PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Chimes Restaurant and Tap Room - Baton Rouge, LA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 30, 2014 @ 11:17 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > LA > Baton Rouge > The Chimes Restaurant and Tap Room
The Chimes Restaurant and Tap Room Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
The Chimes Restaurant and Tap Room
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85.6 / 100
3357 Highland Road
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
United States
(225) 383-1754
Listed Since: July 1996
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Baton Rouge, LA
Beer Guide for Louisiana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of The Chimes Restaurant and Tap Room
39 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Slinky's Tavern
(0 mile)

2) Tin Roof Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast Travel
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BATON ROUGE MARRIOTT
2) BEST WESTERN MAGNOLIA MANOR
3) BW CHATEAU LOUISIANNE HOTEL
4) BW RICHMOND SUITES HOTEL BATON
5) CHASE SUITE HOTEL BATON ROUGE
6) COMFORT INN UNIVERSITY
7) COMFORT SUITES COLLEGE DRIVE
8) COMFORT SUITES PORT ALLEN
9) COOK CONFERENCE CENTER HOTEL
10) CORPORATE INN
11) COURTYARD ACADIAN
12) DAYS INN PORT ALLEN SUITES LA
13) EMBASSY SUITES BATON ROUGE
14) EXTENDEDSTAY CITIPLACE
15) HAMPTON INN BATN ROUGE 10
16) HOMEWOOD STE BATON ROUGE
17) LA QUINTA INN BATON ROUGE
18) OAKWOOD BATON ROUGE
19) RAMADA INN CAPITAL CONF CTR
20) SHERATON BATON ROUGE CONV HTL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adams House
2) Aillet House
3) Barthel Pigeonnier
4) Baton Rouge High School
5) Baton Rouge Junior High School
6) Baton Rouge National Cemetery
7) Baton Rouge Waterworks Company Standpipe
8) Belisle Building
9) Capital City Press Building
10) Central Fire Station
11) Dufrocq School
12) Florence Coffee House
13) French House, The
14) Fuqua Hardware Store Building
15) Hart House
16) Hebert House
17) Heidelberg Hotel
18) LSU Campus Mounds
19) Magnolia Mound Plantation Dependency
20) Magnolia Mound Plantation House
21) Main Street Historic District
22) Manship House
23) McKinley High School
24) Monte Vista Plantation House
25) Nicholson School
26) Old Louisiana Governor's Mansion
27) Old Louisiana State Capitol
28) Old Post Office
29) Pecue House
30) Pentagon Barracks
31) Petitpierre--Kleinpeter, Joseph, House
32) Planter's Cabin
33) Poplar Grove Plantation House
34) Port Allen High School
35) Potts House
36) Powder Magazine
37) Prince Hall Masonic Temple
38) Reiley-Reeves House
39) Reymond House
40) Roumain Building
41) Sandbar Plantation House
42) Sanders, Jared Young, Jr., House
43) Scott Street School
44) St. James Episcopal Church
45) St. Joseph Cathedral
46) Stewart-Dougherty House
47) Tessier Buildings
48) U.S.S. KIDD
49) US Post Office and Courthouse--Baton Rouge
50) Warden's House--Old Louisiana State Penitentiary
51) Winans, Fonville, Studio
52) Yazoo and Mississippi Valley Railroad Company Depot
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A C & A Restaurant & Cafe
2) America's Pub
3) Ami's Catering
4) Argosy Casino
5) Arzi's Restaurant
6) Atcha Bakery & Cafe'
7) Avoyelles Cafe
8) Avoyelles On The River
9) Avoyelles On The River
10) Baskin-Robbins
11) Beauregard Gallery & Bistro
12) Black Forest Restaurant
13) Blimpie Subs & Salads
14) Blimpie Subs & Salads
15) Brenda Walker Inc
16) Burger King
17) Burger King
18) Burton's Grill
19) Bus Stop Snack Shop
20) C C's Gourmet Coffee House
21) Cafe Chi Alpha
22) Cafe Du Monde
23) Cafe Express
24) Cafe Mediterranean Inc
25) Cafe Reggae LLC
26) Caila's Fine Cuisine
27) Capitol Bistro
28) Casselberry's Cafe
29) Caterie
30) Charlie Coffee LLC
31) Chatter Box Lounge
32) Chelsea's Cafe
33) Chicago Steak Bar & Grill
34) Chicken Shack
35) Chimes Restaurant
36) China House Downtown
37) Chinese Inn-Nicholson
38) Christina's Restaurant
39) Christina's Restaurant
40) Church's Chicken
41) Church's Chicken
42) Church's Chicken
43) Coffee Star Cafe & Bakehouse
44) Crash Landing
45) Culture
46) D H D's Gourmet Delivery
47) Denny's
48) Department Of Labor Cafeteria
49) Desiree's
50) Digiulio Brothers
51) Dillon-Poche Caterers
52) Dippin' Dots
53) Domino's Pizza
54) Donald Johnson Catering Svc
55) Downtown Seafood
56) Duvic's
57) Ellington's Bar & Grille
58) Enterprise Lounge
59) Fayes Subs & Salads
60) Florida Food Mart
61) Fortune Kitchen
62) Frostop
63) Gate 7 Bar & Grill
64) George's
65) George's Place
66) Gli Food Svc
67) Harrington's Cafe
68) Highland Coffees
69) Hound Dogs
70) Inga's Subs & Salads
71) International Marketplace Bfft
72) Ivar's Sports Bar & Grill
73) Jack In The Box
74) Jackson Cab & Cafe
75) Jaggs Classic Corner
76) Jambalaya Shoppe
77) Jay's Bar-B-Q
78) Jobe's Cafe
79) Joe Delpit Enterprises Inc
80) John's Seafood & Restaurant
81) John's Seafood & Restaurant
82) Juban's Restaurant & Catering
83) L
84) LA Madeleine Bakery & Bistro
85) Lillies Diner
86) Lillies Tavern
87) Lindsey's Diner
88) Little Tokyo
89) Living Waters Diner
90) Lone Star Steakhouse
91) Louie's Cafe
92) Louie's Cafe
93) Lyceum Dean Ballroom
94) M's Fine & Mello Cafe
95) Marrazil
96) Match Box Cafe & Lounge
97) Mc Donald's
98) Mc Donald's
99) Mid-City Cafe
100) Mike's Poor Boy
101) Mortorano's Italian Deli
102) Mr Gatti's Pizza
103) Mr Payroll
104) North Gate Tavern
105) Outback Steakhouse
106) Pam's Place
107) Parrain's
108) Pastime Restaurant & Lounge
109) Pedreaux's
110) Petit' Marche
111) Piccadilly Cafeteria
112) Pinetta's European Restaurant
113) Pisces Lounge
114) Pizza Hut
115) Plantation Bar-B-Que
116) Poor Boy Lloyd's
117) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
118) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
119) Portobello's Italian Grill
120) Promise Land Restaurant
121) Quiznos Sub
122) Raising Cane's
123) Raising Canes
124) Rama Restaurant
125) Red Flower Restaurant
126) Redstar
127) Richoux's
128) Riverside Patty
129) Rocco's Po-Boys & Cafe
130) Rocket Fajitas
131) Rocket Fajitas
132) Roly Poly
133) Roul Deli
134) Rucker's
135) Saigon
136) Serop's Restaurant Inc
137) Serops Express
138) Serranos Salsa Co
139) Shing's Chinese Restaurant
140) Slinky's
141) Snowflake Bar-B-Que
142) Sogo Live
143) Sonic Drive-In
144) Southern Cuisine Ent LLC
145) Spanish Moon
146) SPLASH
147) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
148) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
149) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
150) Swamp Mama's
151) T J Moran & Assoc
152) T J Ribs
153) Tabby Blues Box Heritage Hall
154) Taste By Yvette Bonanno
155) Taylormade Gourmet
156) Tea House Cafe
157) Thai Kitchen
158) The Buzz Cafe
159) Thirsty Tiger Tavern
160) Touch Of Class Lounge
161) Tsunami Sushi
162) Varsity Theatre
163) Wendy's
164) Wienerschnitzel
165) Yvette Marie's
166) Zeeland Street Market
167) Zippy's Burrito's Tacos & More
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Several of the previous reviews have pegged the tap selection fairly well – five Abita taps, a few other nationally available craft beers, and a decent variety of imports with few surprises. There are some pretty good choices among the bottle selection as well. The beer variety is shown on the website. I had a large bottle of a seasonal Christmas ale from England on our recent visit, which was our first trip back to the Chimes in a number of years. And as others have said, the food is quite good. We only had a light lunch on this visit, and found the gumbo and the corn & shrimp chowder to be excellent. We were fortunate with our timing, arriving early in the afternoon on a Saturday not long before the crowd from the 11:00 AM LSU women’s basketball game invaded the place. We were done and on the road in reasonable time. The Chimes is worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(01/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
This is the best selection of beer in Baton Rouge. But I still find their selection to be lacking. As a previous writer stated all the major beers you would expect to be there are: Boddingtons, Courage, Mcewans, Guiness, Sierra Nevada, Abita etc... In my own opinion I think the beer selection is ok but there is a lot to be improved on. The do in edition have a pretty good selection of scotches that make up for what they lack in beer selection. Overall I give this bar a 8 out of 10. For Baton Rouge I give it a 11 out of 10 there is nothing like it in this city. Never Been disapointed with the food or service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Baton ROUge, LA
(06/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The cheese fries saved my life one night. There is no other.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Portland, OR
(12/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The best selection of beers in BR, although there are too many "standard" beers on the menu. This place is always busy and the "scenery" is always tantalizing. The gumbo was awesome. Parking is a major issue here. The place to go in BR for brews and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(12/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
It has a great scene. I love it there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Baton Rouge, LA
(01/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I absolutely love the chimes. it's a baton rouge staple.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Laura Bennett Laura Bennett, baton rouge, LA
(11/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
Not a bad place to start out if you are going to do the Chimes St. barhop thing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lindsey James Lindsey James, New Orleans, LA
(10/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
College years+Friends+Chimes= Lifelong Memories

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ricardo Ricardo, Baton Rouge, LA
(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
went to l.s.u. 87-91 great bar like cheers of b.r.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JASON JASON, MIAMI, FL
(08/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Wish I could have an oyster po-boy right now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Randleman, NC
(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
I had my first Big Easy Beer here. Awesome local beer cool tap handle she's HOTT Great Food

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review chalmette, LA
(06/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The beer selection is amazing, my faves are John Courage and Guiness on tap. Also loved the artichoke dip....was great!! Have to go here if ever in BR.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Valerie Valerie, Brusly, LA
(06/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
I love the food at the Chimes, I am not a big drinker but the drinks that I have had have been excellent. I graduated in '97 and there is still no place on earth like it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kei, Simmesport, La
(05/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
In my opinion The Chimes is one of THE spots in Baton Rouge. The food and drinks are top notch and the waitresses are hot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review supreme, Baton Rouge, LA
(04/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
I just moved to Seattle and I already miss the chimes...nothing around here even begins to compare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ryan C., Seattle, WA
(03/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
I wasn't sure what to expect regarding beer, since most of the reviews are of the atmosphere and coeds. Fortunately, it did turn out to be a good beer pub. There were 37 brews on tap. They included a full range of Abita beers, as well as a mix of national microbrews and imports. I tried their John Courage, Spaten Optimator, and a DinkleAcker. This was at lunchtime and there was no crowd. The location is right across from a gate opening onto the LSU campus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stewart Eastman Stewart Eastman, New Orleans, LA
(01/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
most fun, relaxing, laid back good time bar in baton rouge... with varsity next door

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beenie beenie, Destrehan, LA
(01/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great alcohol selection! Plenty of women! Friendly atmosphere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Destrehan, LA
(12/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Even though I don't drink beer (I know, that's a dangerous thing to say around here) I love the Chimes. The food is great, fun atmosphere, and their selection of *other* drinks is excellent as well. Even though I don't *drink* it, the beer selection is great and had completely awed friends from out of town when I take them by there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Melanie Melanie, Denham Springs, LA
(12/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
the chimes is not only a really neat place to eat or drink, it's the best, most *interesting* place i've ever worked. i laugh approximately 2344252432 times a working day. thanks to all the gals and guys that make going there a pleasure. xoxo

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cat cat, baton rouge, LA
(10/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I just recently moved to Washington D.C. and I miss the Chimes already. The food is terrific and the beer choices are awesome. I spent at least 3 nights a week in the Chimes during my under-grad days at LSU. The waiters were first rate and you are always bound to know someone at the Chimes. It's the first place I am coming when I visit Baton Rouge.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Germany Justin Germany, Washington DC, DC
(10/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Have spent six weeks at The Chimes for the last 3 years during Banking School. Best Place in the world. Love it

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Captain Kirk Captain Kirk, yoohoo, FL
(09/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good
The "overall" rating would be higher if that darned Charlie Smith would ever leave the bar! Just kidding, Charlie!

Co-eds, co-eds, co-eds, it doesn't hurt that the place is literally at the gates of a large university (LSU).

Interesting menu items include alligator and rabbit and a GREAT duck and sausage gumbo.

Oh yeah, the beer's good too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Sheehan John Sheehan, New Orleans, LA
(07/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Spent most of 94/95 in this bar with the other brits, on exchange from England. Visited again in 98 but sorry that renovations had taken away some of the atmosphere. That said, I love this place, nothing better than a skin full then off to the Bayou for pool, and ladies

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Whiteside Mark Whiteside, Blackpool England, UK
(04/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Only place in BR that has a good selection of imports/micros. Menu is good and wide ranging, with the food variable in quality. Lots of coeds.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick D. Rick D., Spring, TX
(02/17/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.197 seconds) 11:17:24 54.211.68.132, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS