PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


New Knoxville Brewing Company - Knoxville, TN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 30, 2014 @ 01:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TN > Knoxville > New Knoxville Brewing Company
New Knoxville Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
New Knoxville Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 74.4 / 100
708 East Depot Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37917
United States
(865) 522-0029
Listed Since: October 1997
Last Updated: April 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Knoxville, TN
Beer Guide for Tennessee

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
18 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Barley's Taproom
(2 miles)

2) Downtown Grill and Brewery
(3 miles)

3) Preservation Pub
(3 miles)

4) Urban Bar and Corner Cafe
(3 miles)

5) Mellow Mushroom
(3 miles)

6) The Half Barrel
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Maplehurst Inn
2) Masters Manor Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CLARION INN KNOXVILLE
2) COMFORT INN KNOXVILLE TN
3) DAYS INN CAMPUS
4) DAYS INN EAST
5) DAYS INN KNOXVILLE NORTH
6) ECONO LODGE NORTH KNOXVILLE
7) HOWARD JOHNSON NORTH
8) RADISSON SUMMIT HILL KNOXVILLE
9) RAMADA LIMITED SUITES
10) SLEEP INN
11) SUPER 8 KNOXVILLE NORTH TN
12) TRAVELODGE NORTH KNOXVILLE TN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bleak House
2) Blount, William, Mansion
3) Burwell Building Tennessee Theater
4) Camp House
5) Cowan, McClung and Company Building
6) Craighead-Jackson House
7) Dulin, H. L., House
8) Fire Station No. 5
9) First Baptist Church
10) First Presbyterian Church Cemetery
11) General Building
12) Holston National Bank
13) Jackson Avenue Warehouse District
14) Jackson Avenue Warehouse District Extension
15) Johnson, Andrew, Hotel
16) Knox County Courthouse
17) Knoxville Business College
18) Knoxville Iron Foundry Complex-Nail Factory and Warehouse
19) Knoxville National Cemetery
20) Knoxville Post Office
21) Knoxville YMCA Building
22) Lamar House Hotel
23) Louisville and Nashville Freight Depot
24) Louisville and Nashville Passenger Station
25) Mabry, Joseph Alexander, Jr., House
26) Mall Building
27) Market Square Commercial Historic District
28) McCammon, Samuel, House
29) Mechanics' Bank and Trust Company Building
30) Medical Arts Building
31) Middlebrook
32) Old Knoxville City Hall
33) Old Post Office Building
34) Ossoli Circle Clubhouse
35) Park City Junior High School
36) Park, James, House
37) Peters House
38) Racheff, Ivan, House
39) Savage House and Garden
40) South Market Historic District
41) St. John's Lutheran Church
42) Trinity Methodist Episcopal Church
43) Tyson Junior High School
44) Westwood
45) Wilder, Gen. John T., House
46) Williams, Col. John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ann's Place
2) Arby's
3) Arby's
4) Austins Steaks & Saloon
5) B W's
6) Bill's Market & Deli
7) Brews Q
8) Broadway Cafe
9) Buddy's Bar-B-Q
10) Burger King
11) Cancun Mexican Restaurant
12) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
13) Chandler's Deli
14) Cici's Pizza
15) Club XYZ
16) Conversation Pit
17) Country Table Restaurant
18) Dixson Bar-B-Q
19) Domino's Pizza
20) Doris' Diner
21) Dynasty Express-Fountain City
22) East Side Soul Food
23) F C Restaurant Corp
24) Fazoli's
25) Frances' Diner
26) Francises' Restaurant
27) Garelli's
28) Garelli's Deli
29) Glenwood Sandwich Shop
30) Gli Food Svc
31) Granny's Restaurant
32) Harby's Pizza & Deli
33) Hardee's
34) Hugh's Tavern
35) Junior's Restaurant
36) Kfc
37) Kfc
38) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
39) Krystal
40) Krystal
41) LA Esperanza
42) Leo's Cafe
43) Linda's Country Kitchen
44) Little Caesars Pizza
45) Little Caesars Pizza
46) Long John Silver's
47) Long John Silver's
48) Louis Restaurant
49) Louise's Cafe
50) Magnolia Lounge
51) Marcella's Restaurant
52) Mark Woodland & Deli
53) Mary's Hot Tamale's
54) Mc Donald's
55) Mc Donald's
56) Mc Donald's
57) Mickey T's Sports Bar
58) Mid-America Corp
59) Mrs Winner's Chicken & Biscuit
60) Natours Time Out Deli
61) Oasis Buffet
62) Off Da Hook Ltd
63) Olde Towne Tavern
64) Original Freezo
65) P M's Lounge
66) Papa John's Pizza
67) Peking Chinese Restaurant
68) Philippine Connection Carry
69) Pit Stop
70) Pizza Hut
71) Pizza Hut
72) Pizza Palace
73) Rankin Restaurant
74) Real Peking Chinese Restaurant
75) Regas Restaurant
76) Roger's Place
77) Ruby Tuesday
78) Sam & Andy's Fountain City
79) Sam's Restaurant & Deli
80) Sassy Ann's
81) Scruggs Real Pit Barbecue
82) Senor Taco
83) Shoney's Restaurant
84) Smokey's Sports Grill
85) Sonic Drive-In
86) Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
87) Steamboat Sandwiches
88) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
89) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
90) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
91) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
92) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
93) Super Mandrin
94) Super Mario
95) Taco Bell
96) Taco Bell
97) Taco Bell
98) Time Out Deli & Market
99) Toots Little Honky Tonk
100) Vic & Bills Deli
101) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good ? Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was exited at first when I found a local brewery's fare at a local beverage shop in Cookeville TN alas this excitement quickly turned to disappointment when I tried my first pale ale. It was ridiculously over carbed but this is the least of my complaints. The beer is unfiltered to say the least, a mass amount of organic material (perhaps small malt crush particles) were abundant in the brew, without warning on the bottle I poured as I regularly would with a filtered beer and had the material captured in the over carbed head while a great deal of it settled to the bottom. It would be in their best interest to inform drinkers of this beforehand to give them a heads up to pour accordingly. Subsequent bottles I poured as if it were a home brew and it left the matter in the bottle.

The worst part yet though is the ghastly metallic aftertaste. As soon as I can detect a pleasant pale ale taste to this brew I get smacked in the face with the metallic aftertaste. I can only hope this is a worse than average batch for them in this regard.

Needless to say I think I'll stick with a MUCH better semi-local pale ale, Sweetwater Brewery's 420 Extra Pale Ale which is out of Atlanta, try it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Zane Zane , Cookeville, TN
(02/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A N/A N/A
My beer hadn't been fully fermented...... as in, it was still in the process of fermenting when i bought it in Cookeville... excited about buying a local beer and denied.......

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew Matthew, Cookeville, TN
(04/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A N/A
I hate to say it, but after several purchases of New Knoxville IPA and Pale Ale at multiple Kroger stores in Knoxville I have to say that New Knoxville Beer is infected.

The first two I opened were seemingly overcarbonated. The beer sprayed out of the bottle all over my counter. They were still, unshaken. The taste was off, very off. I have had this beer on draft and it tasted completely different. I left the remaining four in the refrigerator for a couple of weeks. After opening again, over the sink this time the spray continued. The color was many shades darker this time and the beer was not even close to drinkable. There is no question about the contamination of this beer.

I am not spreading rumors, I know this company has had problems in the past and would not just post information to hurt them. I love beer and want a local brewery! I have many friends who have experienced this problem consistently. We have decided not to buy them anymore.

If you want a New Knoxville Beer - get one at Barley's or their tasting room. The bottles are infected! Watch out if you don't like dogs though. The tasting room apparently doubles as a dog sitting facility. And yes, watch out for the feces and urine - they are a little slow to clean up. I feel that is pretty unprofessional. Especially in a facility were cleanliness is the most important detail. Maybe this helps explain the contaminated product.

Jim - Beer Hermit beerhermit@excite.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Knoxville, TN
(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Knoxville, TN
(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
For all those folks out there with absolutely no sense of humor, I apologize for posting an article while I was drinking. I still don't care for the New Knoxville beer, but at least someone's trying to get away from corporate. I hate Miller, Budweiser, and Coors as well. European is where it's at. Canadian is where it's at. And if it tastes right, homebrew is where it's at. I may be no "connesiuer", but I know when my beer tastes right or not. Baking soda and bubble bath just ain't my cup of tea, I guess. I apologize to all those avid homebrew fans out there who take themselves way too seriously. Unbelievable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Seibert Rob Seibert, Knoxville, TN
(05/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A Good
I'm always amused by ranting reviews such as the one posted in March by Rob Seibert. By comparing Heineken to ANY pale ale, he demonstrates an utter lack of understanding as to what constitutes a pale ale. The remainder of his lengthy diatribe is then reduced to, "Blah, blah, freakin' blah."

That said, am I a "fan" of New Knoxville Brewing Company? Not really. I find their brews to be drinkable, but unremarkable. Average at best. I do, however, wholeheartedly support anyone who is trying to sustain better beer in the wilderness that is East Tennessee. I love handcrafted beer and join others of my ilk in converting more "fizzy yellow piss drinkers" away from the industrial swill of the Big Three.

So, New Knoxville Brewing Company, you have a long way to go. But THANK YOU for attempting the journey. And I will continue to purchase the occasional six-pack at my local grocer as my contribution to your efforts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Gore James Gore, Pigeon Forge, TN
(04/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
During our visit, the brewing area was clean. It looked like a dog has never seen that back area. Kara was really nice. I enjoyed both the IPA and pale ale while my husband was partial to the brown. All were too easy to drink :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So Lousy
I was having an okay time, and enjoying an IPA when the brewers dog pissed on the floor. I told the bartender about it, and she told the brewer/owner. His response was "she's never done that before" and then proceeded about his business. No one bothered to clean it up. This totally turned me off from the place. Absolutely disguisting!! I was also given a tour of his brewery... and from what I could tell, his dog seemed to enjoy pissing back there too. I guess Brett would say "that's the English way of doing it." I won't be back, and I won't be purchasing any of your beers outside of your brewery either. Thanks for the inside view.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Jon, Knoxville, TN
(01/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Great
I drove a few hundred miles out of my way to stop in to this "new" microbrewery. I met with the bremaster, Brett Redmaybe-Titley. Although their tap room was not open at the time of my visit, Brett poured me one of his Pale Ales and invited me back to talk with he was transfering his Brown Ale to a fermentor. I then got to taste his Brown Ale and IPA, which are both excellent. If you have the chance to stop in, take the time to talk beer with Brett!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Nashville, TN
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A N/A
NKBC is indeed back in business. Different owners and the recipes have changed a bit. The beers (2 including IPA and XX Pale now called Traditional Pale Ale) don't use the same yeast as old beers and are also condsiderably more hoppy than original recipes. Good beers and nice to have them back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Nelson Mike Nelson, Knoxville, TN
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I heard a rumour that new knoxville may be reopening soon,Hope so I miss the ipa

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Lewis James Lewis, Knoxville, TN
(05/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed in March of 2001

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rutledge Tom Rutledge, Knoxville, TN
(05/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(06/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Great
The India Pale Ale & Porter are well hopped but have a nice balance of malt & mouth feel. These two can hold their own against any IPA or Porter I've tasted. The Mild Ale is one of the best amber/brown ales I've tasted. The Honey Wheat Ale is a great summer type beer: refreshing would be a good discription. Overall New Knoxville Beers are great and should not be missed When in the region!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Reddick Brad Reddick, Knoxville, TN
(10/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
The India Pale Ale and Porter are wonderful. The mild goes very well with food. I miss the original Swanky Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Nashville, TN
(09/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
If in town, call and arrange for a tour of the brewery. I had a tour led by Al Knusen, I believe. Nice guy who talked with my group of three for an extra hour on a long Saturday afternoon. Also brews the draft for Great Southern Brewing Co. A small microbrewery which does an admirable job. I plan to enjoy the offerings for many more years.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cas Goodman Cas Goodman, Knoxville, TN
(08/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great
This is a microbrewery only. Their beer is available regionally and thru some beer-of-the-month clubs. NKBC also does the brewing for the nearby Great Southern Brewing Co. and several of their brews are available on tap there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rutledge Tom Rutledge, Knoxville, TN
(10/29/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.237 seconds) 01:14:19 54.237.122.241, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS