PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Racers Cafe - Baltimore, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 06:26 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Baltimore > Racers Cafe
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Racers Cafe
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.3 / 100
7732 Harford Road
Baltimore, MD 21234
United States
(410) 665-6000
Listed Since: December 1997
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Baltimore, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
43 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company
(2 miles)

2) Crackpot Restaurant
(3 miles)

3) The Parkside - Fine Food and Spirits
(3 miles)

4) Cafe Tatoo (and Mojo Room and Lounge)
(4 miles)

5) Bill Batemans Bistro - Golden Ring
(4 miles)

6) PJ's Pub
(6 miles)

7) Rocky Run Tap and Grill
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Aunt Rebecca's Bed & Breakfast
2) Hargrove House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BURKSHIRE MARRIOTT CONF HOTEL
2) FAIRFIELD INN BALTIMORE NORTH
3) HAMPTON INN BALT WHT MARS
4) RAMADA INN TOWSON BALTIMORE
5) SHERATON BALTIMORE NORTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Taylor's Chapel
2) Tivoli
3) Towson Academy
4) Villa Anneslie
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Angelina's Restaurant
2) Bagel Bistro
3) Baskin-Robbins
4) Bay Leaf Caterers
5) Bay Pizza & Subs
6) Bear Brothers Catering
7) Belisimo's Carry Out
8) Bill Batemans Bistro
9) Bowman Restaurant
10) Burger King
11) Burger King
12) C & D Cafe
13) Cafe Carioca
14) Calgary Cattle Co
15) Cannella's Italian Deli
16) Casa Mia's
17) Catering By Patrick
18) Catering By Patrick Inc
19) Charcoal Grill Inc
20) Charlie's Ice Cream Heaven
21) Checkers Restaurant
22) China Chef
23) China Dragon
24) China Wok
25) Davino's Pizzeria
26) Dead Freddies
27) Denny's
28) Denny's
29) Dominic's Pizza & Carry Out
30) Don's Crabs
31) El Salto 2 Inc
32) Emerald Taverns
33) Fast Wok
34) Firehouse Tavern
35) Friendly's Restaurant
36) Genova Pizza
37) Giovanna's Carry-Out
38) Godfrey's Express
39) Golden Corral Family Steak Hse
40) Hale's Seafood
41) Harford House
42) Heritage Catering Inc
43) Hermano's Pizza & Subs
44) Hill's Deli & Catering
45) House Of Kabob
46) House Of Lee
47) Imperial Gourmet
48) Italian Bistro
49) Italian Bistro
50) Italian Greek & Fine European
51) J P's Sweet Meat
52) Jerry D's Saloon
53) Jerry D's Seafood
54) Kfc
55) Kfc
56) Kildaire Tavern Inc
57) Lee On Chinese Restaurant
58) Linway Lounge
59) Lucky Inn Chinese Restaurant
60) Mamma Lucia Pizza & Italian
61) Maria D's Sub Shop Inc
62) Maria's Pizza & Subs
63) Maria's Pizzaria
64) Mazatlan Mexican Grill
65) Mc Donald's
66) Mc Donald's
67) Mc Donald's
68) Milano's Restaurant & Carry
69) Moe's Fisherman Exchange
70) Mt Everest Rstrnt & Carryout
71) Mueller's Delicatessen Inc
72) Old Country Buffet
73) Olympia Iv
74) Orient Carry Out Shop
75) Palmisano's Carry Out
76) Pappas Restaurant
77) Parkville Snowball
78) Peking House Chinese Rest
79) Pizza Boli's
80) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
81) Protocol Services
82) Putty Hill Station
83) Quiznos Inc
84) Quiznos Sub
85) Racers Cafe
86) Rita's Italian Ice
87) S Michael Angelo's
88) Sanders' Corner
89) Sarandos Restaurant & Lounge
90) Schooners
91) Seasons Pizza
92) Shenango China Corp
93) South Paws
94) Sub City
95) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Sunrise Chinese Carry Out
98) Szechuan Taste
99) Taco Bell
100) Taco Bell
101) Tee-Bee's Place
102) Tully's Restaurant
103) Valley View Inn
104) Wendy's
105) Wings Things & More
106) Youth Center Inc
107) Zacks Hot Dogs
1) Angelina's Restaurant
2) Bagel Bistro
3) Baskin-Robbins
4) Bay Leaf Caterers
5) Bay Pizza & Subs
6) Bear Brothers Catering
7) Belisimo's Carry Out
8) Bill Batemans Bistro
9) Bowman Restaurant
10) Burger King
11) Burger King
12) C & D Cafe
13) Cafe Carioca
14) Calgary Cattle Co
15) Cannella's Italian Deli
16) Casa Mia's
17) Catering By Patrick
18) Catering By Patrick Inc
19) Charcoal Grill Inc
20) Charlie's Ice Cream Heaven
21) Checkers Restaurant
22) China Chef
23) China Dragon
24) China Wok
25) Davino's Pizzeria
26) Dead Freddies
27) Denny's
28) Denny's
29) Dominic's Pizza & Carry Out
30) Don's Crabs
31) El Salto 2 Inc
32) Emerald Taverns
33) Fast Wok
34) Firehouse Tavern
35) Friendly's Restaurant
36) Genova Pizza
37) Giovanna's Carry-Out
38) Godfrey's Express
39) Golden Corral Family Steak Hse
40) Hale's Seafood
41) Harford House
42) Heritage Catering Inc
43) Hermano's Pizza & Subs
44) Hill's Deli & Catering
45) House Of Kabob
46) House Of Lee
47) Imperial Gourmet
48) Italian Bistro
49) Italian Bistro
50) Italian Greek & Fine European
51) J P's Sweet Meat
52) Jerry D's Saloon
53) Jerry D's Seafood
54) Kfc
55) Kfc
56) Kildaire Tavern Inc
57) Lee On Chinese Restaurant
58) Linway Lounge
59) Lucky Inn Chinese Restaurant
60) Mamma Lucia Pizza & Italian
61) Maria D's Sub Shop Inc
62) Maria's Pizza & Subs
63) Maria's Pizzaria
64) Mazatlan Mexican Grill
65) Mc Donald's
66) Mc Donald's
67) Mc Donald's
68) Milano's Restaurant & Carry
69) Moe's Fisherman Exchange
70) Mt Everest Rstrnt & Carryout
71) Mueller's Delicatessen Inc
72) Old Country Buffet
73) Olympia Iv
74) Orient Carry Out Shop
75) Palmisano's Carry Out
76) Pappas Restaurant
77) Parkville Snowball
78) Peking House Chinese Rest
79) Pizza Boli's
80) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
81) Protocol Services
82) Putty Hill Station
83) Quiznos Inc
84) Quiznos Sub
85) Racers Cafe
86) Rita's Italian Ice
87) S Michael Angelo's
88) Sanders' Corner
89) Sarandos Restaurant & Lounge
90) Schooners
91) Seasons Pizza
92) Shenango China Corp
93) South Paws
94) Sub City
95) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Sunrise Chinese Carry Out
98) Szechuan Taste
99) Taco Bell
100) Taco Bell
101) Tee-Bee's Place
102) Tully's Restaurant
103) Valley View Inn
104) Wendy's
105) Wings Things & More
106) Youth Center Inc
107) Zacks Hot Dogs
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good
nice little dive for a couple of beers if you can stomach the obnoxiousness of the outwardly insecure, goofy little bartender. good people and a comfortable atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review baltimore, MD
(08/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Had, sierra nevada, celebration, old foghorn, Clay pipe "persuit of happiness".. Excellent fresh taps, No longer let people bring in eat KFC food because people can not park at KFC, how childish on BOTH sides. Still had peanuts, Old foghorn is not on the 2 for 5.25, even thought its in a 1/2 pint, More childish. Was there on dec 1st, three santas were there for a one bar santa crawl. Great time had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Pat, silver spring, MD
(12/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Great beer/beer selection. Happy hour is awesome price/selection. Skip is a great bartender and always willing to help w/ any beer questions.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Parkville, MD
(08/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
happy hour prices $5.25 for two pints of micro or import what a deal if you know somewhere cheaper please tell or stop your bitching. Sad to say no xmass tasting, but many xmass beers to drink. beers are direct draw no dirty long lines. and kegs rotate frequently. free peanuts and pretzels help yourself. bartender will gladly give you order out menue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jim jim, b-more, MD
(11/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
Sad to say, the place is not what it once was, although it's still better beer-wise than 99% of bars out there. The beer selection has scaled back a degree, although the last visit produced Rodenbach RedBack (hold your comments on the "girliness" of this beer, please), Troeg's Oatmeal Stout, and Erdinger Weisse. The very gritty, very blue-collar and casual, worn character of this place reminds me of the very real Wild West saloons I've been to. Perhaps a streak of snobbishness or snootiness is showing, but between the worn character and the lack of food, it's been tough for me to persuade even my fellow home-brewer in the neighborhood to go there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So
After years of making Racers my local hangout, my reasons were quite simple: a great selection of craft brewed and great beers offered a better price than you could find anywhere else in Baltimore. Unfortunately all good things come to an end. With the "upgrade" to pints (at prices that are higher than most other establishments)and a very low brow beer selection for the last year I have switched my beer drinking to other venues. Thank goodness in Baltimore there is no shortage of pub who still appreciate selling the best beers they can at low prices!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Baltimore, MD
(03/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy N/A
The MUGS have changed to PINTS, The new deal is 2 pints for 5.25. The beef jerkey is on the spicey side, "jerkey may be hotter than appears on label".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Pat, Silver Spring, MD
(02/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great
I've always been a fan of Racer's and I'd be a regular if I were local. This trip had some disappointments, however. I expected the great holiday selection that they roll out every year, but only saw Sierra Nevada and Clipper City--maybe I hit the place too early. I would have asked the bartender, but she couldn't be bothered with customers. In the hour or so I was there, I didn't see her interact with even as much as a grunt to any of the patrons. She did keep busy with several conversations to friends who were there to see her. Maybe I was there during her coffee break?!?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(12/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
This place doesn't have a great deal of ambiance, and it is hard to have a conversation without yelling, but the beer selection is quite good. Parking can be a problem, but once you have a few of their beer choices, you will feel much better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Esther King Esther King, Elliston, VA
(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
The place is a little hard to find and I must admit to thinking twice about going in after seeing the outside. But, once I got in and was in time for the 3 beers for $5 happy hour deal (opening to 8pm Tues-Thurs all day & night Sunday & Monday) I knew I found a great place. It's not your typical upscale beer bar, but the entire tap list save the one Miller Lite tap was very solid. I enjoyed myself and when in the area again will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, OTHER
(02/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Winter beer tasting came and gone, what remains includes, duclaw - devils milk barley wine, wild goose - snowgoose, lancaster winter ale, degroen winter ale, sierra celebration.... Cheers This may be the last Snowgoose, blueridge is up for sale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, sil spg, MD
(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
This is an excellent place to go if you like to try out different beers on a regular basis. 16 or so taps with an ever-rotating selection. Their deal is a chalk board which lists the beers by number and, if you are so inclined, you give them three choices for $5 (10 0z mugs--chilled, not frosted). Holidays are always special with their winter beer tasting. Lots of local beers (and patrons), free peanuts with shells on the floor. A good place to have a good time with some good beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(12/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
I was pleasantly suprised with this place. I heard about it for years, and finally found myself there one night. The "beer board" and "order by number" aspects threw me off at first, but the beer selection is REALLY great. A fine example of a beer bar. 3 for $5 is a great deal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Baltimore, MD
(11/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc McFaul Marc McFaul, Baltimore, MD
(11/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Spent almost 5 nights a week in this beer drinkers haven in 96'-97'. Have only been back a few times since then but am glad to see, based on other reviews that the price for the three has only increased $1.85 in 6 years. Will possibly have to make a trip in the very near future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BeerBob34 BeerBob34, Germantown, MD
(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
If you enjoy beer, and I mean BEER, then this is the place to be. Treat your palette to some of the finest brews the planet has to offer (at least the U.S., and Europe). The people are friendly and the service is great. My girlfriend even enjoys this place. She was strictly a wine drinker before the enlightenment dawned upon her.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Johnny T., Baltimore, MD
(04/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So
There has been a significant decrease in the quality of service since some management changes have taken place within the past couple oy years. I have been a frequent patron for the past several years. Professionalism has really decreased. However, the beers continue to be good and the customer base friendly even if the service has declined.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Michael Gray, Parkville, MD
(03/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I am a stout and porter man meself and I can always count on something nice being on the board at Racers. Its great to have such a wide variety of quality brews available on draught, and at such a fair price too. Racers is a friendly, comfortable pub and a fine place to ease into a "three mug at a time" feast for true beer lovers. Free pretzles, snack mix and peanuts in abundance. A welcome respite from a busy day at work ! Slainte'

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Paugh Jim Paugh, Baltimore, MD
(02/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
4th week of winter beer tasting features: Lancaster winter warmer, Allagash Crand cru, Claypipe Pursuit of happiness, Brewers art st. festivus, and olivers merry ole ale. Also racers sells beef jerkey if you ask the barender, sometimes venison. The mild is sweet and spicey enough, the hot one is really hot. Lots of good food in the neighborhood, a mile or so twards the beltway on the right is a great kabob place with a indian buffett.

Cheers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, sil spg, MD
(12/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
Beer tasting time agian: Featured selection for dec 16th thru the 22 is: Old DOminion winter brew, Weeping radish christmabn ale, Fordham winter bock, Blueridge snowballs chance, Anchor Christams, Cheers...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, sil spg, MD
(12/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Christams beer tasting time: Dec 9 thru 11th feature DuClaws Devis Milk, Anderson valley Winter solstice, Wild goose snow goose, Clipper city winter Ale, and Racers 8.5 octane season ale. selection changes dec 16 thru 22 and dec 23 thru 31st. I will update aian next week. Cheers..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, sil spg, MD
(12/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
They know my name!!!!!!!

Cheers Baltimore

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jenni Jenni, Baltimor, MD
(10/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
I had heard good things about this place so I checked it out over the weekend. Wow! I loved the beer selection and enjoyed trying a couple new ones. I was in heaven when I saw they had the Lancaster Milk Stout. I'll be going back to this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Teresa Rutherford Teresa Rutherford, Perry Hall, MD
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Like the Mike McColgan review below, I too have moved out of town and miss this place. I'll even go out on a big limb and say this beer bar surpasses any place where I have ever drunk a daught beer, including the meccas of Boston, Seattle, New York, Philly, Atlanta, Minni.-St. Paul, Toronto and London. 16 ever changing draughts from around the world, no bottles, 3 for $5, free junk food, carry-in food encouraged, jukebox, Terps, Ravens, O's, etc. on TVs. One day I made the comment, "The bar stools don't have backs." Guess what? They do now! I couldn't be more comfortable with friends, enjoying beer in my own living room 'cause they're all at Racers! I'll be down from Jersey real soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Don't drink cheap beer!" Demps, Cherry Hill, NJ
(07/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
This place kind of took me by surprise. I was expecting a little larger venue for all the beer that they serve, but found a small, place where, I would imagine,people would be squeezed in on a weekend night. We stopped on a Sunday evening and were surprised to find a smaller crowd. The 3 beers for $4 was a hit with us as were the free peanuts, pretzels and mixed snacks served by yourself from bins and you can throw the shells on the floor! The beer menu is on the blackboard with an outstanding lineup of brews. Wish I lived near here! A neighborhood bar where I felt welcome. Six TV's to watch and fantastic blues on the stereo. The piece de resistance is the small but well-stocked liquor store attached with a great selection of bottled beers! Not too hard to find (check out Mapblast or others before driving) It does not have a big sign out front and parking is limited to street parking though there is a mall across the street that says "No Parking". Check this place out for the beer, you won't be disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(10/16/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.383 seconds) 06:26:01 54.81.52.32, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS