PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Fredericksburg Brewing Company - Fredericksburg, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 18, 2014 @ 01:03 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > Fredericksburg > Fredericksburg Brewing Company
Fredericksburg Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Fredericksburg Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76.4 / 100
245 East Main Street
Fredericksburg, TX 78624
United States
(830) 997-1646
Listed Since: July 1996
Last Updated: August 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Fredericksburg, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
42 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Plateau Cafe
(0 mile)

2) Friedhelm's Bavarian Inn
(0 mile)

3) Auslander Biergarten and Restaurant
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Getaway Ranch
2) B & B Reservation Svc
3) Back Forty of Fredericksburg
4) Be My Guest Lodging Svc
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN FREDERICKSBURG
2) DAYS SUITES FREDERICKSBURG TX
3) ECONO LODGE FREDERICKSBURG
4) FREDERICKSBURG INN & SUITES
5) QUALITY INN FREDERICKSBURG
6) SUPER 8 FREDERICKSBURG TX
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Fredericksburg Memorial Library
2) St. Mary's Catholic Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Airport Diner
2) Alfredo's Restaurant
3) August E's
4) Austin Street Java & Gelato
5) Bejas Grill & Cantina
6) Boar's Nest Lounge
7) Buffalo River Cuisine
8) Cherry Spring Smokehouse
9) Clear River Pecan Co
10) Cotton Gin
11) Country Garden
12) Cuvee Inc
13) Delicious Details Catering
14) El Fogon
15) Engel's Deli
16) Fredericksburg Festhaus
17) Fredericksburg Ice Cream Prlr
18) Fredericksburg Java Ranch
19) Fredericksburg Pizza Kitchen
20) Friedhelms Bavarian Restaurant
21) Great Texas Bar B Que
22) Hill Country Kitchen
23) Hondo's On Main
24) Hot Dog Mamas
25) Kairos Celebration Barn Office
26) Kairos The Celebration Barn
27) Ken Hall's Barbque Place
28) My Own Chef Catering
29) One Der Bar Soap & Shea
30) Pancione's
31) Porky's Hamburgers
32) Race Barn
33) Rathskeller
34) Smokin' Subs
35) South Star
36) T J's Deli
37) Taqueria Altos De Jalisco
38) Taqueria Altos De Jalisco
39) Troisi's Ristorante
40) Valentio's Italian
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
when the beers is aged enough this place is impossible to beat, pale, ipa, portor, blonde, helles, imperial stout, red, maibock, bock. all spot on and then some. go there and be happy. food and wait staff are awesome too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from travis dunlap travis dunlap, san antonio, TX
(05/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
I have had food and drink here on several occasions in the past and had an enjoyable experience. Especially good is the Jager Schnitzel. Most recently I dined here on July 12 and 13, 2008 during the lunch hour. The clientele was heavily tourist-based and trend crazed - not my style. The manager on duty fit right in - lots of tats, trendy narrow glasses and an accent I couldn't quite place - maybe New Jersey. The wait staff was one of those that have created their own sitcom environment in which they are the stars and customers are extras; I had a hard time getting my glass filled and honestly get better service at the local On-The-Border restaurant here in College Station where the wait staff asks me what I want my next drink to be before I finish the one I have.

Fredericksburg used to be a nice little town to visit and hang out in without being run over by a Hummer-driving Austin Barbies on their way to the spa - no longer the case. If you're serious about brew, head further afield. I still rate this brewery high, but wait staff dressed in St. Pauli Girl outfits with genuine smiles to match would make this place much more inviting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kellee Simms Kellee Simms, College Station, TX
(07/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I have no complaints about this place. None of the beers are what I would call outstanding but they were definitely drinkable. I liked the blonde and the red. The food was very good and the waiter was friendly and attentive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Cox John Cox, Signal Mountain, TN
(06/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
This really is a great place to grab a bite and have a beer. It got it all, great beer, great service and atomosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dahlonega, GA
(05/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I lived in Germany for well over 6 years, an excellent place to get a good draft and enjoy quality beer (if I can't be in the Fatherland!) The staff is great, with the ability to pick up the same conversation started a month prior. Willing to share information for novice brew creators. Just a damn cool place to hang out and get a great nectar. A no better place to start your journey to Luckenbach, TX and listen to some stump music with the chickens.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Dippel John Dippel, Austin, TX
(07/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Real Ale Brewing Co moved relatively recently to their new location on San Saba Road, right off the highway.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ashley McMinn Ashley McMinn, Austin, TX
(05/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
We tried the porter and pale ale. So so, and slightly trendy prices, so left. Looking for the Real Ale Brewery in Blanco.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(04/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
My favortie place to drink beer. The establishment itself is beautiful and clean. The beer is fantastic. I cant beleive anyone would have anything bad to say about this place. The red ale is delicious. Both IPA's i have had are monsters. They have a stout called The Giant, the best stout i have ever had. I could keep going but ill spare you. They have won alot of awards from the world beer cup and the great american beer festival.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from travis dunlap travis dunlap, san antonio, TX
(03/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I finally got the opportunity to visit this place. My wife and I had dinner in the restaurant and we spent the night in the Admiral Room, one of 11 upstairs guest rooms. Overnight guests receive a free pint of beer, thus the “bed & brew” label. There were five house beers to choose from during our visit in late January. I had a pint each of three of them (it helps when you don’t have to drive afterward), and a taste of a fourth. All were flavorful and true to style: Peacepipe Pale Ale, Harper Valley IPA, Pioneer Porter, and Enchanted Rock Red Ale – I did not get to the hefe. First thing to note: not a German-style lager to be had on this visit, which seemed a bit odd in this German-themed tourist town. This brewpub does make them – pilsner, bock, a GABF medal-winning helles – maybe next time. Second thing to note: none of the beers on that evening would serve as an easy transition beer from the light mega-lagers so popular in Texas. A beer drinker would have to jump with both feet into whatever style he or she selected. Many pubcrawlers would say that was a good thing. Our food was good – I would definitely recommend the Schweineschnitzel. Our service on a fairly busy Friday evening was more than adequate. This place closes somewhat early by brewpub standards, so upstairs overnight guests can have some quiet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(02/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy So So
The beers are generally good drinking but always changing - just when you find something you like... The store next door where the do a smokin business of selling cheap souveniers (sarcasm, here) should be ripped out (the same owners) and expand both their capacity/variety and bar seating. The bar seating is virtually non existent... The food is medicore unless you are German, although it would go down better if the service was worth a darn, which it is not, especially at the bar, where getting some of the current bartenders to quit yacking with one another is a challenge.

Hey, considering the above, how about atake out window up front?! A totally legal thing in Fredericksburg - a great weekend destination.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Dooley Robert Dooley, Kerrvile, TX
(01/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Nice little town and worth the trip from Austin or San Antonio if just for the rubber-necking. There were only 5 beers on when I was there on 6/5: wheat ale, ipa, red, maibock and porter. The ipa was my favorite followed by the porter. The rest were pretty mediocre. I had the fish & chips which were just okay. Service was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from UtahSteve UtahSteve, Ogden, UT
(06/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Visited on a blustery Valentine's weekend day. The place was jam-packed, probably because there is nothing else like it around (unless you are REALLY into German food....). The Pioneer Porter was fantastic, and was a real warmer-upper. Despite the crowd, it was a friendly place with cool decor, and an oasis from the cold. Highly recommended!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Laredo, TX
(02/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
It hurts me that this place isn't getting better ratings. The brewmaster is an Astros fan, which means that he's a great guy, but more than that, he's a great brewer. If you're bummed by the selection you only need to look at the size of the place. Come back later and they'll be brewing something else. When I'm in Fredricksburg I'm here pretty much the whole time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Martin Kyle Martin, Baytown, TX
(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
Well for all of you people that hate the porter, I think you should ask the judges at The Great American Beer Festival why it received a silver metal competing against over 450 other breweries. The Porter is my favorite and all the beer is great. If you cannot apprieciate good unique beer brewed by the coolest brewmaster I've ever meet, then you should quit your bitchin' and take your business else where because the brewery makes millions and can do without your $3.75 for a pint of awesome beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Denver, CO
(10/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
I was very impressed with the Peace Pipe Pale Ale and Lindbergh's Lager. The latter has a nicely sweet aftertaste. The Not so Dumb Blonde Ale was light and refreshing. The Enchanted Rock Red Ale and Pioneer Porter were both very good, solid beers. The Meatloaf with Onion Rings and German Fried Potatos was good, not great, but the portions were Texas-sized.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Carlisle, PA
(09/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Visited this brewpub this past weekend. It was early, so only had time for one beer, but had the Pioneer Porter which was excellent. The food and service were great as well, and I'm looking forward to returning in the future to try the other beer offerings.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Allen, TX
(06/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
I visited this brewpub on 1-31-04. Brews available were Peace Pipe Pale Ale, Enchanted Rock Red Ale, Honey Cream Ale, & Pioneer Porter. I must disagree with the reviewer below. I found the pale ale agressivly hopped with a nice floral finish. The porter was also well within the parameters of the style. In fact the porter has won awards at the GABF and World Beer Cup. The red was thin and overhopped for the style and the cream ale would do well for the Bud drinker. Our food was overcooked but edible. A German band was playing in the beer garden out back. Unfortunately the cover for the band was $12.50 which I found extravagent. The band plays from 3:30 to 5:00 on weekends. They do pro-rate the cover charge and we paid $5 each for about 15 minutes of music. Other German restraunts that have bands, do not charge for the music. I would have drank a lot more beer if the band had been free.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(02/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Good Lousy
Fredericksburg is a GREAT place. Unfortunately, the Fredericksburg Brewery isn't. The beer selection is limited, and the quality is less than average. The IPA was underhopped, and have a definite diacytel taste. The porter was thin, and tasted more like a pilsner than an ale. It was a pleasant surprise to find the brewery, and an unpleasant surprise to taste the brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from brewbeer14 brewbeer14, Livingston, TX
(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Nothing exciting about this place, the town is VERY tourist oriented and so is the brewpub. I visited in January so the tourist crowd was small. The food was quite good and they had a nice varied menu, including my favorite pub food of all time, Scotch Eggs. The beer was good, but my favorite style is Pale ale and I settled for several pints of Porter. They use Amirilo and Simcoe hops in the pale and it had a bit too much of a flowery taste for me. The Honey Cream Ale sounded much better than it tasted. The Porter I did have was nothing special. Over all it’s a decent place for a tourist town but not a destination for a real beer lover.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Teeter Don Teeter, Arroyo City, TX
(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Small town in the hill country of Texas. Great weekend trip and worth the drive. The best food anywhere. Pints and Half gallon junks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Ron, Granbury, TX
(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
Good beers - the best part is that you can stay in the bed and brewery upstairs so you don't have far to stumble afterwards; although they close rather early on Sundays.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy So So
I just learned the hard way that visiting Fredricksburg on a holiday weekend is like attending Woodstock. If you're looking for a quiet get-away, as Fredricksburg apparently is at other times of the year, consider yourself warned.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve Quarrella, Argyle, TX
(04/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A So So
Bummer! I used to love this place, but the quality of beers really took a dive within the last year or so. During a visit late last year, I tried an amber ale and a dark wheat and both were thin and uneventful...NOT what I expected from this celebrated brewpub. I hope it was just a bad fluke. I'll give it another chance when I'm town over the summer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Traverse City, MI
(04/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We visited FBC 1-2-02, taking a tour of the Hill Country from our base in San Antonio. The Patton's Pale Ale was great, although not as hoppy as the English beers we're used to in the East with the abundant use of Cascade hops. All the beers we sampled were good and the food was great. The brewmaster said he was experimenting with and IPA but didn't have enough to put on tap. Rats!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Weiler Greg Weiler, Birdsboro, PA
(01/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Whoa, what happnened here???? I'm looking at these recent reviews and wondering what happened...a new brewmaster perhaps? This brewpub used to be one of my favorites...all styles true to form and their ale perfectly hopped. What gives?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review traverse city, MI
(10/25/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.411 seconds) 13:03:04 54.234.2.94, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS