PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Blue Star Brewing Company - San Antonio, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 21, 2014 @ 09:46 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > San Antonio > Blue Star Brewing Company
Blue Star Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Blue Star Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.4 / 100
1414 South Alamo Street
The Arts Complex
San Antonio, TX 78212
United States
(210) 212-5506
Listed Since: July 1996
Last Updated: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for San Antonio, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Blue Star Brewing Company
78 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(12 within 5 miles)
1) Joey's
(0 mile)

2) Dick's Last Resort
(3 miles)

3) Alamo Beer Company
(3 miles)

4) Double Dave's Pizzaworks #4
(3 miles)

5) Double Dave's Pizzaworks #2
(3 miles)

6) Cementville
(3 miles)

7) The Lion and Rose
(3 miles)

8) Kangaroo Court
(3 miles)

9) Acapulco Drive Inn
(3 miles)

10) San Antonio Homebrew Supply
(3 miles)

11) Durty Nellie's
(3 miles)

12) La Tuna
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Aaron's Garden Bed & Breakfast
2) Abh Management
3) Academy House of Monte Vista
4) Adams House Bed & Breakfast
5) Arbor House
6) Beauregard House B & B
7) Beckmann Inn & Carriage House
8) Bed & Breakfast Host
9) Bed & Breakfast on the River
10) Bed & Breakfast-Bonner Garden
11) Belle of Monte Vista
12) Brackenridge House B & B Inn
13) Bullis House Bed & Breakfast
14) Chabot Reed House Bed & Brkfst
15) Christmas House Bed & Brkfst
16) Columns on Alamo B & B Inn
17) Inn At Craig Place
18) Inn on the River
19) Joske House
20) Little Flower Inn
21) Louisa's Boarding Care
22) Lyons Escape.com
23) Noble Inns
24) O'Casey's Bed & Breakfast
25) Oge House
26) Painted Lady
27) Riverwalk Inn
28) Royal Swan Guest House
29) S A Yellow Rose B & B
30) Tara Inn Bed & Breakfast
31) Terrell Castle Bed & Breakfast
32) Victorian Lady Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALAMO CITY RIVERWALK PLAZA
2) AMERISUITES AIRPORT
3) ANTONIAN INN AND SUITES
4) BEST WESTERN SUITES DOWNTOWN
5) BEST WESTERN SUNSET RIVERWALK
6) BW POSADA ANA INN AIRPORT
7) BW POSADA ANA MEDICAL CENTER
8) CLARION HOTEL RIVERWALK
9) COMFORT SUITES CENTRAL
10) COMFORT SUITES DOWNTOWN
11) COURTYARD SAN ANTONIO AIRPORT
12) COURTYARD SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN
13) DAYS INN ALAMO RIVERWALK
14) DAYS INN COLISEUM
15) DAYS INN DOWNTOWN
16) DAYS INN SAN ANTONIO EAST TX
17) DOUBLETREE HOTEL
18) DRURY INN & SUITES RIVERWALK
19) DRURY INN SAN ANTONIO A/P
20) ECONO LODGE INN AND SUITES
21) EMBASSY SUITES
22) EMBASSY SUITES NORTHWEST
23) EMILY MORGAN
24) FAIRFIELD INN SAN ANTONIO ARPT
25) FAIRFIELD INN SAN ANTONIO DTWN
26) FAIRMOUNT HOTEL SAN ANTONIO
27) HAMPTON INN DOWNTOWN
28) HAVANA RIVERWALK INN
29) HILL COUNTRY INN & SUITES
30) HILTON AIRPORT NORTHSTAR
31) HILTON PALACIO DEL RIO
32) HOMEWOOD SUITES RIVERWALK
33) HOTEL VALENCIA RIVERWALK
34) HOWARD JOHNSON EXP INN DWNTN
35) HOWARD JOHNSON RIVERWALK
36) HYATT REGENCY SAN ANTONIO
37) LA MANSION DEL RIO HOTEL
38) LA QUINTA INN MARKET SQUARE
39) LA QUINTA INN VANCE JACKSON
40) LA QUINTA INN WURZBACH
41) LA QUINTA SAN ANTONIO AIRPORT
42) LA QUINTA SAN ANTONIO CONV CTR
43) MARRIOTT SAN ANTONIO RIVERWALK
44) MENGER HOTEL
45) MICROTEL INN & STES NORTHEAST
46) MICROTEL INN & SUITES
47) NOBLE INNS
48) OMNI SAN ANTONIO
49) PEAR TREE INN SAN ANTONIO
50) QUALITY INN & SUITES COLISEUM
51) QUALITY INN N.W MEDICAL CENTER
52) QUALITY INN NEAR SEAWORLD
53) RADISSON MARKET SQUARE
54) RADISSON SAN ANTONIO AIRPORT
55) RAMADA LIMITED DOWNTOWN
56) RAMADA LIMITED EAST
57) RAMADA LIMITED NORTHWEST
58) RED ROOF SAN ANTONIO AIRPORT
59) RED ROOF SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN
60) RESIDENCE INN ALAMO PLAZA
61) RESIDENCE INN SAN ANTONIO
62) RESIDENCE INN SAN ANTONIO ARPT
63) RIVERWALK INN
64) RIVERWALK VISTA
65) RODEWAY INN DOWNTOWN
66) RODEWAY INN NEAR FT SAM HOUSTON
67) SAN ANTONIO ALAMO RIVERWALK TL
68) SAN ANTONIO COURTYARD NORTHSTA
69) SAN ANTONIO MARRIOTT NW
70) SAN ANTONIO MARRIOTT RIVERCTR
71) SHERATON GUNTER
72) SLEEP INN
73) SPRINGHILL SUITES NW LOOP
74) ST ANTHONY WYNDHAM
75) SUPER 8 SAN AN SBC COLISEUM
76) SUPER 8 SAN ANTONIO DWNTWN TX
77) SUPER 8 SAN ANTONIO RIVERWALK
78) THE CROCKETT HOTEL
79) THE WESTIN RIVERWALK
80) TRAVELODGE DOWNTOWN NORTH
81) WOODFIELD SUITES DOWNTOWN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alamo Methodist Church
2) Alamo National Bank Building
3) Alamo Portland and Roman Cement Works
4) Alamo, The
5) Aztec Theater
6) Barr Building
7) Bexar County Courthouse
8) Bonham, James Butler, Elementary School
9) Brady Building--Empire Theater
10) Brooke Army Medical Center
11) Builders Exchange Building
12) Burns Building
13) Bushnell
14) Calcasieu Building
15) Central Trust Company Building
16) Church of Nuestra Senora de la Candelaria y Guadalupe
17) City of San Antonio Municipal Auditorium
18) City Public Service Company Building
19) Clegg, L. B., House
20) Elmendorf, Emil, House
21) Fairmount Hotel, The
22) First National Bank of San Antonio
23) Fourth Ward School
24) Franklin, Thomas H., House
25) Garcia-Garza House
26) Goad Motor Company Building
27) Guenther, Carl Hilmar, House
28) Halff, A. H., House
29) Havana, The
30) International & Great Northern Railroad Passenger Station
31) Lee, Robert E., Hotel
32) Livingston--Hess House
33) Majestic Theatre
34) Maverick Building
35) Maverick--Carter House
36) Meerscheidt, Otto, House
37) Menger Soap Works
38) Merchants Ice and Cold Storage Company
39) Morrison, William J., Jr., House
40) Navarro, Jose Antonio, Elementary School
41) Navarro, Jose Antonio, House Complex
42) Old Lone Star Brewery
43) Old Lone Star Brewery (Boundary Increase)
44) Our Lady of Mount Carmel and St. Therese Church
45) Partee, Hiram, House
46) Pershing House
47) Post Chapel, Fort Sam Houston
48) Prospect Hill Missionary Baptist Church
49) Quadrangle, The
50) Saint Anthony Hotel
51) San Antonio Casino Club Building
52) San Antonio Drug Company
53) San Antonio Loan and Trust Building
54) San Antonio Water Works Pump Station No. 2
55) Schroeder-Yturri House
56) Scottish Rite Cathedral
57) Smith--Young Tower
58) Southern Pacific Railroad Passenger Station
59) Spanish Governor's Palace
60) St. Mark's Episcopal Church
61) Staacke Brothers Building
62) Stevens Building
63) Thiele House and Thiele Cottage
64) Uhl, Gustav, House and Store
65) Ursuline Academy
66) Vogel Belt Complex
67) Woodward, David J. and May Bock, House
68) Wright, L. T., House
69) Ximenes Chapel
70) Yturri--Edmunds House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 2015 Club
2) 8th St Sports Bar
3) A'hon Noodle & Grill
4) Absolutely Everything Catering
5) Aldino Cucina Italiana
6) Angelo's Pizzeria Express
7) Annex
8) Argyle
9) Arriba Bar & Grill
10) Arugula Catering Co
11) Audry's Mexican Restaurant
12) Avenue B Lounge
13) Beijing Broadway Express
14) Beijing Express
15) Bill Miller Bar-B-Q Inc
16) Bill Miller Bar-B-Q Inc
17) Bill Miller Bar-B-Q Inc
18) Bistro Vatel
19) Blanco Cafe
20) Boardwalk Bistro
21) Bombay Bicycle Club
22) Bonanza Steakhouse
23) Branchizio's Naples Restaurant
24) Bright Shawl
25) Broadway Fifty-Fifty
26) Bruno's Restaurant
27) Burger Boy
28) Burger King
29) Bushnell
30) Cafe Espresso Doughnuts
31) Cafe Latino
32) Cafe Rosa
33) Cafe Soleil
34) Candilejas Restaurant & Bar
35) Candlelight Coffeehouse
36) Capparelli's On Main
37) Cappy's Restaurant
38) Cappyccino's
39) Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant
40) Carmens De La Calle Cafe
41) Carranza's Grocery & Market
42) Carranza's Pit Stop Bar-B-Que
43) Casa De Rosa Cafe
44) Casbeers
45) Cheesy Jane's
46) Cheesy Jane's
47) Chella's Cafe
48) Chinatown Cafe
49) Chris Madrid's Nachos
50) Church's Chicken
51) Church's Chicken
52) Church's Chicken
53) Ciao LA Vanderia
54) Club Nachos De Knippa
55) Cobalt Club
56) Cookies & Cream
57) Corina's Restaurants
58) Corn'n Cup
59) Cristan's Tacos
60) Cypress Cafe
61) Cypress Street Grill
62) David's Bar & Grill
63) Delaware Sub Shop
64) Demo's Greek Food
65) Denny's
66) Eagle Nest Cafe
67) Earl Abel's
68) Eddies Taco House
69) El Encuentro Night Club
70) El Jardin De Marotta
71) El Mazatlan Mexican Seafood
72) El Milagrito Cafe
73) El Nogal Mexican Restaurant
74) El Sol Molino Restaurant
75) El Torro Tejano & Country
76) Electric Co
77) Elton's Inc
78) Enchilada Warehouse
79) Entree's Cafe & Catering
80) Estela's Cafe
81) Fishin' Pier
82) Flat Creek Texas Bar B Q
83) Fountain Grille
84) French Corner
85) Fresh Horizons Creative Ctrng
86) Garcia's Mexican Food To Go
87) Good Time Charlie's Bar & Cafe
88) Guillermo's Deli & Catering
89) Halisco Cafe
90) Heat
91) Hideout
92) Hong Kong Gardens Chinese
93) Hung Fong Chinese Restaurant
94) Ice Cream & More
95) International House-Pancakes
96) Iron Armadillo Saloon
97) Jack In The Box
98) Jack In The Box
99) Jack In The Box
100) Jailhouse BBQ
101) Jalisco Restaurant
102) James Cafe
103) Jim's Restaurant
104) Jim's Restaurant
105) Joe's Hamburger Place
106) Joey's
107) Joseph's Storehouse
108) Josephine Street Restaurant
109) Kim Wah Chinese & Mexican
110) King's Palace
111) Kingston Tycoon Flats
112) Koi Kawa Japanese Restaurant
113) L'etoile
114) La Canasta Restaurant
115) La Fonda
116) La Madeleine Alamo Heights
117) La Madeleine French Bakery
118) La Michoacana Bakery & Rstrnt
119) LA Paletera
120) La Pinchanhas
121) La Posada Del Rey Restaurant
122) Las Palapas
123) Las Salsas
124) Le Peep Cafe
125) Liberty Bar
126) Little Caesars Pizza
127) Little Hipps Gimmiedraw Prlr
128) Little Taco Factory Mexican
129) Los Amigos Cafe Y Cantina
130) Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant
131) Los Magueyes
132) Los Pinos Mexican Restaurant
133) Luby's Cafeteria
134) Luby's Cafeteria
135) Lucy's Kitchen
136) Lulu's Catering
137) Lulus
138) Luther's Cafe
139) M K Davis Restaurant
140) Magnolia Gardens
141) Main Street Pizza & Pasta
142) Mazatlan Mexican & Seafood
143) Mc Donald's
144) Mc Donald's
145) Mc Donald's
146) Medusa Lounge
147) Menger & Assoc
148) Midtown Pizza
149) Millsap Cafeterias Inc
150) Mix Night Club
151) Mr Taco
152) Naples Famous Italian Restrnt
153) Niki's Tokyo Inn
154) Page Barteau Catering
155) Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine
156) Panchito's Restaurant
157) Panchito's Restaurants
158) Papa Rays Sports Bar
159) Pasilla's Long Crispy Taco
160) Patsy's Ice House
161) Pegasus
162) Pete's Tako House
163) Petti Coat Junction
164) Picante Grill
165) Pig Stands Co
166) Pitto's Restaurant
167) Pizza Classics
168) Pizza Hut
169) Plaza Mexican Restaurant
170) Popo's Food-To-Go
171) Quizno's Classic Subs
172) Quiznos Sub
173) Regio Cafe
174) Riccardo's Pizzeria
175) Rolando's Super Taco
176) S A Eagle
177) Saigon Express
178) Saint
179) Salazar & Salazar
180) Salute
181) Sam's Burger Joint
182) Sandwich Garden
183) Shiraz
184) Silver Dollar Saloon
185) Sonic Drive-In
186) Sonic Drive-In
187) Sonic Drive-In
188) Sonny's Ice House
189) Spinners
190) Stacy's Sports Bar
191) Studio 1100
192) Su Casa Mexican Restaurant
193) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
194) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
195) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
196) SWBT Pub Com
197) Sweet Bean Cafe
198) Taco Cabana Inc
199) Taco Cabana Inc
200) Taco La Gardenia
201) Taco Land
202) Taco Queen
203) Taco Riendo
204) Taco Riendo Restaurant
205) Taco Taco Cafe
206) Taco Village
207) Taqueria El Charro
208) Taqueria LA Mexicana De Norte
209) Taqueria No Que No
210) Taqueria Vallarta
211) Teka Molino
212) Tomatillos Cafe Y Cantina
213) Tycoon Flats
214) Van's Chinese Seafood Rstrnt
215) Vicky's Cocina & Pompa's
216) Viet Nam Restaurant
217) Volare-Gourmet Pizza & Pasta
218) Wendy's
219) Wendy's
220) Whataburger
221) Whataburger
222) Whet Spot Bbq
223) White Rabbit
224) Wienerschnitzel
225) Willard's Jamaican Jerk Bar-B
226) Yolanda's Uptown Cafe
1) 2015 Club
2) 8th St Sports Bar
3) A'hon Noodle & Grill
4) Absolutely Everything Catering
5) Aldino Cucina Italiana
6) Angelo's Pizzeria Express
7) Annex
8) Argyle
9) Arriba Bar & Grill
10) Arugula Catering Co
11) Audry's Mexican Restaurant
12) Avenue B Lounge
13) Beijing Broadway Express
14) Beijing Express
15) Bill Miller Bar-B-Q Inc
16) Bill Miller Bar-B-Q Inc
17) Bill Miller Bar-B-Q Inc
18) Bistro Vatel
19) Blanco Cafe
20) Boardwalk Bistro
21) Bombay Bicycle Club
22) Bonanza Steakhouse
23) Branchizio's Naples Restaurant
24) Bright Shawl
25) Broadway Fifty-Fifty
26) Bruno's Restaurant
27) Burger Boy
28) Burger King
29) Bushnell
30) Cafe Espresso Doughnuts
31) Cafe Latino
32) Cafe Rosa
33) Cafe Soleil
34) Candilejas Restaurant & Bar
35) Candlelight Coffeehouse
36) Capparelli's On Main
37) Cappy's Restaurant
38) Cappyccino's
39) Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant
40) Carmens De La Calle Cafe
41) Carranza's Grocery & Market
42) Carranza's Pit Stop Bar-B-Que
43) Casa De Rosa Cafe
44) Casbeers
45) Cheesy Jane's
46) Cheesy Jane's
47) Chella's Cafe
48) Chinatown Cafe
49) Chris Madrid's Nachos
50) Church's Chicken
51) Church's Chicken
52) Church's Chicken
53) Ciao LA Vanderia
54) Club Nachos De Knippa
55) Cobalt Club
56) Cookies & Cream
57) Corina's Restaurants
58) Corn'n Cup
59) Cristan's Tacos
60) Cypress Cafe
61) Cypress Street Grill
62) David's Bar & Grill
63) Delaware Sub Shop
64) Demo's Greek Food
65) Denny's
66) Eagle Nest Cafe
67) Earl Abel's
68) Eddies Taco House
69) El Encuentro Night Club
70) El Jardin De Marotta
71) El Mazatlan Mexican Seafood
72) El Milagrito Cafe
73) El Nogal Mexican Restaurant
74) El Sol Molino Restaurant
75) El Torro Tejano & Country
76) Electric Co
77) Elton's Inc
78) Enchilada Warehouse
79) Entree's Cafe & Catering
80) Estela's Cafe
81) Fishin' Pier
82) Flat Creek Texas Bar B Q
83) Fountain Grille
84) French Corner
85) Fresh Horizons Creative Ctrng
86) Garcia's Mexican Food To Go
87) Good Time Charlie's Bar & Cafe
88) Guillermo's Deli & Catering
89) Halisco Cafe
90) Heat
91) Hideout
92) Hong Kong Gardens Chinese
93) Hung Fong Chinese Restaurant
94) Ice Cream & More
95) International House-Pancakes
96) Iron Armadillo Saloon
97) Jack In The Box
98) Jack In The Box
99) Jack In The Box
100) Jailhouse BBQ
101) Jalisco Restaurant
102) James Cafe
103) Jim's Restaurant
104) Jim's Restaurant
105) Joe's Hamburger Place
106) Joey's
107) Joseph's Storehouse
108) Josephine Street Restaurant
109) Kim Wah Chinese & Mexican
110) King's Palace
111) Kingston Tycoon Flats
112) Koi Kawa Japanese Restaurant
113) L'etoile
114) La Canasta Restaurant
115) La Fonda
116) La Madeleine Alamo Heights
117) La Madeleine French Bakery
118) La Michoacana Bakery & Rstrnt
119) LA Paletera
120) La Pinchanhas
121) La Posada Del Rey Restaurant
122) Las Palapas
123) Las Salsas
124) Le Peep Cafe
125) Liberty Bar
126) Little Caesars Pizza
127) Little Hipps Gimmiedraw Prlr
128) Little Taco Factory Mexican
129) Los Amigos Cafe Y Cantina
130) Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant
131) Los Magueyes
132) Los Pinos Mexican Restaurant
133) Luby's Cafeteria
134) Luby's Cafeteria
135) Lucy's Kitchen
136) Lulu's Catering
137) Lulus
138) Luther's Cafe
139) M K Davis Restaurant
140) Magnolia Gardens
141) Main Street Pizza & Pasta
142) Mazatlan Mexican & Seafood
143) Mc Donald's
144) Mc Donald's
145) Mc Donald's
146) Medusa Lounge
147) Menger & Assoc
148) Midtown Pizza
149) Millsap Cafeterias Inc
150) Mix Night Club
151) Mr Taco
152) Naples Famous Italian Restrnt
153) Niki's Tokyo Inn
154) Page Barteau Catering
155) Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine
156) Panchito's Restaurant
157) Panchito's Restaurants
158) Papa Rays Sports Bar
159) Pasilla's Long Crispy Taco
160) Patsy's Ice House
161) Pegasus
162) Pete's Tako House
163) Petti Coat Junction
164) Picante Grill
165) Pig Stands Co
166) Pitto's Restaurant
167) Pizza Classics
168) Pizza Hut
169) Plaza Mexican Restaurant
170) Popo's Food-To-Go
171) Quizno's Classic Subs
172) Quiznos Sub
173) Regio Cafe
174) Riccardo's Pizzeria
175) Rolando's Super Taco
176) S A Eagle
177) Saigon Express
178) Saint
179) Salazar & Salazar
180) Salute
181) Sam's Burger Joint
182) Sandwich Garden
183) Shiraz
184) Silver Dollar Saloon
185) Sonic Drive-In
186) Sonic Drive-In
187) Sonic Drive-In
188) Sonny's Ice House
189) Spinners
190) Stacy's Sports Bar
191) Studio 1100
192) Su Casa Mexican Restaurant
193) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
194) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
195) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
196) SWBT Pub Com
197) Sweet Bean Cafe
198) Taco Cabana Inc
199) Taco Cabana Inc
200) Taco La Gardenia
201) Taco Land
202) Taco Queen
203) Taco Riendo
204) Taco Riendo Restaurant
205) Taco Taco Cafe
206) Taco Village
207) Taqueria El Charro
208) Taqueria LA Mexicana De Norte
209) Taqueria No Que No
210) Taqueria Vallarta
211) Teka Molino
212) Tomatillos Cafe Y Cantina
213) Tycoon Flats
214) Van's Chinese Seafood Rstrnt
215) Vicky's Cocina & Pompa's
216) Viet Nam Restaurant
217) Volare-Gourmet Pizza & Pasta
218) Wendy's
219) Wendy's
220) Whataburger
221) Whataburger
222) Whet Spot Bbq
223) White Rabbit
224) Wienerschnitzel
225) Willard's Jamaican Jerk Bar-B
226) Yolanda's Uptown Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
I went in the afternoon and have plenty of good conversation with the staff. There was a nice selection of beer styles. The IPA had a little to much alcohol, it over powered the great flavor. Good time. It is located on a future extension of the river walk.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, West Des Moines, IA
(08/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
I visited Blue Star on Jan 5, 2010 at about 5:15 pm. They were not busy, and I sat at the bar. I tried all of their beers. The only beer to which I gave a good rating was their Texan Lager (a rating of ****- (four minus stars) out of a possible ***** (five stars)) All of their other beers (Pomegranate, Pale Bock, Stout, IPA, Cask Conditioned Dry Hopped Pale Ale, Sour Tap Oak Aged Sour (with no extracts added)) were rated three stars or lower. I had a Chicken Fried Chicken with sweet potato fries and a house salad. The food was good, and the bar tender was friendly and helpful. I met a brewer there from one of Blue Star's competetors (Freetail Brewery) and I enjoyed talking to him about beers and brewing. Overall Bluestar was good, but not great. Would I go back there? Probably not, especially if I had a way to get up to Freetail to try their brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S Smith S Smith, Trophy Club, TX
(01/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
While visiting in SA, had to visit the microbreweries. Blue Star had a decent selection of their brews on tap. Their pale ale had the most flavor and hop aroma. The barley wine didn't hide the alcohol background very well. The other beers were decent but not memorable. The off flavors mentioned in the last posting have been resolved at least during our visit. The staff were pleasant and attentive. Would visit again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Richardson Mark Richardson, Edmond, OK
(07/05/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good Lousy
I've visited three times on business travel since February 2008. It is a very cool, eclectic place.

That said, this brewery has a HUGE issue with diacetyl off-flavors in ALL of their beers. I thought perhaps this was just an incidental problem, but after three visits in three months it has become worse, if anything.

Its a shame, too. If they get their brewing process cleaned up and restore the quality to what it apparently once was, then it would get high marks. As it is, its not fit to serve.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Iowa City, IA
(04/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Neat place. I can't imagine that San Antonio only has one brewpub within the city limits.

People from San Antonio: GO THERE! SUPPORT THIS PLACE!

They didn't have the King William on tap, but I had a good Amber ale, and a Stout which I really enjoyed. The food was good, too. I really liked the Pork Green Chili. The service was a little slow, but we were there in the middle of the afternoon, and they were busy setting up one of the rooms for a dinner that evening. No big deal. We were there to relax, anyway. Got to spend some time with the brewer, and he seemed happy to talk with us, and gave us some of the history/local stuff, which we always enjoy. The other patrons were friendly, too. I'll go back next time I'm in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Bruce, Palatine, IL
(12/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
During a recent dinner at the Blue Star I, along with at least four others ,was burned by steam released from the pipes. I was burned from my head down my back. We were treated with indifference by the staff when we informed them what had happened. Followup phone calls also generated rudeness, and a "don't bother us" attitude. They refuse to disclose their insurance agent/company. We were lucky that a three year old sitting at the table was out of the line of fire.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Syracuse, NY
(11/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great
nice place. cool bar tender. good beer. easy going place worth going to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Travis Travis, san antonio, TX
(04/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Great Good
I had the Cask conditioed Pale Ale. Very good and true to form!! The food was what I expected...bar food but tasted good. The server,(Claire I belive) was very attentive and pleasant. Overall I would come back just for the beer even if the sevice wasn't good. Next time I'm in San Antonio I will definatly visit again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Fatula Chuck Fatula, Ellwood City, PA
(12/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I visited Blue Star in June, 2005 while attending the GFOA conference. I enjoyed it so much on Saturday, I went back on the following Tuesday! Much to our delight, they have live music on Tuesdays! Overall, the food was very good. We enjoyed the appetizer sampler platter, Pork medalions, Quesadillas, Filet Mignon, Shrimp PoBoy, and the very decadent Double Layer Double Chocolate Cake. The only item I didn't like was the Ettoufe. The sauce was overpowered the dish, both in flavor and volume. The beer was great, period. I had no reservations bringing another true beer lover to Blue Star on the return trip. Finally, my coworker went to Blue Star this year with several colleagues. They all gave Blue Star two thumbs up!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Clinton Twp., MI
(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So So So Good
Had the beer sampler and was not disappointed in any of them. The best was the pale ale (oddly more hoppy and flavorful than the IPA - which was still good). The cask ale was a close second but all were great. The beers alone are worth the trip. Excellent!

We only had appetizers but the portions were skimpy. The service was inattentive and the table next to us got up and left after being ignored for 10-15 minutes.

The beers are first-rate and that's the most important thing but the poor service and surrounding area keep me from rating Blue Star higher.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Miller Jeff Miller, Prairie Grove, AR
(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
I wasn't crazy about the location, but it wasn't that bad. The beer was pretty good, but wasn't very fond of the food. Turns out they were out of the steak I ordered, so I had to settle for chicken.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Lombard Ray Lombard, Magnolia, NJ
(01/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
The Pale Bock was excellent and this place makes a great Pilsner. The Cask Conditioned Ale, on the other hand, was weak and very disappointing. The other beers were all good. The Chicken Fried Steak was served with mashed potatos and gravy. The portion was large and it was very good. I was surprised that there were not more Tex-Mex items on the menu. The atmosphere was very laid back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Carlisle, PA
(09/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
The Stout was very smooth, no bitter aftertaste. And the food was awesome--especially the pork green chili. Can't wait to visit again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bedford, TX
(06/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This is a rebuttal to what apparently was general manager Michael King's Feb. 20, 2005, "clarification" of my review of Dec. 15, 2004 (I haven't had time to browse Pubcrawler lately). I didn't invent those conversations with the bartenders, who said that happy hour prices didn't apply to seasonal specials or black and tans. If he is saying that isn't true, then he has either come to his senses and changed the rule or his bartenders were trying to pad customers' bills to boost their own tips without his knowledge. If so, it was counterproductive, because it only pissed me off. I'm less concerned about the bicycle rental thing; it does look peculiar, but if it works for them and helps keep them brewing, I can handle it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Buckman Robert Buckman, Lafayette, LA
(05/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We went there a couple of weeks ago. There are now about 6-8 beers on tap, but the King William was not on tap. The cask IPA and regular IPA were very good. We all had good dishes and the service was good outside. Glad to see the beers are back on....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(05/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
This is San Antonio's only brewpub now. The beer is good. I had my favorite last night, IPA. I love Guiness but their stout doesn't quite match up. The food is good but not as good as I have had in other brewpubs, so I agree with others that they need to work on the food. I have found the service to be good, but can be slow. They get the award for putting the largest number of tables in the smallest amount of space! The table area is extremely crowded. The decor is industrial, which matches my idea of how a brewpub should look. The prices are reasonable for good quality beer. If you want cheap beer, buy miller/bud at the grocery store! It is too bad that SA cannot support more than one brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from terry terry, san antonio, TX
(02/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Being the General Manager of the Blue Star Brewing Company, I feel some clarification is in order. The Blue Star Brewing Company tries very hard to be a family friendly, excellent establishment for all it's guests. We currently have on tap eight varieties of beer. With the exception of our Barley Wine (King William Ale) all varieties are offered in 10, 12, 16 and 20 oz sizes and all have happy hour pricing. We rent bicycles to take care of the needs of the over 8 million visitor's to the Alamo City every year. The Blue Star is conveniently located along the banks of the world famous San Antonio River thus it was logical to offer bicycle sales and rentals to locals and tourists wishing to see our beautiful city and Mission Trail Hike/Bike system, which is close by. Personally I would stack our restaurant up against any dining establishment in our city and our beer against any brew-pub in the world!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael King Michael King, San Antonio, TX
(02/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Great So So
Bikes??!!! Are you kidding me??? How about working on the food??!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Osh Kosh, WI
(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
Only one I could find in the San Antonio area in an old hard to find place if not familar with area. Nothing to brag about

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry W. Milewski Henry W. Milewski, Panama City, FL
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good So So So So
I made my second trip to Blue Star on Monday (12-13-04) while in San Antonio. It's the only brewpub in S.A. and should be doing better than it is, and perhaps it would if it increased its selection and became more patron-friendly. The bar staff is amiable enough, but they're saddled with some stupid rules. They have a happy hour from 11-7, when a pint costs $2.75 instead of $3.75, which is great, but they don't tell you until your check comes that it doesn't apply to the seasonal specials. This time I asked if happy hour applied to the cask pale ale, and she said no. She didn't volunteer the information. I had a hard time deciding between the only two others brews available, the stout and the American IPA (the raspberry amber was not an option for me) so she suggested I do a black & tan with both. When I said that was a possibility, she said she couldn't do it for the happy hour price. I asked why not, if they were both regulars. She shrugged and said, "Labor? I don't make the rules." Her replacement came in soon and admitted that that was a pointless rule. My stout was more like a porter, which was fine because I prefer porters, but it wasn't "stouty." Don't expect it to be. Then I tried the regular pale, and it was quite good. I left 1/3 of a glass of my stout and made my own B&T for free. It's not that I'm cheap, mind you; I don't mind paying extra for an outstanding seasonal. But she gave me a sample of the cask ale and it wasn't worth the extra cost, and charging $1 extra for a B&T is a rule I have never encountered anywhere! Desist! I had a buddy join me, and we got the black bean nachos and a chicken and artichoke pizza. Both were pretty good by brewpub standards. Another patron had an order of battered mushrooms that looked enticing, but I had to stop sometime. I agree with the earlier reviewer that it looks tacky to graft a bike rental business with a brewpub. If you want to make more money, improve your selection (add a red ale, for example)and service, do some promoting, and they will come. Austin is much smaller than S.A. and it now has five brewpubs! The Internet connection at the bar is a nice touch, I must admit. Other brewpubs, take note.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Buckman Robert Buckman, Lafayette, LA
(12/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great
THIS PLACE IS A WORKING BREWERY, THEY DO THEIR BEST TO HAVE A GOOD SELECTION OF BEER ON TAP FOR PATRONS.(THE STOUT BY THE WAY IS MY FAVORITE!) THE PLACE, I FEEL HAS AN INCREDIBLE ATMOSPHERE! AND WHILE YOU ARE THERE,TALK TO THE PEOPLE THAT WORK THERE. THERE IS A REAL HUMAN SIDE TO THIS PLACE!! THERE IS DEFINITLY MORE THAN BEER HERE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GEORGE GEORGE, LEE, NH
(10/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great So So
I returned to SA this past week on business and as usual stopped in at Blue Star. Not much has changed since my last visit-unfortunately. The place was dead with only 5-6 people in the restaurant/bar area. Only 4 beers were offered, with no cask or King William.

I had: Wheathead: American style unfiltered wheat. Passable.

Pale Ale: decent hops with a lighter body. Good beer

Stout: Good mouth and body but the flavor was lacking and the taste didn't last. Drinkable but not memorable.

Food: I had the lamb, usually a great meal. This time the lamb chops were extremely fatty and I left several bites on the plate. Disappointing.

Blue Star is no longer a "must stop" when in San Antonio. It's going in the wrong direction and the owner is now in the bike rental business too. Bad sign.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(09/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great
Unfortunately there were only 3 beers on tap when I was there a couple of weeks ago-and none of them were the cask. I had: Lager-solid drink for this style-but the cask lager I had in the past puts this to shame. Stout-well done-this was the my favorite for the night and was able to try a couple Pale Ale-a little on the light side for me. I've had more flavorful beers of this style here.

The food was good-my guest and I both finished our plates.

Here's hoping for a better selection next time I visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(07/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Very nice establishment just south of downtown. Warehouse feel in an industrial part of town. Beers far above par for Texas -- pale ale has nice hop aroma; stout has good mouth feel. Tex-Mex on the menu is first rate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Kane Ken Kane, Portland, OR
(05/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The owner put in a wireless internet connection....you can bring your laptop in and surf for free!!!!! Great Idea!! Not to mention drink great beer and have good food!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review san antonio, TX
(05/10/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.658 seconds) 21:46:03 54.91.25.210, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS