PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company - El Paso, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 10:37 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > El Paso > Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company
Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 75 / 100
1135 Airway Boulevard
El Paso, TX 79925
United States
(915) 778-9696
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for El Paso, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
33 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Sioux Street
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES EL PASO AIRPORT
2) BAYMONT INN & SUITES EL PASO E
3) BAYMONT INN & SUITES ELP WEST
4) BEST WESTERN AIRPORT INN
5) CHASE SUITE HOTEL EL PASO
6) COMFORT INN AIRPORT EAST
7) DAYS INN EL PASO EAST
8) EXTENDEDSTAY EL PASO AIRPORT
9) HAWTHORN EL PASO
10) HOWARD JOHNSON EL PASO
11) LA QUINTA INN CIELO VISTA
12) LA QUINTA INN EL PASO AIRPORT
13) LA QUINTA INN EL PASO LOMALAND
14) MARRIOTT EL PASO
15) MICROTEL EL PASO AIRPORT
16) QUALITY INN & SUITES EL PASO
17) RADISSON STE INN EL PASO AIRPT
18) RADISSON SUITES
19) RAMADA EL PASO
20) RED ROOF EL PASO EAST
21) SUPER 8 EL PASO TX
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Quarters Number 1
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Airway Pub
2) Andale Buffet
3) Andale Fine Mexican Cuisine
4) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
5) Arby's
6) Arby's
7) Asiana
8) B P Newman
9) Banana Nice
10) Bangkok Pepper
11) Banq Quik
12) Baskin-Robbins
13) Baskin-Robbins
14) Bay Lounge
15) Big Al's Wings & Subs
16) Big Daddy's
17) Boyd Coffee Co
18) Brass Asp Cocktails
19) Burger King
20) Burritos Pampas
21) C A One Svc
22) Canarozzo's Italian Restaurant
23) Carl's Jr Restaurant
24) Casa Verde
25) Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood
26) Charly's Mexican Restaurant
27) Chatfield's-Fine Dining
28) Chick-Fil-A
29) Chilero's Restaurant
30) Chili's Grill & Bar
31) China Inn Restaurant
32) Chinese Gourmet Express
33) Chuck E Cheese's
34) Churro Time
35) Cici's Pizza
36) Ciro's Restaurant
37) Ciro's Restuarant
38) Cockpit Lounge
39) Cosimos Pizza
40) Crawdaddy's Cajun Grill
41) Cuauthemoc Cafe
42) Dairy Queen
43) Denny's
44) Dominguez Mexican Food Rstrnt
45) Dominics Italian Restaurant
46) Dos Nidos Mexican Cafe
47) East Texas Hot Links
48) El Chaparrel De Valles
49) El Paso City Limits
50) El Pollo Loco
51) El Presidente Mexican Rstrnt
52) El Taco Tote
53) Fast Lane Burgers
54) First Cocktail Lounge
55) Foxy
56) Franky's Restaurant
57) Freeway Bowling Lanes
58) Frullati Cafe & Bakery
59) Gitters
60) Gold Nugget
61) Grand China Buffet
62) Griggs Restaurant
63) Home Town Buffet
64) Hong Kong Buffet
65) Hooters
66) Icecream Factory
67) Jack In The Box
68) Javier's Restaurant & Catering
69) Jaxon's Restaurant
70) Jord-Inns Restaurant
71) Kfc
72) LA Michoacana
73) LA Monarca Michocana
74) La Poblanita
75) Lampliter Lounge
76) Landry's Seafood House
77) Linda's Jet Mexican & American
78) Linda's Jet Mexican Restaurant
79) Little Caesars Pizza
80) Little Caesars Pizza
81) Little Caesars Pizza
82) Little Caesars Pizza
83) Lovi's Catering
84) Luby's Cafeteria
85) Mac Adoo's
86) Magnim's Restaurant & Lounge
87) Marble Slab Creamery
88) Marriott Catering
89) Mavericks Bar & Grill
90) Mc Donald's
91) Mc Donald's
92) Mc Donald's
93) Michelino's Italian Restaurant
94) Mirai Bowl
95) Mission Cafe
96) Monica's Nightclub
97) Montrae Lounge
98) Mountain View Grille
99) Mr Gatti's Pizza
100) Mr Pollo Chicken Grill
101) N Briceno
102) Noble Roman's Inc
103) On Site Music Disco
104) Oriental Cuisine
105) Panache Lounge
106) Papa John's Pizza
107) Paquime Restaurante
108) Paquime Restaurante
109) Pepe's Charbroiled Chicken
110) Pepe's Tamales
111) Peter Piper Pizza
112) Pho Tre Bien Restaurant
113) Pizza Hut
114) Pizza Hut
115) Pizza Time
116) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
117) Rancher's Grill
118) Renaissance Mobile Discotheque
119) Rincon De Cortez
120) Rita's Cafe Express
121) Rods & Wheels Bar & Grille
122) Romeo's Nite Club
123) Savino's Italian Restaurant
124) Shlotzsky's Deli
125) Shogun Steak House
126) Silver Streak
127) Sky Chefs
128) Skyline Lounge
129) Smokey's Pit Stop
130) Sol's Barbecue
131) Sonic Drive-In
132) Souper Salad Restaurant
133) Special Edition
134) Stan's Frozen Foods
135) Starbucks
136) Suavecito Nite Club
137) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
138) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
139) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
140) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
141) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
142) Sugar Daddy's Bar & Grill
143) Taco Bell
144) Taco Cabana Inc
145) Taco Real
146) Tacos El Saguan
147) Take Five
148) TCBY
149) Teriyaki Bowl
150) Tony's Catering Svc
151) Tony's The Pit Bq
152) Tortas Mexican
153) Tortilleria
154) Totoku North America
155) Track One
156) Village Inn
157) Viva Distributing
158) Wee Went Wong
159) Wendy's
160) Whataburger
161) Whataburger
162) Whataburger
163) Whataburger
164) Whataburger
165) Wienerschnitzel
166) Wingstop
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
Airway Blvd Location. Has sort of a saloon atmosphere. The brewery is visable behind the bar. The staff is quite friendly and the beer selection is decent but they always seem to out of one of the regular brews every time I visit. I wish they made a couple of brews with a bit more charactor. As the only brewery in El Paso its not too bad. I enjoyed to Andale Pale Ale the best and was a bit dissapointed blandness of the Stout. The Borderland Lager goes best with food due to being a bit bland and is served with a lime wedge.

They have a decent menu with local favorites and a daily special or two. It seem to be more of a restaurant with a brewery on the side.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bif Bif, St Peters, MO
(12/07/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good
Beer and food is good. Our bartender was fantastic! Stuck around for a few hours extra just because we had so much fun talking with him about travel, El Paso, and many other things.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
I have been to the Airway restaurant and it was fabulous! So we decided to stop in at the restaurant at the Mesa location and can guarantee that we won't be back! Food and service...Terrible! Such a disappointment!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kimberli Muse Kimberli Muse, El Paso, TX
(03/09/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
We stopped at Sunset, but they don't brew no mo'. The other Jaxon's may not brew, but we finally got here and were glad. The Cactus Jack Amber was very good with body, but a li'l sticky; the Black Jack Stout was nice, creamy and black, but just a li'l thin on body -- still nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(04/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
the only beer that was drinkable was the mexican lager. there is a BJ's in town now, go there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike and Dollie Motter Mike and Dollie Motter, harrah, OK
(07/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Have to agree with the previous review. Very close to several hotels and the airport. It is very nice to be able to walk to a pub. There were 7 beers on 6/6: light, lager, amber, ipa, maibock, stout and wheat. The service was excellent as was the food. My favorite beers were the ipa and the stout. Well worth seeking out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from UtahSteve UtahSteve, Ogden, UT
(06/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I would really rate all as pretty good rather then good. Got the sampler and thought all beers were quite good, maybe not great but, you get the idea. I really did like the place though and it is within walking distance of the hotels around the airport. It was better then I expected in El Paso. The prices were right at happy hour and the atmosphere was what you might hope for in a brew pub. Best compliment I can give it, is that I will be back next time I am in town. As far as the beers go, they had a mexican amber that was quite good as were the stout, porter and IPA. This place is better then good but not quite great. Give it a try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(04/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
On the positive side, the prices are excellent: $2.95 for a pint, $1.75 for seven two-ounce samples.

The food was good. I liked the soup a lot, the salad was salad, and the chicken vaquero was surprisingly plain.

The beer was good, I had a sampler and an IPA.

My server Rick D. was adequate, nothing more or less.

I'd say this place is worth a stop on your way from Dallas to Phoenix; it's very easy to get here from I-10.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Nowatney Michael Nowatney, Plano, TX
(04/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
This is a return trip. I had the: IPA- one of the better IPA's I've had. Recommeded.

Nitro stout: Well done, smooth, drinkable.

Out of brown ale. Sampled spicy light Xmas ale. Very thin with no followthrough. Not recommended.

Food was good. Overall a quality brewpub in the brewpub desert that is Texas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(12/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Wasn't expecting this good of a brewpub in El Paso. They had a pretty good selection of beer and I didn't have one I didn't enjoy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Magnus McDowell Magnus McDowell, Eagan, MN
(04/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Jaxon's Andalay IPA is one of the best I ever had. I rank it right up there with:Sierra Nevada Celebration, Stone Ruination, Anderson Valley Hop Ottin, Red Seal, & Bell's Two Hearted Ale. Andalay has an incredibly tasty blend of hops. I look forward to business trips to El Paso! Their Stout is also one of the best I have ever had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry Huie Henry Huie, Allison Park, PA
(03/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Visited Jaxon's (and its sister brewpub on the other side of town) during a recent business trip to El Paso. Both brewpubs are very nice with a variety of menu items to choose from. Nice decor. Could not talk to the brewmeister during either visit. Both had a nice selection of beers. Their Mexican Lagar with a lime was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Nashville, TN
(02/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Enjoyed the place. No smoking. Both beers I tried were good. I would return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Scorby Gary Scorby, Tigard, OR
(10/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
A Friday afternoon, the bartender was very helpful even though he was setting up for the night. I had a glass of porter and pale, both were great. I wanted to also visit the micro in the other side of town so I only had 10oz glasses. What a break, nothing like a hoppy happy hour where it was only a $1 a glass. Now on the down side, later that night I found a Jaxons on the west side of town. What a disapointmen, the staff was not freindly or helpful. The beer was not the same, and they did not have a pale, or at least the server did not think so. I was also disapointed in the food. I made a big mistake because I was staying in a motel for the night right down the street, I should have stayed close to this one!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Harlingen, TX
(09/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We went on a Friday night late with the family.

I had an IPA-excellent, very hoppy, a little cold English Mild Bitter-wonderful hazy yellow color-well done

The food was very good and the service was OK-the waitress didn't know her beers and I had to go to the bar to get a list. I definitely would go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(08/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
A year ago I would have said this place was great, but the beer isn't nearly as good since John (the brewer) left (luckily he's just over the other side of town at Sunset Brewery which is far superior). The nitro stout is a great beer. I'm surprised to see people praise the IPA - it seemed pretty weak the last time I tried it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
A great find in El Paso. They had an IPA when I was there earlier this month. Now, I am a "hop head" and very critical of IPA's, but this was one of the best I've ever had. Nice lingering aftertaste. Fairly strong beer that sneaks up on you. The bad news is that I liked the IPA so much I didn't try any of their other brews. The really bad news is that this is a seasonal beer which they may not have all the time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Stauber Joe Stauber, Wildwood, MO
(06/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
I live in El Paso but hadn't been to Jaxon's in years. I particularly liked the Silver Star Light as is was very pilsner-like with Saaz hops. The nitro Stout was excellent too, with a creamy, rich, full flavor. The only beer that was in any way flawed was the seasonal Hefeweizen, only because it had too much banana flavor for me. In all, not a bad place to drink beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard D. Richard D., El Paso, TX
(06/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I visited this pub on 1-2-2002. They had 5 brews on tap after the holiday rush. Available during my visit were Sliver Star Light Ale, Chihuahua Brown Ale, Old Paleface Ale, Black Jack Stout, and Catus Jax Amber Ale. The Stout was the best of the lot this trip. If you enjoy green chiles try the green chile burger. They have 2 different types of pint glasses for sale as well as brew to go. Unfortunately they fill their growlers ahead of time. If you collect growlers they put paper labels on them for each beer. My experience has been that growlers don't last more than 2 or 3 days. I would hate to buy a flat beer in a prepoured growler. Overall it still is an "Oasis in the Desert".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Austin, TX
(02/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I visited this pub on 1-2-2002. They had 5 brews on tap after the holiday rush. Available during my visit were Sliver Star Light Ale, Chihuahua Brown Ale, Old Paleface Ale, Black Jack Stout, and Catus Jax Amber Ale. The Stout was the best of the lot this trip. If you enjoy green chiles try the green chile burger. They have 2 different types of pint glasses for sale as well as brew to go. Unfortunately they fill their growlers ahead of time. If you collect growlers they put paper labels on them for each beer. My experience has been that growlers don't last more than 2 or 3 days. I would hate to buy a flat beer in a prepoured growler. Overall it still is an "Oasis in the Desert".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Austin, TX
(02/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Foley Jeff Foley, Sierra Vista, AZ
(06/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Food was great! Beer was cold and wet!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stevens Mark Stevens, McGuire AFB, NJ
(10/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Been here several times. Food and service have been consistently decent. The beers seem kind of bland, maybe they're catering to the local tastes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Cornils Pete Cornils, Elkhart, IN
(10/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
I visited Jaxon's on 7/7/99 and found it an oasis in the dessert.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gerald Averill Gerald Averill, League City, TX
(02/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Located by the Airport. Very polite staff that is indicative of the local culture. Spacious southwestern backdrop. Take time to enjoy yourself. The beer is diverse as expected, and the food is definetly Mexicano. Delicious. If you have a lay over in El Paso, stop by!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan A. Dan A., Val Verde, CA
(08/24/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.384 seconds) 22:37:02 54.81.170.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS