PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room) - Saint Louis, MO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 26, 2014 @ 04:37 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MO > Saint Louis > Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room)
Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room) Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room)
Overall: Great    Score: 79.6 / 100
2100 Locust Street
Saint Louis, MO 63103
United States
(314) 241-BEER
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Saint Louis, MO
Beer Guide for Missouri

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room)
80 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(19 within 5 miles)
1) Maggie O'Brien's
(0 mile)

2) Buffalo Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) International Tap House
(1 mile)

4) John D. McGurk's
(1 mile)

5) Square One Brewery
(1 mile)

6) Soulard Ale House
(1 mile)

7) Calico's Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

8) Hannegan's Restaurant and Pub
(2 miles)

9) The Beale on Broadway
(2 miles)

10) Morgan Street Brewing Company
(2 miles)

11) Llywelyn's Pub
(2 miles)

12) City Grille and Brewhaus
(2 miles)

13) The Scottish Arms
(2 miles)

14) Six Row Brewing Company
(2 miles)

15) Cathedral Square Brewery
(2 miles)

16) Foam Coffee and Beer
(3 miles)

17) Newstead Tower Public House
(3 miles)

18) O'Connell's Pub
(3 miles)

19) Tin Can Tavern and Grille
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 2049 Sidney
2) Bed & Breakfast Geandaugh
3) Bed & Breakfast Lafayette Hse
4) Central West End B & B
5) Jerome Place Bed & Breakfast
6) Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast
7) Lemp Mansion Restaurant
8) Lister House-Graham B & B
9) Napoleon's Retreat
10) Samuel Cecil House
11) Somewhere A Bed & Breakfast
12) Two Boys Inn
13) Waverly Place Rooms & Jacuzzis
14) Winter House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADAMS MARK ST LOUIS
2) BEST WESTERN INN AT THE PARK
3) CHASE PARK PLAZA HOTEL
4) DRURY INN AND SUITES CONV CTR
5) DRURY INN UNION STATION
6) DRURY PLAZA HOTEL
7) ECONO LODGE RIVER FRONT
8) EMBASSY STES STL DOWNTOWN
9) HYATT REGENCY ST. LOUIS
10) MARRIOTT ST LOUIS DOWNTOWN
11) OAKWOOD FOREST PARK
12) OMNI MAJESTIC HOTEL
13) RADISSON - DOWNTOWN
14) RED ROOF ST LOUIS HAMPTON
15) RENAISSANCE GRAND HOTEL
16) RENAISSANCE ST LOUIS STE HOTEL
17) SHERATON CITY CENTER ST LOUIS
18) THE MAYFAIR, A WYNDHAM HOTEL
19) THE WESTIN ST LOUIS
20) WS HOTEL & SPA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 1907 Dorris Motor Car Company Building
2) Advertising Building
3) Ambassador Theater Building
4) American Theater
5) American Zinc, Lead and Smelting Company Building
6) Antioch Baptist Church
7) Arcade Building
8) B'nai El Temple
9) Balmer & Weber Music House Co. Building
10) Barr Branch Library Historic District
11) Beaumont Medical Building
12) Beethoven Conservatory
13) Bell Telephone Building
14) Bissel Street Water Tower
15) Blackwell-Wielandy Building
16) Blair, Frank P., School
17) Blind Girls' Home
18) Block Unit #1 Historic District
19) Boatman's Bank Building
20) Brown Shoe Company's Homes-Take Factory
21) Brown, A. D., Building
22) Brown, Paul, Building
23) Buehler, William, House
24) Building at 1300 Washington Avenue
25) Buildings at 2327-31 and 2333-35 Rutger Street
26) Butler House
27) Campbell, Robert G., House
28) Carr School
29) Centenary Methodist Episcopal Church, South
30) Charles Turner Open Air School
31) Chatillon-DeMenil House
32) Chemical Building
33) Chopin, Kate, House
34) Chouteau Apartments/Parkway Dwellings
35) Christ Church Cathedral
36) City Club Building
37) City Hospital Historic District
38) Compton Hill Water Tower
39) Cupples Warehouse District
40) Cupples, Samuel, House
41) Delany Building
42) DePaul Hospital
43) Des Peres School
44) Dickmann Building
45) Dolman Row
46) Dorris Motor Car Company
47) Eads Bridge
48) Eads Bridge
49) Eastman Kodak Building
50) Eliot School
51) Emerson Electric Company Building
52) Emerson, Ralph Waldo, School
53) Erlanger, Joseph, House
54) Fairgrounds Hotel
55) Fashion Square Building
56) Field, Eugene, House
57) Field, Eugene, School
58) Forest Park Headquarters Building
59) Forest Park Hotel
60) Fox Theater
61) Frisco Building
62) Fulton Bag Company Building
63) General American Life Insurance Co. Buildings
64) GOLDENROD
65) Grand Avenue Water Tower
66) Hadley-Dean Glass Company
67) Hager, C., and Sons Hinge Co.
68) Hamilton--Brown Shoe Factory
69) Hargadine-McKittrick Dry Goods Building
70) Hickory Street District
71) Holy Corners Historic District
72) Hotel Statler
73) Immaculate Conception School
74) International Fur Exchange Building
75) J.C. Penney Co. Warehouse Building
76) Jackson School
77) Jarrot, Nicholas, Mansion
78) Joplin, Scott, House
79) Kennard, J., and Sons Carpet Company Building
80) Kiel Opera House
81) Kulage, Otto, House
82) Laclede Building
83) Lambert Building
84) Lambert-Deacon-Hull Printing Company Building
85) Lambskin Temple
86) Lennox Hotel
87) Leonardo
88) Lesan--Gould Building
89) Liggett & Myers Tobacco Co. Building
90) Liggett and Myers (Rice-Stix) Building
91) Lincoln Trust Building
92) Lindell Real Estate Company Buidling
93) Lister Building
94) Louderman Building
95) Louise Apartments
96) Lucas Avenue Industrial Historic District
97) Luyties Homeopathic Pharmacy Company Building
98) Majestic Hotel
99) Majestic Manufacturing Company Buildings
100) Majestic Theatre
101) Mann, Horace, School
102) Marshall School
103) Maryland Hotel
104) May Company Department Store Building
105) Mayfair Hotel
106) Miltenberger, Eugene and Mary A., House
107) Mississippi Valley Trust Company Building
108) Missouri Pacifc Building
109) Moloney Electric Company Building
110) Mullanphy Historic District
111) Negro Masonic Hall
112) Neighborhood Gardens Apartments
113) Old Cahokia Courthouse
114) Old Laclede Gas and Light Company Building
115) Olive Street Terra Cotta District
116) Olympia, The
117) Page Boulevard Police Station
118) Peters Shoe Company Building
119) Phipps--Wallace Store Building
120) Pine Lawn Carriage House
121) Plaza Hotel Complex
122) PRESIDENT
123) Quinn Chapel AME Church
124) Robert, Johnson and Rand-International Shoe Company Complex
125) Rock Spring School
126) S.S. Cyril and Methodius Historic District
127) Saint Louis Provident Association Building
128) Saint Matthew's Parish Complex
129) Sanitol Building
130) Schollmeyer Building
131) Scruggs-Vandervoort-Barney Warehouse
132) Second Presbyterian Church
133) Security Building
134) Seventh District Police Station
135) Shaw Avenue Place
136) Shelley House
137) Silk Exchange Building
138) Simmons Colored School
139) South Side National Bank
140) Spivey Building
141) St. Augustine`s Roman Catholic Church
142) St. Francis de Sales Church
143) St. John Nepomuk Parish Historic District
144) St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Church
145) St. Liborius Church and Buildings
146) St. Louis Colored Orphans Home
147) St. Louis Post-Dispatch Building
148) St. Louis Post-Dispatch Printing Building
149) St. Louis Theatre
150) St. Mary of Victories Church
151) St. Stanislaus Kostka Church
152) Stix, Baer and Fuller Dry Goods Company's "Grand Leader" Relay Station
153) Stockton, Robert Henry, House
154) Stork Inn
155) Strassberger's Conservatory
156) Sumner, Charles, High School
157) Tandy Community Center
158) Taylor--Olive Building
159) U.S. Customhouse and Post Office
160) Union Market
161) Union Station Post Office Annex
162) Union Trust Company Building
163) Unitarian Church of the Messiah
164) USS INAUGURAL (fleet minesweeper)
165) Vesper-Buick Auto Company Building
166) Wainwright Building
167) Wainwright Tomb
168) Willys--Overland Building
169) Winkelmeyer Building
170) Winston Churchill Apartments
171) Wyman, Edward, School
172) YWCA, Phyllis Weatley Branch
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 10th Street Italian
2) 1111 Mississippi
3) 1776 Cafe Imbiss
4) A & W Family Restaurant
5) ABC Commissary
6) Addie B's 9th Street Rstrnt
7) Al Hrabosky's Saloon
8) Al's Cafe
9) Alexander City Grill
10) Alibies Bar & Restaurant
11) All Star Diner
12) Alvin's Coffee House
13) American Cuisine
14) American Place An
15) Amighetti's Downtown
16) Arby's
17) Arby's
18) Arcelia's Mexicana Restaurant
19) B & F Bar-B-Q
20) B B's Jazz Blues & Soup Inc
21) Bacchus Brewing Co
22) Baileys' Chocolate Bar
23) Bastille
24) Beale On Broadway
25) Best Rite Market
26) Best Steak House
27) Big Daddy's Bar & Restaurant
28) Big Mommas Grill
29) Biker's Corner Restaurant
30) Billie's Fine Foods
31) Billy Birk's Snack Shop
32) Bing Lau Chop Suey
33) Bistro At The Grand Ctr
34) Blimpie Subs & Salads
35) Blue City Deli
36) Bobby G
37) Boomer's
38) Boulevard Room
39) Breve Espresso Co
40) Broadway Market Grill
41) Broadway Oyster Bar
42) Bullfeathers
43) Burger King
44) Burger King
45) Burrell's Homestyle Kitchen
46) Cafe Cioccolato, A Chocolate, Wine and Art Event
47) Cafe Dejeuner
48) Cafe Ermita
49) Cafe Orleans
50) Caleco's Restaurants & Bars
51) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
52) Carmine's Steakhouse
53) Carnegie Hall Soulard Inc
54) Carson's Sports Bar & Rstrnt
55) Casa Gallardo Mexican Rstrnt
56) Casa Gallardo Mexican Rstrnt
57) Cecil Whittakers Pizzeria
58) Charley's Steakery
59) Charlie Gitto's Restaurants
60) Chick-Fil-A
61) China Kim's
62) Chinese Express
63) Chinese Gourmet Restaurant
64) Chinese Wok
65) Chinese Wok Restaurant
66) Chod's St Louis Bar & Chili
67) Church's Chicken
68) Church's Chicken
69) Clark Street Grill
70) Clementine's Bar
71) Club 54 Cocktail Lounge
72) Club Buca
73) Club Candela
74) Club Chinchilla
75) Complex
76) Country Kitchen
77) Courtside Snack Shop
78) Crackers
79) Crazy Bowls & Wraps
80) Creepy Crawl
81) Crown Candy Kitchen
82) Crystal Grill
83) Cummel's Cafe & Coffehouse
84) Curry In A Hurry
85) D A's Restaurant
86) D B's Sports Bar
87) Dairy Queen
88) Dapper Dan's
89) Dee Dee's Deli & Grill
90) Del Taco
91) Dierdorf & Hart's Steak House
92) Diner's Delight
93) Domino's Pizza
94) Domino's Pizza
95) Domino's Pizza
96) Dooley's Limited
97) Double Bogey Bar & Grill
98) Downstairs Diner
99) Downtown Bar B Que
100) Eagle's Nest Cafe
101) Eat-Rite Diner
102) Edge
103) Edible Difference
104) Empress Express
105) Evans Cafeteria
106) Famous-Barr
107) Fat Freddies Pub & Grub
108) Fat Tuesday
109) Feraro's Jersey Style Pizza
110) Flannery's Irish Pub
111) Food Fetchers St Louis
112) Frank's Place
113) Franklin Room
114) Galaxy
115) Garavaglia Quality Foods
116) Gary's Fine Dining
117) Gateway Double Drive-Thru
118) Gateway Pizza
119) Gingers
120) Gladstone's
121) Golden Coin House
122) Golliday's Restaurant
123) Good For You Too
124) Goody Pancake House
125) Gottham City Lounge & Rstrnt
126) Govinda's Vegetarian Rstrnt
127) Great Grizzly Bear
128) Gregory's Cafe & Pub
129) Griffins Of Soulard
130) Hammerstone's-Ninth & Russell
131) Hard Rock Cafe
132) Hard Rock Cafe Intl
133) Hard Shell Cafe
134) Hard Times Lounge
135) Hardee's
136) Hardee's
137) Hardee's Food Systems Inc
138) Harry's Restaurant & Bar
139) Have A Nice Day Cafe
140) Have A Slice Of Pizza Parlor
141) Heights
142) Hoagie City
143) Hodak's Restaurant
144) Hong Kong Express
145) Hooters
146) Houlihan's
147) Humphrey's Restaurant & Tavern
148) Hunan Manor
149) Hung Hing Chop Suey
150) Hungry Buddha
151) Hy-Wills Snack Shop & Deli
152) Imo's Pizza
153) Imo's Pizza
154) Imo's Pizza
155) International Catering Co
156) J F Sanfilippo's Restaurant
157) J T's Steakhouse
158) J T's Steakhouse
159) J's On The Landing
160) Jack In The Box
161) Jack In The Box
162) Jack Patrick's Bar & Grill
163) Jack Patricks
164) Jacques Bar
165) Jazz At The Bistro
166) Jefferson Chop Suey
167) Joanie's Pizzeria
168) Joanie's To-Go
169) John D Mc Gurks Irish Pub
170) Johnny's Bar & Grill
171) Johnny's Restaurant & Bar
172) Josephs Italian Cafe
173) Joyce's Corner Kitchen
174) Juniper Grill
175) K C Masterpice Barbeque & Grll
176) Kelly's Deli & Coffee
177) Kelly's Korner
178) Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
179) Key West Cafe
180) Kfc
181) Kim Van Restaurant
182) King & I
183) King Louie's
184) King's Food Court
185) Kitchen K
186) Krieger's
187) Laclede Street Bar & Grill
188) Lafayette Pub And Grill
189) Lagniappe's Ninth & Victor
190) Landry's Seafood House
191) Larocca's Shell Cafe Catering
192) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
193) Lil Nikki's Grill & Chill
194) Lin Fong Chop Suey
195) Lion's Choice
196) Little Easy
197) Little Pit Stop Inc
198) Little Snackes Shop
199) Loc's
200) Lombardo's Restaurant
201) London & Sons Wing House Inc
202) Long Patty Catering
203) Lucas Park Grille
204) Luck Food Restaurant
205) Lucky Food
206) Lucky Inn
207) Lucky's Bar & Grill
208) Lui's Chop Suey
209) Luigi's
210) Maggie O'brien's Ltd
211) Maggie's
212) Maggie's
213) Mama Maurizio's Pizza
214) Mandarin House
215) Mangia Italiano
216) Market Street Deli
217) Martini's On Broadway
218) Marty's Baking
219) Mary's Fine Foods
220) Maryland Kitchen
221) Maurizio's Pizza & Sports Cafe
222) Max & Erma's
223) Mc Donald's
224) Mc Donald's
225) Mc Donald's
226) Mc Donald's
227) Mc Donald's
228) Mc Donald's
229) Mc Murphy's Grill
230) Mekong Restaurant
231) Michael Slay Railcruise Amer
232) Michael's Catering Svc
233) Mickeys Restaurant & Bar
234) Mid-America Chili's
235) Mike & Min's
236) Mike Shannon's Steaks
237) Mississippi Nights
238) Missouri Bar & Grill
239) Mosaic Modern Fusion Cuisine
240) Mother's Fish
241) Nadines
242) Nightclub Europe
243) Niner Diner
244) Nita's Place
245) Norton's Cafe
246) O T Hodge Chile Parlor
247) O T Hodge Chili Parlor
248) Oasis Cafe
249) Obie's Of Soulard
250) Once Upon A Vine
251) Paddy O'Reilly's
252) Panama Reds
253) Panda Express
254) Papa John's Pizza
255) Park Avenue Bistro
256) Park Chop Suey
257) Paroid's Grill & Beverage
258) Patty Long Catering
259) Pepino's Pizza & Deli
260) Pepper Lounge
261) Phelan's Pub & Grill
262) Pino's Pizza
263) Pita King
264) Pizza Parlor
265) Pizza World Intl Franchise
266) Plaza Java
267) Plaza Pantry
268) Polish Heritage Ctr
269) Pour House Lounge
270) Quizno's Classic Subs
271) Quizno's Classic Subs
272) Quiznos Sub
273) Quiznos Sub
274) Rail Cruise America
275) Rally's Drive Thru
276) Rally's Drive-Thru
277) Rally's Drive-Thru
278) Rally's Drive-Thru
279) Randall Gallery
280) Red Moon Restaurant
281) Restaurant Foods At Home
282) Rhythm & Brews Coffeehouse
283) Ricardo's Italian Cafe
284) Rocket Bar
285) Route 66 Brewery & Restaurant
286) Royal Dumpe Dinner Theatre
287) Royal Pub
288) Rue 13
289) Saint Louis Brewery
290) Sakkio Japan
291) Sampling's By Miss Deb
292) Samwiches
293) Sbarro
294) Sbarro
295) Schuster's Bar & Grille
296) Sen Thai Cusine
297) Seventh Floor Food Court
298) Seventh Story Cafe
299) Shady Jack Saloon
300) Shady Jack's Cafe
301) Shenandoah Bar & Grill
302) Shugga's Coffeehouse & Cafe
303) Sidney Street Cafe
304) Simply Gourmet
305) Skeeters Banquet Ctr
306) Smoki O's
307) Snappy's
308) Sodexho
309) Sonntag Restaurant & Pub
310) Soulard Ale House
311) Soulard Ale House
312) Soulard Coffee Garden
313) Soulard's Restaurant & Bar
314) South City Diner
315) Spirit Social Club Inc
316) Spooty's
317) Sqwires Annex
318) St Louis Bar & Chili Parlor
319) St Louis Bread Co
320) St Louis Bread Co
321) St Louis Bread Co
322) St Louis Bread Co
323) St Louis Bread Co
324) St Louis Bread Co
325) St Louis Brewery Inc
326) St Louis Guest House
327) St Louis Pizza & Wings
328) St Louis Steakhouse
329) St Louis Taco & Grill
330) Starbucks
331) Starbucks
332) State Street
333) Station Grille
334) Station Grille
335) Steak Escape
336) Streetcart Express BBQ
337) Studio Cafe
338) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
339) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
340) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
341) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
342) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
343) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
344) Summit The Fine Dining
345) Sunrise Chinese Restaurant
346) Super Sandwich Shop
347) Sweet Jo Mama's Bbq
348) Swifty's
349) Syberg's On Eating & Drinking
350) Table One Restaurant
351) Taco Bell
352) Tangerine
353) Tanner B's
354) Tanner B's Downtown
355) Ted's Grill
356) Ten Fifteen Cafe
357) Tenant Affairs Meals & Daycare
358) Tequila Wild
359) Tequila's
360) Tgi Friday's
361) Thai Express
362) Theresa Cafe
363) Third Base Bar & Grill
364) Tom Jon's Catering
365) Tony's Inc
366) Top Of The Riverfront
367) Trainwreck Landing Inc
368) True Light Inc
369) Trueman's Place LLC
370) Tubby's Grilled Subs
371) Tucker's Place
372) Two Cents Plain
373) Upper Level Restaurant & Lnge
374) Urban Tap
375) Van Goghz Martini Bar & Bistro
376) Velvet
377) Village Cafe
378) Village Cafe
379) Village Grill
380) Vito's Pizzeria
381) Wall Street Deli
382) Wall Street Deli
383) Wasabi Sushi Bar
384) Washington Avenue Bistro
385) Washington Avenue Post
386) Wehbe's Safari Cafe
387) Wendy's
388) Windows Off Washington
389) Windy City
390) Wok-House
391) Yoji & Jackie's Pool Hall
392) Z Nightclub & Cafe
393) Zum Zum Restaurant
394) Zuzu
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
With all due respect to Anheuser-Busch and the "King of Beers", tourists should skip those parking hassles and long wait for tours and head to Schlaflys. This is what beer is about. They had twelve taps going with two beers on cask and a full bar.Had a pint each of the Witbier, Dry Hopped APA, Octoberfest and Oatmeal Stout. Great stuff from one to the next. Some bizarre food items on the menu.Fried frog legs. Pickled Herring. Lamb burger. Had a liverwurst sandwich with the warm potato salad that was to die for. Can see it's local friendly but,being a tourist, had no problem fitting in. Tours are available. Sorry sports fans didn't see any TV's around. More than enough happening around to keep you occupied.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(09/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Good
Stopped in during the State High School Football Championships. Got the impression that locals get the friendly service. Beer was Great. The cask ales were Awesome. Food was good, but wait staff was busy with their friends. I would go back, easy to find location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gman Gman, Kansas City, MO
(12/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Nice to come back to this place after 11 years. I was very impressed by the "new" expansion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City, MD
(05/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Best brewpub in St. Louis. Preferred their Pale Ale over the American Pale Ale, but both good. Haven't had a "bad" meal yet in a brewpub and this one certainly no exception.

Bob

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ledyard, CT
(04/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I almost stayed in and had dinner in the hotel restaurant. But I'm very happy I made the effort to check out this place. They had a dozen beers on tap, whihc is more than many brewpubs around the country. I had the American Pale, Porter and Imperial Stout. All were very good.

The menu had some unusual choices - lamb and pot roast sandwiches. I'm very fond of pub grub, but it gets repetitive after a while. It was nice to see unusual choices. The lamb sandwich was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Seibert Brad Seibert, Oakton, VA
(12/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Great Good
My wife and I went there on a Sunday evening. A musician was playing on a steel guitar, there were lots of tables, and we were seated at once. A very helpful and attentive waitress took our drink order (sixer sampler for me) and Grand Mariner for my wife. She ordered a Cesear Salad and I ordered a Steak and Mushroom Pie.

I was surprised when my "pie" turned out to be a bowl of stew with a big roll on the side. The salad was pretty mediocre. So the food gets a "so so".

But I was there for the beer. I finished the sampler and ordered a second, so I managed to taste all 12 beers currently on tap. There were three varieties of hefeweizen including a raspberry wheat. All were just average. The Pale Ale was decent as was the amber (#15). The Oatmeal Stout was good, and so were the Kolsch, Witbier, and Pilsner. The highlights of the evening were the Grand Cru (Belgian), India Brown, and Dry Hopped APA. All were above average.

So you go here for the beer, not the food. Combined with the excellent service, good music, and wide variety of beers this was a good visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Kuhnel Ron Kuhnel, Eureka, CA
(08/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
Brought my family of five to the Tap Room for supper last week while visiting downtown St. Louis. It's not too far of a walk from the City Museum. The family was not very impressed. When the first thing the waitress says to you is, "I apologize in advance, it's very busy right now," you expect the worst but hope she strives to exceed her goal of poor service. Alas, she met her goal, it was poor. We had to flag her down anytime we needed anything, even twice to remind her, and never a stop to ask us how things tasted. Luckily, it was alright. The fish 'n' chips was pretty good. The grilled cheese for the kids left something to be desired. The six beers were all pretty good, not the best selection in the world but tasty and well made. I tried the sampler, including the signature pale ale, pilsner, 15 (at least I think it was 15), oatmeal stout, and both the American and German hefeweizens. The 15, brewed for their 15th anniversary, was complex and was my favorite. The pale ale was disappointingly in the English style. I was hoping for a whammo hoppy American style, but that's my problem not theirs. As an English, it was alright, nothing to write home about. The pilsner and oatmeal stout were both very nice. And I like hefeweizens, and these were good, but didn't knock my socks off.

All in all, if I was in the area, I'd come here again, alone, for the beer, but I wouldn't bring back my family or sit at a table due to the poor service and mediocre food. Simple as that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David M. Taylor David M. Taylor, Two Rivers, WI
(06/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Lousy Good
The BEER is GREAT !! But the "tap room" completely SUCKS as a RESTURANT !! GO TO THE SCHLAFLY BOTTLEWORKS INSTEAD !! The food at the tap room is greatly overpriced, and is crappy... the service sucks, and they are pretty much in the middle of NOwhere (even though they are "downtown"). Not convient to anything... (in the middle of a bunch of warehouses) The Bottleworks however is AWESOME !! They have TOTALLY different (and much much better) food CHOICES !! Like I said don't get me wrong, I LOVE this brewery !! The beer is GREAT, the "taproom" just sucks... go to the "bottleworks" instead !!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy & Cathy Simmons Randy & Cathy Simmons, Springboro, OH
(07/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great
I've been going to the Tap Room for over ten years. I really feel the place was better ten years ago but it's still pretty darn good today. Great seasonal beer selection so you always have something new or different to try. Very nice old renovated building in a quite somewhat rundown neighborhood. Cozy, quite and comfortable in some areas and you can party in other areas. Schlafly beers are very good and very consistent. You know when you get a glass or a bottle it's going to be just as good as the one you had someplace down the road. They usually have a cask which is always a plus. It's worth the stop when you're in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beersoles beersoles, Beecher, IL
(11/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Stopped by before a Cardinals game and the place was very crowded for their Schlaffenfest. On their sampler they serve up the six year round beers. The oatmeal stout and pale ale were very good. The other four were good, but I prefer more flavor and aroma than these offered. We also tried the Grand Cru, Weiss, and Wit. All three were excellent. The fish and chips were outstanding as well. They are having a beer festival in September and are looking forward to returning to try their 40 styles of beers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Quincy, IL
(08/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We stopped by after eleven hours in a car. Had the sampler. The Oatmeal stout was my favorite especially with the Sticky Toffee Pudding. Your stupid if you don't save room. Stay away from the hefe'. The barleywine will warm you right up! Why do they even make Budweiser?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pesci Pesci, Petoskey, MI
(12/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
The Hop Harvest was excellant; as was the Stout. I didn't see a list of what was available so I can't comment on the selection, but when I asked about seasonals, the waitperson just kept naming them off. Service was very good. They also have a full bar for non-beer-drinking tag-alongs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(10/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
MANY BEERS (APPROXIMATELY 10) DONE VERY WELL. APA ON CASK, HOP-N-RYE, AND HOP HARVEST ALL HIT THE SPOT. THEIR LIGHTER BEERS (HEFE, KOLSCH, PILS, AMERICAN LAGER) WILL SATISFY THE MASSES. THE BEST BREWERY IN ST. LOUIS AREA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(10/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Eight or nine beers on tap. All I had were of great quality! The service is top notch and the food is always great. Not many place better than Schlafly's. If you are in St. Louis this is a must. Beer the way it should be!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Moline, IL
(09/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Toatally great beer and a great selection as well. It is so enjoyable to walk into a brewpub that has nine beers on tap and two more on cask. I had the IPA and a stout, both were very well done.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, romeoville, IL
(03/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
It is hard to add to what others have already said. This is the best brewpub in St. Louis.

I visited on a saturday afternoon and by 5:30 the downstairs was packed. They had about eight beers on tap and two cask conditioned ales, a Pale Ale and a Stout. I had the cask Pale Ale and the normal Pale Ale and an APA. All were excellent. I introduced my friend to cask ale and he immediately picked up the difference--the cask ale has much more flavor. He had a Scotch Ale and really enjoyed it. If you are in St. Louis, a visit is a must.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Alvin Steve Alvin, Henry, IL
(02/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Always a good selection of beer. They also have regular events: Cod and Cask Condition Ales Fest, Stout and Oysters Fest, etc. Without a doubt the best micro in the St Louis area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(02/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I was at this location 8 or 9 years ago and swore I'd never go back. After reading the positive reveiws as of late, I thought I would give them another try while in Missouri for the holidays. I was there on 23 December 2004. The first thing I noticed was how knowledgeable the bartender was about their beer, the beer brewing process, and the difference in beer style--a nice thing to find at a brew pub!! I could overhear here discussions with the couple a few stools over and she spoke with wisdom and enthusiasm. That knowledge and the good service was a STARK change from my last visit there. I found the service to be attentive and pleasant (with the possible exception of the bartender on the bar side--in his defense he was doing the bar and the tables there). There were 12 beers on tap the day I was there: American Lager, hefewitzen, pilsner, pale ale, ESB, Belgian triple, schwartzbeir, porter, oatmeal stout (tap and cask, coffee stout, and Imperial stout. I found the porter to be especially nice. It had a very robust flavor yet was not sweet or particulary dry. The finish almost had a bourbon flavor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
All of their beers (I tried 8 of them) were at least solid. The pale ale seemed average, not enough hops, but the seasonal ESB was excellent...hoppier than the pale ale. I thought the tripel was exceptional, and my wife and I enjoyed lots and lots of the seasonal coffee stout and Imperial stout. Even the regular oatmeal stout was quite good. I'd have rated the beers as awesome if they'd have had a pale ale that was as memorable as their stouts. I really liked the atmosphere in the pub. I also thought the food was quite good, and they have a couple of imaginative selections that puts it a cut above the typical pub fare. I will definitely stop back here whenever I'm in St. Louis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gargantua Gargantua, Madison, WI
(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
the beer selection was great liked the pale ale and oatmeal stout. Would like to have had more time to spend here sorry that I wasted time at RT 66 brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james horton james horton, cambridge springs, PA
(12/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
My favorite brewery in STL, hands down. Like the atmosphere at the taproom better than at Bottleworks, and the food is better here too. Schafly makes fantastic beer, always have. The only thing I would change is their distribution, I really wish I could by it in Cali- for now I just take as much back with me as I can carry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Paul was excellent and full of info about the history and the beers. I had the sampler and the best two were the pale ale and the stout. The octoberfest was very different and i was told that it was due to the type of yeast. I then tried the Saison which by far was there best beer. The Wit and Hop harvest were also very good. I reccomend the cask conditioned Hop Harvest. The best brewery in St. Louis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, Manalapan, NJ
(10/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The beer was great, the food was great, and the service was efficient. The bartender wasn't a warm and fuzzy kind of guy, but he won't keep you waiting either. This is by far the best brewpub in St. Louis and the one you must go to if you're in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, PITTSBURGH, PA
(07/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I had 4 beers: APA Cask-very smooth, hoppy, a little thin on the mouth. Overall very good.

Stout-very tasty, a little light and served too cold. Good beer

Barleywine-served at proper temp-sweet but drinkable. 16oz served for a high ABV beer-who's complaining? Very nice.

I had beef stew-great food on a cold night. This is a nice place with a great selection of brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
Barleywine is a seasonal. It is long gone by May. Kolsch is the summer ale about that time of year. They're lucky enough to get their yeast from a brewer in Cologne. I like big beers too, but just because a place doesn't serve Barleywine year round...come on!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis, MO
(12/13/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.704 seconds) 04:37:25 54.242.231.109, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS