PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Capital Brewery Company, Incorporated - Middleton, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 11:05 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Middleton > Capital Brewery Company, Incorporated
Capital Brewery Company, Incorporated Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Capital Brewery Company, Incorporated
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
7734 Terrace Avenue
Middleton, WI 53562
United States
(608) 836-7100
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: May 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Middleton, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Capital Brewery Company, Incorporated
17 Reviews / 5 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Claddagh Irish Pub
(0 mile)

2) Old Chicago
(3 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN WEST TOWNE SUITES
2) COMFORT SUITES MADISON
3) EXTENDEDSTAY MADISON WEST
4) HAMPTON INN MADISON WEST TOWNE
5) HILTON GARDEN INN MADISON WES
6) MARRIOTT MADISON WEST
7) RADISSON HOTEL
8) STUDIOPLUS MADISON WEST
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Commons, John R., House
2) First Lutheran Church
3) Jacobs, Herbert, Second House
4) Middleton Depot, Chicago, Milwaukee, and St. Paul Railroad
5) Rowley, Dr. Newman C., House
6) St. Peter's Roman Catholic Church
7) Thorstrand
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arby's
2) Bavaria Family Restaurant
3) Bear Rock Cafe
4) Big Bowl Asian Kitchen
5) Blue Plate Catering
6) Boston's The Gourmet Pizza
7) Bristled Boar Saloon & Grill
8) Cheeseburger In Paradise
9) Chin's Asia Fresh
10) China Wok Buffet
11) Chipotle Mexican Grill
12) Claddagh's Irish Pub
13) Cold Stone Creamery
14) Connie's Home Plate
15) Cousins Subs
16) Cousins Subs
17) Crandall's Restaurant
18) Culver's
19) Denny's
20) Domino's Pizza
21) EDO Buffet
22) Emerald Isle
23) Falbos Pizza
24) Fitzgerald's Of Middleton
25) Frienz Bar & Grill
26) Gino's Italian Deli
27) Grand China Restaurant
28) Griglia Tuscany
29) Hardee's
30) Hody Bar & Grill
31) Hubbard Avenue Diner
32) Louisianne's Etc
33) Malay China
34) Mc Donald's
35) Mi Cocina
36) Nick-N-Willy's
37) Nitty Gritty Restaurant & Bar
38) Old Town Inn
39) Pancake Cafe
40) Paul & Don Neighborhood Bar
41) Pon Cheros Mexican Grill
42) Prairie Cafe & Bakery
43) Quaker Steak & Lube
44) Rick's Cafe
45) Roly Poly
46) Romano's Macaroni Grill
47) Rusty's
48) Soup Factory
49) Starbucks
50) Tallard's Station
51) Three Sisters' Old Town Inn
52) Tiffany Grille
53) Village Green Bar & Grill
54) Village Green Bar & Grill
55) Vin Santo
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
This is a brewery and a bar, but no food. We had a really fun tour, with sampling during the tour, which made is more interesting. all the beers we tried were good. The pale ale was very tasty. We enjoyed the beer and the experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(07/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Capital Brewery is an industry, selling tee-shirts and other memorabilia. The popularity of this place is much due to a large beer garden with live music. This brings in a big crowd for a party but not much, I suspect, for the beer. There is also an inside bar open in the winter which is nice but much smaller.

We tried several beers during our visit.

The Island Wheat is a rather ordinary pilsner. It is not very exciting but is also very popular which says something about American tastes.

I really liked my U.S. Pale Ale. I found it to be typical hoppy ale, very good.

The Rustic Ale was an amber ale, not nearly as hoppy as the U.S. Pale Ale and not as interesting to me. My brother-in law liked it, describing it as “a lot of flavor without being bitter, not like Guinness”

Finally, I tried an Autumn Fire. This is a dark beer without the flavor of a porter or stout. In general this place does not have much in the way of dark beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe G Joe G, Greensboro, NC
(10/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
I've yet to make the brewery tour and biergarten but have always like any samplings of Capital. Added the Island Wheat to my list of fine samplings from Capital this past weekend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Spyhalski Paul Spyhalski, Austin, MN
(06/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
I love just about every one of their brews. My girlfriend loves the new Island Wheat. The gift shop is pretty cool. They get a pretty good crowd in the beer garden when it is nice out. I highly recomend taking a tour, meeting Kirby and enjoying a few beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dave dave, verona, WI
(05/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Kudos to Capital for keeping their integrity while getting so large. The wheat absolutely kicks anal. Capital also takes the award for largest and most complete brewery gift shop I have ever seen. Underwear, salt and pepper shakers, motor oil, you name it, they will stamp CAPITAL on it and sell it. But if my beer was this good, I would be proud too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(12/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Most of Capitol's brews are very good, as apparent from the many reviews in All About Beer magazine. My favorites are probably the Bavarian and the Dark. Service is very friendly, and I absolutely love the beer garden on a summer's Friday afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Nick, Lincoln, NE
(05/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Have been fans of Capitol beers for some time, first visit to brew pub this week-end. Large beer garden,nice hospitality room on the outter fringes of Middleton. Service was good,friendly. Only complaint was price of a pint. This varried with style of beer but price of pint of Maibock was $4.50. More in line with downtown Madison.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jim phelps jim phelps, toddville, IA
(04/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
I've been generally enjoying Capital beers for the last 10 years and even reviewed it here a couple years ago, but this is the first time I actually went to the brewery. What a strange experience. I expected the standard "take a 20-minute tour and stand around in a small tasting room afterwards" routine. What I got instead was a gigantic outdoor German-style beer garden that was as big as their parking lot but with less ambiance. I'm serious. It's just a giant warehouse-sized slab of concrete with endless rows of picnic tables, few trees for shading, and a stage at the far end. Beer was served in plastic(!) cups from a bar under an awning attached to the back side of the building.

The only remotely negative complaint I have about the beer is that it's exclusively German-style, so they're not exactly experimental or daring. But these folks do German-style beer better than just about any American brewery I can think of -- and better than some German breweries for that matter. The pilsner was an excellent European-style version. The Bavarian Lager, with a fairly rich malt character and pilsner-like bitterness, gave me a new appreciation for light-colored lagers. And this year's Autumnal Fire doppelbock was excellent as always, especially as it warmed up. (I noted to the bartendress that the names of doppelbocks often end with "-or" and suggested maybe they call theirs "Autumn-ator." She smiled and said she'd pass it on. Cute.)

One slightly bothersome aspect is that they didn't seem to have any sense of crowd control. It's not that there were fist-fights or any such ruckus, but nobody seemed to notice or care that patrons were urinating in the bushes or letting their dogs roam loose. If it's all the same to these folks, I'd just as soon drink my beer without a cold wet nose scrutinizing my kneecap and without listening to urine splatter into the dirt. I'd hate to see what it's like when the place is full.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
The brewer loves to make strong, german style beers. So watch out. Beer garden is the best I've seen outside of Bavaria. My favorite biers are the Dark (No one in the US does better IMO) and the Dark Dopplebock. 1900 is a good, session beer. Many of the other bocks are a little on the cloying side. Bockfest is dangerous (in a good way).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Weekend Jim Weekend, Middleton, WI
(08/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Capital has a tasting room with a very pleasant atmosphere. The best times are in the summer when they can open the beer garden and have entertainment. The beers are extremely well done. They don't do pale ales, stouts, porters or fruit beers, but they do everything else. My favorites are their Autumnal Fire, Octoberfest, Maibock, Blonde Doppelbock, Kloster Weizen (their wheat beer)...actually, they're all good. Definitely worth visiting if you're in the area and they're open...I have the good fortune to live only a couple of miles away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gargantua, Madison, WI
(03/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Last week a group of us attended Capital Brewery's annual Bockfest and onca again it was a great time. Capital holds this as its only outdoor winter festival. As always, the beer and the company were awesome. The highlight of the day is "The Chub Toss". This is where they actually throw smoked chub off of the roof into the well lubricated and chilled crowd below, if you catch a chub you could win prize (usually beer). For the rest of us it makes one hell of a spectator sport. Great beer, great place, great people, highly recommended and worth the trip, just remember to bring a designated driver.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rottnme, Sun Prairie, WI
(03/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Simply the finest beer I've rever had, at a beautiful venue!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roger Roger, Denver, CO
(12/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Capital's beers are by and large solid and consistent, though not particularly outstanding. Two notable exceptions are a couple of seasonal offerings, the Maibock and the Autumnal Fire doppelbock. I had the latter on tap last fall and it gave me a whole new respect for this brewery. If you can get your hands on the Autumnal Fire, do it. If you can find it on tap, you are a very lucky (wo)man.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(09/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
The Capitol spring festival happens to fall on my birthday weekend and I seam to close it every year. The beer garden is awesome, and I love the tasting room. You have earned the title of "The King of Lagers"! Nothing more to say than YOU GUYS ROCK!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from captain snake captain snake, okauchee, WI
(05/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Awesome!
Capital Brewery is one of the premier craft breweries in the Midwest. For 14 years now, brewmaster Kirby Nelson has been turning out outstanding beers. He is an absolute master at brewing bocks, and any one of his various regular and seasonal bock offerings is a delight to lovers of this rich, wonderfully malty style. Located in a suburban light industrial park, the brewery itself is undistinguished; they do try to make the attached beer garden seem comfortable and friendly. However, it is the beers themselves that are the standouts and worth going to some trouble to seek out, whether at the brewery or your local beer outlet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Pierce Bill Pierce, Des Moines, IA
(08/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good
If you like real beer gardens, this is the place. Open on Friday and Saturday nights from May until September beginning around 4 P.M., the Garten Brau beer garden also features live music from time to time. Picnic tables are placed around a small stage. Patrons can bring in their own food - I've seen Weber grills fired up on the spot cooking brats, chops and steaks. The bartenders are usually brewery employees. They're always friendly and helpful in suggesting a beer for you. Beer selections change weekly, but they always have three or four different Garten Brau varieties on tap. Garten Brau Special remains my favorite beer of all time. Be sure to ask the bartenders about 'Cheesehenge'.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Will Veber Will Veber, Davenport, IA
(04/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A So So
Some might say where it all began in WI; one of the oldest micros in the Midwest. Facilities and tours somewhat limited, but worth a stop to see the gift shop

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Marshfield, WI
(11/24/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.279 seconds) 23:05:15 54.81.170.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS