PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Barrio Brewing Company - Tucson, AZ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 28, 2014 @ 04:27 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AZ > Tucson > Barrio Brewing Company
Barrio Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Barrio Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.9 / 100
800 East 16th Street
Tucson, AZ 85719
United States
(520) 791-2739
Listed Since: September 2007
Last Updated: August 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Tucson, AZ
Beer Guide for Arizona

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Barrio Brewing Company
11 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Gentle Ben's Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) 1702
(0 mile)

3) Trident Tap
(0 mile)

4) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

5) Bum Steer
(3 miles)

6) Zachary's Pizza
(3 miles)

7) Shanty
(3 miles)

8) Bison Witches
(3 miles)

9) Maloney's Tavern on 4th Avenue
(3 miles)

10) BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
(3 miles)

11) San Francisco Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

12) BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
(4 miles)

13) BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adobe Rose Inn
2) Agave Grove Bed & Breakfast
3) Armory Park Guest House
4) Big House
5) Casa Alegre Bed & Breakfast
6) Casa Luna Bed & Breakfast
7) Catalina Park Inn B & B
8) Congenial Quail
9) Copperbell Bed & Breakfast
10) El Presidio Bed & Breakfast
11) Elysian Grove Market Bed
12) Gateway Villas
13) LA Posada Del Valle B & B
14) Patio House
15) Peppertrees Bed & Breakfast
16) Royal Elizabeth B & B
17) Sam Hughes Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ARIZONA INN
2) BEST VALUE INN-TUCSON
3) BEST WESTERN EXECUTIVE INN
4) BEST WESTERN ROYAL SUN INN AND
5) CLARION HTL AND STES SANTA RITA
6) CLARION RANDOLPH PARK
7) COMFORT INN CENTRAL
8) COMFORT SUITES AT TUCSON MALL
9) COURTYARD TUCSON WILLIAMS CTR
10) DOUBLETREE TUCSON REID PARK
11) ECONO LODGE TUCSON
12) ECONO LODGE TUCSON
13) EMBASSY STES TUCSON BRDWY
14) EXTENDEDSTAY TUCSON GRANT ROAD
15) FLAMINGO HOTEL
16) FOUR POINTS TUCSON UNIV PLAZA
17) GHOST RANCH LODGE
18) INNSUITES TUCSON CITY CTR HOTEL
19) KNIGHTS INN TUCSON AZ
20) LA POSADA LODGE AND CASITAS
21) LA QUINTA INN TUCSON DOWNTOWN
22) LODGE ON THE DESERT
23) OAKWOOD CENTRAL TUCSON
24) PUEBLO INN TUCSON
25) QUALITY INN TUCSON AIRPORT
26) RADISSON TUCSON CITY CENTER
27) RAMADA LIMITED TUCSON WEST
28) RAMADA LIMITED TUCSON WEST AZ
29) RODEWAY INN
30) SUPER 8 TUCSON DNTWN UNIV AREA
31) SUPER 8 TUCSON DOWNTOWN
32) SUPER8 TUSCON GRANT RD AREA AZ
33) THE WESTIN LA PALOMA
34) TOWNEPLC SUITES TUS NORTH
35) TUCSON DAYS INN CONVENTION CTR
36) TUCSON SOUTH FREEWAY
37) VISCOUNT SUITE HOTEL
38) WINDMILL SUITES ST PHILIPS PLAZ
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Arizona Daily Star Building
2) Arizona Inn
3) Blixt--Avitia House
4) Boudreaux--Robison House
5) Bray--Valenzuela House
6) Cannon, Dr. William Austin, House
7) Copper Bell Bed and Breakfast
8) Cordova House
9) Coronado Hotel
10) Dodson--Esquivel House
11) El Conquistador Water Tower
12) El Tiradito
13) Fourth Avenue Underpass
14) Julian--Drew Building
15) Manning, Levi H., House
16) Matus, Antonio, House and Property
17) Men's Gymnasium, University of Arizona
18) Old Adobe Patio
19) Old Library Building
20) Old Main, University of Arizona
21) Post Trader's Store and Riallito House
22) Quartermaster Storehouse
23) Ronstadt House
24) Ronstadt--Sims Adobe Warehouse
25) Sabedra--Huerta House
26) San Pedro Chapel
27) Santa Cruz Catholic Church
28) Schwalen--Gomez House
29) Site No. HD 13-11
30) Site No. HD 13-13
31) Site No. HD 13-4
32) Site No. HD 4-8A
33) Site No. HD 5-26
34) Site No. HD 7-0A
35) Site Nos. HD 12-4/12-8
36) Site Nos. HD 5-28/5-25
37) Sixth Avenue Underpass
38) Smith, Professor George E. P., House
39) Sosa--Carrillo--Fremont House
40) Southern Pacific Railroad Locomotive No. 1673
41) Stone Avenue Underpass
42) U.S. Post Office and Courthouse
43) University Heights Elementary School
44) USDA Tucson Plant Materials Center
45) USDA Tucson Plant Materials Center
46) Velasco House
47) Warner, Solomon, House and Mill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 88 Express
2) Aguirre Mexican Food
3) Alejandro's
4) Ali Baba Restaurant
5) Andlus Restaurant
6) Arby's
7) Arizona Inn
8) Art's Bbq Restaurant
9) Athens On 4th Avenue
10) Austin's-Famous Since 1959
11) Baggin's
12) Baggin's
13) Baggin's
14) Barrio Food & Drink
15) Bentley's House-Coffee & Tea
16) Best Western Inn
17) Beyond Bread
18) Bison Witches Bar & Deli
19) Black Jack Pizza
20) Blimpie Subs & Salads
21) Bliss Deluxe Cafe & Bar
22) Blue Willow Restaurant
23) Bob Dobb's Bar & Grill
24) Bob Dobbs Corp Headquarters
25) Bobo's Restaurant
26) Boston Market
27) Bruegger's Bagels Bakery
28) Bruegger's Bagels Bakery
29) Bum Steer
30) Burger King
31) Burger King
32) Cafe A La Carte
33) Cafe Pacific
34) Cafe Paraiso
35) Cafe Poca Cosa
36) Cafe Quebec
37) Caffe' Milano
38) Carl's Jr Restaurant
39) Carl's Jr Restaurant
40) Carrows Restaurant
41) Caruso's
42) Casa Molina Restaurant
43) Casbah Tea House
44) Chaffin's Family Restaurant
45) Chartwells
46) Che's Lounge
47) Chen's Cafe
48) Chipotel Mexican Grill
49) Chocolate Iguana
50) Chuy's Baja Broiler
51) Cobalt Eat A Teria
52) Coco's Bakery Restaurant
53) Coco's Bakery Restaurant
54) Cody's Beef'n Beans
55) Coffee Etc
56) Corleone's Italian Garden
57) Coyote Cafe
58) Cup Cafe
59) Cuppuccinos Coffee House
60) Cushing Street Bar & Rstrnt
61) Daggwood Cafe
62) Dairy Queen
63) Deb's Coney Cafe
64) Del Taco
65) Delectables Restaurant
66) Dish
67) Dizzy G's Restaurant
68) Donato's Fine Italian Foods
69) Eegee's Inc
70) Eegee's Inc
71) Egg Connection
72) El Charro Cafe
73) El Cubanito Restaurant
74) El Faro Sonora Seafood
75) El Mezon Del Cobre
76) El Parador Restaurant
77) El Saguarito Mexican Food Inc
78) Elle Wine Country Restaurant
79) Epic Cafe
80) Eric's Ice Cream-Wholesale
81) Famous Sam's Bar & Restaurant
82) Famous Sam's Restaurant & Bar
83) Fiorito's
84) Four Points By Sheraton
85) French Quarter
86) Frog & Firkin
87) Fronimo's Gyros & Burgers
88) Gandhi Cuisine Of India
89) Garcia's Mexican Restaurant
90) Garland Restaurant
91) Gentle Ben's Brewing Co
92) Ghini's French Caffe'
93) Golden Buda
94) Golden Palace
95) Govinda's Natural Foods Buffet
96) Greasy Tony's Inc
97) Grill
98) Guilin Chinese Restaurant
99) Hazy Dayz Lounge Cafe
100) Himalayas
101) Hoa Mal Restaurant
102) Hot & Spicy Taco Cafe
103) Housenka Restaurant
104) I Golosi Italian Restaurant
105) Iguana Cafe & Bar
106) Ike's Coffee & Tea
107) India Oven Cuisine Of India
108) Irene's Restaurant
109) Istanbul Turkish Cuisine
110) Jack In The Box
111) Jack In The Box
112) Jack In The Box
113) Jack In The Box
114) Jim's Place
115) Johnny Rockets
116) Kaibab Courtyard Shops
117) Karuna's Thai Plate
118) Kenney D's Chicago Style
119) Kentucky Fried Chicken-Tuscon
120) Kfc
121) Ki-Rin Restaurant
122) King's Chinese Restaurant
123) Kingfisher Bar & Grill
124) La Cocina Restaurant & Ctrng
125) La Fiesta Cafe
126) La Indita
127) La Salsa Fresh Mexican Grill
128) Laverna's Coffee Shop
129) Le Bistro Inc
130) Lerua's Fine Mexican Food
131) Little Deli
132) Long Wongs
133) Los Betos
134) Los Betos Mexican Food
135) Los Betos Mexican Food
136) Lucky Chinese Fast Food
137) Lucky Star Chinese Restaurant
138) Lucky Wishbone
139) Luke's Italian Beef
140) Magpies Gourmet Pizza
141) Maloney's On Fourth
142) Manda's
143) Mandarin Grill
144) Mario's Pizza
145) Martins Comida Casera
146) Maya Quetzal
147) Mc Donald's
148) Metro Room/Presidio Grill
149) Miami Tropical Cafeteria
150) Miss Saigon
151) Molly G's
152) Mongelli's
153) Mongelli's Good Food Place
154) Mother Hubbard's
155) Mountain View Restaurant
156) Musette Cafe
157) Mykonos Restaurant
158) Nam-Son Restaurant
159) Native Cafe & Coffee House
160) New York Burrito
161) Nico's Mexican Food
162) No Anchovies
163) Nonie Restaurant
164) O'malleys On Fourth
165) Oasis Vegetrian Eatery & Food
166) Old Chicago
167) Old Peking Restaurant
168) Oriental Express Restaurant
169) Original Hamburger Stand
170) Pack-Em-Inn
171) Paco's Mexican Food
172) Park Avenue Cafe
173) Pasta Palmita
174) Pastiche Modern Eatery
175) Philly's Finest Campbell Inc
176) Picnic
177) Pop's Chili Dogs
178) Red Garter Bar & Grill
179) Robert's Restaurant
180) Rocco's Little Chicago
181) Rod's Kc Barbeque
182) Rosa's Mexican Food
183) Rose Garden Chinese Restaurant
184) Rubio's Baja Grill
185) Sabor De Mexico
186) Saga Restaurant & Sushi Bar
187) Samurai Sams
188) Sanchez Burrito Co
189) Schlotzsky's Deli
190) Sher-E-Punjab
191) Shiek Cafe Grill
192) Shooter's Steakhouse & Saloon
193) Sinbad's Restaurant
194) Sonic Drive-In
195) Soul Feathers
196) Sparky's Subs
197) Sportsman's Cafe
198) Stadium Cafe
199) Stockton's El Taco
200) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
201) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
202) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
203) Sultan Palace Afghan Restaurant
204) Sushi-Cho Restaurant
205) Szechuan Omei Restaurant
206) Taco Bell
207) Taco-Bron
208) Tamalez At La Placita Village
209) Taqueria Lupitas
210) Terrassa Restaurant
211) Tmo Inc
212) Tokyo Rice Bowl
213) Two Pesos Mexican Cafe
214) Universty Mc Donald's
215) Vega's Mexican Food
216) Velvet Tea Garden
217) Village Inn
218) Welsh Coffee Stand
219) Wienerschnitzel
220) Wildlife Cafe
221) World Wide Wrapers
222) World Wide Wraps
223) Yamato Japanese Restaurant
224) Yankee Doodle Pizza
225) Yokohama Rice Bowl
226) Yuki's Japanese Restaurant
227) Zemam's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
I know I've written at least two other reviews over the past 3 years but for some reason,I don't see them. Quality seems to have gone down a little. Skip the french fries on any order - mine must have been sitting there for an hour. Wait staff was playing UNO. Burger was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(03/08/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I stopped by BB during a business trip to Tucson in December, 2010. I hadn't spent any time in Tucson for about 30 years and at the time of my last visit, that neighborhood was a virtual no man's land - rail spurs and vacant warehouses - and the BB is a welcome addition.

I was warmly greeted and well served. I really liked their IPA and Stout. It's a real friendly place frequented by what I learned were 'regulars.'

Well worth the challenge involved in finding the place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(01/04/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Went with friends for happy hour on Friday. Place was busy, but with a fun atmosphere. Took a little while to find a table big enough for all of us, but enjoyed ourselves the whole time we were there!

Great service!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from virginia virginia, Tucson, AZ
(08/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
I got into Tucson early to celebrate passover with my family. I found a flyer in a pizza place that said the Sonora Glass Blowing Factory was letting you blow your own beer mugs at this Brewery. I was there faster then you could say Oy-Oy-Oy!! I not only got a great beer mug but had some really great beers here.

They have a great selection, I had one of each one of their beers. They were all great microbrews but something just didn't stand out. Maybe because I have been to so many microbrews I am becoming desensitized, or maybe that their beers are great just not Awesome. In most microbreweries there seems to be one beer that stands out amongst the rest. Barrios has some really great beer and is a great place to start on the Tuscon Microbrewery Circut but doesn't seem to have one beer that stands out.

I loved the atmosphere the staff seems very helpful but was the typical, "What can I get for you?" When I told him I'm new here the Male bartender let me sample a few 3oz shots but kept shuffeling around serving & cleaning wasn't much of a talker let alone an entertainer.

Next trip I'm gonna try Nimbus before I bring my mug back to Barrio's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(04/11/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Wended our way to the Barrio after taking in a spring training game...not the easiest to find but their web page will get you there, and the sight of the silo will bring you home!

Once there, we picked a high-top table with nice views of the mountains, looking over the "industrial chic" neighborhood (emphasis on "industrial.") Our waitress was very busy, yet, as the saying goes, if you want something done...give it to...a gal who took our orders promptly, double-checked the coupla ways we'd customized our orders, & had water and my PORTER to the table in a matter of 2 or 3 minutes.

PORTER--ahhh, I can see why it won awards. Thick head that retained a long time. Malty aroma with a hint of hoppiness. Full mouth feel with a massive complex of flavors, bitter chocolate, hints of coffee and I dunno what else--I thought it more complex, to my surprise, than the OATMEAL STOUT that followed. The stout was fine, mind you, and I'm a big fan of stouts, but the porter was transcendent!

Food: -Diane Burger: we got it on the multigrain bread, which complemented the wine-marinaded burger to a tee. -Beer-battered fries: piping hot, flat-cut, and delicious. -Pantini: roast beef and cheddar. A tad dry, but served with horse-radish mayo on the side so you could wet it as little or as much as you wanted.

Prices: Pint was $3.70...a great place to start,... BUT...as their web page sez: when the railguards are down, the pint price goes down, too, so pay attention (duh, the train tootley-toots at the level crossing just a coupla hundred feet away!)

The final word--YUM!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from david david, Sierra Vista, AZ
(03/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Good
Good beer, but I was very disappointed with the California Burger I had. I chose this burger because it had guacamole on it, but there wasn't enough to make a difference. Worse, I don't know if the burger itself was good because it wasn't very big and was lost in a giant sponge of wonder bread, which dominated the experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tucson, AZ
(11/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good
Affiliated with Gentle Ben's in Tucson, this place is a bit hard to find but the beer makes it worth the trip. I sampled the ESB and IPA and both were on the mark for style and flavor. They have a porter that is a GABF winner as well. The menu is limited but the french dip that I had before a football game was just what I wanted. make sure you visit their web site and get some directions.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(10/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
When (Gentle Ben's) Barrio Brewpub is on, it's the best place in Tucson for a local craft brew (Nimbus lovers will argue here, but if your from out of town who wants to try and locate Nimbus?). Barrio opened this last Summer/Fall after a long and much anticipated wait. They serve very good pub grub and the location, in an old igloo hanger shed is urban reuse at its finest.

My beef with teh brews at GB/BBP is the consistency of their quality: I love their IPA when it doesn't taste like a cold class of hoppy yeast. I love the Red Cat Amber Ale, the Copperhead Pale and the Bear down nut brown when the live up to the hype. The Nolan Porter is usually consistently good, which is why it's served in a small glass (at 10% abv you don't need to hurry this one).

That's why it's just "good" in my book, not great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Willam Mackey Willam Mackey, Chicago, IL
(02/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
We traveled to Tucson with the family for a wedding and went out of the way to check out Barrio. I'm glad we did. The IPA was tremendous - one of the best I've had. As for food we only had small bites (wings mostly) but they were good. The hottest version of the wings is REALLY hot - be careful! Great service and locals having a brew and playing shuffle board. Well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave T. Dave T., Acton, MA
(11/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I think there off to a good start. Tried the wings and typically wings are too crispy, but these were just right. I really like the location too...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael michael , tucson, AZ
(10/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Great Great
Went there 3 days after it opened. Great ambiance! Brew is the same as Gentle Ben's (GREAT). Bar service was great! Food service and quality was way off! Chicken tenders were WAY over done rendering them inedible and the hot sauce was too brutal, even for a chili-head! The fries were way UNDER cooked, but not greasy. This is probably due to a "shake down" period every food service place undergoes after just opening. I will go back in a few months.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Grady Jack Grady, Sierra Vista, AZ
(10/04/2007)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.108 seconds) 04:27:53 54.196.198.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS