PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Southend Brewery and Smokehouse - Charleston, SC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 09:20 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > SC > Charleston > Southend Brewery and Smokehouse
Southend Brewery and Smokehouse Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Southend Brewery and Smokehouse
Overall: Great    Score: 71.5 / 100
161 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
United States
(843) 853-4677
Listed Since: August 1996
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Charleston, SC
Beer Guide for South Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Southend Brewery and Smokehouse
68 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(14 within 5 miles)
1) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

2) T-Bonz Gill and Grill
(0 mile)

3) Horse and Cart Cafe
(0 mile)

4) Mike Calder's Pub
(0 mile)

5) Wild Wing Cafe
(0 mile)

6) Backstage Deli
(0 mile)

7) Tommy Condon's
(0 mile)

8) Zebo Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

9) Charleston Brewing Company
(2 miles)

10) Charleston Beer Works
(2 miles)

11) Palmetto Brewing Company
(2 miles)

12) D'Allesandro's Pizza
(2 miles)

13) T-Bonz Gill and Grill
(4 miles)

14) T-Bonz Gill and Grill
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 1837 Bed & Breakfast Tearoom
2) 30 Vendue Range
3) 60 Meeting Street
4) A B & B At Unity Alley
5) Anchorage Inn
6) Ansonborough Inn
7) Antebellum Bed & Breakfast
8) Ashley Inn Bed & Breakfast
9) Barksdale House Inn
10) Battery Inc
11) Bed & Breakfast At 27 State St
12) Belvedere Bed & Breakfast
13) C B Temper House
14) Cannonboro Inn Bed & Breakfast
15) Charleston Battery Carriage House Inn
16) Church Street Inn
17) Country Victorian B & B
18) Elliott House Inn
19) Fantasia Bed & Breakfast
20) Fulton Lane Inn
21) Governor's House Inn
22) Guilds Inn Bed & Breakfast
23) Harbourview Inn
24) Hayne House Bed & Breakfast
25) Historic Charleston B & B
26) Indigo Inn
27) Jasmine House Inn
28) John Rutledge House Inn
29) King George IV Inn
30) King's Courtyard Inn
31) Kitchen House
32) Lowndes Grove Plantation
33) Maison Du Pre
34) Market Street Inn
35) Meeting Street Inn
36) Palmer Home
37) Thirty Six Meeting Street Bed
38) Two Meeting Street Inn
39) Vendue Inn
40) Victoria House Inn
41) Villa DE LA Fontaine B & B
42) Wentworth Mansion
43) Zero Water Street B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ANDREW PINCKNEY INN
2) ANSONBOROUGH INN
3) BEST WESTERN AT PATRIOTS POINT
4) BEST WESTERN SWEETGRASS INN
5) CHARLESTON PLACE-SUPERB LUXURY
6) CHARLESTON RIVERVIEW HOTEL
7) COMFORT INN EAST MT PLEASANT
8) COMFORT INN RIVERVIEW
9) COURTYARD CHARLESTON DOWNTOWN
10) DAYS INN CHARLESTON
11) DAYS INN PATRIOTS POINT
12) DOUBLETREE SUITES CHARLESTON
13) EMBASSY STES HISTORIC DST
14) EXTENDEDSTAY MT PLEASANT
15) FRANCIS MARION
16) FRENCH QUARTER INN
17) FULTON LANE INN
18) HAMPTON INN CHRLSTON HIST
19) HAMPTON INN RIVERVIEW
20) HARBORVIEW INN
21) HILTON CHARLESTON HARBOR RSRT*
22) HOLIDAY INN RIVERVIEW
23) HOWARD JOHNSON RIVERFRONT
24) JOHN RUTLEDGE HOUSE INN
25) KINGS COURTYARD INN
26) LODGE ALLEY INN
27) MAINSTAY SUITES MT PLEASANT
28) MARKET PAVILION HOTEL
29) MARKET STREET INN
30) MASTERS INN CHARLESTON
31) PLANTERS INN
32) QUALITY INN-SUITES PATRIOTS POI
33) RED ROOF CHARLESTON-MT PLEASANT
34) RENAISSANCE CHARLESTON HOTEL
35) RESIDENCE INN CHARLESTON
36) SHEM CREEK INN
37) SLEEP INN CHARLESTON
38) SLEEP INN MT PLEASANT
39) SPRINGHILL SUITES RIVERVIEW
40) WENTWORTH MANSION
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aiken, Gov. William, House
2) Battery Cheves
3) Battery LeRoy
4) Battery No. 1
5) Battery No. 5
6) Battery Tynes
7) Bennett, Gov. Thomas, House
8) Bethel Methodist Church
9) Blacklock, William, House
10) Blake Tenements
11) Branford-Horry House
12) Brewton, Miles, House
13) Brewton, Robert, House
14) Castle Pinckney
15) Central Baptist Church
16) Charleston Historic District (Boundary Increase)
17) Charleston Old and Historic District (Boundary Increase)
18) Charleston Old and Historic District (Boundary Increase)
19) Charleston's French Quarter District
20) Circular Congregational Church and Parish House
21) Citizens and Southern National Bank of South Carolina
22) Coming Street Cemetery
23) Dock Street Theatre
24) Exchange and Provost
25) Farmers' and Exchange Bank
26) Farmfield Plantation House
27) Fireproof Building
28) Florence Crittenton Home
29) Fort Pringle
30) Gibbes, William, House
31) Heyward, Dubose, House
32) Heyward-Washington House
33) Hibernian Hall
34) Huguenot Church
35) Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim Synagogue
36) Lucas Family Cemetery
37) Lucas, Jonathan, House
38) Manigault, Joseph, House
39) Market Hall and Sheds
40) Marshlands Plantation House
41) McCrady's Tavern and Long Room
42) Mills, Clark, Studio
43) Nicholson, James, House
44) Old Bethel United Methodist Church
45) Old Marine Hospital
46) Old Slave Mart
47) Porter Military Academy
48) Powder Magazine
49) Powder Magazine
50) Presqui'ile
51) Rhett, Robert Barnwell, House
52) Robb, William, House
53) Roper, Robert William, House
54) Rose, Thomas, House
55) Russell, Nathaniel, House
56) Rutledge, Edward, House
57) Rutledge, Gov. John, House
58) SAVANNAH (nuclear ship)
59) Simmons-Edwards House
60) South Carolina National Bank of Charleston
61) South Carolina State Arsenal
62) Sparrow, James, House
63) St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church
64) St. Michael's Episcopal Church
65) St. Philip's Episcopal Church
66) Stiles-Hinson House
67) Stuart, Col. John, House
68) Sword Gate Houses
69) Tennent, Josiah Smith, House
70) U.S. Customhouse
71) U.S. Post Office and Courthouse
72) Unitarian Church
73) Unnamed Battery No. 1
74) USCGC INGHAM
75) USS CLAMAGORE (SS-343)
76) USS LAFFEY
77) USS YORKTOWN (CV-10)
78) Vesey, Denmark, House
79) West Point Rice Mill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 213 Top Of The Bay
2) 39 Rue De Jean
3) A C's Bar & Grill
4) A W Shucks Seafood Restaurant
5) Aaron's Deli
6) Alice's Fine Foods
7) Andalucia Restaurant
8) Andolinis Pizza
9) Andolinis Pizza
10) Anson
11) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
12) Arby's
13) Ark Lounge
14) Atlanta Bread Co
15) B J's Broad Street Cafe
16) Baker's Cafe Of Charleston
17) Basil Restaurant
18) Beaches Of The Carribean
19) Beaumont's Bar & Cafe
20) Ben & Jerry's
21) Bennett's Restaurant
22) Beyond Juice
23) Beyond Juice
24) Big John's Tavern
25) Blimpie Subs & Salads
26) Blind Tiger Pub
27) Blind Tiger Pub
28) Blossom
29) Blossom Cafe
30) Bluebird Kitchen & Catering
31) Boathouse On East Bay
32) Bocci's Italian Restaurant
33) Bogota's Cafe & Espresso Bar
34) Bohicket Barbecue & Oyster Co
35) Bookstore Cafe & Catering
36) Bookstore Cafe Catering
37) Brasserie Des Amis
38) Brent's On Broad
39) Brick
40) Briele's Low Country Cafe
41) Bubba Gump Shrimp Co Restrnt
42) Bubba Slyes Deli
43) Bull Brown's Grille
44) Burger King
45) C J's Place
46) Cafe Cynthia
47) Cafe Lana
48) Cafe Paradiso
49) Cafe' Cafe
50) California Dreaming Restaurant
51) Cap'n Harry's Blue Marlin Bar
52) Capone's
53) Carolina's Restaurant
54) Cfc Of Charleston
55) Chai's Lounge & Tapas
56) Charleston Beer Works Inc
57) Charleston Chops
58) Charleston Grill
59) Charleston Pizza Grill
60) Charleston Restaurant Assn
61) Charleston Sports Pub & Grill
62) Charlies Grilled Subs
63) China Express
64) Chinese Buffet & Seafood Rstrn
65) Chopsticks Chinese Restaurant
66) Church's Chicken
67) Cintra
68) Circa 1886
69) Club Habana
70) Coast Bar & Grill
71) Coffee Gallery
72) Coldstone Creamery
73) Cornbread Cafe
74) Crab Shack
75) Cru Cafe
76) Cumberland's Pub & Grill
77) Cutty Bar & Grill
78) Cypress
79) D & D Restaurant & Catering
80) Dave's Carry-Out
81) Diana's Restaurant
82) Doe's Pita Plus
83) Domino's Pizza
84) Domino's Pizza
85) Doriano's Pizzeria
86) Dudley's
87) East Bay Coffee House
88) East Bay Crab Shack
89) East Bay Deli
90) East Bay Deli At Market Street
91) East Side Snack Bar
92) Eighty-Two Queen
93) Eighty-Two Queen
94) Elena's
95) Elizabeths Soul Food
96) Elliott's On The Square
97) Ernie's Restaurant
98) Faculty Lounge
99) Festival Club
100) Fig
101) Fish
102) Five Loaves Cafe
103) Fleet Landing Restaurant
104) Food Lion
105) Fuji Japanese Restaurant
106) Fulton Five
107) Garibaldi Management Corp
108) Gaulart & Maliclet French Cafe
109) Gelateria Modica
110) Gilroy's Pizza Pub
111) Golden Palace Restaurant
112) Good Food Catering Co LLC
113) Granville's Catering
114) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
115) Great Wall Express
116) Griffon
117) Grill 225
118) Groucho's Deli Of Charleston
119) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
120) Hank's Seafood Restaurant
121) Hannibal's Kitchen
122) Hardee's
123) Hasell Hall
124) Henry's Bar & Restaurant
125) High Cotton Restaurant
126) Hoagie Haven
127) Hominy Delivers
128) Hominy Grill
129) Hospitality Management Group
130) Hot Chicken & Fish Restaurant
131) Hot Dog Joint
132) Hyman's Seafood Co
133) Il Cortile Del Re
134) Indigo Inn
135) Indigo Lounge
136) Inner Circle
137) Jack's Cafe
138) Jaunita Greenburg's Nacho Royl
139) Jem Restaurant Group Inc
140) Jestine's Kitchen
141) Jimmy Dengate's
142) Joe Pasta
143) Johnson's Pub
144) Joker Social Club
145) Joseph's Restaurant
146) Juanita Greenberg's Nacho
147) Just Fresh Aquarium Wharf
148) Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe
149) Kaspers
150) Ken's Bar & Grill
151) Kfc
152) Kfc
153) Kickin' Chicken
154) Kim's Express Korean & Jpns
155) King Fish Restaurant
156) KOOL Beanz Koffee & Kreme
157) L & P's Kitchen
158) L J's
159) LA Fortuna
160) La Tasha's Taste-New Orleans
161) Lana's Restaurant
162) Library Restaurant & Rooftop
163) Lilies Gourmet Deli
164) Lite Affair
165) Little Thai Too Thai Rstrnt
166) M & M's Carry Out Restaurant
167) Magnolia's
168) Majestic Grill
169) Mandalay Restaurant
170) Marina Variety Store & Rstrnt
171) Market Street Deli
172) Mc Crady's Tavern
173) Mc Donald's
174) Mc Donald's
175) Mellow Mushroom Pizza
176) Meritage
177) Mi Rincon
178) Mills House
179) Mimi's Cafe
180) Mistral Restaurant
181) Mistral Restaurant Banquet Rm
182) Mitchell's On The Market
183) Mo Sussman's Steak House
184) Moe's Crosstown Tavern
185) Moe's Southwest Grill
186) Moe's Southwest Grill Offices
187) Moni's Pizza & Subs
188) Moose Mountain Coffee & Tea Co
189) Music Farm
190) Mustard Seed
191) My-Tho
192) New Orleans Connection
193) Noisy Oyster
194) Norm's Pizza Subs & Grill
195) O'Reilly's Irish Pub & Seafood
196) Oak Steakhouse
197) Old Charleston Caterers
198) Olde Towne Grill & Seafood
199) Ona's Kitchen
200) Palmetto Cafe
201) Pantheon Inc
202) Paolo's Gelato Italiano
203) Papa John's Pizza
204) Papa Zuzu Inc
205) Pebbles Sweet Shop
206) Peking Gourmet Chinese Rstrnt
207) Peninsula Grill-Planters Inn
208) Pinckney Cafe & Espresso
209) Pita King
210) Pita Pit
211) Pizza Hut
212) Planet Smoothie
213) Pluto Rocks
214) Poogan's Porch
215) Port City Java
216) Port City Java Bistro
217) Port City Java Bistro
218) Quiznos Sub
219) Red Pepper
220) Rising High Bakery Cafe
221) Robert's Restaurant-Charleston
222) Roly Poly
223) Rutledge Coffee & Cream
224) Saffron Cafe & Bakery
225) Saracen Restaurant
226) Sermet's Corner
227) Shady Pine Lounge
228) Sharky's Pizza
229) Slightly North Of Broad Rstrnt
230) Smokey's Barbeque
231) Soda Fountain
232) Southend Brewery & Smokehouse
233) Speedy's Take Out
234) Starbucks
235) Starbucks
236) Starbucks
237) Sticky Fingers Banquets
238) Sticky Fingers Restaurant
239) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
240) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
241) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
242) Sushi Hiro Of Kyoto
243) Sweetwater Cafe
244) Swensen's Ice Cream
245) T J's Sub Shop
246) T-Bonz Gill & Grill
247) Taco Bell
248) Teavana
249) Terrace On Marion Square
250) That's Amore Pizzeria
251) Three Pal's Tavern
252) Tommy Condon Restaurant
253) Top Shelf Bartending Svc
254) Toucan Reef
255) Touch Of Class
256) Trattoria Piratella
257) Trio Lounge
258) Tristan Restaurant
259) Tsunami Japanese Restaurant
260) Upper Deck Tavern LTD
261) Vickery's Bar & Grill Downtown
262) Vincenzo's
263) Vintage Restaurant & Wine Bar
264) Wali's Fish Supreme
265) Wasabi Japanese Steak House
266) Wendy's
267) Wentworth Mansion
268) Wet Willie's
269) Wholly Cow
270) Wild Wing Cafe
271) Willy's Wood Burning Pizza
272) Yo Burrito
273) Your Place
274) Zanzibar
275) Zena's Snack & Deli
276) Zuppa
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Read some of the other reviews. They go from Awesome to Lousy. I think sometimes people review places not based on their experinece at that venue, but compared to another. I have visited at least 200 different brew pubs and beer bars around the country. This is not the best, nor is it the worst. I enjoyed a Black IPA, it was favorable anbd drinkable - 'nough said. While on previous visits I had pizza, and found it to be tasty and good, this time I opted only for the Fried Green Tomatoes and found them to be really, really good. I was taken aback Southend did not have an IPA on tap other than the Black IPA, but it didn't ruin the experience for me. I will go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, Berkeley Springs, WV
(02/26/2014)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
The food was good, but overpriced for the value. The beers were good, but disappointing on the whole. The Blonde and Wheat were both forgettable. The Pale Ale was described by our server as an IPA, but given the low hops level they might need to rethink how they describe it. Not being an IPA fan, I found it pleasant. The Stout was hard to evaluate because it was served too cold. They were out of their Red and Brown Ales, which was a tremendous disappointment. They did not tell me they were out till the server has already brought the beer sampler to our table. The best beer of the night was either a substitute pale ale from Bell's, or the seasonal, a pale ale made with cardamom and cinnamon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Richmond, VA
(11/09/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
Same experience as one of the other reviews. It took me 3 tries to get to a beer they had. Well, I was going to get to the stout anyway, but maybe after the meal. At any measure, it was well worth the trip to the stout. Just wish there were more types I felt like drinking.

If you like mac and cheese, you must try the smoked version made I think with smoked gouda. Try it with the smoked meatloaf or as a side.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gregp gregp, georgetown, MA
(10/07/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I enjoy Charleston very much! This restuarant was a great place to stop in when you are casually dressed and thirsty! Food and Service was wonderful..the beer was a tasty treat as well

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kathleen kathleen, chapin, SC
(07/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Tried The Bombay PA is was OK, not as hoppy as I care for, Ironman Wheat was good, the stout however, was excellent. Food was good, looks as though they do a lot of pizza

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
A quick stop in fro lunch while touring the downtown area. The selection while looked impressive on the board was not so much when it came time to order. Several were out. so I tried their seasonal IPA. Not nearly as hoppy as I'd like but drinkable. went back several days later and they were still out of the same things...a little disappointed in that..oh well next time

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ypsilanti, MI
(10/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

My wife and I used to always stop in for happy hour to check out the "seasonal" beer on tap. Haven't been there in a while but if you're a beer lover they always have 8 great ales on tap from light to dark.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Charleston, SC
(04/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I moved to Charleston several years ago and used to visit this place often. I've recently started making it a regular stop, with visiting friends and family, ever since I had read two different reviews raving about the new brew master.

My family and I went in early on a Friday evening in February and enjoyed huge appetizer portions on the 3rd floor while we played pool. I remember being impressed by the fact that we were served HOT food in mere minutes. Despite the fact that we were being entertained 3 floors away from the main kitchen, which is elegantly open on the 1st floor. Although we hadn't made reservations the hostess worked her magic and was able to squeeze us into their main dining room, in just 20 minutes. After a few drinks and some pool, we were summoned down to the first floor where we found our table reserved. Of course, I HAD to have the pork tenderloin. The applejack brandy sauce drizzled over the top, is INCREDIBLE! My brother and sister had the ribs and salmon salad respectively and were equally impressed. We each had a sample platter, displaying a 5oz. sample of each of their 8 homemade brews. I generally enjoy darker beers and was blown away by the chocolate porter. We were fortunate enough to get a taste because apparently this was their winter "seasonal selection" and they're almost sold out. I'm excited to try the spring brew which should be ready sometime in March/April 2007.

The live bluegrass echoing from the stage area on the 1st floor, filled the open 3 story building like a warm summer breeze. Our waiter was fantastic and I think my sister is in love. Anyway, Southend is definitely a good time. Nice, casual atmosphere with lots to drink, eat, hear, and see......

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dylan Dylan, Syracuse, NY
(03/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Wow. Yeah I walked into this eyes wide open. I check this place out on Pubcrawler before we went and although the beer didn't get great reviews the food seemed to be okay and since we were meeting non-beer drinking family, we thought we'd go here and give it a shot. Wow. The beer was all horrible. All 8 of them. The food was awful. The only thing at the table that anyone had that was any good was the She Crab Soup. The service was terrible. The location is wonderful downtown near the harbor in an old historic building. Swing through for the soup but don't bother with anything else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(12/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
Beautiful location.... and that's all they have going for them. I came in on a Saturday around 5 and the place was empty, but THAT little fact didn't mean I'd be served any faster. Not for lack of waitstaff either, it's just that they were over watching TV at the bar and bickering over who would pick up our table. I would have left after 10 minutes, but my friends wanted to try the beer, and it was the only brewpub we'd known of in Charleston at the time. So, I waited it out and ordered the sampler around 15 minutes after I'd been seated. Another 5 or 10 later, the sampler came out, and like someone that reviewed before me, I found the beer to taste a bit off. All of it. Almost like they left soap scum in the glasses, or didn't bother keeping their hops fresh or something. Either way, I was extremely disappointed by this place. I recommend driving and hour and a half and going to the Hunter-Gatherer in Columbia. It's a beautiful drive, and the beer and food is far superior.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. Stephens M. Stephens, Bend, OR
(09/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Asked waitress if they had an IPA. She said no. Asked about an India Pale Ale. She said no. Looked at beer list. Ordered a Bombay Pale Ale. She was happy.

Ordered baby back ribs. Fries were cold. Someone took plate to kitchen. Waitress came to table 10 minutes later to ask how my meal was. She never noticed I had NO PLATE in front of me. 5 minutes later I got the plate with hot and greasy fries -- they were not drained, just dumped on the plate. While the plate was in the kitchen, the ribs were obviously put back on the grill: they were CHARRED and inedible.

My wife ordered a salad which featured goat cheese -- it came with NO goat cheese.

The mens room was filthy. I'm talking urine and feces filthy. The sinks were cruddy and there were no paper towels (except those on the floor ankle deep). I couldn't finish my beer after seeing it. Just to think that the same management which can't keep a bathroom clean was making beer made me a little sick.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Whalen Bill Whalen, Hernando, FL
(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good
Got the sampler to start out with and was a bit dissapointed. They were out of the one I was looking forward to, the Red Ale. The Pale ale was under hopped but the Seasonal was done well. Dinner was pricey but tasty, nice atmosphere with slow service. This puts a damper on the evening when you want to try different beers and they don't notice that your glass has been empty for quite some time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gail Klewsaat Gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(03/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Lousy Lousy
Like alot of the reviews said...the beer is terrible. I went for the sampler and all the beer had an odd finish. It seemed like they used a bad...very bad batch of hopps. They need to fire their brewmiester quickly. The food was good but overpriced with stuffy and slow service

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Morgan Morgan, Pismo Beach, CA
(11/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good
This place has a good menu even though the food is not that wonderful, adequate I'd say. The staff is friendly. If you are looking for a good pale ale or IPA, this is not the place, more trendy light beers here. Good happy hour prices for beer. If you are visiting as a tourist and not a beer expert, it's good, but you'll be disappointed in the beer if you are looking for some good hops.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Dann Bruce Dann, Charlotte, NC
(11/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Good
Best She-Crab soup I've had in the 4 times I've visited Charleston! Wonderful grits as well!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sarah Phelps Sarah Phelps, Lexington, KY
(06/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Everything was outstanding! The shrimp & grits were to die for! The pork tenderloin was great & the meatloaf... You just have to taste to believe it!

Loved the Scarlet Ale & the Blonde!

The chocolate martini's were also outstanding... :o)

Incidently, the Southend has recently been returned to it's original owners, who were forced out several years ago by some greedy men who almost bankrupt the company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tina tina, revelstoke, BC
(03/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
The food and beer were okay, but had to wait forever for the catty hostess to seat us. The wait staff left much to be desired.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Summerville, SC
(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
We recently had dinner there during Spoleto. This place has been there for years now. I am a big time brew lover and have never had the chance to check it out. What was in store for us blew our minds. The beer was fresh, clean, and full of flavor. Along with of all of that, the establishment is absoulutly beautiful. I don't think they are a chain. I think they may be privatly held with a few stores, and the owner is evidently one of the guys that invented Bud Lt. We thought it was great...Definitly not your hole-in-the-wall brew house though. This place has good everything!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Memphis, TN
(06/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Lousy Lousy
This place was SHOCKINGLY bad. We should have been suspicious and left as soon as they told us that they were still serving their Pumpkin Ale in April! The bartender refused to sell us a sampler, the pints we bought were overpriced, and the beer (nut brown in particular) was flavorless. Yet another reason to avoid chain brewpubs...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(04/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
visited over the summer and drank the MOST DELICIOUS BELGIUM WHEAT BEER w/orange slice WOW! the food and service both times we were there were down home friendly and delicious to say the least

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jefff Bilby Jefff Bilby, Kingston, NH
(12/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great N/A N/A N/A
Went for dinner but the beer chased me out. Have been to 400 brewpubs and this was one of the worst. Luckily T-Bonz is right around the corner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from UtahSteve UtahSteve, ogden, UT
(10/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Good So So
From my first sip of the Ironman Wheat, I could tell something was wrong. I suspect Southend is using the local water (without benefit of purification)to brew their beer. Each selection I tried had the same "funny" taste to it. I have visited other brewpubs that suffer from this same problem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Hood David Hood, Simpsonville, SC
(08/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
An oasis downtown for great beer and fine food!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brian, Alameda, CA
(05/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
My wife and I had lunch there. She unfortunately doesn't drink beer but loved the food. I second that. My pale ale was outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Baker Bill Baker, Cranberry Township, PA
(05/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I had a good time, frendly people, I liked the bartender on the 3rd floor he was a cool guy I think George was his name, nothing I like better than a good brew & a bartender who knows the local history. he said his investments went up in smoke a while ago but that he likes this job better, I think I will make this place my reguler haunt when I am in Charleston I liked sittiing by the south wall. the view over looking the port in the large captain's chairs, & the cool breeze on a hot day is refreshing

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Myrtle Beach, SC
(04/06/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.066 seconds) 09:20:25 54.166.33.25, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS