PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Big House Brewing Company - Albany, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 21, 2014 @ 11:05 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Albany > Big House Brewing Company
Big House Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Big House Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 74 / 100
[Closed - September 2005]
90 North Pearl Street
Albany, NY 12207
United States
(518) 445-2739
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Albany, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Big House Brewing Company
56 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station
(0 mile)

2) McGeary's Pub
(0 mile)

3) Bayou Cafe
(0 mile)

4) Wolff's Biergarten
(0 mile)

5) Lionheart Blues Cafe
(1 mile)

6) 61 Local
(1 mile)

7) Pauly's Hotel
(2 miles)

8) Mahar's
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Mansion Hill Inn
2) Pine Haven Bed & Breakfast
3) State House
4) State Street Mansion B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALBANY MARRIOTT
2) BEST VALUE INN ALBANY EAST GREE
3) BEST WESTERN ALBANY AIRPRT INN
4) COMFORT INN ARPT AND CONF CTR
5) DAYS INN ALBANY
6) DESMOND HOTEL & CONFERENCE CTR
7) ECONO LODGE DOWNTOWN
8) ECONO LODGE GLENMONT
9) FAIRFIELD INN EAST GREENBUSH
10) HAMPTON INN ALBANY WOLF
11) HILTON GARDEN INN ALBANY ARPT
12) MORGAN STATE HOUSE THE
13) QUALITY INN GLENMONT
14) QUALITY INN HOTEL ALBANY
15) RAMADA INN
16) RAMADA REGENCY INN AND SUITES
17) RED CARPET INN ALBANY
18) RED ROOF ALBANY
19) RODEWAY INN EAST GREENBUSH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abrams Building
2) Aiken House
3) Albany Academy
4) Albany City Hall
5) Albany Institute of History and Art
6) Albany Union Station
7) Bacon--Stickney House
8) Beverwyck Manor
9) Bryan's Store
10) Buildings at 744, 746, 748, 750 Broadway
11) Burden Ironworks Office Building
12) Byrne, Senator William T., House
13) Cathedral of All Saints
14) Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
15) Cherry Hill
16) Church of the Holy Innocents
17) Cramer, Frederick, House
18) D. D. T. Moore Farmhouse
19) Delaware and Hudson Railroad Company Building
20) First Reformed Church
21) First Trust Company Building
22) Fort Crailo
23) Fort Orange Archeological Site
24) Fuller, Royal K., House
25) Gorham House
26) Hall, James, Office
27) Hedge Lawn
28) Henry--Remsen House
29) Hook and Ladder No. 4
30) Hughson Mansion
31) Humphrey, Friend, House
32) Kemp, John Wolf, House
33) Lawton, George H., House
34) Lil's Diner
35) Menand Park Historic District
36) Menand, Louis, House
37) Menands Manor
38) Merchant, Walter, House
39) New York Executive Mansion
40) New York State Court of Appeals Building
41) New York State Department of Education Building
42) Newtonville Post Office
43) Newtonville School
44) Newtonville United Methodist Church
45) Nut Grove
46) Old Post Office
47) Osgood, J.C., Firehouse
48) Palace Theatre
49) Patroon Agent's House and Office
50) Public School No. 10
51) Pumpkin House
52) Quackenbush House
53) Quackenbush Pumping Station, Albany Water Works
54) Renshaw, Alfred H., House
55) Schuyler, Philip, Mansion
56) Springwood Manor
57) St. Mary's Church
58) St. Peter's Church
59) Ten Broeck Mansion
60) Trimble, George, House
61) Troy Gas Light Company
62) United Traction Company Building
63) USS Slater (Destroyer Escort)
64) Washington Avenue (Tenth Battalion) Armory
65) Wheeler Home
66) Whipple Cast and Wrought Iron Bowstring Truss Bridge
67) Whitney Mansion
68) Young Men's Christian Association Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 110 Cafe
2) 112 Deli Restaurant
3) 2nd Avenue Daily Grocery
4) 325 Central
5) 41 State Cafe
6) AAA Pizza
7) Albany Coffee Shop
8) Albany Pump Station-Ch Evans
9) Amazing Wok Chinese Inc
10) Amo La Bella New York
11) Angel's Cafe B & B LLC
12) Angelo's 677 Prime
13) Angelo's Submarine
14) Anna's Coffee Shop
15) Antica Enoteca
16) Aunt Glo's Southern Kitchen
17) Barbi-Lee Catering Consultants
18) Barnaby's
19) Bayou Cafe
20) Ben & Jerry's
21) Bentley's Burgers
22) Big House Brewing Co
23) Big John's Restaurant
24) Bleecker Cafe
25) Bombers Burrito Bar
26) Bongiorno's
27) Branch Restaurant
28) Broadway Joe's Of Albany
29) Broadway Luncheonette
30) Brooklyn Sub
31) Brown Eyes Fish & Chips
32) Bumpers Cafe
33) Burger King
34) Buttery Restaurant
35) Cafe Capriccio
36) Cafe Hollywood
37) Cafe Lulu
38) Cagney's Bar
39) Capital Fried Chicken
40) Capitol Cafeteria
41) Capitol Hill Deli
42) Capitol House Chinese Kitchen
43) Caribbean Soul Restaurant
44) Caribbean Treats
45) Casey's Restaurant
46) Chang's Chinese Restaurant
47) China House
48) Chubby's
49) Citone's Italian Restaurant
50) City Hall Cafe
51) Clancy's Well
52) Clayton Caribbean American
53) Club Phoenix
54) Coffee Exchange Cafe
55) Colosseum Pizzeria
56) Comedy Works
57) Cook's State Street Cafe
58) Corner Food Court
59) Crown Chicken & Pizza
60) Crowne Plaza
61) Daily Grind Cafe
62) Dan's Place Two
63) Daniel's At Ogdens
64) Dave's Snack Bar
65) De Julio's Inn
66) De Pietro's
67) Dejohn's Restaurant & Pub
68) Deli Mill
69) Dinner Box
70) Doc Mc Cutchen's
71) Douglas Anthony's Restaurant
72) Duffy's Lucky Charm
73) Eagle Restaurant
74) Eagle Street Cafe
75) Edith's American & Caribbean
76) El Loco Mexican Cafe
77) El Mariachi Mexican Restaurant
78) El Mariachi Mexican Restaurant
79) Elbee One Caterers
80) Elbow Room
81) Elda's
82) Elena's Italian Caffe
83) Encon Coffee Shop
84) EPD Corp
85) Falafel & Subs
86) Fallon & O'brien's Larkin
87) Family Sub
88) Fort Orange Cafe
89) Fox Creek Sandwich Shop
90) Franklin's Tower
91) Freeman's Restaurant
92) Fuze Box
93) Gandhi Indian Restaurant Inc
94) Gaspary's Restaurant
95) Gli Food Svc
96) Golden Dragon Restaurant
97) Golden Fried Chicken
98) Golden Fried Chicken & Pizza
99) Ground Round
100) Hamilton Street Cafe
101) Hill Street Cafe
102) Hollyanns
103) Hong Kong Bakery
104) Hot Dog Heaven
105) Hudson Harbor Steak & Seafood
106) I Love Ny Pizza
107) Ichiban Restaurant
108) Ike's Pizzeria
109) Iron Gate Cafe
110) Island Restaurant
111) J G's Pizza
112) Jack's Oyster House Inc
113) Jack's Pizza
114) Jernie's Cafe
115) Jesenia Restaurant
116) Jillian's
117) Jim's Place
118) Johnny's Hot Dogs
119) Jonathan's Pizza Inc
120) Just Ny Pizza
121) Justin's
122) Kapp's Beans Garden
123) Kaye's Caterers
124) Kenneth's Tastebud
125) Kfc
126) Kfc
127) Kolu's African Caribbean Amer
128) La Serre Restaurant
129) Lam's Chinese Kitchen
130) Lark Street Deli
131) Lark Tavern
132) Lexy's Eatery
133) Lil Italy Pizzeria
134) Lionheart Blues Cafe
135) Lombardo's Restaurant
136) Long Branch Tavern
137) Mad River Bar & Grill
138) Mamoun's Falafel
139) Mansion Hill Inn
140) Marie Smith
141) Marquis Catering
142) Martel's Restaurant At OTB
143) Maurice's Pearl Street Deli
144) Mc Donald's
145) Mc Donald's
146) Mc Donald's
147) Mc Donald's
148) Mc Geary's Restaurant
149) Mc Guire's
150) Michele's Deli
151) Milanoe's Pizza
152) Miss Albany Diner
153) Mother Earth Cafe
154) Mr B's Best
155) Mr Subb Inc
156) Mrs Sunshine's Cafe
157) Muffy's
158) Muffys
159) Nelsons Steak Out
160) New Day Cafe & Catering
161) New Hong Kong Restaurant
162) New Image Deli & Variety Store
163) New Madison Grille
164) Next Door
165) Nick's Subs & Fish Fry
166) Nickelodeon Emporium
167) Nicole's Bistro
168) Nino's Deli & Subs
169) O B's Fast Food Restaurant
170) Ogden's Restaurant
171) Old Stadium
172) Oliver's Beverage Ctr
173) Other Co Restaurant
174) P J's Pizza
175) Pagliacci Ristorante
176) Palais Royal Restaurant
177) Panda Chinese Restaurant
178) Papa & Mamas Pizzeria
179) Papa John's Pizza
180) Patroon Inn
181) Paulys Hotel
182) Pearl Banquet & Catering
183) Pearl Restaurant & Lounge
184) Philly Steak House
185) Pit
186) Pizza Baron
187) Pizzeria 54
188) Pizzeria Sapienza
189) Players
190) Plaza Deli
191) Plaza Grill
192) Quintessence Inc
193) Quiznos Sub
194) Raffaele's Pizza
195) Ramona's
196) Ray's Tavern Of Albany Inc
197) Red Room
198) Restaurant Saigon
199) Risko's Tavern Inc
200) Ristorante Paradiso
201) River Front Cafe
202) Riverfront Bar & Grill Inc
203) Riverside Restaurant & Ctrng
204) Roberto's Italian Deli
205) Roberto's Spanish Restaurant
206) Rome
207) Romeo Pizzeria
208) Rosie's Heavenly Cafe
209) Roy's Caribbean-Restaurant
210) Saba's Restaurant
211) Sade's Restaurant
212) Sandwiches To Go
213) Saso's Japanese Noodle House
214) Savannah's
215) Scenarios
216) Scoreboard Lounge
217) Seattle Sub & Pita Co
218) Shades Of Green
219) Shahnee's Caribbean Bakery
220) Shalimar Restaurant
221) Sign Of The Tree Restaurant
222) Silver Slipper
223) Simply Fish
224) Sneaky Pete's
225) Soho Pizzeria
226) Somewhat Limited
227) South Pearl Coffee
228) Sovrana Grocery Bakery & Deli
229) Starbucks
230) Stephanie's On The Park Rstrnt
231) Stovalls Fast Food Take Out
232) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
233) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
234) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
235) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
236) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
237) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
238) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
239) Sukhothai
240) Sun Fai
241) Ta-Ke Restaurant
242) Tandoor Palace
243) Taste Italy
244) Taste Of Greese
245) Ten Eyck Cafeteria
246) Thatcher Street Pub
247) Torino Cafe
248) Totem
249) Tropical Smoothie Cafe
250) Tumminello's Deli & Catering
251) Twins Deli & Grocery
252) Unlimited Feast Inc
253) USa Fried Chicken
254) V & R Italian Ristorante
255) Van Restaurant
256) Victory Cafe
257) Water Work Pub LTD
258) Wendy's
259) Willie's Wonderful World
260) Willow Inn
261) Xing Wang Chinese Restaurant
262) Yanas
263) Yono's Restaurant
264) Zuzu's Wonderful Life Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed. Another one bites the dust. Pretty soon we'll be down to one brew pub in the Capital District. It's a shame.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
The big house is a great place to find great deals on food and drink at the same time any night of the week. A great unknown about this place is their tuesday special of three dollar dinners (burgers, salads, pizza, chicken dinner, wraps, and weekly speicals) makes it a great trip. The homemade beers are 2 dollars a pint on this night also. Making it a great combo package. Even though the inside can sometimes seem very dark a nice summer night outside makes up for it. Onle problem is the waitresses seem to disapear sometimes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Clifton Park, NY
(01/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
A reply for the last gent. Brown's is going to be doing the beer for the Big House. Other than the equipment leaving, there will be little change other than the first floor being expanded into what was the kettle area. It will make more room for the bands at least.

This marriage between Brown’s (nee Troy Brew Pub) might produce a nice synergy, but it will be a wait and see. As for your upcoming soirée, I would not worry. The management there (probably Steve the manager) will take good care of you. There is no intention of closing by no means. If they (the new conglomerate) plan on eliminating certain beers and/or making them “seasonal's,” I will then have a problem, albeit a small one.

One last note – the brewers and owners of both Brown’s and the Big House are the best. They’ve proven themselves over the long haul. It’s not for us on the other side of the bar to make decisions for them. While me thinks they might listen to their customers just a wee bit once and a while, I will continue to patronize their establishments and I wish them all the best. For the Gentleman in Florida, I hope I’m lucky enough to be there the night of your party – I promise to buy a round!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(07/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Is the big house closing are they remodeling or doing repairs as they take out all of the brewing equiptment? I'm supposed to have my rehearsal dinner there in August, is it worth it?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ft. Lauderdale, FL
(07/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
The Big House is no longer brewing their own beer. The equipment is being dismantled this week and is being moved to Hoosick Falls to be merged with equipment from Brown's Brewing Company.

Your going to need a score card for this, but the Tap Room at Brown's (nee Troy Brew Pub) is going to be managed by the folks from the Big House. The Beer you will soon be drinking at the Big House is going to be brewed by Brown's.

This ought to be good . . .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Awesome! Good
This place has changed quite a bit over the years. I am very disappointed in the menu. The beer is still very good and the service outstanding. I met a portly blonde haired bartender who looked to be in his mid forties, nice man. He was very up to speed on his product and very customer friendly. He seemed to know most of them on a first name basis, which gave the place a "cheers" like feeling to it which was nice. He refered to one gentlemen who came in as a "Duche Bag," that seemed kind of odd!!! All and all nice place check it out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Rossi Ray Rossi, New Haven, CT
(06/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
This place is a Friday happy-hour staple as they always have a decent band (many times excellent) and for free, along with happy-hour drink prices. By 5:30 the place is filling up and you sometimes have to elbow your way into the bar. The bar staff is on their toes and you rarely have to wait for a beer (good job Steve managing). And if you sit at a table the waitresses are fast and efficient. Oh, the beer. I usually stick with the Cherry Raspberry Wheat - a nice combination and especially nice as a wheat. There is a once-a-year Red on right now that’s a little bland but still drinkable. And their pale rates up there with the best of them, but there are better in the Capital District. You never see the brewers which is my only bitch with the place. It would be nice if they came around once in a while and got some feedback about their beers. Tuesday and Saturday nights there are a dozen or so menu items that are half-price. So if your down to your last few bucks you can still get a decent sandwich and a few beers for under $20! This is a brew-pub with a brew-pub menu (and a good one). Don’t expect Chez-Pierre’s and then complain about it afterwards.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(04/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
My first impression was that this was a dying, down and dirty, beer joint, but it was only a facade caused by the extreme lack of repairs and scrubbing. Actually the food and beer were very good, but in a really gritty setting. The menu is typical pub food, but what I chose was very good, so I would not be reluctant to order anything. They had 9 beers on tap; quite a good array. I tried 6: The Wheat was very strongly berry-flavored but not weizen-like at all; almost like a wine-cooler. The Amber was pleasant and mild, not very exciting; a good beer for with food (like iced tea). The Pale Ale was extra hoppy (the barman said that they had recently decided to kick up the hops in all their beers; I like a lot of hops, but I'm not sure it is a good idea to do it to all beers.) So the PA tasted like an IPA, and was great. The IPA was somewhat over the top: so much hops that it had sort of an aromatic glow; I couldn't taste malt at all, it was overwhelmed. The Stout was sweetish but very smoky; kinda pleasant. The Porter had the body the Stout lacked: good bitterness with the flavor of the really toasted malt coming through without any smoky taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(03/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Awesome! Great
I have been to the Big House before several years ago, and let me tell you this place has changed. The menu completely blows now, and the place is more like a nightclub than a brewery.The beer selection was fantastic though and the service was excellent. I was served by a bartender named Jay who seemed to know his stuff when it came to beer. He said that he had worked there for a while so I would imagine you could catch him if you check this placeout. The one that struck me about Jay is that he was hardly tall enough to look over the bar! kinda wierd but interesting to watch!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Jacobs Ron Jacobs, colonie, NY
(02/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Great So So
Friendly service can't make up for tasteless beer. The jail theme is kind of fun though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(11/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good So So
Beer flavor profile is unbalanced:

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review JT, Middletown, NY
(02/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Barrington Dave Barrington, Guilederland, NY
(02/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
The beer is good so is the food, but one thing that struck me was the service. I rate restaurants and pubs for a local magazine in the capital district so I've had my share of servers some better than others. It was early on a Tuesday afternoon and Me and some friends were looking for a quick bite to eat. We decided to give the Big House a try, However when we arrived it looked as though the building was still being set up for business. Unaware that they only opened for dinner some rude lady with a hair cut that looked like she electicuted herself to get it to stand up claimed to be the manager , and that they were closed. Usually I wouldn't mind, but I was really hungry. So after listening to this manager babble for a few minutes, the bartender comes from around the bar and told us he would be more than happy to take care of us. It was like a breath of fresh air had entered the room. Dashing good looks and an amazing sense of humor, the laughs rolled like thunder. It was a magnificent time. I was upset to learn that this bartender was leaving for an unknown amount of time he said"to protect our way of life." I assumed he must be in the service or some kind of humanitarian. All in all service was outstanding Thank you Big House especially your bar staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Kosic David Kosic, Troy, NY
(07/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I was impressed by the beer and the environment. I have traveled all over the world due to my employment, and I have stopped at many micro breweries. I must tell you besides all of the beer selections the service was outstanding. This bartender that everyone kept referring to as "Lefty" was perhaps one of if not the friendliest and most knowledgeable bartender I had ever met. So if you get the chance to go to downtown Albany, stop in at the Big House and say hi to "Lefty" Im sure you'll enjoy it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Fontain Mike Fontain, Wooster, MA
(06/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
If you want to enjoy a beer here, don't try coming in on a Friday or Saturday night. It's too crowded and is more of a club than a brewpub. They can brew. Some beers are great, others so so. Try samples and find one you like.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Lyke Rick Lyke, Clifton Park, NY
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
This was a weird experience. My wife and I went here at around 8:00 pm on a Saturday...started out on the first floor near the bar and got decent service in a fairly regular feeling brewpub. I had the Pale Ale followed by the IPA. They were good but there was not a big distinction between the two...nice hoppiness on the IPA though. My wife had the Vice Weiss, which was very good. A big variety of styles makes it easy for someone to find a favorite. After we were there for around an hour or so things started to change in the environment, though. College kids started streaming in the doors, drinking the bottled standard swill. Music changed to dance and we were in the middle of an entirely different place! I'd visit this place again, but not on a weekend night! It's a shame the crowd isn't there to appreciate the nicely made house brews...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
First, I visited Big House just as it opened for the day. I understand it's often crowded, but I experienced none of that. Second, we did have a problem with our glassware: they evidently weren't rinsed too well, and that screwed up the aroma of the beer quite a bit. When we got fresh glasses, the beers did much better! I really liked the Irish Red, which smelled and tasted like the best Bass Ale I've ever had. Plenty of hop flavor in the Bonnie & Clyde IPA, and a very nice graham-roast malt finish on the Porter. Brewer Drew Schmidt also dug out a sample of porter he's been aging in a Jack Daniel barrel that was quite thick, rich, and delicious, with a huge vanilla nose. Real good Stout with real ale character that walked the line twixt Irish Dry and American export-type. Finally, the barleywine was huge, with tons of head and a lot of hop flavor and not much bitterness, thanks to use of lots of low-alpha hops.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
...Very interesting most of the reviews for the Big House, are either "Lousy" or "Awesome". Makes one wonder if this place is just inconsistent, or are these raving reviews written by employees of this place...(???)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gus Gus, Stratford, CT
(08/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good Good
The beer leaves a lot to be desired,except for the alt bier..decent! The food reminded me of a casual sort of ordinary fare.I will check back sometime again to see if it's changed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Antimo Possumata Antimo Possumata, Schenectady, NY
(10/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I sure have to disagree with the previous review - they make pretty good beer. I especially liked their Alt (clean and balanced) and their Vice Weiss (cloudy, sweet, and clove-y). I also liked the Pale Ale and the IPA but would have liked them better separately as I suffered some style confusion as the pale ale, described as English-styled, struck me more as an American pale ale (or even an IPA) and the IPA seemed more a Best Bitter or slightly light ESB. Overall, quite good, drinkable beers and a good pizza to go with them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brupilgrim (Ralph S Sturgen) Brupilgrim (Ralph S Sturgen), Easthampton, MA
(08/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So
IPA tasted like someone dropped mouthwash into it. Wheat beer was absolutely bland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Boston, MA
(07/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My friends and family threw a surprise 30th birthday party for me in May using the private party room at the Big House. There could not have been a better place! The food was excellent and the service superb. Helen was attentive and energetic while maintaining a very pleasant and friendly manner to everyone. My party was perfect. From what I understand the price was right too. I strongly recommend this place--especially for a private function.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tammy Tammy, Albany, NY
(06/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good
Food was pretty good. But the service was horrible. The food did not come out all together and the waitress was quite slow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Eliash James Eliash, Clifton, NJ
(05/14/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a great experience. The Pale Ale and Stout was excellent, as was the food and service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, St. Louis, MO
(03/21/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.264 seconds) 23:05:09 54.91.255.151, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS