PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Barley's Brewing Company - Columbus, OH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 02:03 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OH > Columbus > Barley's Brewing Company
Barley's Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Barley's Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79.6 / 100
467 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43215
United States
(614) 228-ALES
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: October 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Columbus, OH
Beer Guide for Ohio

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Barley's Brewing Company
83 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(17 within 5 miles)
1) Columbus Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Mac's
(0 mile)

3) Char-Bar
(0 mile)

4) Claddagh Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Saint James Tavern
(0 mile)

6) Betty's Fine FoodandSpirits
(0 mile)

7) O'Shaughnessy's Public House
(0 mile)

8) Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant
(0 mile)

9) Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub
(0 mile)

10) Flatiron Bar and Diner
(0 mile)

11) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

12) BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
(0 mile)

13) Claddagh Irish Pub
(0 mile)

14) Surly Girl Saloon
(2 miles)

15) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

16) Schmidt's Sausage Haus
(2 miles)

17) Flaherty's Thirsty Ear Tavern
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 50 Lincoln Inn
2) Harrison House Bed & Breakfast
3) Henderson House B & B
4) Lansing St Bed & Breakfast
5) Schopf House Bed & Breakfast
6) Victorian Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES WORTHINGTON
2) BEST VALUE INN COLUMBUS
3) BW CLARMONT INN AND SUITES
4) COLUMBUS AIRPORT MARRIOTT
5) COLUMBUS COUNTRY SUITES
6) COLUMBUS MARRIOTT NORTH
7) COURTYARD COLUMBUS AIRPORT
8) COURTYARD COLUMBUS DOWNTOWN
9) CROSS COUNTRY INN OSU NORTH
10) CROWNE PLAZA COLUMBUS DOWNTOWN
11) DAYS INN COLUMBUS FAIRGROUNDS
12) DAYS INN DOWNTOWN WEST
13) DOUBLETREE GUEST SUITES
14) DRURY INN SUITES CONV CTR COLUM
15) FAIRFIELD COLUMBUS OSU
16) HYATT ON CAPITAL SQUARE
17) HYATT REGENCY COLUMBUS
18) KNIGHTS INN COLUMBUS DOWNTOWN
19) RED ROOF COLUMBUS DOWNTOWN
20) RED ROOF COLUMBUS OH ST UNIV
21) SUPER 8 MOTEL AT UNIVERSITY
22) THE BLACKWELL
23) THE COLUMBUS RENAISSANCE HOTEL
24) THE LOFTS
25) UNIVERSITY PLAZA HTL AND CONF
26) WESTIN GREAT SOUTHERN HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Agler-La Follette House
2) American Insurance Union Citadel
3) Berry Brothers Bolt Works
4) Bradford Shoe Company Building
5) Broad Street Apartments
6) Broad Street Christian Church
7) Broad Street United Methodist Church
8) Central Assurance Company
9) Central Building of the Columbus Young Men's Christian Association
10) Central Ohio Lunatic Asylum
11) Columbia Building
12) Columbus Gallery of Fine Arts
13) Columbus Savings and Trust Building
14) Columbus Transfer Company Warehouse
15) East Broad Street Commercial Building
16) East Broad Street Presbyterian Church
17) Engine House No. 16
18) Felton School
19) Franklin Park Conservatory
20) Franklinton Post Office
21) Gantz Homestead
22) Garfield--Broad Apartments
23) Great Southern Hotel and Theatre
24) Griswold Memorial Young Women's Christian Association
25) Hamilton, Gilbert H., House
26) Hanna House
27) Harrison, Gen. William Henry, Headquarters
28) Heyne--Zimmerman House
29) Higgins, H. A., Building
30) Holy Cross Church, Rectory and School
31) House at 753 East Broad Street
32) Huntington, Franz, House
33) Indianola Junior High School
34) Jacobs, Felix A., House
35) Jaeger Machine Company Office Building
36) Jeffrey Manufacturing Company Office Building
37) Jeffrey, Malcolm, House
38) Johnson--Campbell House
39) Jones, W. H., Mansion
40) Joseph--Cherrington House
41) Kauffman, Linus B., House
42) Kaufman, Frank J., House
43) Krumm House
44) Levy, Soloman, House
45) Lincoln Theatre
46) Long and Third Commercial Building
47) Lovejoy, Carrie, House
48) Masonic Temple
49) Miller, Frederick A., House-Broad Gables
50) Miller, J.F., House
51) Morris, C. E., House
52) North High School
53) Ohio Asylum for the Blind
54) Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Offices
55) Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Offices
56) Ohio Moline Plow Company Building
57) Ohio National Bank
58) Ohio State Arsenal
59) Ohio State Office Building
60) Ohio Statehouse
61) Ohio Theatre
62) Old Governor's Mansion
63) Old Ohio Union
64) Orton Memorial Laboratory
65) Pataskala Presbyterian Church
66) Pataskala United Methodist Church
67) Pierce, Elijah, Properties
68) Pierce, Elijah, Properties
69) Plaza Hotel
70) Prentiss, Frederick, House
71) Prentiss--Tulford House
72) Pythian Temple and James Pythian Theater
73) Rankin Building
74) Rickenbacker, Capt. Edward V., House
75) Schlee-Kemmler Building
76) Schueller, Erwin W., House
77) Scofield--Sanor House
78) Second Presbyterian Church
79) Seneca Hotel
80) Sessions Village
81) Sharp--Page House
82) Shedd--Dunn House
83) Smith, Benjamin, House
84) St. Clair Hospital
85) Stoddart Block
86) Sullivant, Lucas, Building
87) Thurber, James, House
88) Toledo and Ohio Central Railroad Station
89) Tosheff's Restaurant and Hotel
90) Trinity Episcopal Church
91) Trinity German Evangelical Lutheran Church
92) U.S. Post Office and Courthouse
93) University, Hayes and Orton Halls
94) University, Hayes and Orton Halls
95) Valley Dale Ballroom
96) Welsbach Building
97) Welsh Presbyterian Church
98) Westminster Church
99) Wyandotte Building
100) York Lodge No. 563
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 31st District Round Table
2) 340 Vend
3) A Few Good Servers
4) A Matter Of Taste
5) A Touch Of Dutch
6) Adriatico's New York Style
7) All American Hamburger
8) Ana Moley's
9) Anna's Restaurant
10) Apollo's
11) Arby's
12) Arlene's Cuisine
13) Ashley's Dinners
14) Asian Wok
15) Asian Wok Ii
16) Au Bon Pain Inc
17) Axis Nightclub
18) B D Mongolian Bbq
19) B Hamptons Bar & Grill
20) Bananna Joe's Brewery District
21) Bar-Tec Inc
22) Barcelona Restaurant
23) Barley's Brewing Co
24) Barrister Hall's Party Room
25) Barry's New York Style Delicat
26) Basi Italia
27) Bbq Development
28) Beck Tavern
29) Bella's Italian Eatery & Night
30) Benevolence
31) Bento Go Go
32) Betty's Bar
33) Bier Stube
34) Big Apple Restaurant & Deli
35) Big Daddys Ltd
36) Big Easy Cajun
37) Blazers Pub
38) Blimpie Subs & Salads
39) Blimpie Subs & Salads
40) Blues Station Inc
41) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
42) Boulevard Grille
43) Braddock's Diner
44) Bravo Lindeys
45) Bread & Better
46) Brewmasters Gate
47) Brian Boru's Pub
48) Brickyard
49) Brothers Bar & Grill
50) Brown Bag Deli
51) Brownstone Lofts
52) Buca Di Beppo
53) Buckeye Hall Of Fame
54) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
55) Burger King
56) Burgundy Room
57) Bw-3 Buffalo Wild Wings
58) C B R's
59) C B Svc & Design LTD
60) Cafe Bourbon Street
61) Cafe Corner
62) Cafe Iliana
63) Cafe Iliana
64) Cafe Napolitana
65) California Pizza Kitchen
66) Calvin's Corner
67) Cameron Mitchell Catering Co
68) Cameron Mitchell Restaurants
69) Canabar
70) Cap City Diner
71) Capitol Grille
72) Cappy's Deli
73) Caribou Coffee
74) Caribou Coffee Inc
75) Carrabba's Italian Grill
76) Casino's Pizza
77) Catering Concepts
78) Catfish Biff's Pizza & Subs
79) Chambers Lounge
80) Char-Bar
81) Charley's Steakery
82) Charley's Steakery
83) Charley's Steakery
84) Chatterbox Bar
85) Cheeburger Cheeburger
86) Cheeseburger Inn Paradise
87) Chick-Fil-A
88) Chick-Fil-A
89) Chicken & Eggs
90) China Buffet
91) China Wok
92) Chipolte Mexican Grill
93) Chipotle Mexican Grill
94) Chipotle Mexican Grill
95) Chloe's Deli
96) Church's Chicken
97) Cinnabon
98) City Center Diner
99) Claddagh Irish Pub
100) Claddagh Irish Pubs
101) Clarmont
102) Club 185
103) Club 202
104) Club Diversity
105) Club Paradise
106) Coffee Table
107) Cold Stone Creamery
108) Columbus Brewing Co
109) Columbus Eagle Bar
110) Columbus Fish Market
111) Coney Express
112) Confluence Park Restaurant
113) Cosi All Day Cafe
114) Courthouse Pub & Grill
115) Courtyard Restaurant
116) Cove Lounge
117) Crazy Chicken
118) Cup O' Joe Coffee Dessert
119) D#1 Happy Family Club
120) Dagwoodz
121) Damon's
122) Damon's Catering
123) Damon's-Parke Restaurant
124) Dante's Pizza II
125) Darz Cafe
126) Dawg House Tavern
127) Del's Keg Room
128) Deli In The Alley
129) Dell Cafe
130) Diners
131) Domino's Pizza
132) Donatos Pizza
133) Donatos Pizza
134) Donatos Pizza
135) Donatos Pizza
136) Donatos Pizza
137) Doubletree Guest Suites
138) Down Front Cafe
139) Downtown Connection
140) Downtown New Orleans
141) Downtown New Orleans
142) Dragon Fly Organic Neo V
143) Dynasty Express
144) Easy Street Cafe
145) Easy Street Cafe
146) Easyriders Cafe & Bar
147) Easyriders Cafe & Bar
148) El Acapulco
149) El Areeazo Latin Grill
150) El Escondido
151) El Escondido
152) Elemental
153) Elevator Brewery & Draught
154) Emack & Bolios
155) Engine House
156) Escape Enterprises Inc
157) Espresso Cafe
158) Espresso Escapes
159) Estrada's Burrito Ville
160) Euro Cafe
161) Evo Cyber Cafe
162) Exile Bar
163) Fame's Diner
164) Fastcar Cafe
165) Fat Daddy's
166) Firdous Express
167) Firdous Polaris
168) First Watch
169) First Watch Restaurants
170) Five Loaves Catering
171) Flaming Wok
172) Flatiron Bar & Diner
173) Flavors Of India
174) Florentine Restaurant
175) Flying Pizza
176) Frezno Eclectic Kitchen
177) Friday's
178) Frog Bear & Wild Boar
179) Frosty's Bar
180) Fruitz Smoothie & More Store
181) Full Monty
182) Fusebox
183) Fusion
184) G & M Grill
185) G Michael's
186) German Village Coffee Shop
187) Gibby's Arena District
188) Gibby's Chicken Wings & Bar
189) Glass Garden Restrnt
190) Golden Eight Ball 11th
191) Goody-Boy Drive In
192) Grand Productions
193) Grandma's Pizza & Pasta
194) Grapevine Cafe
195) Greenstreets
196) Guido's Speakeasy
197) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
198) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
199) Hagen's Ale & Tee
200) Hai Ku
201) Handke's Cuisine
202) Happy Dragon
203) Happy Greek
204) Hartman Of Main
205) Havana
206) Haviland Club
207) Heil's Delicatessen
208) High 5
209) High-Beck Corner Tavern
210) Ho-Toy Thai-Chinese Restaurant
211) Hoggy's
212) Hoggy's Catering
213) Hoggy's Corporate Office
214) Hoster Brewing Co Wholesale
215) House Of Japan
216) Howl At The Moon
217) Il Fornetti
218) Indian Oven
219) Indoor Cafe
220) Inn Between
221) Isabella's
222) J & G Diner
223) J & R's
224) Jack's Sandwich Shop
225) Jackson's Chesapeake Food Bar
226) Japanese Steak House
227) Java Master
228) Java Time Plus
229) Java's Cyber Expresso Bar
230) Jeffreys Cooking Svc
231) Jenny's Splendid Ice Cream
232) Jersey Mike's Submarines
233) Jillian's
234) Jimmy John's
235) Jimmy V's Pub
236) Johnny Rockets
237) Jordan's Deli
238) Juergen's German Bakery
239) Juergen's Traditional Bavarian
240) Juice Bar Health Food Rstrnt
241) K 2u Bar & Grill
242) KAFE Kerouak
243) Ken's Diner
244) Kfc
245) Kfc
246) King Avenue Restaurant
247) King Pizza
248) Kooma Restuarant
249) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
250) Krome
251) Kyrie Cafe
252) Kyrie Cafe
253) L'antibes
254) LA Bamba Mexican Restaurant
255) La Plaia Restaurant
256) Le Petit Bistro Inc
257) Lee's China Kitchen Inc
258) Lemongrass Asian Bistro
259) Library Bar
260) Lickety Split
261) Lin Lin's Restaurant
262) Lindey's
263) Lindey's Cafe
264) Little Palace
265) Long Street Entertainment
266) Ludlow's
267) M Restaurant & Bar
268) Mac's Cafe
269) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream & Trtry
270) Main Bar
271) Mall Cafe
272) Mally Gal's Lounge
273) Mark Pi's Express
274) Marquee Lounge
275) Martini Italian Bistro
276) Max & Erma's
277) Max & Erma's
278) Max & Erma's
279) Mc Donald's
280) Mc Donald's
281) Mc Donald's
282) Mc Donald's
283) Mega Wraps
284) Metro Bar & Grill
285) Mike's Carryout
286) Mike's Grill
287) Mitchell Cameron Restaurants
288) Mitchell's Steak House
289) Moe's Southwest Grill
290) Mojoe Lounge Short North
291) Molly Woo's Asian Bistro
292) Morton's Of Chicago
293) Mozarts Inc
294) Mulryan's Downtown
295) Mykonos Zyros
296) Native Grounds Cafe Inc
297) Network Restaurant
298) New Orleans 199
299) New York Pizza & Pasta
300) New York Pizza Oven
301) Nick's Diner
302) Nicolosi's Deli
303) Nida's Sushi
304) No Attitude Bar & Grille
305) Northfork Saloon
306) Notals III
307) Notals Pub
308) Novak's On High
309) O'shaughnessy's Public House
310) Old Mohawk Restaurant
311) Old School Lounge
312) Olde Gahanna Sanctuary
313) Oldfield's
314) Olive Garden
315) One Thousand Knights
316) Opium Lounge
317) Original Steubenville Pizza Co
318) Otero's Food Bar
319) Out On Main
320) Out-R-Inn
321) P S Columbus Inc
322) Panera Bread
323) Panima Deli & Takeaway
324) Panini Bar & Grill
325) Papa John's Pizza
326) Papa John's Pizza
327) Papa John's Pizza
328) Parke Street Tavern
329) Parson's Beer Dock
330) Patio Grill
331) Pauli's
332) Penn Station East Coast Subs
333) Phillip's Coney Island
334) Phillip's Original Coney Isle
335) Pierre's Catering & Pierre's
336) Pine Room Restaurant
337) Pita Pit
338) Pizza Gourmet
339) Place To Be
340) Planet Smoothie Cafe
341) Plank's Cafe & Pizzeria
342) Plaza Deli & More
343) Plaza Dining
344) Plaza Restaurant
345) Pochi Tea Station
346) Popeyes Chicken
347) Potbelly's Sandwich Works
348) Press Grill LTD
349) Press Grille
350) Pretzel Time
351) Primo's Pizza
352) PSN State Liquor
353) Pyramid Nightclub
354) Qdoba Mexican Grill
355) Queen Bee Restaurant
356) Quizno's Classic Subs
357) Quiznos Sub
358) Quiznos Sub
359) Quiznos Sub
360) Quiznos Sub
361) R Arena Bar
362) R J Snappers Bar & Gill
363) Radio Cafe
364) Rainbow Club
365) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
366) Ray Johnson Seafood
367) Red Brick Inn
368) Red Lobster
369) Red Sea Cafe
370) Red Star Tavern
371) Red Zone
372) Red-16
373) Ricky's Galaxy
374) Riffe Center Cafe
375) Rigsby's Office
376) Rigsby's Restaurant
377) Ringside Cafe
378) Road House Annie's Restaurant
379) Roger's Cafe
380) Roger's Cafe
381) Roger's Cafe
382) Roger's Cafe
383) Roosster's Inc
384) Rooster's Restaurant & Bar
385) Rossi Bar & Kitchen
386) Rotisserie Gourmet & Fresh
387) Rough Riders Cafe
388) Round Bar
389) Sabor Mexicano
390) Saigon Palace Restaurant
391) San Francisco Oven
392) Sarefino's At North Market
393) Sbarro
394) Sbarro
395) Schmidt's Restaurant & Ctrng
396) Schmidt's Restaurant Und
397) Scores Bar & Grill
398) Serenity Cafe
399) Serenity Cafe
400) Shades Restaurant
401) Short North Tavern
402) Siam Express
403) Siam Oriental Restaurant
404) Singles
405) Skambo
406) Skully's Bar & Grille
407) Skyward Concessions
408) Slammers
409) Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill
410) Sodexho
411) Somewhere Else
412) South High Pizza
413) Spaghetti Warehouse
414) Specialty Restaurant
415) Spinnaker's Restaurant
416) Spirits On High
417) St James Tavern
418) Star Bucks Coffee
419) Starbucks
420) Starbucks
421) Starbucks
422) Starbucks
423) Starbucks
424) Starbucks Coffee Co
425) Stats Cafe
426) Steak Escape
427) Steak Escape
428) Strada World Cuisine
429) Sub Express
430) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
431) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
432) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
433) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
434) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
435) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
436) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
437) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
438) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
439) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
440) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
441) Suki Hana
442) Summit Station
443) Sunset Lounge
444) Swiss Chalet Party House
445) Sycamore Cafe
446) Tabu Garage
447) Taco Bell
448) Taco Ninja LLC
449) Tapatio
450) Taste At Riversedge
451) TCBY
452) Ted Montanna Grill
453) Texas Road House Polaris
454) Theatre Cafe
455) Thirsty Scholar
456) Thurman Cafe
457) Tim Hortons
458) Tim Hortons
459) Tim Hortons
460) Tim Hortons
461) Tim's Bar
462) TMG Restaurants
463) Tommy Keegan's
464) Tommy's Diner
465) Tommy's Pizza
466) Tony's Restaurant
467) Trade Winds
468) Travelers Grill
469) Tremont Lounge
470) Triple L Lounge
471) UBU Catering By Charles
472) Union Station Cafe
473) Victorians' Midnight Cafe
474) Victory's Bar
475) Village Coney
476) Vine
477) Virus Inc
478) W G Grinders
479) Waffle House
480) Waiting Room
481) Wall Street Night Club
482) Walt's 50's Diner
483) Wendy's
484) Wendy's
485) Wendy's
486) Wendy's
487) Wendy's
488) Wendy's
489) Wendy's
490) Wendy's
491) Whale Fish Shrimp & Chick
492) Whale Fish Shrimp & Chicken
493) White Castle
494) White Castle
495) White Castle
496) White Castle System Inc
497) Wings Xtreme
498) Woody & Jo's House Of Ribs
499) Zeno's Victorian Village
500) Zola Dining Lounge
501) Zola Dining Lounge
502) Zuppa Catering & Bakery
503) Zuppa Downtown
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So So So So So
Not impressed with this location. Beer was ok, food was ok, and service was just ok.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
We stopped here twice on our last trip to Columbus. Having been here several years ago, we remembered it to be a very friendly bar with excellent beer and food. Although we didn't eat this time, we of course had beer! I had the Oatmeal Stout (Ol Ron's Surly) and it is excellent. My friend had the Four Seas IPA, and although it is too heavy for me, it was perfect for him. Being right across the street from the Convention (or Civic) Center, it is very crowded when something is going on over there. These two times it was not crowded, however - but still plenty of people there. This continues to be a must-go-to stop when you are in Columbus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Syracuse, NY
(06/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I stopped by this location on Sunday, July 20th 2008. I had been to the BBQ place a few years ago and like the beer (service and atmosphere, not so much). After 5 minutes at this location I was happier than I had been at the other location. On tap the day I was there: Scottish Ale, Pale Ale, Russian Imperial Stout, and E=IPA2, Pilsner, and Oatmeal Stout. I only had time to try 2. E was nice but the alcohol must be high—served in a brandy glass. It was very hoppy, but not so hoppy that it got sweet like some extreme IPAs can be. The stout was delicious. A mild chocolate nose and a very dry taste. One of the best stouts I’ve had. The southwestern burger was good. Service was accommodating enough but didn’t go out of their way to be friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I stopped in for a pint and a bite to eat after having it recommended by some locals who seemed very enthused about me going there. Turns out they were spot on with their recommendation. I had no problem getting a seat at the bar on a Thursday night so I at first thought it was going to be a dud. I was able to try a few samples of their drafts before settling on their newest offering called "Hop Envy." It was a fine IPA but a wee bit on the mild side. I asked the bartender about the hops and she sent over a manager who acted perterb at my question and asked if I was a "HOP HEAD" I chuckled as I had no idea what he meant. He explained that some people seemed to only like beers with hop levels so high all you could taste were hops and that their "brewmaster" doesn't cater to this idea as he brews traditional British Ales. Most of this conversation went over my head, but I was happy to know that he would take the time out to explain all of it to me. I like beer but I do not live it. He told me about a worldwide hop shortage which was an interesting tale (not sure of it's truth - need to google that one). Very nice guy. Anyway, the food was tasty. I even tried something called a sourkraut ball at the guys behest. Was much better than the name inplies. Dinner was pork chops and veggies - very nice. Had the hop beer and 2 Scottishes, got a bit of a buzz and went back to the hotel. I liked it and will go back if I am in the area. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Simon Simon, San Diego, CA
(01/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good
Visited on a Saturday night and they were busy. Service was good though. I tried 3 of their beers, they have a big selection of seasonals. The new IPA they were hyping on their web site was ok, not especially hoppy, but not bad either. Tried the Oatmeal Stout and found it quite good, also tried a sample of the Cherry Porter, and found it not quite good enough to be mouthwash. Tried the crabcakes, they were so-so and not very warm. Willing to give this place another try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(12/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
My wife and I visited on a Sunday afternoon. I was pleased to see the activity in downtown Columbus. We had a late lunch, so there were few patrons and we were seated quickly and pleasantly. Our waitress appeared bored and/or tired, but took our orders efficiently.

I'll note that Barley's has a specialty of Firkin Friday's where they tap a 10-gal Firkin on Friday and sell it until it's out. Then you wait until next Friday for the next firkin. They were out of their firkin this past Sunday, which bodes well for those sales, I suppose.

I tried a pint of their Centennial IPA from the cask (vice draft) and a sample ($0.75/jigger or so) of their Ivan Porter. The IPA was an average IPA, in my opinion. Not excessively hoppy or strong; it had a mild, balanced taste with a light-bodied mouth feel. I liked the porter better. It was full-bodied with a good taste of dark malts. I'd order it before the IPA next time.

For food I had a Reuben sandwich, while my wife had the Barley's Bistro Salad (sans bleu cheese) and the calamari appetizer. The calamari was average, as was the Reuben. The salad was very tasty, the highlight of our food. Prices were standard and available in their menu found on their website.

This was the first craft brewery I've tried in Columbus and I'll certainly try the others before going back. It beats the American chain restaurants. If I'm back near Barley's Ale House #1, I'd probably grab lunch across the street at the North Market and then head over to Barley's for a beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Shannon, Beavercreek, OH
(10/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Been a while since I've been in town, so a stop was in order. Their Pale is consistantly one of their best offerings, balanced, malty and hoppy. Irish Rogue tasted alot like the Pale, but lighter and maltier. The cask Centennial IPA was the best cask beer I've had in quite a while--bursting with hops, super! Buffalo chicken wrap had just the right amount of heat, it was tasty but didn't hide the flavor of the chicken.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The staff is the best!! The beer is great!! The wings are second to none. A must for dinner and some drinks. Best establishment in Columbus....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TOM TOM, ST. CLAIRSVILLE, OH
(04/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My girlfriends and I stopped into Barley's last week and we all fell in love with it. The bartenders and servers are incredibly friendly. They let us try the beers until we found ones that we loved. I am a vegetarian so I have had the Veggie Burger and Portobella Mushroom Burger, my friends raved about the burgers and the wings. It is a great place to meet up and eat before a night out on the town becasue it is so close to the Short North. We get revved up there and then head out on the town! We Love You Barley's! - Jeni

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeni Passarello Jeni Passarello, Columbus, OH
(12/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Some of the best ales I have ever had. Their brewmaster, Scott Francis, really has his strong ales down to an art form. He spoke to us about his Barleywine which was the most balanced strong ale that I have ever had. They had just finished having their annual home brew competition and this years winner happened to be a barleywine. The winner gets to brew his/her recipe in the brewery along side of the brewmaster and the head brewer. Last years winner had just been tapped that week. It was a stong old ale and it was quite delicious as well.

The food was deliciuos as well, not your standard brewpub fare, but an actual full restaurant menu. You ave to try the Sauerkraut Balls, they are fantastic, and I hate sauerkraut.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Columbus, OH
(06/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
TASTED THE HOUSE PILSNER ADJACENT TO THE GUEST TAP: GREAT LAKES' DORTMUNDER GOLD. I DON'T THINK YOU CAN FIND A BETTER SESSION BEER IN THE PILS. AGAIN, THE BEST WINGS IN TOWN.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(03/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Very pleasant atmosphere, deliscious food and beers and even though it was crowded, great service! welcome back HOSTERS!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(10/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
THIS PLACE HAS BETTER ATMOSPHERE THAN ITS COUNTERPART. OFTEN MORE CROWDED AND BEERS TEND TO BE SLIGHTLY BETTER/FRESHER. WINGS ARE F'N AWESOME!!! ALEHOUSE #2 HAS THEM SMOKED ON THE MENU AND BARBECUE! VISIT WELL-RUN AND FREQUENTLY UPDATED WEBSITE FOR CURRENT BEER SELECTION. PET PEAVE IS NO BIG SCREEN T.V. TO WATCH THE BUCKEYES GET THEIR ASSES KICKED EVERY SATURDAY AFTERNOON. GO BLUE!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(07/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
They seem to be geared toward pale ales, so hopheads should love it. Not being as big a fan, I still enjoyed the Glenlenny (lots of butterscotch), Maclenny (a masterful Scottish Ale -- full of malt with the right amount of hoppiness), the Russian Imperial stout (good coffee and caramel but with a slightly bitter aftertaste), and Pilsner (full in the mouth but still crisp with some citrus). The disappointments were the Wheat Ale (watery and weak), the unavailability of the Porter and Oatmeal stout, and the absence of something cask-conditioned. The food is top-notch, especially the lamb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Skokie, IL
(06/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
By far the best beer in Columbus!...and the food kicks ass also! I visit the place more than I should but with good reason--excellent beer, great food, and a friendly, open atomosphere. If only in town for a short time, this is the place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Rupp Neil Rupp, Columbus, OH
(04/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Most people who travel to brewpubs quite understandably go for the beer. However, the food at Barleys might be just as good as the beer which is really saying something. I have been going to Barleys for years, and both the food and beer are always great. They always have at least 6 of their own brews on tap as well as two or three other micro-brews from around the country as well. They are obviously quite proud of their hand crafted ales, as I was given a sample round of ESBs, one was theirs (both off the tap and from the cask) and two from other breweries. Not too many places are confident enough to let you compare their brews against others. All of the ESBs were great, but the hands down winner was theirs - no wonder it carries the brew-masters name!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jackson Jackson, Columbus, OH
(03/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Wow, I can't believe that anyone could rate the food here so-so. I live 120 miles North of Barley's, but my wife and I make it a point to come here at least once a year due to the incredible beer and food. The gates of hell wings are great, along with the sauerkraut balls(best around!). The last time we were here,I shared these appetizers with a traveler from Seattle, and he was quite impressed. We have also tried many of their sandwiches, dinners, and specials, all of which were superb(not to mention the incredible beers!) We are both beer geeks, have traveled , and seek out brewpubs around the country. Barley's is indeed one of our favorites! We will be making our annual trip in June and are looking forward to our next visit!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Medina, OH
(02/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
Visited 2/18/05--was a Friday evening and it was crowded. We had a party of nine and got seated without a wait. Waitress did not know a whole lot about the beer and was not a pleasant person. We tried most of the beers and all were of good quality--especially the darker ones. The food was not up to par--we ordered mussels and quite a few did not open up(bad to even serve those) and the wings and nachos were just average. I would go back for beer if I sat at the bar with a bartender who knew more about the beer being served.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terri Terri, Jewett, OH
(02/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
At Barley's, there is a 'Scotch ale' and then there is THE Scottish Ale.

The Scottish Ale is their signature brew, and I rate it up there with anything I ever had from the West Coast or New England. I honestly can keep drinking it all night long, and taste the hops and smooth finish through every pint. The Auld's Curiosity Ale is also a very damn fine brew (hopped a little more aggresively). The Stouts never impressed me much there because I have had better versions in other places.

The food is awesome (especially at Ale House #2, which is on Rte 33. in Grandview Hgts.

I just moved away from C-Bus and I have yet to find anything comparable to Barley's in Richmond, VA. Why doesn't anyone in VA brew dark beers??? Legend has good beer, and so does Richbrau, but no variety whatsoever...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brendan Decker Brendan Decker, Columbus, OH
(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
We were there for "Firkin Friday" In this case a very nice Barleywine. A little lighter in body than most, but nicely spiced and complex. They also had a pale ale on the beer engine which was wonderful. They also were doing a Rye IPA which was good, although not the best beer when it is cold and raining outside. We just had snacks at the bar, but these were good (0nion strings and chips).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Romano Michael Romano, Morgantown, WV
(10/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
"normal" maybe referring to the snobby,yuppy gathering at Elevator Brewing just down the street.Barleys is more everyday people.Scottish ale is great.Not your average bar food either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Linda Powell Linda Powell, Columbus, OH
(10/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
A reviewer says this place has a more "normal" crowd than an establishment down the street? I will ASSUME he means this place isn't as "gay!" Shame on him! BOTH places are great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brenda Spurlin Brenda Spurlin, Toledo, OH
(10/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
A reviewer says this place has a more "normal" crowd than an establishment down the street? I will ASSUME he means this place isn't as "gay!" Shame on him! BOTH places are great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brenda Spurlin Brenda Spurlin, Toledo, OH
(10/23/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.654 seconds) 14:03:07 54.211.97.242, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS