PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Broad Ripple Brewing Company - Indianapolis, IN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 01:04 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IN > Indianapolis > Broad Ripple Brewing Company
Broad Ripple Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Broad Ripple Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 72.9 / 100
840 East 65th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46220
United States
(317) 253-2739
Last Updated: November 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Indianapolis, IN
Beer Guide for Indiana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Broad Ripple Brewing Company
120 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(12 within 5 miles)
1) Union Jack Pub
(0 mile)

2) Brugge Brasserie
(0 mile)

3) Brugge Brasserie
(0 mile)

4) Pawn Shop Pub
(1 mile)

5) Claddagh Irish Pub
(3 miles)

6) The Hop Shop
(3 miles)

7) Ale Emporium
(3 miles)

8) Loon Lake Lodge
(3 miles)

9) Beer Sellar
(3 miles)

10) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(3 miles)

11) Chalkies
(3 miles)

12) Granite City Food and Brewery
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Tranquil Cherub B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES KEYSTONE
2) BEST WESTERN CASTLETON INN
3) BUDGET INN EAST
4) CASTLETON HOTEL
5) COMFORT INN EAST
6) COURTYARD IND CARMEL
7) DAYS INN INDIANAPOLIS EAST
8) DAYS INN INDIANOPLIS IN
9) EXTENDEDSTAY CASTLETON
10) EXTENDEDSTAY INDIANAPOLIS NORTH
11) HAMPTON INN INDY EAST
12) HAMPTON INN NORTHEAST CASTLETO
13) HILTON GARDEN INN DOWNTOWN
14) HOMEWOOD STE INDIANAPOLIS
15) INDIANAPOLIS MARRIOTT NORTH
16) KNIGHTS INN INDIANAPOLIS EAST
17) LA QUINTA INDIANAPOLIS EAST
18) OMNI INDIANAPOLIS NORTH
19) SHERATON INDIANAPOLIS HOTEL
20) SUPER 8 NE CASTLETON AREA
21) TOWNEPLACE SUITES IND-KEYSTONE
22) WYNDHAM INDIANAPOLIS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Balmoral Court
2) Broad Ripple Park Carousel
3) Butler Fieldhouse
4) Coburn, Henry P., Public School No. 66
5) Cole, Joseph J., Jr., House and 1925 Cole Brouette No. 70611
6) Coulter Flats
7) Crown Hill National Cemetery
8) Esplanade Apartments
9) Franklin, Benjamin, Public School Number 36
10) Glossbrenner, Alfred M., Mansion
11) Haverstick, Hiram A., Farmstead
12) Johnson-Denny House
13) Jordan, Arthur, Memorial Hall
14) Levey, Louis, Mansion
15) Marott Hotel
16) Meier, George Philip, House
17) Saint James Court
18) Schnull-Rauch House
19) The Buckingham
20) Thompson, William N., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) All Stars Sports & Daquiri Bar
2) Alley Cat Lounge
3) Arby's
4) Average Joe's Sports Pub
5) Bamboo House
6) Barbeque Heaven
7) Barton's Cafe
8) Ben & Jerry's
9) Birdy's
10) Blimpie Subs & Salads
11) Blimpie Subs & Salads
12) Broad Ripple Ice Cream Co
13) Broad Ripple Seafood Shack
14) Brugge LLC
15) Burger King
16) Burger King
17) Cafe Patachou
18) California Connection Gourmet
19) Canal Point Enterprises LLC
20) Cancun Mexican Restaurants
21) Capri Restaurant
22) Casba
23) Chinese Ruby Restaurant
24) Chumley's Beer House
25) Circle City Pizza
26) Claude & Annie's
27) Connor's Pub
28) Cornerstone Coffee & Espresso
29) Crackers Comedy Club
30) Dairy Queen
31) Dick's Bodacious BBQ
32) Domino's Pizza
33) Domino's Pizza
34) Donatos Pizza
35) Enrico's Italian Restaurant
36) Fazoli's
37) First Wok
38) Forbidden City
39) Glendale Roly Poly
40) Great Steak & Potato Co
41) H2o Sushi
42) Hardee's
43) Hilltop North
44) House Of Cheung
45) Indianapolis Polo Pub
46) Jack Pub Union
47) Jerusalem Restaurant
48) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
49) Joivistia Floral & Catering
50) Jug's Catering Svc
51) Just Judy's
52) Keystone Deli
53) Keystone Sports Review
54) Kfc
55) Khoury's Restaurant
56) Knobby's Restaurant
57) LA Hacienda Mexican Restaurant
58) LA Piedad
59) Landsharks
60) Long John Silver's
61) Manchu Wok
62) Manchu Wok
63) Marco's Restaurant & Lounge
64) Mc Donald's
65) Mc Donald's
66) Mcl Cafeteria
67) Mcl Cafeterias
68) Mexicana Rose Restaurant
69) Mississippi Belle Restaurant
70) Moe & Johnny's
71) Monon Coffee Co
72) Mousetrap Bar & Grill
73) Ms Stine's Fine & Famous Deli
74) Naked Tchopstix
75) North Pole
76) Ocharlies
77) Old Pro's Table
78) Papa John's Pizza
79) Papa John's Pizza
80) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
81) Pat Flynn's
82) Patio Nightclub
83) Patties Of Jamaica
84) Pizza Di Roma Glendale
85) Pizza Express
86) Pizza Hut
87) Pizza Magia
88) Pizza Magia
89) Pizzi Enterprises Inc
90) Qdoba Mexican Grill
91) Recetas
92) Red Room
93) Rookie's Pub & Grill
94) Sahm's Place
95) Sakura Japanese Restaurant
96) Sakura Mart
97) Sam 's Gyros
98) Scholar's Inn Bakehouse
99) Shaffers'
100) Sharks Fish & Chicken
101) Shrimp Hut
102) Some Guys Pizza Pasta Grill
103) Sonny's Pizza & Milano Pasta
104) Starbucks
105) Steak 'n Shake
106) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
107) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
108) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
109) Taco Bell
110) Taco Bell
111) Taco Express
112) Thai One On
113) Tin Star Restaurant
114) Vogue Nightclub
115) W B Pizza LLC
116) Wendy's
117) Whistle Stop
118) Z's Pub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great Great
My bro lives there and we usually stop.Stopped in today.Been there a hundred times.Always good service,decent food.Always get the cheese crock and bread appetizer.scottish eggs are pretty good.Most of the beers are good.No wheat beer.Darn!Whats with having to have a hostess seat you now.You cant walk in and just go to the bar which was empty,you have to wait outside for a hostess.Thumbs down.And whats up with that oder in there.I think its that hundred year old carpet.Smells like a dirty old wet sour unbathed hound dog.will be back soon!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike p mike p, south chicago heights, IL
(08/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
So, I finally got to check this place out. Nice place, interesting and intimate layout. They focus heavily on English style beers which limits their repertoire; but they do English-style beers very well. I tried 8 different beers and they ranged from acceptable to excellent representations of the style. And seeing how I wasn't behaving like a drunken lout, I had no issues whatsoever with the service. Since I'm not a big fan of English beers, I don't know that I'd spend a whole lot of time here if I lived in Indy, but it's a nice place to hit up during one of my occasional visits to town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Crafton, PA
(05/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
Just saw my name referenced to a review from a couple of years back, and thought I would respond. 1) I am indeed a real person, and not a shill for some disgruntled "ax to grind" complainer. 2) The BRBP USED to have shoddy service serving cold, miss-assembled food. 3) I have been in there twice (at least) in the last 12 months, expecting the worst, and came away at least "satisfied" -- things were busy so I'm not about to bust the wait staff for the infrequent visits to the table and the fact that I twice had to get my own beer from the bar. My opinion is definitely open to further change.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom McGinnis Tom McGinnis, Indianapolis, IN
(05/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
I stopped in here while in town for the brew fest in July (which is a great time and you should try to come to this—it’s worth the trip). Inside is very dark and no table service in the bar. When I looked at the menu the first thing I saw was “basket o’ smelt.” Luckily things got better. On tap that day was: lawn mower pale, black heart lager, IPA, wheat, Pilsner, ESP, (can’t read my notes—maybe amarillo?) lager, and Rubic Ale. They had a wide variety of bottled beer too; about 20-30 so there should be something there to please anyone. The IPA was a British IPA so it wasn’t bitter by any stretch of the imagination. The Wheat was cloudy with a nice clove flavor with a hint of banana. The ESB was amazingly hoppy for and ESP. The only reason I gave the service a 'so so' is that there really wasn't any, you had to go to the bar for each drink. I realize that is the British style but...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This is in a great location to wait for the gates to open at the Indiana Microbrewer's Festival--which is exactly what I did. On tap the day I was there were: lawn mower pale, black heartlager, IPA, wheat, pilsner, ESB, cask lager, replic ale. All the beers lean toward the British style--which is a little mild for me--but the quality of their beer was very good nonetheless. The IPA was indeed a British IPA--not as hoppy as I would like but a nice flavor and very refreshing after the 'hotter than hell' weather Indy had that weekend. The wheat was very nice--mostly a clove flavor with just a hint of banana. The ESB was amazingly hoppy for an ESB, I thought. The bar is small--only seats 8. There are a few small tables in the bar area but these have traditional 'british syle' service--meaning no table service. There are signs up--but they are really small so be forewarned.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(07/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The beer was great, loved the Kolsch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Curt Curt, LaPorte, IN
(08/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
A stop in Indy wouldn't be the same without some Broad Ripple brews. Tried both casks and found them to be excellent. Best Bitter had just enough hops to keep it interesting for the long run while Monon Porter is just a great cask porter. Amarillo Red Lager sure tasted like an ale to me, but a malty one. Great! Had my yearly allotment of scotch eggs to help wash the beer down. Always a great stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great place to visit. Had food and drinks. Everyone in the place from staff to customers where very nice to talk with and get info on the establishment and their beers. I will return!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james Horton james Horton, cambridge spirngs, PA
(01/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Still my favorite in Indy whether you're talking about their beer, food or atmosphere. All true beer lovers should come here at least once. Scotch eggs (my personal fave) are always dead on, especially with their excellent IPA. Cask beers are usually great as well. Barman Ryan was helpful--even tipped me off to a new place just a few blocks away. Should definitely make a "best of" list.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a great place. They could use a larger bar, but I hope they don't lose the small friendly feel to the place. The beers are brewed right on. The staff is is great and loves to talk about beer. This is the best place in the Indianapolis area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(03/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Great
I visited on Saturday night, and loved the IPA. I also tried the Wee Alec and Big Boy, neither of which were impressive. But the Ankle Biter was great. I've had their IPA and their porter in the past, and they are consistently excellent. The service was friendly, but a bit slow on Saturday even though I went when the place wasn't very busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I have visited brew pubs all over the US, and the Broad Ripple Brew Pub, right here in my own back yard, is still my favorite. I say this as a 15+ year, national award-winning homebrewer that loves the craft brewing industry, so trust me on this one. The beer is always great, I honestly have never had a problem with the service, the food is always good, and the atmosphere suits my taste (it has the feel of a small English pub). The ESB is awesome, as well as anything on the hand pull (if I was choosing my last beer ever, it would be the Porter on the hand pull). Although the BRBP has the feel of a small English pub, it is located in the bohemian / Greenwich Village-ish section of Indianapolis (Broad Ripple), and the wait staff fits that description. They do a good job, but don't expect a super efficient and highly-polished staff (if that is what you are looking for, try one of the brew pub chains downtown). The BRBP is a laid back place to enjoy some of the best beer you will ever have. Locals have voted it the best brew pub in Indianapolis every year for well over a decade, so that says a lot. For parking, look for a spot along the Monon trail just to the East of the pub. Enjoy your trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Smith Ron Smith, Indianapolis, IN
(01/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
I visited this brewpub on 11/22/04 and had the following; Wheat, Lawnmower, IPA, Traveling John's Best Bitter, Red Bird Mild, ESB, Big Boy Beer and Fineen's Auld Sod Stout. While I enjoyed all of the beers in the sample, they did not fit my benchmark for the style that they were described as. In my personal notes I had to mark points down because of that. The English pub fare was great, especially the exploding Scotch Egg. Apparently there was steam pocket in the egg that exploded upon cutting a quarter slice of egg. Three of my party ended up with yolk on there faces. A good time was had by all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(11/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
I agree with an earlier review that the IPA is overly bitter. It's not balanced well with the additional body a good IPA needs. It had mostly early addition bittering hops with little or no late addition aroma hops. Reminded me of a poor pale ale. The ESB was good and the strong old ale that they had was very good. Malty sweet but not too sweet. I was there the night before Thanksgiving after dinner rush and while the place seemed three quarters full, I did not experience slow/poor service. I liked the fact that they carried a good selection of bottled micro/regional brew since most brew pubs only serve what they make.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul S Paul S, Eau Claire, MI
(11/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Service could have been better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Beus Rick Beus, Salina, KS
(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
In anticipation of a trip to Indy, I read the litany of reviews, good and bad. It shouldn't be a surprise that the truth is in between. English style beers, some better than others. While the waitstaff didn't check on us often (I got myself my condiments), This wasn't outside of the expected range. Paranoia and partisanship aside, the best response by those who admire this establishment would be to encourage increased attentiveness by the staff, not point fingers, and for those who feel slighted to drink elsewhere and not wage campaigns. A pleasant pub in a lively area, not a mecca.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ben s. ben s., louisville, KY
(11/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
Service on in the bar on Sunday evening seemed to be non existant. Business looked good but it was hard to distiguish who were patrons and who were employees that just got off shift. IPA seemed overly bitter on this visit but ESB held it's own. My friend seemed to think his Stout was pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy So So
The expanded outdoor seating that the Brewpub has recently added is really nice. It's a great place to sit on a warm summer's evening. That's part of the problem though: you spend a lot of time sitting, and waiting and waiting but not much time drinking or eating. It would be nice if the Brewpub added new wait staff to go along with their added seats. As it is now, expect to be served an average of one beer per hour long visit. That is, if the waiters decide to serve you at all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Evan Evan, Indianapolis, IN
(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
As far as some of the comments about the food go, BRBP has one of the most extensive vegetarian menus out of the brew pubs I have been to. Their beer is also on par with a great microbrewery. I've been there about 5 times this year and have only had somewhat slow service once. I would recommend it to anyone. I'm actually going there after work tonight.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Vince, West Lafayette, IN
(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Good
The beer here is definitely good. Stop, get a beer and some of those Scottish Eggs--they are good! Also, the patrons at the bar, who seemed to be regulars, were some of the nicest people we met during our Pub Crawl.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, PITTSBURGH, PA
(07/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Still has the best IPA in town, and the cask stout isn't bad either. I agree that the wait staff semms to make themselves scarce at times. The word must be out about the beer, though. While I was there, someone came in to fetch some growlers to take back to the band Phish before their concert that night. Beer is universal!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy So So
The beer we sampled was flat, and was served slowly. The food was pretty good though and the atmosphere was nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Frank, Greenwood, IN
(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
I went there on Friday evening. They have an excellent IPA and porter. The servers were extremely nice. I've been to Broadripple about 30 times in the past 10 years, and the beer and service have been consistently excellent. My wife and I didn't have food, but the kids loved their pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(06/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy So So
This pub has very good brew: some of the best microbrews I've had in a while. For the most part, the food is mediocre: typical, uninspired pub fare. (The exception being their Scotch Eggs, which are excellent and highly recommended!) The decor is ... ok. Not bad, not great. It's basically just a dimly lit restaurant. There is no parking to speak of, so good luck finding a spot in this busy neighborhood.

The focus of complaints against this pub seems to be the service. Well, I can see why. We went there on a weeknight with a party of 3 colleagues and we had to wait a very long time before our server arrived. It was kind of late on a weeknight, and the place wasn't exactly crowded, so I don't know what the problem was. I suppose it's possible we just happened to be there on a bad night. What makes me think that it's a more endemic problem though is the fact that the waiter didn't apologize for the long delay or offer any kind of explanation. Oh well, at least the beer was good.

The next night we were in town we went to a new pub downtown (McNivens) that was fantastic - a huge selection of great beer! Next time we're in Indy, I'll think we'll pass on the Broad ripple Brew Pub and go elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dale Prater Dale Prater, Columbus, OH
(05/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
"Ballot-stuffing a-holes?"

What??? Is Larry P(isshead) under the misapprehension that a constitutionally-mandated and binding election is being held under the auspices of Pubcrawler.com, with the focus on a small, dank restaurant in an out-of-the-way neighborhood of a Midwestern city? Or has he merely been driven insane by the interminable wait he's encountered at the B.R.B.P.? Perhaps Mr. Pisshead should remove his head from his horse's ass and find a less stressful hobby.

If you love the BRBP, then that's just great - state your opinion as often as you like. If you hate the BRBP, then that's just peachy too - state your opinion as often as you like. The wanks at the Federal Election Commission needn't be involved in these "Earth-shattering" deliberations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dennis Dennis, Carmel, IN
(05/17/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.447 seconds) 13:04:43 54.91.82.25, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS