansion
2) Eby Shoe Corporation
3) Erpff, Philip, House
4) Hammer Creek Bridge
5) Mentzer Building
6) Rex House
7) Reyer, Peter and Catherine, Farmhouse
8) Walter, Henry, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Penguinn Hotel
2) Roast-A-Pig
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We did the 'wild game' dinner dec 7. NEVER in 20 years in the beer / brew/ micro industry have I EVER had so MUCH great food and beer for so little money !!! The only complaint might be that the Pilsner was a little TOO 'unfiltered' but after the first couple pours it was better. ANY other restaurant that provided this menu and beer would HAVE to be $100 or more. I always loved Tom Rupp's beers but the food is every bit as good, and priced for today's economy. We had a very bad experiance at a 'Schlenkerla' dinner as to food and quantity, especially PRICE, but 'karma' and yin / yan saved us with UBW.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from roger freiday roger freiday, long valley, NJ
(12/09/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good
I made a stop after a visit to the Record Connection. I can not believe that they have been in biz for 3 years and I didn't know. Thanks to the road sign! The food was good but the fishin chips needs to have more a that brew pub batter, this was like a bread crumb coating. Fresh cut fries were very good. I tried the Honey Mai Bock, lack the honey taste that I was suppose to have. The Kolsch was excellent, nice, clean. The Pilsner had a nice dry finish and I enjoyed it. Overall a good experience and wish these guys the best. Just kick it up a notch and you guys will really rock!

The music and beer Traveler 9/25/10 Harrisburg, PA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barry Hay Barry Hay, Harrisburg, PA
(09/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! Good Awesome! Good
Got the sampler and did not like any of them, all tasted watered down to me. Bartender was great and talkative, building was nice inside.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
STOPPED HERE AFTER STOUDT'S. NICE HISTORIC BUILDING. OWNERS PUT QUITE A BIT OF TIME AND MONEY INTO THIS PLACE. DID NOT EAT, BUT FOOD LOOKED GOOD. NOT BUSY AT ALL FOR A SUNDAY AFTERNOON. I HAD A PINT OF IPA AND 2 SAMPLES. IPA WAS SO/SO. ONE SAMPLE WAS A STEP DOWN FROM THE IPA AND THE OTHER WAS NOT DRINKABLE.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BRENDAN FLEMING BRENDAN FLEMING, hampstead, MD
(11/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Not too far down the road from Stoudts. Been a while since I went there but pubcrawler has had so many posting problems I guess whatever I said never got up loaded. Worth the trip..nice town to explore too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City, MD
(06/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Although this brewpub is a bit of a hike from our home (50 miles each way), we felt it was well worth the trip. Beer selection was very good, although we settled quickly on our favorites: pale ale (crisp and generously hopped) and mango wheat (very refreshing with a fantastic aroma; one of the best fruit-flavored wheat beers we‘ve had). We started our lunch with the bruschetta, which was 5 nice sized pieces of thin toast topped with fresh mozzarella cheese and tomatoes, followed by “UBW Carver” ham sandwiches. Yum! One member of our foursome got the sweet potato fries, which turned out to be a big hit. We all enjoyed the old fashioned atmosphere of the bar area, with its vintage beer memorabilia displayed throughout. Its close proximity to the PA turnpike means that we’ll definitely be back again. Highly recommended. Mark & Barb, Media PA (8/24/2008)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barb and Mark Barb and Mark, Media, PA
(08/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Well,I've been wanting to check this place out for some time now as I've read about it various beer rags and it sounded good. On a pleasent saturday afternoon it was a nice drive up from the Pottstown area. I had no trouble finding the place as it is right off the the main road coming off the turnpike. The place is very attractive both inside and out. Once inside we were greeted by our friendly bartender and pulled up a couple of stools at the bar.After a look at the beer list,and knowing the brewer has a passion for lagers as oppossed to ales I started off with the Pils. It was a nice beer,but I found it a little lacking in the Hops department. Don't get me wrong,it was good,but not up to par with Victory's Prima Pils or the Pils poured a few miles down the road. My wife had the Kolsch and found it to be nice and refreshing. Our sandwiches of beef for her and ham for me were excellent. Tastey meat on a extremely soft,fresh roll. The hand cut fries were good as well. Very thin but could have spent a tad more time in the fryer. All in all they were very good. I washed mine down with an excellent Lager. Maybe one of the best Lagers this reveiwer has had in ages.Though I must confess I'm a big fan of IPA's. It was a nice experience and we would return next time I'm out that way. I reccomend it. Cheers, Steve

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve beppel steve beppel, pottstown, PA
(08/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Pleasant surrondings in a turn of the century building, authentic tin ceiling and original hardwood floors. Two distinct dining areas and a back bar that dates to the 1800s. Choice of 8+ beers brewed on the premises. Extensive menu with nice selection of wines.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Guckelberger Carl Guckelberger, Philadelphia, PA
(05/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great Place. Enjoyed the beer and the food. The Oktoberfest was by far the best I have had in awhile. I tired the samplers, but was there for a early lunch on Sunday so I had to make the drive back home to Richmond so I couldn't partake in some more sampling....

Will have to make it back on my next trip. Hopefully Tom still has some of the Oktoberfest still on tap.

Had the Baked Potato Soup and a Carver sandwich, the wife had one of the burgers. Both were excellent. Kobe beef is always a favorite....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Norman England Norman England, Richmond, VA
(11/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
A terrific new brewpub in PA. They feature German style lagers primarily. I found the Pale Ale and the Mai Bock both very good. The Round Boy Stout and the Wobbly Bob Dopplebock, (that's a mouthful) were OK in my opinion, also the Honey Sweet Lager was nice. Food was great. Place has a nice atmosphere

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(09/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
UBW is in a newly rennovated historic building. My wife and I had the Pale Ale and the Stout. The Pale Ale was moderately hoppy with floral notes. The Stout had a nice roasted taste. Both of those beers were excellent. The food was well done with enough choices to make almost anyone happy.

A classic great brewpub with great displays of local breweraina. We will return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, arlington, VA
(08/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Visited UBW last week for the first time. I had a sampler of all 7 beers. All were very good, but to me the Doppelbock and Stout were standouts. My wife really liked the PA and the Maibock. The food was good (we had lunch), the atmosphere is very good, and the service is cheerful and friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Artz Tim Artz, Oakton, VA
(08/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We stopped in last Saturday shortly after opening at 11:00am and were greeted by the owner. After a quick tour of the bar area, we chose to sit in the more formal dining area. We started with a sampler of the seven beer offerings: Kolsch, Lager, Hefeweizen, Maibock, Doppelbock, Pale Ale and Stout. All were flavorful and true to style. Even though I prefer ales, I must admit that after having a pint of obligatory Pale Ale I had to switch to the Maibock, which was outstanding.

The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The award-winning Smoked Trout Chowder was incredible.

The building itself has a history and the recent conversion to a brewpub has been done with care to create a very interesting ambiance.

The location is easily accessible from the PA Turnpike and a visit to this new brewpub is well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Gearhart Bill Gearhart, Frederick, MD
(06/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
He's Back, Mr Tom Rupp is back and Brewing better than ever. He's has always been know for being a great Lager producer. As a result, of the (6) beers currently on tap, 1/2 of them are lagers (Helles, Maibock, & Dopplebock). This new establishment opened last month and still has some growing pains to overcome. However, the beer is superb and I hoppe to sample the food menu on my next visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Kruppa Steve Kruppa, West Chester, PA
(04/23/2007)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.353 seconds) 07:14:28 54.237.77.181, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS