PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Fitzpatrick's Brewing Company - Iowa City, IA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 28, 2014 @ 08:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IA > Iowa City > Fitzpatrick's Brewing Company
Fitzpatrick's Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Fitzpatrick's Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 74.6 / 100
[Closed - May 2004]
525 South Gilbert
Iowa City, IA 52240
United States
(319) 356-6900
Last Updated: May 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Iowa City, IA
Beer Guide for Iowa

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
33 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Sanctuary Restaurant and Pub
(0 mile)

2) Old Capitol Brew Works and Public House
(0 mile)

3) Old Capitol Brew Works and Public House
(0 mile)

4) John's Grocery Incorporated
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bostick Guest House
2) Brown Street Inn
3) Golden Haug Bed & Breakfast
4) Haverkamp Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADAMS TRINITY LODGE
2) IOWA CITY TRAVELODGE
3) QUALITY INN HIGHLANDER CONFEREN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bethel AME Church
2) Carson, Thomas C., House
3) Cavanaugh-Zetek House
4) Clark House
5) Kirkwood House
6) Linsay House
7) Oakes-Wood House
8) Rose Hill
9) Summit Apartment Building
10) Van Patten House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J's Pizza Shop
2) Big Mikes Super Subs
3) Brothers Bar & Grill
4) Bw-3 Buffalo Wild Wings
5) Cafe Z
6) China Moon Super Buffet
7) Club Car
8) Cookies & More Ice Cream Prlr
9) Cottage Bakery & Cafe
10) Deadwood Tavern
11) Dostal Catering
12) Dublin Underground
13) Falbo Bros Pizza
14) First Avenue Club
15) Funcrest Dairy & Grill
16) Gabe's
17) General Japan Restaurant
18) Great Midwestern Ice Cream Co
19) Grizzly's South Side
20) Gumby's Pizza
21) Happy Joe's Pizza & Ice Cream
22) HIM Hearth-N-Home
23) Java House
24) Jimmy John's Gourmet
25) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
26) Joe's Place
27) Jungle Pizza
28) Kandy Labs
29) King Louie's Pizza
30) Martinis
31) Okoboji Grill
32) Old Capitol Brew Works
33) Panera Bread
34) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
35) Paul Revere's Pizza
36) Pita Pit
37) R T Grunts
38) Rack
39) Siren
40) Sports Column
41) Starbucks
42) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
43) Summit Eatery Lounge
44) Takanami Restaurant
45) Thai Spice
46) Tony's Skillet
47) Venuto's World Bistro
48) Whitey's Ice Cream
49) Z'Marik Noodle Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Fitzpatricks is closed as of May 25, 2004. Rumors around Iowa City indicate that it will reopen under new ownership. Will the beer be any better? Let's hope.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Rask Tim Rask, Iowa City, IA
(05/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I tried the brown and the IPA during my visit and they were both great. Definitely a place to enjoy an evening in Iowa City.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GuinnessDoc GuinnessDoc, Yardley, PA
(11/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
They have some great liquid refreshment. Service ---just like anywhere else ---(this is a college town so it just might be) a looker!!!

sorry if you wanted anything more, --try ???

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review d, d, IA
(09/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Good So So
The beer here is terribly inconsistant. Sometimes it is great, other times it tastes like soap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Iowa City, IA
(03/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
i'm now in my second year here at the university, and i can honestly, 100% say that now bar has been as good to me as fitzy's. i, and all of my friends, love this place. the beer is tops, and atmosphere kicks ass, and the waitresses are fine as hell. you can count on us being there every weekend until our livers are hard and we've been reduced to stumbling...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dubuque, IA
(11/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! So So Great
This bar is a favorite hangout, its always enjoyable and the scene is very chill compared to some of the other seedier establishments in iowa city. the beer here is tops, the food is always excellent, but the service is usually lacking - the waitresses all seem lazy, drunk, or both. needless to say, their incompetence came through quite clearly when they brought us the wrong pitcher - 3 times in a row! despite this outrage, i still love this great bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Odell John Odell, Des Moines, IA, IA
(11/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To set the record strait, Gary Fitzpatrick did not fire the brewmaster Mark Duchow. The same brewer that doubled his production and won him two medals at the GABF 2001 and one WBC 2002. Mark quite because he was tired of Gary's unprofesional conduct. If you enjoyed Mark's beer look for his beer at the Upper Mississippi Brewing Co. in Clinton, Iowa. Also in the late fall you may find him at the Duchow Brewing Co./ Dock of the Bay Okauchee, Wisconsin.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Duchow Mark Duchow, okauchee, WI
(08/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good So So
It seems that the beer has gone down hill, maybe they should clean the lines, I like my beer thick but not with chunks. Everytime you stop in you can see the owner drunk in the corner of the bar, how sad. Maybe he should stop drinking and clean the bathrooms.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john stevenson john stevenson, west branch, IA
(08/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I stopped back at Fitzgerald's on a recent Iowa City visit. The quality of the beer, food and service continues to be very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Pierce Bill Pierce, Highwood, IL
(07/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
I have been to this brewpub 4 times. Unfortunately the beer has gotten worse over the past several months. The first time in, the beer was very good, however, my last visit, only one or two in the bunch. What happened?? Apparently they are having some trouble with the system. Some very strange flavors in the beer and very flat. Food was good and service was good, mainly because of all the good looking ladies tending to the patrons. I hope they get the problem solved, because this place has alot of potential.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Huntley, IL
(07/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Good Good
On a recent visit there were 11 beers on tap, so a sampler was in order. The best was the stout,very smooth and drinkable. The worst was the red, which was sour and couldn't be consumed. The rest fell somewhere in between "decent" and "not worth ordering a pint of it". Food and service were pretty good, but they gotta do something about those bathrooms - they are small, smell bad, and weren't in complete working order.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Fielding Carl Fielding, Ann Arbor, MI
(07/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
Great looking building, interior and waitress, but the beer was just okay at best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Des Plaines, IL
(06/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
Iowa City certainly has a great selection of bars and restaurants available to its residents and visitors. Some people, myself included, would argue that no city in Iowa comes close to rivaling the superiority of the Iowa City scene. One establishment, in my opinion, deserves mention. This brewpub, located on Gilbert Street, is only blocks away from the multitude of bars downtown, yet seems to be on another planet in terms of atmosphere. Fitspatrick's/Brewery gives patrons the choice of elegant dinning in an impressive setting or the fun environment of an authentic Irish pub. The menu is highlighted by the selection of hand-cut steaks and tender prime rib. For my money though, you cannot beat the salmon club, it's remarkable. The staff is fun and energetic, adding to the experience. The real reason I keep coming back is the selection of house beers. There is a wide selection, catering to the diverse tastes of beer-lovers everywhere. There is a wit that is mavelous, very crisp, a light beer that puts Bud Light and Lite Beer to shame, a wheat beer that is tasty, a brown and pale ale that are both very satisfying, an award-winning stout that I have heard to be described as 'dangerously smooth', and my favorite, the double bach, rich and creamy packing a major punch. There really isn't anything more enjoyable than putting away a few of these terrific brews in the beer garden on a sunny Iowa City afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Walter Slopcheckt Walter Slopcheckt, Iowa City, IA
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The beer and service are excellent. I enjoy the laid back atmosphere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Minneapolis, MN
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! So So Great
I just stopped down for a pint of stout after visiting the Sanctuary just up the street. This stout is fantastic but I never knew how good it was. It seam that the Celtic Stout won a bronze at the World Beer Cup 2002 along with a Silver from the Great American Beer Fest 2001. Now I Know why I love this stout, #2 in the nation and #3 in the world. So tonight we drank a pitcher of Celtic Stout and ate free buffalo wings. The beer is awesome, the food is great, but the service, they are good looking but not the most motivated bunch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from captain snake captain snake, okauchee, WI
(06/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I absolutely love Fitzpatrick's. The best part about it is the atmosphere. The employees are all good looking, generally very nice and all the while you get to drink the best beer in Iowa City and munch on some tasty food. What more could you ask for? This bar knows how to keep their customers coming back. I know I will!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review iowa cty, IA
(06/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
ever since i was a little boy i've had a dream. a dream that at sometime, somewhere, there would be a place where people could gather merrily and drink fine beer in perfect harmony with their fellow man. that dream became a reality last night when i found fitzpatricks brewery in iowa city. the first thing i noticed was the interior of the building, which can be effectively summed up in one word. . . majestic. newly renovated, its high vaulted ceilings accomodate two very classic looking copper kettles located behind the bar. the hardwood floors and a finely varnished oak decour revealed that somebody in the place had style. after becoming accustomed to the atmosphere, i began to scope out the personnel. one look at the waiters and i knew i was dealing with capable men. they were intelligent, articulate, sophisticated, and mildly attractive. . .i also couldn't help but notice that their uniforms were having a very difficult time containing the enormous muscles that bulged within, and i concluded that they must spend the majority of their time in the gym. their ringleader, a man that they affectionately called "old man baker," was mercilessly brutal. He drove his staff like a team of underfed oxen. and although I dind't witness it personally, he seemed capable of unspeakable violence. whatever he did though, it seemed to work, because the service was beyond excellent. when i sat down was when the real action began. the beautiful waitresses, like godesses, descended upon my table to take my order. They bathed me in attnetion and service, and seemed to be perfect human beings, with the gentleness of their manners matched only by the charm of their smiles. I quickly decided that if i was to be reincarnated, i wanted to come back as a tight fitting fitzpatricks uniform, so that i could always be near those heavenly girls. it is also worth noting that i would have found the male waiters to be appealing too, if i were sexually inclined in that direction. Now on to the most important part of my journey, the beer tasting. After one sip of stout i knew that brewer mark duchow was a master of his craft, an artist of the highest integrity. i began to taste beer after beer, each one seeming more exquisite and brilliant than the previous. after 3 beers i was oogling those angelic waitresses, after 7 i was oogling both the waitresses AND the waiters, and by the time i had tried the 11th impossibly perfect beer, well, by that time even those classically constructed copper kettles were beginning to arouse me. as my frenzy continued, i found myself in a state of absolute bliss, i had finally reached that pinnacle of ecstatcy that i had so often dreamed of as a little boy. Brewery, I can honestly say that you have made my dreams come true. Thank you. You saved my life. god bless. oh, and the food was good too. -- conrad simpkins, davenport, ia

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from conrad simpkins conrad simpkins, davenport, IA
(06/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
I've known Ray for over 20 years, the food was always tops. Our waiter, Matt, was a nice young gentleman who also had a nice cute butt. He added a lot to the ambiance of the restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tiffin, IA
(06/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Being a resident of I.C. I have come to enjoy what Fitzpatrick's has to offer along the lines of "house beers". I can honestly say that I have at least dabbled in every beer that they have to offer, aside from their seasonal ales, and the only one that is less than something to write home about goes by the name of Nutty Professor Brown Ale. The food was above average with a diverse yet somewhat pricey dinner menu aside from their extensive specials, which we had to ask about. There were attentive waitresses, whom of which were almost too good looking, to say the least I developed a short term studdering problem. Located in good company (between the Green Room and the Vine on S. Gilbert) the nicely renovated Brewery could easily suit the needs of small gatherings.This place is a must stop if you are frequently in I.C. and looking for a change in scenery. War the fact that a tall Jack & Coke will cure the feeling of a frozen bar stool on a frigid fall night, and if there were ever an absolute alternative to Guiness in an "Irish Car Bomb" it goes by the name of Celtic Stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rusty "Naughty" Schackelford, Cedar Rapids, IA
(05/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The selection of steaks is good in size and the baked potato is awesome. The atmosphere is nice and relaxing. Try the spinach artichoke dip it's delicious.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from the big dog the big dog, iowa city, IA
(05/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good Good
Not what I expected since this brewpub has done well in national competitions. Old refurbished building this worn fixtures and noicey. 11 beers on tap that were not that exciting. OK bar food. Service was the best part of our visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Ames, IA
(04/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Ordered a prime rib sandwich and they brought shaved roast beef. Bartender copped a attitude when I questioned him about sandwich. Place was empty and service was lousy. Red ale was undrinkable. Don't bother stopping.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cedar Rapids, IA
(01/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
We were the only two folks in the place for lunch. The stout was good, as was the red. Food was good also. After lunch,I asked for a sample of the wheat--it was not good and ordered an ale. Imagine my suprise when we got the bill and they charged 50 cents for a lousy sample of the wheat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cedar Rapids, IA
(12/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
The beer is only OK, but that's actually a huge step up from where this place used to be--you can believe the older posts here, the house brews used to be absolutely horrible. It's getting better, but there's still room for imrovement. For one thing, they serve their beers WAY too cold, and most of the patrons still drink Bud and Miller. I hope they continue to improve, but I remain skeptical.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Rask Tim Rask, Iowa City, IA
(11/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The beer is considerably better since new brewer Mark Duchow arrived in the Spring of 2001. The selection was limited, but all of the beers we tried were worthy of praise. The food was excellent as well, although a little pricey. Iowa City has deserved better for a long time, and it's encouraging to see the improvement.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Pierce Bill Pierce, Highwood, IL
(08/06/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.26 seconds) 20:21:16 54.234.217.88, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS