PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


McMenamin's Tavern - Philadelphia , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 05:50 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Philadelphia > McMenamin's Tavern
McMenamin's Tavern Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
McMenamin's Tavern
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.6 / 100
7170 Germantown Avenue
Philadelphia , PA 19119
United States
(215) 247-9920
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: January 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Philadelphia , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of McMenamin's Tavern
22 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 03:00PM - 01:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(12 within 5 miles)
1) Trolley Car Diner and Deli
(0 mile)

2) Earth Bread + Brewery
(0 mile)

3) Mermaid Inn
(2 miles)

4) Old Eagle Tavern
(3 miles)

5) Dawson Street Pub
(3 miles)

6) Manayunk Brewery and Restaurant
(3 miles)

7) Flatrock Saloon
(3 miles)

8) Billy Murphy's Irish Saloonery
(3 miles)

9) Fatty's Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

10) G.G. Brewers
(4 miles)

11) Brittingham's Irish Pub
(4 miles)

12) General Lafayette Inn and Brewery
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Silverstone Bed & Breakfast
2) The Ancestry Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADAM'S MARK
2) CHESTNUT HILL HOTEL
3) CONWELL INN
4) HILTON PHILADELPHIA CITY AVENUE
5) HOLIDAY INN CITY LINE
6) HOMEWOOD STE PHL CITY AVENUE
7) NORTH AMERICAN MOTOR INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 26th District Police and Patrol Station
2) Adamson, William, School
3) Beeber, Dimner, Junior High School
4) Beggarstown School
5) Belmont Avenue Bridge in Philadelphia
6) Billmeyer, Daniel, House
7) Billmeyer, Michael, House
8) Birney, Gen. David B., School
9) Central High School
10) Chamounix
11) Church of St. James the Less
12) City Line Avenue Bridge
13) Clarkson-Watson House
14) Cliveden
15) Coltrane, John, House
16) Conyngham-Hacker House
17) Cooke, Jay, Junior High School
18) Delmar Apartments
19) Deshler-Morris House
20) Dobbins, Murrell, Vocational School
21) Dobson, James, School
22) Dropsie University Complex
23) Elkins Railroad Station, Philadelphia and Reading Railroad
24) Elverson, James, Jr., School
25) Emlen, Eleanor Cope, School of Practice
26) Fair Hill Burial Ground
27) Farmar Mill
28) Farragut, David, School
29) Feltonville School No. 2
30) Ferguson, Joseph C., School
31) Fitler School
32) Fitzsimons, Thomas, Junior High School
33) Frank, Henry S., Memorial Synagogue
34) Fulton, Robert, School
35) General Wayne Inn
36) Germantown Grammar School
37) Germantown Junction Station
38) Gillespie, Elizabeth Duane, Junior High School
39) Grace Church, Mt. Airy
40) Gratz, Simon, High School
41) Graver's Lane Station
42) Grey Towers
43) Grumblethorpe
44) Grumblethorpe Tenant House
45) Henry, Charles Wolcott, School
46) Hogue, Robert M., House
47) Houses at 1907--1951 N. 32nd St.
48) Houston, Henry H., School
49) Howe, Julia Ward, School
50) Howell House
51) Ivy Lodge
52) Jenks, John Story, School
53) Johnson, John, House
54) Kensington Branch of the Philadelphia YWCA
55) Kensington High School for Girls
56) Keswick Theatre
57) Kinsey, John L., School
58) Levering, William, School
59) Logan Demonstration School
60) Lowell, James Russell, School
61) Malvern Hall
62) Mann, William, School
63) Maxwell, Ebenezer, House
64) Mayfair House
65) McCallum Manor
66) McClure, Alexander K., School
67) Meehan, Thomas, School
68) Mennonite Meetinghouse
69) Merion Friends Meeting House
70) Mifflin, Thomas, School
71) Milmoral
72) Milmoral
73) Monastery, The
74) Morrison, Andrew J., School
75) Most Precious Blood Roman Catholic Church, Rectory and Parochial School
76) Mt. Airy Station
77) Muhr, Simon, Work Training School
78) National Bank of North Philadelphia
79) North Broad Street Station, Reading Company
80) Northeast Manual Training School
81) Northern National Bank
82) Oakley, Violet, Studio
83) Old Germantown Academy And Headmasters' Houses
84) Olney High School
85) Overbrook School
86) Peale, Charles Willson, House
87) Pennell, Joseph, School
88) Pennypacker, Samuel W., School
89) Randolph House
90) Ridge Avenue Bridge in Philadelphia
91) Roosevelt, Theodore, Junior High School
92) Rowen, William, School
93) Schaeffer, Charles, School
94) Seymour, Edward B., House
95) Sharpless, William C., House
96) Smyser and English Pharmacy
97) South, George W., Memorial Protestant Episcopal Church of the Advocate
98) Special Troops Armory
99) Springfield Mill
100) St. Joseph's House for Homeless Industrious Boys
101) St. Paul's Episcopal Church
102) St. Peter's Episcopal Church of Germantown
103) Stenton
104) Stokely, William J., School
105) Stotesbury Club House
106) Strawbridge and Clothier Store
107) Suffolk Manor Apartments
108) Tanner, Henry O., House
109) Taylor, Bayard, School
110) Thomas Mill Covered Bridge
111) Union Methodist Episcopal Church
112) Upsala
113) Uptown Theater and Office Building
114) Wagner Free Institute of Science
115) Wagner, Gen. Louis, Junior High School
116) Wall House
117) Walton, Rudolph, School
118) Watson, Sally, House
119) Welsh, John, House
120) West Diamond Street Townhouse Historic District
121) Whittier, John Greenleaf, School
122) Wissahickon
123) Wissahickon Memorial Bridge
124) Wright, Richardson L., School
125) Wyck House
126) Yeakle and Miller Houses
127) YMCA of Germantown
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Taste Of Philly
2) Adobe Cafe
3) Al Dana II
4) Aladdin's Pizza
5) Alsalem Pizza & Restaurant
6) Alston Caterers
7) Anglesea Pub North
8) Baby Grand Lounge
9) Bally's Place
10) Barley Bree Family Restaurant
11) Barry's Steaks
12) Bawa Pizza
13) Beijing Garden
14) Bernard Jones
15) Best Of British
16) Bhagya's Kitchen
17) Blue Water Coffee
18) Bok Yoo Ja
19) Breakfast Junction
20) Burger King
21) Cafette
22) Campbell's Place
23) Champagne Restaurant
24) Changsam Restaurant
25) Charley B's Place II
26) Charley's Place
27) Charlie's Pizzeria
28) Checkers Drive In Restaurant
29) Chefworx
30) Chestnut Grill & Sidewalk Cafe
31) China House
32) China House
33) China King
34) China Kitchen
35) Chubby's
36) Cin Cin
37) Citrus
38) Communication Creation Cafe
39) Corner Deli
40) Cosimo's Pizza
41) Cresheim Cottage Cafe
42) Crown Fried Chicken
43) Crown Fried Chicken
44) Crown Fried Chicken
45) D & M Luncheonette Co
46) Delmar-Morris Bar
47) Diane & Tom's Cafe
48) Dugout Pizza
49) Dunkin Donuts
50) Ed's Pizza House
51) Elements Event Staffing
52) Ellsworth Scott Co Inc
53) Eric's Gourmet Rotisserie
54) Explorers Den Steaks & Hoagies
55) Expressly Vegetarian Cafe
56) Famous Delicatessen Stores
57) Fiesta Pizza II Inc
58) Fiesta Pizza Iii
59) Fiesta Place
60) Fino's Pizzeria & Restaurant
61) First Wok
62) Five Star Restaurant
63) Flower Cafe At Linda's
64) Flying Fish Seafood Restaurant
65) Foreign Affairs
66) Garden Gate Cafe
67) Garden Of Bilal
68) Geechee Girl Rice Cafe
69) Gennaro's Famous Pizza
70) Georgina's Mexican Food
71) Germantown Deli
72) Germantown Style Pizza
73) Giovanni's Pizzeria
74) Goat Hollow
75) Golden City Chinese Restaurant
76) Golden Crust Pizza
77) Golden Dragon
78) Grace Wok
79) Gray's Family Restaurant
80) Gray's Family Restaurant
81) Great London Pizza Restaurant
82) Green Garden
83) Gwen & Will's Deli Grocery
84) H & J Mc Nally's Tavern Inc
85) Halal Bilal Steak & Take
86) Halal Steak & Take
87) Hathaway Inn Restaurant
88) High Point Cafe
89) Hill Tavern
90) Holiday Pizza
91) Hong Kong Restaurant
92) House Of Jin
93) Hummingbird Restaurant
94) In & Out Deli
95) Infusion Coffee & Tea
96) Ingram's Lounge
97) Island Delight
98) Jade Court Restaurant
99) Jimmy's Deli Market
100) Jin's Deli
101) John Steiner
102) K & J Caribbean American Diner
103) Kfc
104) Kfc
105) King's Garden
106) Kirk's Pizza House & Bar
107) Lakey's Restaurant Inc
108) Lam Mingwing Restaurant
109) Lee's Seafood World
110) Lim's Deli
111) Limpopo Restaurant
112) Lincoln Drive Delicatessen
113) Lincoln Fried Chicken
114) Lincoln Pizza
115) Little Dave's Gourmet Sandwich
116) Little Jamaica Restaurant
117) Littleton's Diner
118) Lu Yang Xiang
119) Madges International Cuisine
120) Manayunk Brewing Co
121) Mandarin House
122) Mario's Pizza
123) Marks Take Out
124) May Fong Restaurant
125) Mc Donald's
126) Mc Donald's
127) Mc Menamin Tavern
128) Meals On Wheels Chestnut Hill
129) Mecca Halal Pizza Restaurant
130) Melting Pot
131) Mermaid Inn
132) Mildred Moxey
133) Mister Wild Wings
134) Mom & Pop Deli
135) Mom Mom's Deli & Variety Store
136) Mom's Bake At Home Pizza
137) Morgan's Night Club
138) Moy Fong Restaurant
139) Mozzelle Pizza
140) Ms D's Restaurant & Catering
141) Mt Airy Deli & Mini Market
142) Mt Airys Best Inc
143) Mt Pleasant Cafe
144) Mystic Pizza
145) Nahida Crown Fried Chicken
146) New Canton Kitchen
147) New China Court
148) New Sai Gai
149) Newmans Grill
150) Nick's Famous Pizza
151) North By Northwest
152) Organic Planet
153) Panda Garden
154) Papa John's
155) Papa's Perfect Pizza
156) Park Drive Manor Deli
157) Park Manor Deli
158) Peasant Pasta
159) Philly's Deli & Market
160) Pie Zone Inc
161) Pizza Hut
162) Point Of Destination Cafe
163) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
164) Queen Express Pizza
165) Quin Lounge
166) Quiznos Sub
167) Rami's Middle East Cuisine
168) Ranck's Lunchmeats
169) Red Rose Indian Restaurant
170) Rib Crib
171) Rice Hut
172) Rinker Rock Cafe
173) Robert Levy Restaurant
174) Roller's Express-O
175) Roller's Market
176) Roller's Restaurant
177) Roula's Pizza
178) Roxy
179) Ryue Han Ko Delicatessen
180) Scanlon's Saloon
181) Seafood Sensation
182) Shakir Restaurant & Ice Cream
183) Shundeez
184) Sidewalk Cafe
185) Silver Star Kitchen
186) Skyline Restaurant
187) Smokehouse Cafe
188) Solaris Grille
189) Son Kon Hak
190) Southside Pizza
191) Spectacular Events
192) Starbucks
193) Stella Notte Trattoria
194) Sugar Stick
195) Super Chinese Restaurant
196) Super Sundae
197) Taylor's Restaurant
198) Terry's Tasty Treats & Simon's
199) Top Of The Hill Market
200) Toto's Pizzeria
201) Towey's Tavern
202) Town Hall Pizza
203) Trinh Quang Chien
204) Trio's Delicatessen
205) Trolley Car Diner
206) Trolley Car Ice Cream
207) Tuxedo Caterers Inc
208) Ugly Moose
209) Umbria Restaurant
210) Venetian Club
211) Victor's Tavern
212) Wadsworth Pizzeria Inc
213) Walnut Hill Inc
214) Weinhardts
215) Wholly Smoke
216) Williams Creol
217) Wings To Go Roxborough
218) Wissahickon Wings
219) Yong's Delicatessen
220) Yu Hsiang Garden Ii
221) Z's Soul Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Ok David, I grew up in Mt Airy and got married before I could go into this place. My dad ran C SCHRACK & CO at 7142 Germantown Ave. I know several of my class mates from school who use to visit this establishment when they reached the legal drinking age and found it was the best place they had ever went to. I sure wish I was back in Philadelphia living in Florida is a bore

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lakeland, FL
(09/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy So So
I've never been so thoroughly ignored by a group of bartenders in my life. As a bartender, I've never given such poor service. 15 minutes to get a beer when the place isn't even crowded? When I'm a regular that has always tipped well? And it isn't just me. Ask anyone how slow their service is at the bar. It's unprofessional. It's annoying, and I stopped going there as a result. When Earth Bread opened a short distance away, I rejoiced, and left the rookie bartenders to their conversations with those customers who don't understand the meaning of service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Philadelphia, PA
(02/20/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
service is the worst i have had in years... bartenders don't pay attention.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Philadelphia, PA
(08/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Lousy Good
I had heard great things about McMenamin's Tavern and finally stopped in. The beer selection was amazing and the food was better than average bar food. When I discovered just how small the kitchen was I was even more impressed. I wouldn't say the food amazed me, but it was very good.

My major gripe with the place is the attitude and service. I was appalled by the rudeness of the two bartenders, who took forever to even greet me and take my order. When I was given one beer, it was slooshed all over me and the bartender did nothing. I was charged for a beer I did not order and when I questioned the bartender, I was told I didn't have to return.

It is a shame, because the beer selection is great, but with many other options opening with great beer choices, I may have to pass on this place unless someone can assure me the this is not standard practice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave G Dave G, Philadelphia, PA
(07/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
I have visited this jewel of a tavern in Mount Airy four times in the last 6 months. While sometimes you may have an extended wait for a table, the food and beer makes the wait well worth it. The staff has always been friendly. Also, they always seem to be busy so sometimes you may wait for service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Rockledge, PA
(06/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I wish I could walk here!!!

Awesome beer bar with a beer on cask every day. !2-15 taps, representing the whole world including the locals. NO bud light here, thank God! Food is varied + exceptional

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul McGinley Paul McGinley, Warminster, Pa
(12/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great beer bar with a beer on cask everyday! Fine choice of 12-15 others on draft from Belgian to local stuff. Food was also great and the service was very friendly and treated us like regulars. Each beer is also served in the right glass!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul McGinley Paul McGinley, warminster, PA
(12/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Considering the quality of the food and the sheer variety of the rotating brews, it's no wonder people come here from miles around. Burgers are big and juicy...brews represent the best of the mid-Atlantic from Philly to Baltimore...crowd ranges from blue-collar to LaSalle college kids to Lutheran seminarians from down the street! A gem in Northwest Philly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John K. Read John K. Read, Philadelphia, PA
(05/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Me and my buds stopped here on the way to the Keswick. There's nothing more I can add. This place is every bit as good as all of the reviews have said.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roger Roger, Pitman, NJ
(02/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Heard about this place a while ago, but never found myself in the area. Found it after a long afternoon swing dancing, with empty stomach and parched throat. Two Yards ESAs (from the pump), fish and chips, and pumpkin creme brulee (!) later, I was glowingly sated. I always tell me mates how impossible it is to get good, fresh cask ale on any given day in America. Sure, plenty of places have cask nights, but only places like McMenamin's has it every day. Solid eats, cool people, greate beer. What more could one ask for?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Davis Bob Davis, Easton, PA
(11/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael mcmenamin michael mcmenamin, broomall, PA
(09/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent atmosphere with outstanding service, beer and food makes for a great place. All the staff who work here are very friendly and helpful. It's always a pleasure coming here no matter how crowded.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gene Gene, Philadelphia, PA
(06/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
this is my neighborhood bar and this place is great. from beer snobs to bud suckers everyone gets what the want. great place, come on down.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Philly, pa
(05/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
McMenamin's is becoming one of my favorite bars anywhere. Add it all up: good prices on beer and food; an eclectic selection of draft and bottled beer; CLEAN draft lines (I've realized that I've never had a sour, skanky beer here); consistently excellent cask-conditioned ales; fast, knowledgeable, and personable service; a clientele that runs the gamut from beer and food geeks to chili/wing/Yuengling sucking locals, all of whom get along tremendously; and fantastic food that ranges from Philly's Best Wings (Philadelphia Magazine, 2001, and they ARE GOOD!) to awesome stuff like I had the other night, a seafood risotto full of littlenecks, mussels, oysters, shrimp, and lobster tail. A neighborhood tavern that got great beer and great food and never forgot what it was, McMenamin's is a model for taverns everywhere. I wish there were more like this place, a lot more.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(02/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is truly a great place...and they know how to serve beer on a beer engine! Quite a find and worth the drive if you're not in the immediate area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from nancy nancy, Philadelphia, PA
(06/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is truly a great place...and they know how to serve beer on a beer engine! Quite a find and worth the drive if you're not in the immediate area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from nancy nancy, Philadelphia, PA
(06/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is truly a great place...and they know how to serve beer on a beer engine! Quite a find and worth the drive if you're not in the immediate area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from nancy@yardsbrewing.com nancy@yardsbrewing.com, Philadelphia, PA
(06/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent, quick rotating selection of beers. Food (especially the daily specials) is excellent and well priced. Staff is knowledgeable and very friendly with recomendations. Atmosphere is top notch. Mondays is buy one get one 9-12.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Logan Steve Logan, Philadelphia, PA
(09/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A great friendly neighborhood beer bar. PJ makes every effort to keep fresh, top beers on tap. Do not pass this place up!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Philadelphia, PA
(08/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Went for a meet the brewer night. Didn't have any food. Beer selection was good. Nice atmosphere, at least at 7pm on a week day. www5.50megs.com/danjohnbeer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(05/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Great neighborhood bar with great beer. PJ runs a great place. The kitchen is relatively new, but kicking out great food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scoats Scoats, Philadelphia, PA
(12/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Went there for Philly beer tour. Out of the way but worth the drive. Helpful staff. Small pub with large selection of taps. Sports oriented.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Trekker Beer Trekker, Baltimore, MD
(03/30/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.797 seconds) 05:50:16 54.235.5.178, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS