PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Tap and Mallet - Rochester, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 08:20 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Rochester > Tap and Mallet
Tap and Mallet Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Tap and Mallet
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85 / 100
381 Gregory Street
Rochester, NY 14620
United States
(585) 473-0503
Listed Since: February 2008
Last Updated: October 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Rochester, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
6 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Mon 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Tue 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Wed 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Thu 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Fri 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Sat 04:00PM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(20 within 5 miles)
1) Distillery
(0 mile)

2) Jeremiah's Tavern
(0 mile)

3) Monty's Krown
(0 mile)

4) Elmwood Inn
(0 mile)

5) Acme Bar and Pizza
(2 miles)

6) California Rollin' Sushi Bar
(2 miles)

7) Old Toad
(2 miles)

8) Monty's Korner
(2 miles)

9) Abilene Bar and Lounge
(2 miles)

10) Monty's Korner
(2 miles)

11) Salinger's Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

12) Shea's Brewery
(3 miles)

13) High Falls Brewing Company
(3 miles)

14) Otter Lodge Pub and Grill
(3 miles)

15) Flour City Brewing, Incorporated
(3 miles)

16) J. B. Quimby's Public House
(3 miles)

17) MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room
(3 miles)

18) The Distillery
(3 miles)

19) Johnny's Irish Pub
(4 miles)

20) Rohrbach's Railroad Street Brewery
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Bed & Breakfast At Dartmouth
2) Bed & Breakfast-428 MT Vernon
3) Edward Harris House B & B Inn
4) Executive Manor
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN DIPLOMAT HOTEL
2) CLARION RIVERSIDE HOTEL
3) COMFORT INN CENTRAL
4) COMFORT SUITES ROCHESTER
5) COUNTRY INN STES ROCHESTER S
6) COURTYARD ROCHESTER BRIGHTON
7) DAYS HOTEL ROCHESTER
8) DAYS INN ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN
9) DAYS INN ROCHESTER THRUWAY
10) EXTENDEDSTAY HENRIETTA
11) HAMPTON INN ROCHESTER SOUTH
12) HOMEWOOD SUITE HENRIETTA
13) HYATT REGENCY ROCHESTER
14) INN ON BROADWAY
15) PARK PLAZA ROCHESTER AIRPORT
16) SUPER 8 HENRIETTA
17) WELLESLEY INN ROCHESTER SOUTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Andrews Street Bridge
2) Anthony, Susan B., House
3) Bevier Memorial Building
4) Brick Presbyterian Church Complex
5) Brown, Adam, Block
6) Building at 551--555 North Goodman Street
7) Campbell-Whittlesey House
8) Chamber of Commerce
9) Child, Jonathan, House & Brewster-Burke House Historic District
10) City Hall Historic District
11) Cohen, H. C., Company Building--Andrews Building
12) Court Exchange Building--National Casket Company
13) Court Street Bridge
14) Cox Building
15) Dewey, Chester, School No. 14
16) East High School
17) Eastman Dental Dispensary
18) Edwards Building
19) Ely, Hervey, House
20) Emmanuel Presbyterian Church
21) English Evangelical Church of the Reformation and Parish House
22) Erie Canal: Second Genesee Aqueduct
23) Federal Building
24) First National Bank of Rochester--Old Monroe County Savings Bank Building
25) First Presbyterian Church
26) First Universalist Church
27) Gannett Building
28) German United Evangelical Church Complex
29) Granite Building
30) Grove Place Historic District
31) Hagaman, David, House
32) House at 235--237 Reynolds Street
33) Immaculate Conception Roman Catholic Church Complex
34) Immanuel Baptist Church
35) Jewish Young Men's and Women's Association
36) Kirstein Building
37) Lehigh Valley Railroad Station
38) Leopold Street Shule
39) Little Theatre
40) Main Street Bridge
41) Michaels--Stern Building
42) National Company Building
43) Naval Armory--Convention Hall
44) Nazareth House
45) O'Kane Market and O'Kane Building
46) O'Kane Market and O'Kane Building
47) Old Stone Warehouse
48) Our Lady of Victory Roman Catholic Church
49) Powers Building
50) Pulaski Library
51) Reynolds Arcade
52) Rochester City School #24
53) Rochester Fire Department Headquarters and Shops
54) Rochester Fire Department Headquarters and Shops
55) Rochester Savings Bank
56) Rundel Memorial Library
57) Sibley Triangle Building
58) Spring House
59) St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church and Rectory
60) St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church and Rectory
61) St. Paul-North Water Streets Historic District
62) State Street Historic District
63) Stone-Tolan House
64) University Club
65) Vanderbeck House
66) Wallace, Timothy, House
67) Warner, H. H., Building
68) Washington Street Rowhouses
69) Watts, Ebenezer, House
70) Wilder Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 2 Vine
2) Abbott's Frozen Custard
3) Abbott's Frozen Custard
4) Acme Bar & Pizza
5) Al's Stand
6) Aladdins Natural Eatery
7) Alexander Street Pub
8) Alexandria's Mediterranean Csn
9) All City
10) Angermayr's
11) Arby's
12) Arby's
13) Aria By Portobello
14) Atlanta Bread Co
15) Atomic Eggplant
16) Avenue Pub
17) Avenue.Net Cafe & Deli
18) B & C Deli
19) Baba Emad
20) Bacco's Ristorante
21) Bachelor Forum
22) Barrister's Pub & Meeting Pl
23) Basha
24) Basta Pasta
25) Bay Tree Restaurant
26) Beale Street Cafe
27) Bee Licious Foods
28) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
29) Bill Gray's
30) Bill Gray's
31) Billy's Place
32) Blimpie Subs & Salads
33) Blue Room
34) Bug Jar
35) Buon Giorno Cafe
36) Burger King
37) Burger King
38) Burger King
39) Busy Bee Restaurant
40) C J's Soups
41) Cafe Cibon
42) Canopy's
43) Carl's Catering
44) Carribean 2000
45) Center Stage Cafe
46) Charlie's Frog Pond
47) Chasers
48) Chen's Garden
49) Cheryl's Catering
50) Chester Cab Pizza
51) China Star
52) Chopstix Restaurant
53) Christopher's Time Square
54) Classic Fare Catering
55) Classy Cookie & Delicatessen
56) Cny Blimpie Developement Co
57) Cobbs Hill Pizza & Pasta
58) Corn Hill Cookery Ltd
59) Country Sweet Chicken & Ribs
60) Country Sweet Chicken & Ribs
61) Cutler's Restaurant
62) Dac Hoa Restaurant
63) Daily Perks
64) Damian's
65) Danny's East End Cafe
66) Darlene's Pantry
67) Dashen Restaurant
68) Dew E Sub
69) Dicky's Restaurant
70) Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
71) Dodie's Jump Cafe
72) Domino's Pizza
73) Domino's Pizza
74) Drinks By Marydawn
75) Eastman Lounge
76) Edibles
77) Edwards Restaurant
78) Elixir
79) Elmwood Inn
80) Enigma Bar
81) Enright's Thirst Parlor
82) Esan Thai Restaurant
83) Executive Deli
84) Fast Chinese Restaurant
85) First Taste Grill
86) Fitz & Hugh Deli
87) Five Pac Inc
88) Five50pub
89) Formula One Caterers
90) Fresno's Southwest Restaurant
91) Friendly's Restaurant
92) Fruit & Salad Co
93) Fruit & Salad Co
94) Galleria Pizza
95) Gatherings At The Inn Broadway
96) General Products
97) German House
98) Gina's Old Fashioned Subs
99) Glady's Place
100) Golden Dynasty Restaurant
101) Golden Port Dim Sun
102) Golden Unicorn
103) Grill & Greens
104) H2o Bar & Grill
105) He's Chinese & Japanese Rstrnt
106) Heritage House Of Rochester
107) High Falls Deli & Cafe
108) Highland Park Diner
109) Hogans Hideaway
110) Hunan Wok
111) India Cafe
112) India House
113) India House
114) India House Store
115) India Palace
116) J D Oxford's
117) J W Prepp & Co LTD
118) Jack Astor's Bar & Grill
119) Java's Cafe
120) Jeremiah's Tavern
121) Jerry's Family Restaurant
122) Jines Restaurant
123) Jing Li Chinese Food
124) Joey's
125) Julienne
126) Karma
127) KCT Noodles Restaurant
128) Kessler Group Inc
129) Keys Piano Bar
130) Kfc
131) Kim's Asia
132) Kobay Japanese Restaurant
133) L J's II Jamaican Cuisine
134) Lacagnina Italian Deli
135) Le Lemon Grass
136) Leave It To Us Catering
137) Legal Lunches
138) Lin's Garden
139) Little Venice Pizza
140) Lloyd's Bar & Grille
141) Lola Bistro
142) Long & Sons Inc
143) Loop Lounge & Kitchens
144) Lorraine's Catering
145) Lorraine's Lunch Basket
146) Lorraines Lunch Basket Express
147) Luca Pizza
148) Lux Lounge
149) Lylou Food Express
150) Mac Gregor's Grill & Tap Room
151) Magnolia's Market & Deli Inc
152) Mark's Pizzeria
153) Mark's Texas Hots
154) Mark's Texas Hots
155) Martini Grille
156) Matthew's East End Grill
157) Max Of Eastman Place
158) Mc Curdy & Co Inc
159) Mc Donald's
160) Mc Donald's
161) Mc Fadden's
162) Mc Gillicuty's Cafe
163) Metro Ultra Lounge
164) Mex Restaurant
165) Mexican Village
166) Milestones Restaurant & Music
167) Ming's II
168) Ming's Take Out
169) Monroe Gitsis Texas Hots
170) Monroe Hots
171) Monty's Korner
172) Monty's Krown
173) Mount Hope Family Diner
174) Mr Shoes Pizza
175) Muther's 40 Union
176) Mykonos Express
177) Nasty D's
178) Nathaniel's Pub
179) New Number One Chinese Restrnt
180) Nick Tahou Hots
181) Oasis Mediterranean Bistro
182) Oceans Place
183) Old Toad
184) Olive Tree
185) On The Rock Ny Grill
186) Open Face
187) Opus 25 Restaurant & Bar
188) Palladio Restaurant
189) Palladio Restaurant
190) Panda Chinese Food Take Out
191) Panzari's Italian Bistro
192) Paola's Burrito Place
193) Papa John's Pizza
194) Paradise Alley
195) Park & Oxford Cafe & Deli
196) Park 54
197) Park Avenue Pub
198) Pat's Coffee Mug
199) Pat's Coffee Shop
200) Paulino's Italiano Classico
201) Pearl
202) Pelligrino's Deli Cafe
203) Phillips European
204) Pita Pit
205) Pizza Gourmet & Regular Pizza
206) Pizza Hut
207) Pizza Hut
208) Pizza Stop
209) Plaza Coffee Shop
210) Plum House Japanese
211) Pontillo's Pizza & Pasta
212) Pontillo's Pizza & Pasta
213) Portobello Ristorante
214) Raj Mahal
215) Richmonds
216) Rio Bamba
217) Roc Ny Market Deli
218) Rochester Club Ballroom
219) Rooney's Restaurant
220) Rubino's Imported Italian Food
221) Rubino's Imported Italian Food
222) Rubino's Italian Submarine
223) Rund's The Catering Div
224) Sal's New York Pizzeria
225) Salena's Mexican Taqueria
226) Salinger's Bar & Grill
227) Savory Thyme Catering Svc
228) Sesame Garden
229) Shantel Lounge Inc
230) Shiki Japanese Restaurant
231) Skippy's Vegeterian Restaurant
232) Slice Of Life Cafe
233) Snuffy Magees Sports Emporium
234) Soho East
235) Southwedge Diner
236) Special Events Catering
237) Spike's
238) Spin Caffe
239) Spin Caffe
240) Spin Caffe
241) Sports Page Restaurant & Bar
242) Spot Coffee Rochester Cafe
243) Stan's Coffee Break Restaurant
244) Stan's Coffee Break Restaurant
245) Starbucks Coffee Co
246) Starbucks Coffee Co
247) Starry Nites Cafe LLC
248) Starz Cafe
249) Steak World
250) Stock Exchange Restaurant
251) Streppa's Bistro
252) Stromboli Express
253) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
254) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
255) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
256) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
257) Sue's Place
258) Superb Catering
259) Supper Program
260) Sweet Dawn
261) Sweet Dawn
262) Swillburg Bar & Grill Rest
263) Tara Cocktail Lounge
264) Tavern 26
265) Tgi Friday's
266) Thai Taste
267) Theatre Confections Inc
268) Tiki Bob's Cantina
269) Tip Top Restaurant
270) Toasted Head Bar & Grill
271) Tonic
272) Two Paisans Pizza
273) Uptown Pizza Cafe
274) Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta
275) Vertex Club Of Rochester
276) Village Hut & Restaurant
277) Warfield's Restaurant
278) Water Street Music Hall
279) Wendy's
280) Wendy's
281) Women's Coffee Connection
282) Woody's
283) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
284) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
285) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
286) Yumbo's
287) Zebb's Deluxe Grill & Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy So So
Unfortunately, my experience did not come close to the other reviewers. I arrived on a Saturday at about 5 after noon. There was none setting at the tables and 5 people at the bar--2 bar tenders and one waitress. I sat right in front of the taps. They are angled so I couldn't see all of them. I didn't see any beer menu so when the bar tender pulled himself away from the couple at the end of the bar, I ordered a Kona pale ale. When he delivered the beer he told he how much and I asked if I could start a tab? Only if I gave him a credit card. I truly truly hate that. I understand that there are those that will do a drink and dash--but there were only 6 of us and all at the bar. So our first exchange is that the bartender doesn’t trust me. I hoped to have lunch but before I could ask for a menu he went back to the couple at the end of the bar...and there he stayed. I finally spied some printed beer menus so I got up to get myself one--that didn't faze the bartenders or the waitress. What an impressive list of beers. The taps are only the beginning. Probably 25 taps but I'd say over 100 bottles. As I drank my Kona I kept trying to catch one of the bartender’s eyes to get a menu. Just didn’t happen. I noticed that Sixpoint Brownstone was on tap so I decided to try that and keep trying to get a menu. When I got my pint of Brownstone he was gone again before I could get a menu so I decided to finish my pint and go back to Macgregor’s for lunch. In all my beer travels, this was the first time I ever felt out of place in a beer bar/brew pub. Very cool design and art but this place is tucked away a bit much. If it weren’t so out of the way I might give them another try but coming up from Hornell, Macgregor’s is right there with what seems like hundreds of taps, good service, and you actually get a menu. Every place can have an off day, and I recognize that my experience was very different from others that have written here—but I’ll let them support this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(04/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
It took over six months to get the Tap & Mallet and my first review of it from 12/7/07 posted on Pubcrawler. That's ridiculous! This site seems to be sliding downhill. Anyway, it's high time I updated my original comments about the service. All the kinks are long gone and the service is consistantly excellent. The Bartenders know the beer and are friendly and attentive. As I said before, this is by far the best beer bar in the region. I haven't been to The Old Toad since the Tap opened and see little reason to go in the future. The beer selection, food, and atmosphere are much better here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(09/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is easily one of the most enjoyable beer bars that I've ever been to. Our bartender, Matt, was very knowledgable and was eager to deliver a sample of any ale before ordering a full glass. The taps appear to be rotated very regularly, and they have a great local crowd that seems to frequent the establishment. If you are a beer nut/geek, grab a seat at the bar and chat up your bartender, or talk to the person next to you... chances are they are just as passionate or even MORE passionate than you!

The food here is WAY under priced. Very reasonable and the sausages and mash are some of the best I've ever had! A mix between pork and veal that is made by Skipp's exclusively for the Tap and Mallet. The fish and chips are supposed to be good as well, but don't know from first hand experience.

The beer I enjoyed was Lagunitas Gnarley Wine, Yeti Imperial Stout, and Trappistes Rochefort 10. I can honestly say that Rochefort 10 is one of the smoothest, butteriest Belgian strong ales that I've ever had! Great recommendation by Matt the bartender. If you go, you must go on a wednesday when Matt is working. He works for a distributor and is one of the most knowledgeable bartenders I've ever met.

You CANNOT find a better beer bar in Rochester! Beer nuts need only apply!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chip Scott Chip Scott, Wilmington, DE
(07/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Loved this place! Great beer- variety and quality, nice and efficient staff. Liked that it is in a neighborhood versus a mall or other commercial area. If you like bars, esp. new bars that feel welcoming &comfortable like an old bar- this is the place

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carole Carole, wilson, PA
(07/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
We stopped here before the Louisville/Rochester game last weekend. What a thrill to find a great beer bar back in the Rochester area. The beer selection is fantastic, rotating selections often. We were glad to see Syracuse's Middle Ages beers there, in addition to many other fine beers - drafts and bottles, some we had never seen or tried before. I can't believe there are actually beers out there that we have never tried! The bartender was very knowledgeable about all the beers, which at times at other places is a rare trait. Our only complaint is that they are not in Syracuse! Why can't they open up another Tap & Mallet at the previous McGregor's/Kelly Cole's location in downtown Syracuse? That would be perfect, then we wouldn't have to drive the 80-90 miles to Rochester to have some terrific beers! We'll just have to find more reasons to come here, especially when baseball season is over. This is really a great, great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Syracuse, NY
(06/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
Joe McBane's long awaited new pub finally opened in early November and instantly set a new standard for Rochester beer bars. Located in the original MacGregors building in the South Wedge, The Tap & Mallet has about 30 taps featuring a variety of interesting and unusual beers that you won't generally find elsewhere in the area. There is one beer engine for real ales, which rotate quickly. An extensive list of domestic and imported bottled beers is also available. Wine is served but there is no liquor. Over the first few weeks a couple taps have been "wasted" on J.W. Dundee's and Yeungling, but the overall slection is outstanding. Prices are very expensive however, with the cheapest draft at $4.50 per 16oz. pint. and some Belgians and others topping $7 for a smaller glass. The prices would be easier to accept if imperial pints were served. MacGregors uses them, charges less, and still, I'm sure, makes a healthy profit. The food is very reasonable though, with many entrees in the $12-$14 range. The menu is eclectic and several notches above typical pub food.The bangers and mash, unlike the fast food version at the Old Toad, is the equal of what I've had in good English pubs. The interior has been totally redesigned and the atmosphere is somewhat upscale but you'll be comfortable wearing jeans. Thankfully, they seem to be looking for a different clientele than the Alexander/East Av. bars. Most people that go here are interested in quality beers and relaxed conversation and hopefully the lack of hard booze, overly loud music, and TV's will keep it that way. I only rated the service "good" because several friends have had problems getting served in the back room on a couple occasions and at times the bartenders aren't paying close enough attention to those in need of drinks. Hopefully this is due to being new and working out the kinks and I'll soon be able to rate the service "awesome" as well. The bottom line is that The Tap & Mallet is by far the best beer pub in the area!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(12/07/2007)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.211 seconds) 20:20:25 54.205.225.18, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS