PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


River City Brewing Company - Wichita, KS
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 05:03 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > KS > Wichita > River City Brewing Company
River City Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
River City Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 74.3 / 100
150 North Mosley Street
Wichita, KS 67202
United States
(316) 362-2739
Last Updated: December 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wichita, KS
Beer Guide for Kansas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of River City Brewing Company
30 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

2) Anchor Drinking Establishment
(2 miles)

3) Brews Brothers
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Castle Inn Riverside
2) Inn At the Park
3) Purdue House
4) Vermilion Rose
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CAMBRIDGE SUITES
2) COMFORT SUITES AIRPORT
3) HAMPTON INN WICHITA WEST
4) HOTEL AT OLDTOWN
5) HYATT REGENCY WICHITA
6) LA QUINTA INN & STES DOWNTOWN
7) WICHITA SUITES HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Administration Building
2) Allen, Henry J., House
3) Arkansas Valley Lodge No. 21, Prince Hall Masons
4) Calvary Baptist Church
5) Campbell, B. H., House
6) Carey House
7) Clapp, L. W., House
8) Engine House No. 6
9) Fairmount Cottage
10) Gelbach House
11) Hayford Buildings
12) Hillside Cottage
13) Hypatia House
14) International Harvester Building
15) Kelly, Edward M., House
16) Kress, S. H., Company Building
17) Lassen Hotel
18) Long, Chester I., House
19) Mack, John, Bridge
20) McCormick School
21) Monroe--Mahan House
22) Munger, Darius Sales, House
23) Nokomis and Navarre Apartment Buildings
24) North Topeka Avenue-10th Street Historic District
25) Occidental Hotel
26) Old Sedgwick County Courthouse
27) Old Wheeler-Kelly-Hagny Building
28) Orpheum Theater and Office Building
29) Riverside Cottage
30) Riverview Apartments
31) Rock Island Depot
32) Scottish Rite Temple
33) Sedgwick County Memorial Hall and Soldiers and Sailors Monument
34) Stackman Court Apartments
35) Sternberg, William, House
36) University Hall, Friends University
37) US Post Office and Federal Building--Wichita
38) Virginia Apartment Building
39) Wall, Judge T. B., House
40) Wichita City Carnegie Library Building
41) Wichita City Hall
42) Wichita Wholesale Grocery Company
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 626 Douglas Restaurant
2) America's Pub
3) Andy's Ice Cream
4) Angela's Cafe
5) Angela's Cafe
6) Area 51 Bar & Grill
7) Artichoke Sandwich Bar
8) Azteca Restaurant
9) Bar's Open
10) Beacon Restaurant
11) Beglaryan Cafe
12) Bellini's Pizzeria
13) Berube Snack Shop
14) Bierock Kitchen
15) Big Man's Eats
16) Big Sky
17) Big Sky Bar & Grill
18) Binh Minh Restaurant
19) Bionic Burger Hamburgers
20) Blimpie Subs & Salads
21) Boulevard
22) Boyd's Carry-Out
23) Braum's Ice Cream & Dairy
24) Breakfast Club Restaurant
25) Brown Stone Grill
26) Brown's Cafe
27) Burger King
28) Burger King
29) Burger Stand
30) Cafe Bel Ami
31) Calvin's Hamburger Haven
32) Canteen Co Of Wichita
33) Cantonese Chinese Food
34) Capital Enterprises Inc
35) Capital On Topeka
36) Chipotle Mexican Grill
37) Church's Chicken
38) Classic Gourmet Catering Inc
39) Club
40) Corporate Caterers Of Wichita
41) Corporate Caterers Of Wichita
42) Coulter Steakhouse
43) Da Nang Sandwich
44) Dairy Queen
45) Dairy Queen
46) Davis Bbq
47) Dick & Jayne's Restaurant
48) Doc's Steak House
49) Dog N Shake Drive In
50) Dog N Shake Inc
51) Don's Restaurant
52) Downtown Barbecue
53) Downtown Snackers
54) Dunn Ventures
55) Dutch's Steak House
56) Dyne Quik
57) Egg Roll King
58) El Patio Restaurant
59) El Rosal
60) El Torero Mexican Restaurant
61) Emerson Biggin's
62) Finns
63) Flashbacks
64) Fong's Restaurant
65) Gallahad Enterprises
66) Garvey Snack Shop
67) Genny's Cold Brew Lounge
68) Gilmo's
69) Golden House
70) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
71) Grinder Man
72) Herb Garden Restaurant
73) Hernandez Mexican Cafe
74) Hien 2
75) Hotel At Old Town Conference
76) Imbiss Grille
77) J & D Group Inc
78) Jack's North Hi Carry Out
79) Jagers Steak House & Bar
80) Java Nation Inc
81) Jet Bar-B-Q
82) John Barleycorn's Bar & Grill
83) Juanita's Kitchen
84) Kfc
85) Kilimanjaro Coffee House
86) Kim Huong
87) King Burger Corp
88) Kings-X Commissary
89) Kings-X Inc
90) Kvf 84
91) Kyoto Garden
92) La Chinita Mexican Restaurant
93) La Galette
94) Larkspur Restaurant & Grill
95) Laurie's Bar & Grill
96) Loft
97) Loft Cocktails
98) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
99) Lords Diner
100) Mama's Homestyle Fixins
101) Maria's Mexican Restaurant
102) Matt & Julia's Restaurant
103) Mc Donald's
104) Mc Donald's
105) Mc Donald's
106) Mc Donald's
107) Mc Donald's
108) Merle's Place
109) Mexican Burrito
110) Ming's Cantonese Restaurant
111) Mosley Street Melodramas
112) Nifty Kitchen
113) Night Owl
114) North Broadway Diner
115) North Broadway Diner
116) Nu-Way Sandwich Shops
117) Ol Mexico Cafe & Carryout
118) Old Chicago
119) Old Marple House Of Blues
120) Old Mill Tasty Shop
121) Olympus Inc Century Plz Bldg
122) Otherside
123) Papa John's Pizza
124) Petroleum Club Of Wichita
125) Pho
126) Pho 99
127) Piccadilly Express
128) Pig In Pig Out
129) Pizza Hut
130) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
131) Pump House Diner
132) Quizno's Classic Subs
133) Quizno's Classic Subs
134) Ray Sales Co
135) Red Bean's Cafe
136) Restaurant 155
137) River City Brewery
138) River's Edge Forever
139) Riverside Cup Of Tea
140) Ruben & Antia's Tacos
141) Saigon Restaurant
142) Snoops
143) Sonic Drive-In
144) Southwinds Bar & Grill
145) Spaghetti Warehouse
146) Spangles Restaurant
147) Spangles Restaurant
148) Spoonz 242
149) Sport Burger
150) Strictly Business Cafe
151) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
152) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
153) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
154) T J's Burger House
155) Taco Express
156) Taco John's
157) Taco Nacho
158) Taco Rio
159) Taco Shop
160) Taco Shop
161) Taco Tico Inc
162) Taco Tico Inc
163) Takhoma Burger
164) Takhoma Burger
165) Tanya's Soup Kitchen
166) Terri's Take-Out
167) Tom's Lotus Garden
168) Toni D's Too
169) Torre's Pizzeria
170) Traditions Cafe At WSU
171) Triangle Tavern
172) Ty's Diner
173) Uptown Bistro
174) W W's Burger Stand
175) Wendy's
176) Whiskey Creek Steak House
177) White Rock Cafe
178) Wichita Train Depot
179) Wil-Ken Enterprises Inc
180) Yellow River Restaurant
181) Your Sandwich Shop
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good So So Good
This place had a huge selection of beers on tap, but many of them seemed to have been concocted by sorority girls (pineapple saison?, mojito wheat?). We had a decent stout, and one their IPAs (they had several) were not too bad. But, as is usually the case, nearly all of the beers were a little too light for the style. If oddball beers are your thing, this place sure has a big selection. If you are looking for a west coast-like IPA, one of their "special" IPAs might suit the bill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom tom , las cruces, NM
(07/05/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Was lucky to be able to have their awesome rye stout just before they ran out. Sure hope they repeat this one! The expanded beer offering is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Latzer John Latzer, Parsons, KS
(07/02/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
The ladies working the bar and tables were extremely helpful. The IPA and Stout were excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, West Des Moines, IA
(02/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Visited week of Oct 18. I did very much enjoy the quality of the beers. Good selection and nicely crafted.

Food selection standard pub food. Enjoyable but nothing exciting.

Yes I would, will and plan to visit there anytime I am in Wichita.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank J. Russo Frank J. Russo, Havelock, NC
(10/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Had a brief visit on the first Tuesday of August 09. The IPA was decent. The Kansan pizza was supposed to be special by including buffalo, which I didn't notice. The pizza was nothing special (about a step up from frozen).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, philadelphia, PA
(08/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A great place which ebmraces it's local culture from the names of the beer to the food. I was in Wichita during the week so I didn't have the chance to experience the bar environment upstairs, but I'm sure it is a good weekend destination. The bartender was very friendly. Keep up the good work guys.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dmitriy Dmitriy, Iowa City, IA
(10/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Yeah Thats one thing that sucks in Kansas you cant order your burger how you want it they all have to be mae medium well Health Regulations i hated it because i like mine mr.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Ogletree Jay Ogletree, St. Petersburg, FL
(07/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
So-so, I really question the cleanlessness of the brewery. The flavor was off.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from L Henson L Henson, Wichita, KS
(06/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
We visit Wichita twice a year and Rivercity Brewery is a must visit every time! The beer quality has improved over the last few years, as I am sure it has something to do with the dedicated brewmaster. My last visit was around their annual celebration. The seasonal bourbon stout just keeps getting better. But be sure to try my favorite, Rock Island Red.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Richardson Mark Richardson, Edmond, OK
(05/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I spent a week staying at the Hyatt for a training event in Wichita and was glad that this place was just a short walk away. I stopped in twice and had a great time both nights. The beers were good, the food was great, and the staff, as well as the people at the bar, were friendly. The brewpub is located in the Old Town area in a brick building with a wrap around porch. I never ventured upstairs, but there apparently is a bar called Loft 150 upstairs. Downstairs there is a long wood bar with windows behind it overlooking the brewing vessels.

The first night that I stopped in was a Wednesday which happened to be “Big Ass Beer Night.” They were serving all of their beers in large 22 ounce glasses for the same price as a pint. I started with the Tornado IPA, which was my favorite of the evening. It had an amber color and a crisp, dry, bitter, citrusy hop flavor. I next tried the Emerald City Stout, which was also quite good; black with ruby highlights, smooth with a slightly nutty roasted malt flavor. I had a great buffalo burger with BBQ sauce for dinner. As I was eating and enjoying my beers the brewer was in the process of mashing a batch behind the bar. For dessert I tried the seasonal Honey Rye, which was thankfully served in a smaller pilsner glass. This was a strong (12%) amber colored beer; sweet up front but with a bitter, rye finish. I normally don’t like honey beers because they are often too sweet, but I think the dry rye malt really made this beer quite drinkable. I fully intended to end the evening at this point, but the two people who had sat next to me at the bar were very into beer and as we all talked, I found myself ordering another. By the end of the evening I had tried all six beers that they offered; quite a feat considering it was Big Ass Beer Night. I also tried the Rock Island Red, which was a deep amber, almost red colored beer; well balanced but a bit light in body – not my favorite of the evening (but at this point it was getting hard to tell). I also tried the wheat and the brown ale.

Two days later, after I had finally recovered from Big Ass Beer night, I went back for a second visit. I was really happy that I did because it turned out to be “Randal Night.” They were serving a “randalized” version of their IPA using “Randal the Enamel Animal,” an invention created by Sam Calagione of Dogfish Head Craft Brewery. Randal is a contraption that is used to infuse more hop aroma and flavor into the beer. The IPA flowed from the keg through the device, which was filled with Cascade hop flowers, then through a cooler (and I assume a copper coil buried in ice to chill the beer) and then into the glass. I had read about this device many times, but never seen one in action before. I thought that the IPA was even better this way. It was just slightly cold (as a good IPA should be) and had a nice fresh hop aroma and flavor. I had some great fish and chips with a couple of IPAs. I also tried the Old Town Brown, which I had tried the previous night but really didn’t remember all that well. It was a decent reddish-brown colored ale; a bit bitter with a malty background. They had some good live music at the bar (a guy who said he used to play for Tommy Two-Tone [867-5309] in the 80’s but now just plays hippy music), and I had another great evening here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(11/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Good service and good food. Brew was good as well. Musician on Saturday night is very good. Not super loud just the right level.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Salina, KS
(11/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
The beer was awsome I loved the River City Red the rest were great with the exception of the rasberry which I was told will be switched to an IPA on the taps soon. The staff was warm and they had been educated on the beer, the master brewer was a pleasure to talk to. I will most definetly be going here again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Sheboygan Falls, WI
(07/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
Was disappointed there was no IPA on tap, the hoppiest was the red which was good. Had 2 stouts on tap the emerald city which was our favorite the other stout was an Imperial very strong also good. The wheat was good. All the beers were clean. The service really needs improvement. We would return to this brewery next time we are in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike and Dollie Motter Mike and Dollie Motter, harrah, OK
(01/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
First time here (hell, first time in Wichita), and some parts were pretty impressive. The building, in the Old Town section, was a neat old brick place, solid inside and out, with a big wraparound wooden porch/dock. Bar downstairs was where we headed, and ordered a stout and an IPA. Both were a bit sweeter than I expected, but good, real good, and clean. Food was good, though the chips with our artichoke dip were a bit stale (bizarrely plentiful, though!): our burgers were delish. The only rankling thing was the service. The bartender was taking our order and just walked away mid-sentence when the phone rang (what, anyone on the phone is more important than a bar customer?); she didn't ask how we wanted our burgers done (we got them medium, I prefer rare); and she got the wrong cheese on my buddy's burger...and didn't seem too upset by it. Bummer. But we talked to brewer Dan Norton, who was great, pleasant, knew his stuff, and got us samples of beers we hadn't had (we'd gotten pints of brown and red to go with lunch, also good; the red was nice and hoppy, brown a bit chocolate-tinged), and let us try a sample of a young pseudo-lambic framboise he was making (it's definitely a bug-beer, and had a beautiful red color). All in all? A definite return-worthy brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(10/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
This was my second trip to River City. The stout, as before, was by far their best beer-very drinkable. The brown ale was good but not memorable. I sampled the wheat-an American style that was very light and slightly hazy.

Food: Had the beef stew which was very good.

I'll go back next time in Wichita.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
I have been going to Rivercity Brewery since their second day of business. The beer varies from very good to not so good depending. Rock Island Red is almost always drinkable and uses tetnag hops as well as hallateau (rather unusual for an ale).

The menu is extensive, but the food is good to so-so. The burgers and pizza's are the best choices.

If you are in Wichita, Rivercity is worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Charles Burdsal Charles Burdsal, Wichita, KS
(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great
Service was great on our last visit, Food even better. Beers are good, but keep hoping for something new and really tasty! I like the wheat and the stout especially.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jonathon Wild Jonathon Wild, salina, KS
(06/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Great "Old Town" area. Worth a visit.Staff could be better trained on the beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Beus Rick Beus, Salina, KS
(09/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Located in a revitilized downtown entertainment area. Had two stouts, of which the vanilla was very tasty. Wheat beer was average, brown ale was above average but not memorable. All in all, not a bad place to get a micro given that there are no other brewpubs in Wichita.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick D. Rick D., Houston, TX
(08/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Make sure to go upstairs and check out the upstairs bar, pool tables and juke box. This is a GREAT place to hang out, shoot pool, drink good microbrew on a cold night in Wichita.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jefferson T. Packer Jefferson T. Packer, N. Canton, OH
(10/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
We had a great time - especially liked the stout; steak was quite good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Columbus, MS
(08/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy So So N/A
The service was bad. The servers know nothing about beer except the color. The beer and the food was good. A management company called KC Hops took over the operation about 2 months ago and made some changes in the brewery. I hope they educate their waitstaff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Clarksburg, WV
(04/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good
The service is terrible. My girlfriend ordered the sampler and the waitress did not even bother commenting on what was what. Very average. Beer quality has improved very much in the past year. A little more hoppy. I think that the aging process has also been improved some how. "Old Town Brown" is very good. So is the Wheat Beer (hey, it's Kansas isn't it?)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wichita, KS
(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Great Good Good
The beer quality is now more consistant after getting a new brewmaster (from Oregon) in early 1998.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Meirowsky Steve Meirowsky, Wichita, KS
(11/11/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.258 seconds) 05:03:08 54.82.66.236, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS