PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Zeno's - State College, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 23, 2014 @ 05:58 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > State College > Zeno's
Zeno's Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Zeno's
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.2 / 100
100 West College Avenue
State College, PA 16801
United States
(814) 237-2857
Listed Since: April 1996
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for State College, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
32 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) The Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Cafe 210 West
(0 mile)

3) All-American Rathskeller
(0 mile)

4) Mad Mex
(0 mile)

5) Otto's Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

6) The Phyrst
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Accommodations
2) Carnegie House
3) Chatelaine Split Pine Frmhse
4) Fairmount Bed & Breakfast
5) Limestone Inn Bed & Breakfast
6) Springfield House
7) Starry Night Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ATHERTON HOTEL
2) CARNEGIE HOUSE
3) COMFORT SUITE STATE COLLEGE
4) COURTYARD STATE COLLEGE
5) DAYS INN PENN STATE
6) NITTANY LION INN
7) PENN STATER HOTEL
8) RESIDENCE INN STATE COLLEGE
9) SLEEP INN STATE COLLEGE
10) SUPER 8 STATE COLLEGE
11) TOFTREES RST AND 4 STAR GOLF CL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Camelot
2) Centre Furnace Mansion House
3) Centre Furnace Mansion House
4) Dale, Felix, Stone House
5) Hill House
6) Thompson, Gen. John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Allen Street Grill
2) Autoport Restaurant
3) Autoport Restaurant & Lodging
4) Baby's Burgers & Shakes
5) Backyard Burgers
6) Backyard Burgers
7) Bell's Greek Pizza
8) Bella Sicilia Pizza & Pasta
9) Ben & Jerry's
10) Bench Warmer Cafe
11) Big Bowl Noodle House Inc
12) Big Eats Food Co
13) Blimpie Subs & Salads
14) Bonfatto's
15) Boots Dairyette
16) Brewers Caffe
17) Brewery Inc
18) Brewsky's Bottle Shop
19) Brother's Ny Style Pizza
20) Brother's Pizza
21) Brothers Pizza & Pasta
22) Burger King
23) C C Peppers
24) Canyon Pizza
25) Catering Concepts
26) Celebration Hall By Hoags
27) Charley's Steakery
28) Chili's Grill & Bar
29) Chinese Kitchen Express
30) Chopstick Express
31) Ciao Italia Italian Market
32) Clem's Barbecue
33) Coldstone Creamery
34) College Pizza
35) Corner Room
36) Crowbar
37) Daily Grind Coffeehouse
38) Damon's
39) Dante's Restaurant Inc
40) Darkhorse Tavern
41) Dee's Texas Hotdog
42) Deli Restaurant
43) Dino's Pizza-Teria
44) Domino's Pizza
45) Don Corleone's Pizza & Wings
46) Dorothy's Chinese Kitchen
47) Dorothy's Chinese Kithchen
48) Double D's Pizza
49) Faccia Luna Pizzeria
50) Famous Ernie's Steaks
51) Ferahs
52) Food Express
53) Fox's Pizza
54) Gardners Candies
55) Garfield's Restaurant & Pub
56) Gingerbread Man
57) Gopper's
58) Green Bowl
59) Gumby's Pizza
60) Happy Chinese Kitchen
61) Herlocher Foods
62) Herwig's Bistro
63) Hi-Way Pizza Pubs
64) Hi-Way Pizza Pubs
65) Hoag's Catering
66) Home Delivery Pizza
67) Honeybaked Ham Co & Cafe
68) Hooters
69) Hunan Wok
70) India Pavillion Exotic Indian
71) Irving's Bagels
72) Jack Sapia
73) Jimmy John's
74) Kfc
75) Knights Of Columbus
76) La Bamba Mexican Restaurant
77) Links Pub & Cafe
78) Mad Mex
79) Mario & Luigi's
80) Masala
81) Mc Donald's
82) Mc Donalds
83) Mio Zio
84) New China Town
85) P J Harrigan's Bar & Grill
86) Panda Express
87) Panda House
88) Panera Bread
89) Papa John's Pizza
90) Penn State Sub Shops
91) Perkins Family Restaurant
92) Phyrst Irish Pub
93) Pita Pit
94) Pizza Hut
95) Player's Night Club
96) Ponderosa Steakhouse
97) Qdoba Mexican Grill
98) Quiznos Sub
99) Rathskeller All American
100) Red's Steamed Cheesburgers
101) Roly Poly
102) Ruby Tuesday
103) Saint's Cafe
104) Saloon
105) Sammark Inc
106) Say Sushi Restaurant
107) Seoul Garden Korean Restaurant
108) Shalimar Indian Restaurant
109) Shandygaff Saloon
110) Shoney's Restaurant
111) Silver Screen Grille
112) Smoothie King
113) South Ridge Motor Inn
114) Spats Cafe & Speakeasy
115) Starbucks
116) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
117) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
118) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
119) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
120) Super Buffet
121) Taco Bell
122) Tavern Restaurant
123) Uncle Chen's Chinese Rstrnt
124) V & S Sandwiches
125) Victorian Manor
126) Waffle Shop
127) Wing Zone
128) Wings Over Happy Valley
129) Zola New World Bistro
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
This and Otto's are the two best places to grab a beer in State College. Zeno's has the best selection of beer you will find most anywhere, including some Otto's selections. Great beer, live bands, full bar, very good food....this place is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review State College, PA
(11/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Volleyball again. Read about the place on this website. Dungeon-like but appropriate for a hot day. Servers fun, customers fun, beer selection fabulous. Wonder what it's like when school is in. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dan mc cabe dan mc cabe, gaithersburg, MD
(05/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Made my first visit this past saturday night after the PSU/MSU game, so we could watch THE Game. We had Black Mo's Stout from Ottos and had a good time. Wish I could have stayed longer, but we had other places to visit. Will go back and enjoyed the selection that was avail.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chad kauffman chad kauffman, mifflintown, PA
(11/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I am a performer in the neo soul group thing-one and we just landed a residency at Zeno's for which we will be performing every Thursday night during the Fall 2006 Semester. We are thrilled to have the priviledge of performing at Zeno's on a weekly basis and experience the spectacular the Service, Beer Selection, Atmosphere & Ambiance. Overall, it is the best spot to catch great live music while enjoying the finest beer menu in State College, PA. Definitely stop by Zeno's...preferably on a Thursday night this semester!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thing-one thing-one, Jersey City, NJ
(09/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I started going to Zenos when i was a junior with my boyfriend at the time (who is now my husband:)). I love this place so much the atmosphere, music, the good times with friends and hubby and of course the BEER. I was not schooled in beer before i start going to zenos with my husband. He introduced me to so many different kinds i would never have tried before. I have to agree with the Lindemanns comment, having the lambic on tap was just orgasmic.

Everyone should treat themselves and go to zenos after a PSU football game!! Go Lions:) Jess

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jess Jess, Snowshoe, FL
(06/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Lambic on tap was such a welcome beverage. I will try to visit Zenos every time I get to State College.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Agnes Riggle Mary Agnes Riggle, Tyrone, PA
(01/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I don't know that I will ever be able to find another bar that I love as much as I love Zeno's. Having worked there for a while, I fell in love with the incredible staff, awesome customers, and killer atmosphere. The beers are phenomenal, and I can honestly say that Zeno's schooled me in the ways of beer. The music is always a blast, and despite the crowds and smoke, I can't think of a better place to be. So much so that I travel back to State College, solely to hang out with my family and friends and drink great beer. Get to Zeno's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from alexis alexis, philadelphia, PA
(07/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The best bar in the PennState area. I have had 74 different beers there now and i havent had one i overally disliked. Some of the best brews period. If anyone wants a good beer bar, and irish pub like enviroment go to zenos, you wont be displeased.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric  Munscher Eric Munscher, York, PA
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Ah, my old watering hole. The best in SC and, after several years living in New York City, still my favorite drinking establishment on planet Earth. Fantastic selection of GOOD beer (no padding). The most relaxed bar atmosphere in town, next to Autoport Lounge. Lest we forget Jamie, the psycho punk bouncer and Leslie, the hippie waitress? Ahhh, Leslie. Ahhhhh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anthony Anthony, New York City, NY
(11/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Best bar in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Tony, Philly, PA
(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I can't say enough good about this place. I rated it higher than the bar I've worked in for 9 years.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erik Erik, State College, PA
(07/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! N/A
they rule best bar in towm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review tushar, raleigh, nc
(04/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
A very nice beer selection (rare belgian beers) and a great place (2nd after the Shandy Gaff) to play foosball! Nice concerts too

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Laurent Müllender, Cologne Germany, PA
(03/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Good
Best beer selection in town, nice atmosphere...just not the place to go to when you're in that PSU mood to go out and get retarded...man, I miss that town

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Chesna John Chesna, Old Forge, PA
(01/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
An overall unique and wonderful place. A "must" on my list of things to do on my visits back to State. Beer selection is the best in town, and the employees appreciate your business and are very friendly...unlike most of the other bars in State College.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T T, Reading, PA
(10/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
Wonderful selection of beers, good food, and proprietors who know their beer, Zeno's is probably the best beer bar in Central PA north of Harrisburg all the way to the NY border. Highly recommended. World renouned beer enthusiast Michael Jackson (No, not the singer!) quaffed a few at Zeno's during his visit to the State College Microbrewfest this year. His review can be found on his website, www.beerhunter.com.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Bellefonte, PA
(08/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Zeno's is certainly the best bar in State College. The Beer selection is outstanding, it always has been. If you are a PSU student or live in State College, I would highly recommend getting a Zeno's "passport". It's the best way to try a variety of beers. If you drink 80 different beers from around the world, you get a nice T-shirt and your name on a plaque in the bar. The food, when you can get it, comes from right upstairs, the Corner Room. It's definitely good, but, I prefer a liquid dinner, myself:) Service is great, they all like to party in their spare time. If John Cunningham is playing at the bar, I would highly recommend catching his show. Just one guy and a guitar playing some great songs. The atmosphere is your typical basement bar, dark and smokey. The type of people there, unique and mysterious. It's the perfect blend of happiness and depression that makes Zeno's THE best and unique bar in State College.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Pizzica Rob Pizzica, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Good
The best selection of beer in the state college area. The atmosphere is very "pubish". My only complaint has to be their "no cigar" policy. Oh well, I guess you can't win them all...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review State College, PA
(11/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Best bar in the SC area. Usually good to V.Good entertainment on the weekends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P. Moran P. Moran, State College, PA
(10/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Zeno's may be a college bar, but it is a better than average college bar in terms of beer. As others have said, the selection is excellent, featuring brews from many of the PA craft breweries plus a variety of imports. On my recent visit to State College I was with a recent graduate of Penn State, and in her mind there was no other place to consider but Zeno's. I enjoyed a pint of Victory HopDevil and a Stoudt's ESB during my visit. My only complaint was that it was a bit smoky.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(10/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
As a Penn State football follower who has not missed a home game since 1967, I had my first visit to Zeno's this month and was very well pleased. I had a brown ale from Victory (V8, I believe) that was on the handpump and was great!. Burger and Reuben were excellent also!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred H. Schellenberg Fred H. Schellenberg, Windber, PA
(08/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
We didn't have anything to eat, so I can't judge them on food, but the beer selection was tremendous. They have bumperstickers stating,"Save Water,Drink Beer". As others have noted, it's another college basement bar that would get crazy during the school year, but would be great during the summer or during the day. My husband had Weeping Radish's Black Radish and loved it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richelle Sweger Richelle Sweger, Millerstown, PA
(07/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Good
Zeno's has the best beer selection in central PA, but its very crowded and smokey. They do have the coolest beer slogan around ("Located directly above the center of the Earth").

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Whitall Dave Whitall, Emerald Isle, NC
(06/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
The selection is often overwhelming to the un-initiated, but to those who know their beers, Zeno's is simply awesome. Its regulars are possibly the most loyal of any beer bar I've ever been too. Don't let the fact that it is a dark, loud, and crowded college bar fool you...Zeno's has an abundance of class and charm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Cox Joe Cox, Saint Paul, MN
(08/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
An incredible basement pub in a fantastic college town! Over 100 beers to choose from. Great atmosphere. There's always someone up for darts or pool, and you're likely to hear everything from Hendrix to Sinatra. Knowledgable staff. Be sure to start your "passport".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Highland Steve Highland, Sunnyvale, CA
(08/05/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.305 seconds) 05:58:11 54.205.59.78, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS