PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hunter Gatherer Brewery-Alehouse - Columbia, SC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 19, 2014 @ 04:57 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > SC > Columbia > Hunter Gatherer Brewery-Alehouse
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Hunter Gatherer Brewery-Alehouse
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82 / 100
900 Main Street
Columbia, SC 29201
United States
(803) 748-0540
Listed Since: August 1996
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Columbia, SC
Beer Guide for South Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
39 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

2) Flying Saucer
(0 mile)

3) Liberty Tap Room and Grill
(0 mile)

4) Publick House
(2 miles)

5) Delaney's
(2 miles)

6) The Tavern on Greene
(2 miles)

7) Jake's Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Chestnut Cottage B & B
2) Claussen's Inn
3) Residence Inn
4) Richland Street B & B
5) Rose Hall Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADAM'S MARK HOTEL COLUMBIA
2) BW GOVERNORS HOUSE HOTEL
3) CAMBRIDGE PLAZA HOTEL
4) CLARION HOTEL TOWN HOUSE HOTEL
5) CLAUSSEN'S INN
6) COMFORT INN AIRPORT
7) COMFORT SUITES DOWNTOWN
8) DAYS INN COLUMBIA AIRPORT
9) EXTENDEDSTAY COLUMBIA WEST
10) HAMPTON INN COLUMBIA DTWN
11) HOLIDAY INN CITY CENTRE USC
12) HOMEWOOD SUITES COLUMBIA
13) HOTEL CIUDAD REAL CENTRO HIST
14) MASTERS INN COLUMBIA I-26
15) MASTERS INN KNOX ABBOTT
16) RAMADA LTD CAYCE SC
17) RIVERSIDE INN
18) STUDIOPLUS COLUMBIA WEST
19) SUPER8 COLUMBIA FT JACKSON ARE
20) TRAVELODGE AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allen University
2) Alston House
3) Arcade Building
4) Arsenal Hill
5) Bethel A.M.E. Church
6) Building at 1210--1214 Main Street
7) Building at 1644 Main Street
8) Building at 1722--1724 Main Street
9) Building at 303 Saluda Avenue
10) Caldwell-Hampton-Boylston House
11) Canal Dime Savings Bank
12) Cayce, William J., House
13) Chapelle Administration Building
14) Chesnut Cottage
15) Columbia City Hall
16) Columbia Mills Building
17) Confederate Printing Plant
18) Consolidated Building
19) Curtiss--Wright Hangar
20) Debruhl-Marshall House
21) Dovillers-Manning-Magoffin House
22) Eau Claire Town Hall and Survey Publishing Company Building
23) Ebenezer Lutheran Chapel
24) Elmwood Park Historic District (Boundary Increase)
25) Fair-Rutherford and Rutherford Houses
26) Fair-Rutherford and Rutherford Houses
27) First Baptist Church
28) First National Bank
29) First Presbyterian Church
30) Gervais Street Bridge
31) Gervais Street Bridge
32) Greyhound Bus Depot
33) Guignard Brick Works
34) Gunter--Summers House
35) Hale-Elmore-Seibels House
36) Hall, Ainsley, House
37) Hampton-Preston House
38) Heslep House
39) Horry-Guignard House
40) House of Peace Synagogue
41) Kirkland, B. B., Seed and Distributing Company
42) Kress Building
43) Lace House
44) Ladson Presbyterian Church
45) Lever Building
46) Logan School
47) Lorick, Preston C., House
48) Lutheran Theological Seminary Building: Beam Dormitory
49) Lyles-Gudmundson House
50) Mann-Simons Cottage
51) McCord House
52) McMaster School
53) Moore-Mann House
54) National Loan and Exchange Bank Building
55) North Carolina Mutual Building
56) Olympia Armory
57) Palmetto Building
58) Palmetto Compress and Warehouse Company Building
59) Price, George R., House
60) Randolph Cemetery
61) Richland Cotton Mill
62) Sidney Park Colored Methodist Episcopal Church
63) Simkins, Modjeska Monteith, House
64) South Carolina Governor's Mansion
65) South Carolina State Armory
66) South Carolina State Hospital, Mills Building
67) Southern Cotton Oil Company
68) St. Peter's Roman Catholic Church
69) Still Hopes
70) Supreme Court of South Carolina Building
71) Sylvan Building
72) Taylor House
73) Town Theatre
74) Trinity Episcopal Church
75) Union Station
76) US Courthouse
77) Wallace-McGee House
78) Wardlaw Junior High School
79) Washington Street United Methodist Church
80) Whaley, W. B. Smith, House
81) Wilson, Thomas Woodrow, Boyhood Home
82) Woodrow Memorial Presbyterian Church
83) World War Memorial Building
84) Zimmerman House
85) Zimmerman School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adriana's Gelateria Inc
2) Al's Upstairs Italian Rstrnt
3) Alley Cafe
4) Alley Cafe
5) Andy's Deli
6) Angel Food
7) Applause Catering
8) Art Bar
9) Asian Star Restaurant
10) Atlanta Bread Co
11) Authorized Appliance Svc Ctr
12) Back Porch
13) Banana Joe's Island Party
14) Bangkok Cafe
15) Bar None
16) Basil Pot
17) Bayou Bar & Grill
18) Beezers Gourmet Sandwich Shop
19) Ben's Walk-In
20) Bernie's Restaurant
21) Bert's Grill
22) Big Al's
23) Big Apple
24) Billy G's Bar & Grill
25) Biscuit House
26) Bits & Pizzas
27) Blimpie Subs & Salads
28) Blue Cactus Cafe
29) Blue Marlin
30) Bojangles' Famous Chicken
31) Bojangles' Famous Chicken
32) Box Lunch Co
33) Bull Market Restaurant
34) Burger King
35) C & D Cafe
36) Cafe Maxx
37) Cafe Paradiso
38) California Chicken Grill
39) California Dreaming Restaurant
40) Camon Japanese Restaurant
41) Capital City Club
42) Capitol Restaurant
43) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
44) Carolina Bagel Bakery & Cafe
45) Carolina Bagel Co
46) Carolina Wings & Rib House
47) Castaways Barbecue & Seafood
48) Cat & Cleaver Catering & Co
49) Catering By Dupre
50) Cavanaugh's Deli
51) Charley's Grilled Subs
52) Chastity's Gold Club
53) Chef Vinnes
54) Chick-Fil-A
55) China Garden Restaurant
56) China Hut Ii
57) China Kitchen Chinese Rstrnt
58) China Wok
59) Chisk Fil-A On Main St
60) Church's Chicken
61) City Cafe & Bakery
62) Club RA
63) College Corner
64) Cool Beans Coffee Co
65) Crosswalk Cafe
66) Damon's Clubhouse
67) Devine Foods
68) Dianne's On Devine
69) Diva Lounge
70) Doctor Rocco's
71) Dog House Diner
72) Domino's Pizza
73) Dorothy's Kitchen
74) Doug's Dogs
75) Drake's Duck In
76) Dupre
77) Eddie's
78) Edisto Open Air Market
79) Eggroll Station
80) El Burrito
81) Fat Cat Cafe
82) Finlay's
83) Flying Saucer
84) Garden Bistro
85) Garden Bistro Main
86) Garibaldi's Of Columbia
87) Gervais & Vine
88) Gervais Street Deli
89) Goat-Feathers Coffee Bar & Rst
90) Greek Boys
91) Groucho's Original Deli
92) Group Therapy
93) Hampton Place Cafe
94) Hampton Street Vineyard
95) Hannah Jane's
96) Hardee's
97) Hardee's
98) Harpers Restaurant
99) Have A Nice Day Cafe
100) Havens Bistro
101) Hennessy's Restaurant & Lounge
102) Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Ale
103) Ike's Place
104) Immaculate Consumption
105) India Pavilion
106) International House-Pancakes
107) Jaco's
108) Jammin' Java
109) Jerry Kelly's
110) Jillian's
111) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
112) John Paul's Armadillo Oil Co
113) Just Fresh Bakery Cafe
114) Kelly's Deli & Pub
115) Kfc
116) Kinch's Restaurant
117) La Vecchia's Seafood Grille
118) Liberty Taproom & Grill
119) Lilly Franks PCS Inc
120) Lizard's Thicket Restaurant
121) Lizard's Thicket Restaurant
122) Longhorn Steakhouse
123) Lunch Box
124) Mac's On Main
125) Mack's Cash Grocery
126) Main Event
127) Main Streetz Restaurant & Bar
128) Marble Slab Creamery
129) Market Grill Inc
130) Maurice's Gourmet Barbeque
131) Mc Donald's
132) Mc Donald's
133) Mc Donald's
134) Mc Kenzie's Pub
135) Mediterranean Tea Room
136) Mellow Mushroom
137) Meritage
138) Metropolis
139) Millennium Buffet
140) Miyo's Cafe
141) Miyo's On Main
142) Moe's Southwest Grill
143) Monterrey Jack's
144) Monterrey Mexican Restaurant
145) Motor Supply Co
146) Mr Ben's
147) Mr Friendly's New Southern
148) Nathan's Restaurant
149) Nature's Deli
150) New Orleans Riverfront
151) Nice-N-Natural
152) Nonnah's
153) Opening Break
154) Oriental Express Delivery
155) Oyster Bar Columbia
156) P T's 1109
157) Palace Restaurant
158) Palmetto Pig Bar-B-Q
159) Palmetto Sandwich Shop
160) Palmetto's Restaurant
161) Papa John's Pizza
162) Parthenon Restaurant & Pizza
163) Pavlov's
164) Pizza Hut
165) Primo Fine Food
166) Publick House
167) Quiznos Sub
168) Rhino Room
169) Rio Nightlife
170) Rising High Natural Bread Co
171) Ristorante Divino
172) Rockaway Athletic Club
173) Roly Poly
174) Rosewood Market & Deli
175) Rupert's Blue Dog Cafe
176) Rust Whisky Bar Gill
177) Salty Nut Cafe
178) Saluda's
179) Sammi's Deli
180) Sammi's Deli Franchising Inc
181) Sandy's Famous Hot Dogs
182) Seawell's Food Caterers Inc
183) Sherlock Holmes Pub
184) Sideline Cafe
185) Silver Moon Restaurant
186) Sing-Tao Chinese Restaurant
187) Smoothie King
188) Sonic Drive-In
189) Souper Spoon
190) South By Southwest
191) Stadium Restaurant
192) Steak-Out
193) Steamers Seafood Co
194) Stuffy's
195) Suadom
196) Subby's
197) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
198) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
199) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
200) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
201) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
202) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
203) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
204) Sundance Grill
205) Sushi Yoshi
206) Taste Buds Delivery
207) Taste Of China Hut
208) Tavern On Greene
209) Terrazza
210) Thailland Restaurant & Bar
211) This That N The Other Rstrnt
212) Tiffany's Cafe & Bakery
213) Tios Mexican Cafe
214) Today's Diner
215) Tony's Pizza
216) Tony's Pizza Downtown
217) Toogie's Restaurant
218) Tronco's Chefs Office
219) Uncle Louie's
220) V12
221) Villa Tronco Italian Rstrnt
222) Village Idiot Pizza & Pub
223) Vista Brewing Co
224) Wendy's
225) Whig Restaurant
226) Wild Haire Sports Cafe
227) Willy's Bar & Grill
228) Yesterdays
229) Za's Brick Oven Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Ya know, I used to make it to the Hunter Gatherer a couple times a week until the new staff members turned out to be New Age Tyrants. The beer is still wonderful, when Kevin can keep up with the demand, and the location in downtown Columbia is great. I'm not a wheat beer fan but his HG Wheat is very popular among the ladies and fans of smooth clean brew. There is always an Extra Special Bitter on tap and this is my day to day favorite, bitter but well balanced. His Pale ale goes with everything on the menu and is just hoppy enough to scare off the Bud drinkers but satisfy a real beer fan. Kevin rotates a seasonal beer, usually of a darker variety such a Brown Ale, several types of Porters and Stouts and a Ye Olde Bastarde that will keep you on your stool tasting it until closing time. The chef is a true Idiot Savant! (I kid Joe, he knows I don't think he's a savant...) From Duck Breast to BBQ and Pizza to Raspberry Drizzled Pork Medallions you can't go wrong. Enjoy the beer and the food is excellent but talk softly and don't say anything you wouldn't hear a first grade teacher say in class or the Goose Stepping Bar staff will 'BAN YOU FOR LIFE' or longer. What's the deal? I've been enjoying Kevin's fine Ales, Stouts and Porters since the day he opened somewhere around 1995. His staff had always been a young fun loving bunch ranging from Pro Boxing fans to organic Earth Mother types and I got along with them day and night. Problems began with a 'Petty Tyrant' of a bartender and a self loathing little waiter who think their friends have special privileges and the regulars should make room for the new wave. I do have a hobby that neither of these sheeple agree with but which is 100% legal (it has nothing to do with sex, guns, abortion, civil war memorabilia, or anything that isn't in your house, no matter who you are, right now.) and even discussing it at the bar gets me ejected. The bar sells 'Growlers' to go and a friend was threatened with ejection if he purchased a growler to deliver to me. Kevin has promised that he will get me back in but he has to find some way to keep me and the Kindergarten Cops from stepping on each others toes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moffatt Bradford Moffatt Bradford, COLUMBIA, SC
(08/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I'm a fan of their IPA and my wife likes the stout, for food we both love the duck. We like to go on Mondays when it's non smoking.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Knott Brad Knott, Madison, SD
(08/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I've been a H-G patron now for over 10 years (and I'm not even quite a regular.) The quality of beer, service, friendliness of staff, atmosphere, and clientele have never waned. Just tonight, I refilled two "growlers" for a mere 24 bucks and enjoyed the Pale Ale and Wheat brews all night long. What a wonderful establishment. Great beer, great food, great staff, great scenesters, just great. I honestly never had a bad time at H-G. Something there just clicks. Whatever Kevin (the Brewmaster) does to coach his bartenders and waitstaff to be as wonderful as they are is a mystery, but he should share his business acumen with the world. Simply a wonderful time, every time. I've had so many good conversations with so many good people there. Just a warm place to enjoy great food and great beer. I honestly don't know why I go anywhere else. Best bar I think I've ever been to. I only regret not turning H-G on to my all of my closest friends . . . yet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Ewanick David Ewanick, Columbia, SC
(03/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I don't usually think much of brewpubs in the south - Hunter-Gatherer is a remarkable exception. I spent a week in Columbia and only got there twice. (My loss.) The beers: Wheat: a very good "rustic" presentation, Pale Ale: also very good, very pale; Strong Porter: exceptional beer w/ good balance and 7.5% alcohol; Bitter: a really exceptional beer, quite dark for a bitter but this is the one I went back to the most. The food: Everything I tasted and saw was absolutely excellent. I didn't get better food anywhere else in town. I had the humus plate the first night with both chickpea humus and a black bean version. Everything was clearly home-made, of excellent quality and presented with a flair. On my second night I had the Grilled filet of tenderloin with mashed potatoes and broccoli. This was one of the list of specials that also included 1)pan-seared duck breast, 2)some dish with goat cheese and roasted red peppers, 3) Caw Caw Creek bratwurst (a local organic grower), 4) pumpkin ravioli. The music scene: I caught the Skipp Pearson Thursday night Jazz workshop that was absolutely hopping. Skipp is a veteran jazz sax player who is clearly brining along young talent from the area. I hear they have decent rock bands also. This place is absolutely excellent - don't miss.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Rowe James Rowe, Madison, WI
(11/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I don't understand what Vince's problem was... Besides that it's a city and not a college town, I've lived here for 9 years and have never run into a situation where, at 11PM on a Thursday night, I did not have the option of 20+ bars to go to...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john john, columbia, SC
(10/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Good beer is starting to be available in the South now......

Have been here twice, once in May, once in August. Good food, good beer. The ESB was great on my last trip. It's the only brewpub in Columbia, right behind the State House.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Springfield, Vt
(09/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
Only 4 Beers on tap when I stopped, liked the flavor of all 4 but a bit on the lite side. Food was pub type and I had a burger that was great, neat building great location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Sheboygan Falls, WI
(09/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Be aware, doesn't open until 4pm. Right next to university and downtown area, easy to find. Cool old building, good service, interesting decor. Beer was good, not outstanding but good/great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul&Kathy Kurtz Paul&Kathy Kurtz, Coventry, RI
(06/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Overall, very enjoyable experience. The appetizers are so-so, but the entrees are great. I've tried the specials about three times now, and I've never been disappointed. Their seafood was very fresh, and came out of the kitchen pretty quick.

On to the beer-

ESB - Good ESB, tasty beer, but lacking in the real hoppy flavor inherent in this style.

Wheat - Very pale in color, sorta weak in flavor. Good if you like traditional wheat beers.

Porter - This is a seasonal, and it probably isn't being sold anymore, but it it an excellent porter. Good malty flavor, very well balanced with hops, but still super-smooth. Definitely brought me back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deschutes Lover Deschutes Lover, Bend, OR
(05/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
obviously VINCE did not do any planning. I have been to college towns all over the south and west and would say that Columbia stays open and serves booze later than 95%. You tried a few places and then stayed in your hotel? Too bad for you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from anderson anderson, Columbia, SC
(12/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
After reading so many reviews of the bean dip, I was disappointed. It tasted like a can of black beans dumped out of the can and heated with a little sour cream and green onions on top. The rest of the food was great as well as the beer. The pale and the ESB was better than the wheat. It would have been great if there was an HG stout on tap as well. Tonight they only had the wheat, pale, and ESB. Overall I can't wait to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Columbia, SC
(11/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We were in town on a thursday. a college town... and the whole town was closed at 11pm except for the bar in the hotel. all i'm saying is plan accordingly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Gorman Vince Gorman, Pittsburgh, PA
(04/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We stopped on our way to Orlando for Spring Break, and thoroughly enjoyed the place. Our Saturday night visit was wonderful. We were seated upstairs right away by a very helpful staff member. I especially liked the weisse! A good place for kids if you're travelling.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bruce Rohrbach, State College, PA
(03/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
As someone who visits Columbia SC, at least three times a year, I look forward so much to going to the HG. It's friendly atmosphere, good service, wonderful brewed selection of beers, and food are second to none.

Having over time tried out all of thier beers, I am most impressed by thier IPA, it is as good as most British brewed IPA's, and is both hoppy and refreshing.

Thier food is always served piping hot to your table by well mannered and friendly staff.

I know as soon as I get back thier next week I am gonna have a trip down to Main Steet, to the HG, and then off to an Inferno game. Go Inferno !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phillip Phillip "Lord" Ashcroft, Liverpool, NW
(02/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Awesome!
I liked the place, nice atmosphere, and contrary to the previous two posts I did not find Dave to be Rude or a crybaby! I didn't eat at the Hunter Gatherer so I cannot comment on the food.

Now, on to the beers:

H.G. IPA - Bitter but light with a German Lager maltish flavor. It was just OK it needed more hops flavor.

H.G. ESB (Extra Special Bitter) - No hop nose, good bitterness, needed more Hops flavor, but it was a good ESB. My favorite of the three I tried.

H.G. Wheat - Very light. I thought it was lawnmower beerish.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim H Tim H, Cypress, TX
(02/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Lousy So So
dave is rude

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review jan, columbia, SC
(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So So So
un friendly staff. be sure to tip dave or he will cry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review charles, columbia, SC
(12/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
As a brewer, I usually taste the quality of the IPA to determine if I want to venture towards the rest of the selections. Very good. Also liked the ESB - top notch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Florentz Jim Florentz, Jacksonville, FL
(09/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
Sure I live here, but truly the HG has a vibe and ambience so rustic, warm, and comfortable that it rates as the best anywhere (and I've visited hundreds of brewpubs). The English style ales with a Northwest U.S. accent (try the sgnature ESB) are very good and dependable, the service always friendly, and the food outstanding value. My only suggestion for enhancement is a little more variety and experimentation with the house brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Singmaster Carl Singmaster, Columbia, SC
(09/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I'm happy to say that the H-G is my favorite hang-out!!! I've been going there at least once a week since I've moved to Columbia and have decided that it's a great place!!! Everything that I've had on the menu is fantastic (big-ups to the black bean dip and "The Bruce"). Being so close to USC, there is definately an interesting collection of people...but that just adds to the atmosphere. The building is an old Fire station absolutely dripping with character and adorned with some of the most eclectic decorations I've ever seen (including the stuffed Jackyl/Heyena in the Window). True they usually only have 4 home beers on tap, but they also have a guest beer...which gives them a nice selection without being too overwhelming. I've had a lot of their beer, but some of the more memorables are:

Wheat****(great mouthfeel and a superb offering of what a wheat should taste like), ESB/Bitter*****(this is their standard and believe me, they've nailed it...smooth rich and malty balanced almost perfectly with slight hops), 90 Schillings***(a dry finishing scottish ale...as best I can remember, the beer got better the more I drank), Plain X Stout*****(a great version of an old standard...cold coffee with a hint of chocolate...yumm)

The only thing missing from this place is a Great IPA...they have one, but it seems a little weak in the hops cataegory...c'mon Kevin, don't be a-feer'd to come over to the dark side!!

Come on down, who won't be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred Allen Fred Allen, Columbia, SC
(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Great
Without a doubt, this is the best beer in Columbia! The food is good, though I must admit, I have never eaten anything but their hamburger (which costs 6 bucks). Their soups and pizzas look awesome, though. They usually have 4 beers on tap and seem to always have a bitter, which is the best bitter I have found. The atmosphere is "artsy"... so, be prepared to meet a hodgepodge of people - from art to music to you name it, this place is really all about the beer... go there for the beer, if nothing else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan J Ryan J, Columbia, SC
(06/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So N/A
Only had two of their brews on tap whin I went in March 2003. They were charging a cover for a band that was playing. In the hour we were there the siad band never played. I like the atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Charles Gailband, San Diego, CA
(04/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Great Great
I have never had a beer here that I did not like. Best times are Thursday Jazz and after USC basketball games. Love the Black bean dip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ricky, Columbia, SC
(03/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great
The Pale Ale and the Wheat are terrifanta! The Intergalactics on Friday Night were really good, as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven Sancho Steven Sancho, Mercersburg, PA
(01/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
There was a monkey in the corner that kept staring at me all night...he made me very nervous. The wait staff claimed they couldn't see him, they must have been in on it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Corum Todd Corum, Columbia, SC
(10/29/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.327 seconds) 04:57:26 54.82.1.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS