PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Prison Brews - Jefferson City, MO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 12:16 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MO > Jefferson City > Prison Brews
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Prison Brews
Overall: Great    Score: 73.7 / 100
305 Ash Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
United States
(573) 635-0678
Listed Since: June 2008
Last Updated: February 2011
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Jefferson City, MO
Beer Guide for Missouri

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
8 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cliff Manor Bed & Breakfast
2) Jefferson Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CAPITAL PLAZA HOTEL
2) RAMADA INN
3) SUPER 8 JEFFERSON CITY MO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bolton, Lewis and Elizabeth, House
2) Burch, Nelson C. and Gertrude A., House
3) Burch, Oscar G. and Mary H., House
4) Gensky, H.E., Grocery Store Building
5) Jefferson City Community Center
6) Kaullen Mercantile Company
7) Lansdown--Higgins, House
8) Missouri State Penitentiary Warden's House
9) Parker, Lester S. and Missouri "Zue" Gordon, House
10) Ruthven, John B. and Elizabeth, House
11) Schmidt, Charles J. and Clara B. House
12) Villa Panorama
13) Zuendt, William E. and Frederica M., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Breadeaux Pizza
2) Cafe' Via Roma
3) Capitol Catering
4) Casey's Carry Out Pizza
5) China Wok
6) Country Valley Cuisine
7) Cracked Crab
8) Das Haus Europe
9) Dave's Tavern
10) Domino's Pizza
11) Donita's Cakes & Catering
12) Driver's BBQ At Gerbes East
13) Ecco Corner
14) El Jimador Mexican Restaurant
15) Heritage Room Cafeteria
16) High Street Pub
17) Loganz Bistro & Catering Co
18) Mo's Classic American Bar
19) New China
20) Nicks Family Restaurant
21) Oscar's Classic Diner
22) Paddy Malone's Pub
23) Pitchers
24) Pizza Haus Inc
25) Popp's Catering Inc
26) Quality Catering
27) Reds 222
28) Roly Poly
29) Sidney's
30) Sonic Drive-In
31) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
32) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
33) Village Cafe
34) Wel-Com Inn
35) Yanis Coffee Zone
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So
I stopped by this brewpub on a vacation trip to Missouri. I first tried the Jailhouse Java Coffee Stout which the waitress just described as their "Oatmeal Stout." Interesting beer, but as you can see from their own website description - "Brewed with Indonesian Sumatra and Hawaiian Kona coffees, and bitter Belgian dark chocolates along with a generous amount of oatmeal, this beer is almost a meal in itself. Try it with a desert!" - this was something more than just an Oatmeal Stout! The Prison Town Brown was drinkable but not particularly memorable. Service started okay, but then our waitress went off duty and no one seemed too concerned that we paid our tab. We finally had to track down another waitress for the tab. This pub does now have its own website at: http://www.prisonbrews.com/index.php. I have no information about the food since we just stopped for the beer and watch the bocce ball league as we sat on the patio. The website says this building is "on the historic east side of Jefferson City at 305 Ash Street in what is historically known as Landwehr Dairy. The original building is circa 1895." The decor did not seem to reflect any of this.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Emberton Steve Emberton, Naperville, IL
(06/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy So So So So
First, I really wanted to like Prison Brew for it's establishment. But, it was the second bad meal I and my wife have had there, and we've only been there twice. The service was crappy, along with the pizza. It had tasted like I had just thawed it out and cooked it. The Greek Pizza I had was distastful with just one profile. The nachos my wife had were sub par. And how do you ruin nachoes. The chips were old and stale. It looked thrown together, and sloopy. However the sweet potato fries were good. We were not ever asked how the food was and the waitress acted like we were imposing on her. No thank you or kiss my A** or what. We really feel a certain type of people go thee and that's it. So, that's my families last time going to PB's

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jefferson City, MO
(05/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Great
I have been to Prison Brews twice, once in August of 2008 and March of 2009. I am so happy that there is finally a brewpub in Jefferson City. Both times the beer was very good. I always sat at the bar, so I think my service may have been better than other reviewers have mentioned but during both of my visits the bar tender would walk past my empty glass several times before it donned on him to fill it. He was very nice though, and has a good memory. When I was there in March he remembered me from my visit in August. On tap in August (I have lost my list from March) were Go to Jail Ale, Ain’t your Honey Wheat, Class “A” Amber, Cell Mate Pale Ale, Big House IPA, and Death Row Stout. As I said before, all were good. Of note though is the Pale Ale. In addition to the regular qualities of a pale, this one also had a nutty flavor. As odd as it may sound, it was good. The stout was a little thin but had a very nice chocolaty caramel flavor. The food is nothing to get excited about—it’s not especially bad, it’s just not great. In March I got the pork tenderloin sandwich—it did border on “bad.” What I got was a greasy disk of pork matter much smaller than the bun. This place is worth a visit. It’s on the other end of high street from the capital so politicians aren’t around—or at least they are well disguised. The consistent prison theme is a hoot too, i.e., the sign for the rest rooms says “gas chambers.”

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
I decided to give this brew pub a chance and I have mixed reviews. I tried the sampler and 3 of the beers outright sucked. 4 of them were of good quality and I was able to enjoy the evening. The food was good overall and the service and clients were very friendly. Overall, what do you expect, not all beer is great and some is just bad. I had a good experience and enjoyed the evening. I suggest sampling before buying the beer for the evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis, MO
(03/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
We were excited to learn of a brew pub in Jeff City! After living in Germany for several years, I can hardly take the swill that passes for beer in this country - that's why I've been brewing my own for more than a year. We stopped by for lunch after a morning of geocaching in the area. We really enjoyed the decor! Our server was quite friendly, and when we had trouble deciding what varieties of beer to try, she offered us samples to help us make up our minds. Joy tried the Pumpkin Ale and really liked it (it was a bit too spiced for my taste), and I tried a new dark variety - I think it was called Prison City Dark. I didn't expect the smoky, malty taste - and I decided it was really good! The food was pretty good, and we both enjoyed the sweet potato french fries, which you don't find very often. The only reason I didn't rate the beer selection "Awesome!" was that they had two wheat beers (which I don't care for) on the menu, and they didn't have a porter or a stout, which I understand they have had in the past. If in fact they brew everthing that they sell there, I guess I can understand that the selection won't always please everyone. We will definitely be back, and I'll be hoping for the darker brews on my next visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RicknJoy RicknJoy, Maries county, MO
(11/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
The beer is enjoyable and true to its discription. The oven fired pizza was not bad. Do not sit at the bar during the day if your want service. The wait staff at the tables was exceptional and helped me far more than anyone at the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J J, St Robert, MO
(07/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
I've been to this place about 6 or 7 times now. It seems they aren't very good at running things. They are always out of EVERYTHING. Literally every time I have been there I have asked for at least one item that they were out of. It gets annoying.

Also, I have had awesome wait staff service while I was there, but found that the managers treat the servers horribly to the point of embarrassment. A little slow there, too.

I'm not sure I'll go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jefferson City, MO
(07/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Great new brewpub in Jeff City! Prison Brews just opened in April 2008. The decor is prison kitsch and the beer names are corny, but the beers themselves are awesome. I tried the sampler - generous tastings of all seven beers. All of the beers were good and some were great, especially the Cellmate Ale and Big House IPA. Large bar, dining area, outdoor seating, and bocce ball court (!). Super friendly staff. Everything you would want in a brewpub.

Beers available when I visited (June 2008): hefeweizen, amber ale, brown ale, pale ale, IPA, porter, stout. The porter was very smoky, and the stout was sweet and creamy. The hefe and brown were good but plain jane. The amber was sweet and caramel-y and had a licorice undertone. The pale ale was cloudy and totally "in your face" with its floral hops. My first criterion for a brewpub is its pale ale, and Prison Brews passed the test with flying colors. The best of the lot was the IPA. Big and bold but not overblown.

Glad to see a great new brewpub in Jefferson City.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Damian Damian, Chandler, AZ
(06/13/2008)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.431 seconds) 12:16:09 54.91.82.25, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS