PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Southampton Publick House - Southampton, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 07:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Southampton > Southampton Publick House
Southampton Publick House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Southampton Publick House
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.1 / 100
40 Bowden Square
Southampton, NY 11968
United States
(631) 283-2800
Listed Since: July 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Southampton, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Southampton Publick House
19 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Buckley's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 1708 House
2) Evergreen on Pine
3) Goose Creek Guest House
4) Half Moon Hideaway Inn & Spa
5) Ivy
6) Mainstay
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) A BUTLERS MANOR BED AND BREAKFA
2) SOUTHAMPTON INN
3) THE BENTLEY
4) THE CAPRI
5) VILLAGE LATCH INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Balcastle
2) Beach Road Historic District
3) Bowers, Dr. Wesley, House
4) Chase, William Merritt, Homestead
5) Goodale, Capt. C., House
6) Rosemary Lodge
7) Water Mill
8) Windmill at Water Mill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 75 Main
2) A-Lounge
3) Amazonia Grill
4) Armand's
5) Barrister's Restaurants
6) Basilico Restaurant
7) Beach
8) Belles East Restaurant
9) Buckley's Irish Pub
10) Burger King
11) Cabana
12) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
13) China Garden
14) Chockful O'Nuts
15) Coffee Dot
16) Country Deli
17) Cyrils Castaway Inc
18) Driver's Seat Restaurant
19) East End Clambakes
20) Fellingham's
21) Fudge Co Inc
22) George Martin Restaurant
23) Golden Pear Corp
24) Greasy Spoon Cafe
25) Haagen Dazs Ice Cream Shop
26) In House Catering & Rental
27) Janet O'Brien Caterers
28) Jobs Lane Deli
29) John Duck Jr's Southampton
30) LA Hacienda
31) La Parmigiana Italian Restrnt
32) La Pizzaiola Inc
33) Las Cucharitas LTD
34) Le Chef Restaurant
35) Maggie Moo's LLC
36) Mc Donald's
37) Native American Coffee Roast
38) New World Pasta
39) North Sea General Store
40) Outback Steakhouse
41) Paul's Italian Amer Kitchen
42) Plaza Cafe
43) Posthouse Inn & Restaurant
44) Roadhouse Bar & Grill
45) Sant Ambroeus
46) Savanna's Restaurant
47) Shippy's Pumpernickels Rstrnt
48) Silver's Famous Restaurant
49) Sip N' Soda Lunchnet
50) South Fork Delicatessen
51) Southampton Pizza-Deli Caterer
52) Southampton Publick House
53) Sugar Loaf Restaurant
54) Tamy's Corp
55) Tavern
56) Ted's East End Market Inc
57) Tidewater AAA Pub
58) Tuckahoe Delicatessen
59) Witch's Rock Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Great N/A Great
My Friday the 13th was great because I spent the entire afternoon at SPH. Arrived at noon and left a bit after 4. The bartender was great, food great, service great. They were out of the IPA and I mercilessly gave them grief and they all took it well. It had been 6 years since I had visited. I hope it won't be that long before I make it back again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(08/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
Only 5 selections to choose from and they were out of 1, the IPA. I had it in a bottle and thought it was pretty good. The Lager was very good as was the Stout. food was okay. Crab and Shrimp was pretty good. I'm not use to so much dill. Crab cake was good. Wings were dry and boring

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Crused out to this place all the way from Queens on a Sat afternoon and could have stayed all weekend. The barkeep was great as were the White,Stout and Secret we had.Everyone just seemed happy to be there!!A very comfortable and welcoming feeling at this pub.And on LI in my opinion this is very rare.

Thanks SPH keep up the great work

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ken ken, new hyde park, NY
(11/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great beer and great food. The Biere de Garde and the May Bock are must haves. The Secret Ale and Double White are excellent too and if you go there now, have their 10th Aniversary Ale .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Bogota, NJ
(06/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
This is a great restaurant and brewery. We ate lunch there with my parents while on a Long Island road trip and we all really enjoyed our meals and the beers (except my mom who hates beer). I started with a seasonal porter that was excellent; a dark, very smooth, medium bodied ale with a nice roasty flavor. My wife had the Southampton Pale Ale which was a nice hoppy, well balanced American style IPA; assertively hopped, but not overpowering. My dad had the Southampton Golden Lager; a light but flavorful Munich style lager. I also had a pint of the Secret Ale; an excellent alt style copper colored, well balanced, hoppy ale with a nice malty background. In addition to several draught beers, they also had several of their beers that they bottled available to go in 22 oz bombers. I got a saison and an imperial porter to go. (I later found the imperial porter in a liquor store in New Jersey for a bit cheaper).

The food was very good. My wife and I both had one of the daily specials; Cajun spiced bay scallops on a Caesar salad. My parents both had chicken burgers that were quite good and came with some excellent sweet potato fries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Publick House is rock solid in terms of brews and food-- just excellent all around in what they do. Phil is an extremely talented brewer and really nice guy. I especially like the IPA and the Left Coast IPA if it's on the seasonal menu. Secret ale is the main session beer, but try the hand pulls at the bar or some of the larger format Belgian bottles. What would we do without this place!?!?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Stevenson Tom Stevenson, Orient, NY
(01/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Right now (May 2005) you'll find an excellent Maibock and a satisfying 80 Schilling Scottish Ale, both will please the drinker with a taste for hops and barley. The cellar is stocked right now. The Biere de Mars is superb, not sweet, almost dry, the perfect beer to sip for refreshment on a warm spring afternoon. A few bottles of Grand Cru are still available. Try the Abbey Single if you want a taste of authentic Belgium. Be sure to fill out the comment card after your meal so you can get the Publick House newsletter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donavan Hall Donavan Hall, Rocky Point, NY
(05/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
This is the place to get great microbrewed beer on Long Island. The quality of the beer is outstanding. The brewer has a command of his beer styles. I especially like the Belgian and French ales. Recently, I have the Double White, the Single Abbey, and the Grand Cru. All are excellent. The Single Abbey is nice and refreshing with a hint of sourness (a good thing). The Grand Cru is the next best thing to flying to Belgium and drinking Hoegaarden Grand Cru (a difficult to find, all barley version of their ubiquitous Wit).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donavan Hall Donavan Hall, Rocky Point, NY
(05/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
The beers here are very well made. Phil Markowski is a Belgian wizzard. This is probably the best brewpub on Long Island.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Jacoby Steve Jacoby, Birdsboro, Pa
(05/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I've been to Southampton Publick House twice--most recently on July 16th. Both times I had excellent experiences although I must admit that the service was a bit better at the bar than outside. The foreign extra stout was excellent--chocolate and coffee flavor (had 11/2002--don't think it was on tap in July). The IPA was very good. With friends on the south fork, this can be a regular stop for me. I look forward to the next time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Brought my parents for dinner recently and had the Wheat Beer, which was very good. Everyone enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. Purchased a real nice hooded sweatshirt on the way out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Leonardi Bill Leonardi, Laurel, NY
(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
My wife and I went here for dinner on our LI brew tour and were not disappointed. We got there around 8:00 and, since it was off season i'm sure, the place was around 1/3 full, although the tavern looked happenning. Tried the sampler and the 2 lightest were simply bland. the Light was odorless and colorless. After those the sampler started looking up. The IPA was nice and hoppy. It was lighter in color than most, but the hop aroma and flavor came through nicely. The cask Steam Beer wasn't too bad, either. My wife like the Trappist Pale Ale, and i'd have to agree with her. But my favorite was the Secret Ale. I'm not sure where the reviewer a couple back got Bass from -- this is based on an AltBier recipe. Malty goodness, lightly hopped. Our dinner entrees (scampi for me, lemon-pepper chicken for her) were both excellent. Nice portions, served with steamed veggies and rice that needed no additional seasoning. Our server was great. She gave us plenty of time to enjoy another round after our meals, and comped my wife's beer when it took a little longer than normal for her to serve it. I'd visit here again...maybe in the fall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review steve, somerset, nj
(04/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
I went there on a Saturday afternoon with my wife for lunch. Between us we tried all of the seasonals that they had. The Belgian Double White was just OK. I feel it was just a bit too strong and had an alcohol taste. The McSulley's Dry Stout was out of this world. A little sweeter than I had expected, but the right balance of hop bitterness and coffee undertones made this brew alone worth the hour and a half drive. I also had the cask conditioned english ale - all I can say is "Mmmm.....beer warm and flat, they way it is supposed to be" As good as anything I've had in a pub in the UK. The menu was a bit limited, but our burgers were fine. It seems that the dinner menu is a bit more extensive. If you go, get the brownie ala mode. It goes great with the stout. Oh where, oh where have the Nassau county brewpubs gone?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Irwin Markus Irwin Markus, Baldwin, NY
(04/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Most of the beers were very good. The Belgian-style Gran Cru was excellent! The Oyster Stout was dissappointing to me, but then I'd never had one before, so I didn't really know what to expect.

The food, was quite good and the server was very friednly and accommodating.

If you are out this way, plan on visiting. It's worth it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Carlucci Jim Carlucci, Trenton, NJ
(10/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
My wife and I recently visited for lunch. The Black Ale Onion Soup was terrific. The Secret Ale is out of this world...if you like Bass Ale, you'll love this. If you're in the area, it's definitely wirth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Leonardi Bill Leonardi, Laurel, NY
(09/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
My favorite brewpub on LI. Worth a special trip. It is first class from beginning to end. Great and interesting beer selection and menu. Selections change for the season. Well done.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review North Babylon, NY
(09/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Owner Donald Sullivan will take the time and give a fellow brewer the grand tour of the Restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Doskotz Mike Doskotz, South Setauket, NY
(07/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great Beers, Great atmosphere, Great people. The year round beers are nicely balanced, with something for everyone. The seasonals are always top notch, with the beer matching the season. Always 1 cask conditioned beer on hand pump.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Daniels Bruce Daniels, East Hampton, NY
(04/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Miller Geo Miller, Plymouth, CT
(04/10/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.189 seconds) 19:21:30 54.83.228.89, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS