PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Padre Island Brewing Company - South Padre Island, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 23, 2014 @ 09:11 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > South Padre Island > Padre Island Brewing Company
Padre Island Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Padre Island Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 74 / 100
3400 Padre Boulevard
South Padre Island, TX 78597
United States
(956) 761-9585
Listed Since: July 1996
Last Updated: April 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for South Padre Island, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Padre Island Brewing Company
34 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Brown Pelican Inn
2) Casa DE Siesta Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAHIA MAR RESORT
2) BAHIA MAR RESORT
3) BEACH HOUSE
4) BEST WESTERN FIESTA ISLES HTL
5) COMFORT SUITES SOUTH PADRE IS
6) CONTINENTAL
7) DAYS INN SOUTH PADRE ISLAND
8) FLORENCE
9) HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS INN
10) INTERNATIONAL
11) ISLAND INN ON THE BEACH
12) LA QUINTA INN/STES BEACH RESRT
13) PADRE SOUTH HOTEL ON THE BEACH
14) QUALITY INN
15) RADISSON RESORT
16) RAMADA LIMITED
17) SAND CASTLE
18) SUNCHASE IV
19) TRAVELODGE SOUTH PADRE ISLAND
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Point Isabel Lighthouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Baskin-Robbins
2) Bigo's Bar & Grill
3) Boomerang Billy's
4) Bubba's Bar B Que
5) Captain Randy Rogers
6) Coast To Coast Beachwear
7) Coconuts
8) Coral Reef Lounge
9) Costa Rica Food & Spirits Inc
10) De Luna Bar & Grill
11) Dolphin Cove Oyster Bar
12) Island Shack Drive Thru
13) Jake's Catering
14) Kelly's Grill
15) Kelly's Irish Pub
16) Maestro Coffee & Tea
17) Palm Street Pier
18) Pantry & Grill Room
19) Pizza Hut
20) Psychadeli
21) Rovan's Restaurant
22) Salty Dog Cafe
23) Salty Dogs
24) Shrimp Haus
25) TCBY
26) Tequila Sunset
27) Wahoo Saloon & Bay Sailing
28) Yummies Coffee Shack
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good So So Great Good
Very good beer. As good as any microbrew we've ever had. Only five beers to choose from, but all are great. Food is no better than average. Service is friendly and very good. Great place for a fresh brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from larry sawatzki larry sawatzki, sherman, TX
(12/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
My friends and I go to SPI every year for the Bike Fest and stopping at the Brew Pub is a must.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Watts Andrew Watts, Tyler, TX
(10/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Hands down the best place for a delicious brew on the Island. The pizza's are my favorite but try all the appetizers if you have time. The entree's are excellent but lets face it we came for brew. I especially like the indoor section of the upstairs bar. Not everyone speak english so good there. There are some gorgeous waitresses though(espcially after two or three speckled trout stouts.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Miller Dan Miller, Mission, TX
(01/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! N/A Lousy So So
My wife and I have been going to PIBC since it opened and the beer has always been hit-or-miss with us. When we lived a block away we would go about once a week for the video trivia (gone now, it seems, replaced by a tacky looping advertisement screen) and we always make a point of going there for drinks at least one night during our annual week-long pilgrimage. Our most recent visit (Aug '07) had the beer at a low poin. Maybe they're having a general electrical problem (not unusual at all on SPI) because the place was hot and humid on the inside and the beer was flat-stale straight from the tap. The Pale Ale, usually my favorite, tasted flat and under-hopped. The stout, my wife's regular choice, was almost too warm and also a bit stale tasting. Bad beer, combined with SPI's notoriously locals-only attitude with regards to service, had us bailing out after one round, half-full beers still sitting on the sticky bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cypress, TX
(08/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
we drove from katy texas to south padre island and we arrive at 3 am. we went staright to the hotel and the next day we started searching for a place to have dinner and my daughter and hubbie wanted to go to the brewery,i had the sample platter the pale ale was the best.my daughter even liked it.but the best was the stuffed flounder,i had two bites and gave my son a bite and he took my whole plate and i was stuck with a kids pizza which was awesome for pizza,overall we had a great time.the place was packed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cassandra cassandra, katy, TX
(10/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Made it in twice over a 4 day trip. It is the only game in town for craft beer and at a reasonable price. I had the sampler to start things off. They had a raspberry wheat, a wheat, a blonde, a pale ale and their Speckled Trout Stout. The stout was my favorite, although I think it was more on the porter side and that is just fine with me. I thought both wheats were good, but not great. I was not impressed with the pale ale and didn't care for the blonde at all and would guess that it is made with corn syrup.

I sat at the bar both times and received great service. The pizza was excellent and the wings were pretty good but nothing exciting. Overall it was a good experience and I would definitely return but don't expect too much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(09/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
Regarding the last review, I just drove from Padre island to Austin; it's 350 miles, not 500. The credibility of the rest of his review is suspect, too. It was my third visit there, on May 21-22, and I took my daughter (23). The selection is always limited, which is why I didn't rate it higher, but I alternated happily between the Tidal Wave Wheat, a hefeweizen that was unfiltered as it should have been and quite refreshing, and the pale ale, which I also savored. The bartender, Scott, let me sample the Speckled Trout Stout, which was still too smoky for my taste. My daughter had two of the blonde ales and enjoyed them, as it is closest to the bottled macro she is still accustomed to (I TRIED to raise her right). Food: Yes, things close early on Padre Island, and it was almost 9 p.m., so we ate there, and I'm glad we did. We split a dozen oysters on the half shell, which were excellent. I was so impressed with the pizza last visit I ordered it again: I chose quail, feta cheese, mushrooms, spinach and jalapenos--excellent! My daughter got the stuffed chicken breast and loved it; I tried it, and I concur. Scott was friendly and informative. I don't understand what happened with the guy from Knoxville, but I'm never disappointed here, except that they should open their rooftop patio so folks can enjoy the sunset and smoke cigars if they want to. I was also disappointed they didn't have any of the "red amber" (oxymoron?) that I liked so much on my previous visits. I bought souvenir glasses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Buckman R. Buckman, Lafayette, LA
(05/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
So I drive the 500 miles from Austin straight to this place, hoping for a decent beer. Spotting a couple Bocks on the board, I think Perhaps it was worth it. Well....it took about 15 minutes for the bartender to get around to me. Finally, beer in hand, he tells me the kitchen just closed. WTF? I came all this way, hadn't eaten all day, and no food? Yet they continually bring out wonderful looking shrimp for the girl next to me??

On to the beer. It could have been a decent beer if Munchen were in the pacific Northwest. Last I looked, it's not. They had a decent start on a real Bock, but their choice of hops ruined it. So I chugged it and got the hell out of this crappy place. And the whole 20 minutes I was there, the service was just plain lousy, with an arrogant attitude to go along. What a crock. What a shame. Live and learn.

GS

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Garret Garret, Knoxville, TN
(04/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great
My wife and I have spent Columbus Day weekend on South Padre Island for the last 3 years, and visited this brewpub on each trip. I gave it a so-so rating after our first visit, but had to write a new review after out last visit, because things had vastly improved.

The first two times we visited I thought the beers are all alright, but I found many of them to be a little on the weak side. Still, they were far better than the domestic beers served in any of the other bars on the island. None of the beers were really bad, just not quite as good as they really could be. The food here has always been excellent; another good reason to visit. And really, after sitting out in the sun all day, perhaps lighter, weaker beers are a bit more acceptable.

However on our third visit in 2005 I was pleased to find that the quality of the beers had greatly improved. They were all good, true to style beers. The Speckled Trout Stout was a good, fairly light bodied stout with a slightly roasted flavor. The Padre Island Pale Ale was a very good, nice and hoppy American style pale ale. The Tidal Wave Wheat was a good, refreshing Hefeweizen style wheat with a rather subdued banana-clove flavor. My wife liked the Raspberry Wheat, which was a refreshing light wheat beer with a nice raspberry flavor. They also added NTN trivia to the bar, which is a great way to spend an evening. The food was excellent as always.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Correction: In my review, I inadvertently used the acronym SPBC. It should be PIBC. Sorry about that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Buckman Robert Buckman, Lafayette, LA
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Great N/A
It has been two years since I discovered SPBC in January 2003, and I was ecstatic over the discovery, but that was before I began writing reviews for Pubcrawler. My girlfriend and I returned to South Padre Jan. 6-7, and dined and drank at SPBC both nights we were there. The beer selection was limited to its usual blonde and stout, plus a lager, a heffeweissen and a "red amber," which was more of a red ale than an amber. My girlfriend started with the blonde, then moved up to the lager, which she proclaimed superior. I started with the heffeweissen, but found it lacking the expected taste. It's color was unusually dark. We both agreed the red amber was the best of the five. I ordered one glass of stout so we could make black and tans when our red ambers were half gone, but it had no head and tasted flat. Shortly afterward, I noticed another patron had a stout that was far foamier. The bartender poured mine out and poured another, which somehow had more body. It was respectable, with a hint of coffee. The B&Ts were enjoyable, but in the end we agreed the red amber was the best choice, and that's what we focused on the second night. It is about 5.2%, compared with 4.8% for the lager. The first night, we read that their pizza had been recognized by Texas Monthly magazine, so we decided to see if it lived up to the hype. It did! SPBC is the only brewpub I've been to with quail on the menu, and quail is one of the pizza toppings. The price was about $11 for a 14-inch, one-topping pizza, with $2 for each additional topping. We ordered quail, onions, spinach and mushrooms, and we had three slices left over. Until then, the best brewpub pizzas I has eaten were at Five Points Grill in Birmingham and Cannon Brewing Co. in Columbus, Ga.; this had them beat. We had begun with an awesome spinach salad, big enough for two. The second night, we took advantage of a local coupon for a fried fish dinner for two for $10.95. They brought out a plate filed high with pollock filets, which were wonderful. Important for me, their cole slaw was not too sweet. I asked for malt vinegar to neutralize what sweetness there was. It also came with charro beans and fries. Two years ago we were impressed with their oyster po-boys. I rarely give brewpub food an "awesome" rating lest it become cheapened, but SPBC's food earns that rating. Even non-beer-drinkers will enjoy the fare there. Pints are $3.25, and $1 off between 2 and 5 p.m., a peculiar happy hour. There was a minor dispute when we were charged full price for our first three beers, which were ordered during happy hour; she said she didn't start the tab until after 5. However, she quickly made the correction. The first night, we received superb service--and conversation--from a bartender named Mario. SPBC sells souvenir pint glasses. My only disappointment was that it permits cigarette smoking but not cigar smoking. We were disappointed by the unseasonably cold weather while we were on South Padre, but SPBC more than compensated for our disappointment. It's one more reason to make South Padre a tourist destination.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Buckman Robert Buckman, Lafayette, LA
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Great service with Mario at the Bar! Awesome food too. Favorites are the pizza and the chicken pesto salad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darla Darla, South Padre Island, TX
(11/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
Good beer in a tourist town. Not the best, but very good for South Padre. I had the sampler. The Pale and Stout were the best. I will go back next time I visit SPI.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Craig Jeff Craig, San Antonio, TX
(08/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
The beers were all rather weak with the exception of the seasonal Oktoberfest, which was a decent beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(10/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Great Great
I was just there for Bike fest and got my first tast of the Oktoberfest. Simply Awesome! I have always had excellent beer, and a very tastey burger. I stop by every vist to the Island, and drag all my friends and family with me

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Giancarlo Lopez Giancarlo Lopez, Weslaco, TX
(10/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Lousy
Visited Sat. Bikefest. Had dinner with plans to go upstairs on deck to watch parade. Food & waitress good. Patron on deck rude & told us private party on deck. Mario, Gen. Mgr informed us it was true & these folks spend $40,000 a year there. If such VIP's then put a note on door to deck to inform public of a PRIVATE PARTY. Or "RESERVE" signs on tables. Also inform wait staff (waitress was not aware of anything special) Will not go back or recommend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Shenandoah, TX
(10/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
Visited SPI for a week, and hit PIBC four times. The Pale Ale is about all worth writing about - I agree with the other comment that the beer exuded That Homebrew Taste (THT), but that's not a bad thing, necessarily, as I would gladly pay for some of the homebrew I have had over the years. The Pale Ale leaves you smelling like Cascade hops - which is also a good thing. The menu is a bit over its head (quail meat on brewpub pizza? C'mon), but suffices for a TX small town place that like others have said is 250 miles from anything else. So why 4 times in a week if the beer was only Good - because there is only one local distributor, and he doesn't have a cold box - in other words, every other place serves different types of the same skunk in a bottle. I'll take Good THT over skunky Boehmia or XX Lager any day.

Service was good, but the place was empty most times we went in. Additionally, the brewkettle vented steam HEAVILY on one of our visits - a bi disheartening to hear a loud explosion-type sound from behind the bar and then to be showered with dust that the steam vent threw up into the air. The wait staff acted like that happened all the time - not sure that's really a good exmaple of managing equipment, but I'm not a commercial brewer. I leave it to you to decide.

I recommend a visit or three, only because it is the best alternative and the Pale Ale must be quaffed if you are a hophead and on the island.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ChrisW ChrisW, Houston, TX
(09/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Good So So
I dropped by the PIBC in August '02 and found most of their beers to be nothing special, with the exception of two of them. I tried the beer sampler and can say that their pale ale and stout are pretty good (I liked the Speckled Trout Stout enough to ask for a pint of it), but the rest of them didn't really impress me. The food was pretty good, though. I have a honeymoon trip to the Island in December and plan on visiting PIBC again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Menchaca J. Menchaca, McAllen, TX
(11/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
Padre Island serves enjoyable yet unremarkable beers that while better than the macro brews, they don’t fare well when compared to other brewpubs. The sampler included six beers, including one seasonal, but lacking two regulars that should have been available. Food is typical contemporary American pub grub. Appetizers ranged from calamari to fried artichoke hearts. Though not worth a special trip, you should certainly stop by if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph C Topping III Joseph C Topping III, Huntsville, TX
(06/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A N/A
I was lucky enough to sneak in here for a quick taste last week with the help of the wonderfully hospitable JR. They only had 5 beers on tap; stout amber, blond, pale, and hefe. The amber was the most interesting of the lot but all were engineered for warm weather. Were I drinking these beers out on the beach during the day instead of inside an air conditioned building at night, they might have gone over better. However, I'm glad they're there and I had the opportunity to visit. Interesting to note that most of the lauditory reviews are from 1999 and earlier. Sometimes things change.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(06/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
You have to seperate the bar service from the dining service. I have been there about 6 times since last Dec. and each time the bar service has been excellant. The table service on the other hand? The bad thing here is most of the customers are there for the food, it is a good thing this is a tourist spot. The menu is varried and the food excellant. The beer selection is nothing out of the ordinary but pretty good. The only one that is unusual to my taste is the Longboard Lager, it actualy has a hop bitterness to it. Being a hop lover my favorite is the Pale Ale, not a great one but it is the best in the area. Overall the place would not rate being a destination but if your in the area it is definetly worth a visit, just be sure to sit at the bar and the best time to visit is in the afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Mentor, OH
(03/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great Good
For a spring break place who's average beer IQ falls from below average to dangerously low, this brewery is not too bad. Compared to any other place on the island it's the best you can find.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Corydon, IN
(01/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy N/A
Stopped in to get a beer, it was 4:40, and the place was not busy. A total of 6 people were at the bar, and one couple was done and trying to pay. The barmaid never gave us any acknowledgement, and then got on the telephone. After 10 minutes we could see that our buisness was not as important as her phone conversation. The waiters were pulling their own drinks from the taps. We left, too bad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Rankert Jeff Rankert, Milford, MI
(12/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Great So So
There must be an inverse formula that the better the t-shirt design, the worse the beer is. Padre island had 5 house beers on tap and my large group of amigos ordered the samplers to try all five. None was good enough to order a full pint of! Food, however was excellent, and we concluded that bad beer at the beach was better than great beer at home on the couch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(08/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Great Good
Compared to American corporate beer, almost any microbrew tastes great. But compared to other brewpubs, PIBC is near the bottom. I have homebrewed better beers. Generally, their brews are thin and exude THT (That Homebrew Taste). Perhaps the good reviews reflect the fact that there is no competition within 250 miles. On a brighter note, their food has always been good, and was even better during our last visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Weslaco, TX
(05/23/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.303 seconds) 09:11:44 23.20.34.25, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS