PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rogue Ale Public House - Newport, OR
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 17, 2014 @ 05:31 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OR > Newport > Rogue Ale Public House
Rogue Ale Public House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Rogue Ale Public House
Overall: Great    Score: 70.8 / 100
748 Southwest Bay Boulevard
Newport, OR 97365
United States
(541) 265-3188
Last Updated: September 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Newport, OR
Beer Guide for Oregon

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
13 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay
(0 mile)

2) New Uptown Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Green Gables Bed & Breakfast
2) Green Gables Bookstore
3) Oar House Bed & Breakfast
4) Ocean House Bed & Breakfast
5) Sea Cliff Bed & Breakfast
6) Sylvia Beach Hotel
7) Tyee Lodge Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN AGATE BEACH
2) DAYS INN NEWPORT OR
3) ECONO LODGE NEWPORT
4) EMBARCADERO
5) LA QUINTA INN & SUITES NEWPORT
6) SHILO INN NEWPORT
7) THE LANDING AT NEWPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) New Cliff House
2) Old Yaquina Bay Lighthouse
3) Roper, Charles and Theresa, House
4) Yaquina Head Lighthouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Apollo's Restaurant & Nightclb
2) Bay Haven Inn
3) Bay Latte
4) Black Swan Bookstore & Cafe
5) Cafe Stephanie
6) Galley Ho
7) Hoovers Pub & Grill
8) Jimi's Cafe
9) Le Bistro 101
10) Lighthouse Deli & Fish Co
11) Mad Dog Country Tavern
12) Muchas Gracias Mexican Food
13) Newport Cafe
14) Newport Pacific Corp
15) Oregon Maid Ice Cream
16) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
17) Pizza Cucina
18) Quimby's Restaurant
19) Rogue Ales Brewery
20) Saffron Salmon
21) Solid Ground Coffee House
22) Starbucks
23) Starbucks
24) Szabos Steakhouse & Seafood
25) Taco Bell
26) Tenochtitlan
27) Village Market & Deli
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good Lousy
The one cool thing about this place is that youy can find the World's Smallest Fish Filet's here. Order the three piece fish and chips and you'll get a total of about one Gorton's fish stick. Obviously this place exists to suck money out of tourists. Too bad, could be a nice hang out but they really jip you on the food. Oh. And if you enjoy $6 beers, this is the place for you. Beer is good, but I can buy a whole half rack of PBR for the price of one beer here. Never going back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clark0 Clark0, Enumclaw, WA
(07/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Wait staff would not make eye contact. Got seated by someone from the bar. Sat around for 10 minutes while waitress would not look our way. Finally got a male wait person to acknowledge our presence. All wait staff seemed inconveinced by the customers.

Copper River salmon was dry, tasteless. Got little lemon slices had to ask for more.

Service was awful, food a disappointment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Portland , OR
(05/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
March 29, 2010

To Whom It May Concern:

My daughter and I drove from Salem to Newport Saturday to have lunch and decided we would try Rogue Ale Public House. We were seated rather quickly but it was all down hill from there. I am so disappointed I don’t even know where to begin. We waited for 10 minutes for a waiter, then another 10 minutes for menus. After we decided on what to order it took another 30 minutes just to get our order taken and drinks. The place was busy, but it certainly would have been appropriate to at least be acknowledged. We ordered our lunch and I kid you not – we waited another hour and 30 minutes!! We ordered the fish tacos and when we did get our food it was cold and it was obvious that it had set for a while before we were served. An hour and a half!!! Not once did our waiter come back and check on us or anyone else for that matter! We paid, left no tip and as we were leaving several other people got up and left because they never got waited on! I even told the group of people next to us to plan on at least 1 to 2 hours before they get served. I have worked as a waitress and have worked for the public and I understand how it is when you’re busy. This was just plain rude! I had to say something and about how terrible the service and food was and I will never eat there again. Plus the cost was outrageous! I would be embarrassed to run a business like that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Keizer, OR
(04/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy Lousy
I spent two years growing a small brewery in WA, and love to visit every brewery/pub I can. Never have I been more disappointed in a visit than my most recent trip to Newport, OR to visit Rogue.

My fiance and I walked in and were greeted at the door by a friendly enough gal, who mentioned that the bar was empty. We should have known there was a reason for this, but walked back there anyway.

We were offered our free sample of the day (Mogul, which was OK) by a bartender named Sybil who gave off a vibe that said "I'll rip your face off if you look at me funny, so don't look at me... or talk to me. Definitely don't expect me to smile." We both drank in silence, and while our beers were great (I had the St. Rogue Red, my favorite Rogue beer to date, and she had the S. Stout) the service left a black cloud hanging over the entire scene. They added insult to injury when we saw our pints were $5.75 apiece.

After that, we drove to Rogue Distillery. It was closed, but ten feet from us in the open doorway was a man in Rogue gear. We asked what he was up to, hoping for a brief tour (or even just a smile), but he looked at us for a moment, blank expression on his face, and replied "Nothing." We stood for a few more moments, then walked away.

We walked up to the Brewery on the Bay, and reluctantly decided to give it a chance. While taking a picture of the building, however, a group of staff onlookers laughed while the forklift driver honked and drove through the shot. We turned and left without entering.

Hugely disappointing day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Townsend Robert Townsend, ellensburg, WA
(11/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Came here during vacation on friends reccomendation of the beer (can't find at home yet). The wife and I were seated immediately, given a food menu, a beer menu, AND a sampler of Juniper Ale. ordered aDeadGuy and started perusing the menu, during which, I had a Golden Ale. Lots of choices on the menu, settled on the chili, while the wife had the chili Dog. Boy, is that American Kobe Beef good. Finished the night with a Half-E-Weizen which even the wife liked-and she drinks Miller Light, so SHE ordered up a pint! Great food, killer breews, and classic rock-what more could you want?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul Jaeger paul Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(09/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Lousy Good
I really expected that the Rogue Ale Public house, being right accross the bay from the Rogue Brewery, would have a knowledgeable staff. I asked the server if they had any seanonal brews that weren't on the menu. She replied that there was the Love and Hoppiness Pilsner and some others, but she had no idea what they were. I decided to go to the bar to check out what else there was. The bartender was able to name one other that wasn't on the regular menu, and I picked out a couple others by looking at the tap handles. I ordered the Love and Hoppiness Pilsner (it's excellent!) and told the bartender that I thought it was cool that Rogue takes the time to brew a lager beer. She told me "It's not a lager, it's a pilsner." Really! If you make the trip to Newport, don't waste your time at the Public House, just go to the brewery. The brewery and the pub in it are both excellent and should not be missed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ted ted, Portland, OR
(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Great
Rogue has just an incredible selection of beers on tap, mostly their own, but with a few "guest beers." The atmosphere is a little weird with the casino videogames in the bar area, but there are many locals. The selection is so big, I drank so many beers, I can't even remember which ones I liked best!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
I lucked out and happend to show up for lunch on the same day that a brand new beer was being released. The food was tasty but the servers weren't the best. The place is a definite must for anyone that is a Rogue fan though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robin Canfield Robin Canfield, Corvallis, OR
(02/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Nobody has better beers. If you like them big and hoppy, this is the place. Friendly neighborhood place. Wish it were closer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Aitchison John Aitchison, Northridge, CA
(05/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good N/A
Good pizza, good service, a little touristy but not too bad; generally a nice place to have dinner, though maybe lacking a little in character. The pub in the brewery itself (across the bay) is much more interesting, has a view of the bay, and just seemed more comfortable. On the other hand, both serve a wide variety of Rogues, and it's fun just looking at the row of taps and sipping a few pints.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M Raye M Raye, Iowa City, IA
(07/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
We loved Newport. Heck, I love anyplace with a bay and free parking! The locals turn up their noses at the idea of going to the bay front, which they consider strictly for tourists. They also differ with the tourists on their interest in the California Sea Lions. Tourists line up to watch the sea lions and take pictures. Locals consider the sea lions to be pests, like pigeons for city dwellers or deer for us suburbanites. The Newport locals do concede, however, that the food at the Rogue pub on the bay is better than at the microbrewery across the bay. The pub has a comfortable atmosphere. Just the place after a day of whale watching. The shrimp melt was great and the Russian Imperial Stout was everything you could ask for in an Imperial Stout - nearly black in color with a lovely head and the characteristic high alcohol content. The menu described it as, "The Emperor of Stouts - Rich in texture, broad, soft and creamy. The strongest and fullest of all stouts." All true. "1998 World Beer Championships - Silver."

Call me a tourist. That's what I was, but I had a great time at the Rogue Pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nancy McAdams Nancy McAdams, Pittsburgh, PA
(09/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The most community associated brewpub I've ever come across. Excellent people. Multitudinal amount of beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D O'Connell D O'Connell, Penticton, BC
(04/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
This is a Rogue Pub, with several of the Rogue brews on tap. Definitely try the Golden Ale and Meierbock. If the winter brew is in season, do not let yourself leave without having one. The food has its great days and its so-so days. The pizza is generally very nice with the beer. Heck, anything would be good with this beer. Weekend nights are fun. Keep away from the attorneys in the bar - several may have just lost a trial.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Miller Scott Miller, Bismarck, ND
(02/04/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.488 seconds) 17:31:19 54.237.38.30, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS