PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bluegrass Brewing - Louisville, KY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 26, 2014 @ 08:22 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > KY > Louisville > Bluegrass Brewing
Bluegrass Brewing Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Bluegrass Brewing
Overall: Great    Score: 76.1 / 100
3929 Shelbyville Road
Louisville, KY 40207
United States
(502) 899-7070
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: July 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Louisville, KY
Beer Guide for Kentucky

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bluegrass Brewing
41 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
(2 miles)

2) Fox and Hound Pub and Grille
(2 miles)

3) Sergio's World Beers
(2 miles)

4) Buckhead Grill and Bar
(3 miles)

5) Diamond Station
(3 miles)

6) Cumberland Brews
(3 miles)

7) Za's Pizza Pub
(3 miles)

8) Dundee Tavern and Grill
(3 miles)

9) Hideaway Saloon
(4 miles)

10) Flanagan's Ale House
(4 miles)

11) Molly Malone's Irish Pub and Restaurant
(4 miles)

12) Phoenix Hill Tavern
(4 miles)

13) Baxter Station Bar and Grille
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Inn At Woodhaven
2) Inn Off the Alley
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN AIRPORT EAST
2) BEST WESTERN BROWNSBORO INN
3) BRECKINRIDGE INN
4) BRIDGESTREET OVERLOOK ST THOMAS
5) DAYS INN HURSTBOURNE
6) EXTENDEDSTAY LOUISVILLE DUTCHMN
7) EXTENDEDSTAY ST MATTHEWS
8) HAWTHORN LOUISVILLE
9) LOUISVILLE EAST LOUFT
10) RAMADA INN ZORN
11) RED ROOF LOUISVILLE SE-FAIRGROU
12) SUBURBAN EXTENDED STAY HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allison-Barrickman House
2) Ashbourne
3) Atherton Carriage House
4) Ballard, Rogers Clark, Memorial School
5) Beech Lawn
6) Beechland
7) Belknap, Willam R., School
8) Berry Hill
9) Bingham-Hilliard Doll House
10) Blankenbaker Station
11) Bloedner, August, Monument
12) Brown, James, House
13) Brown, Theodore, House
14) Bullock-Clifton House
15) Castleman, John B., Monument
16) Chenoweth House
17) Chrisler House
18) Commodore Apartment Building
19) Crescent Hill Branch Library
20) Diamond Fruit Farm
21) Edgewood
22) Eight-Mile House
23) French, Henry, House
24) Funk, Harriet, House
25) Funk, James H., House
26) Gaffney House
27) Hayfield
28) Hikes-Hunsinger House
29) Hook and Ladder Company No. 3
30) Hook and Ladder Company No. 5
31) Horner House
32) Howard Home
33) Howard-Gettys House
34) Humphrey--McMeekin House
35) Kennedy--Hunsinger Farm
36) L & N Steam Locomotive No. 152
37) Ladless Hill
38) Lee, Addison W., House
39) Lewis, Dr. John, House
40) Lindenberger--Grant House
41) Louisville Water Company Pumping Station
42) Lyndon Cottage
43) Lynnford-Lyndon Hall
44) Maghera Glass-Ormsby Hall
45) Merriwether House
46) Midlands
47) Murray, Dr. John, Farm
48) Paget House and Heigold House Facade
49) Peterson-Dumesnil House
50) Pirtle House
51) Repton
52) Ridgeway
53) Rose Hill
54) Saint Frances of Rome School
55) Saint Francis of Assisi Complex
56) Schneikert, Valentine, House
57) Schuster Building
58) Selema Hall
59) Shady Brook Farm
60) Shwab House
61) Spring Station
62) St. James Roman Catholic Church, Rectory, and School
63) Steam Engine Company No. 10
64) Steam Engine Company No. 11
65) Steam Engine Company No. 22
66) Stivers, Zodia, House
67) Sunnyside
68) Taylor, Zachary, House
69) Three Mile Tollhouse
70) Union Monument in Louisville
71) Westwood Farm
72) Widman's Saloon and Grocery
73) Wilson, David, House
74) Winchester House
75) Winkworth
76) Wolf Pen Branch Mill
77) Woodside/John T. Bate House
78) Yenowine-Kennedy House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arby's
2) Arby's
3) Asiatique Restaurant
4) Austin's Restaurant
5) Azalea
6) Bazo's Fresh Mexican Grill
7) Bearno's Pizza St Matthews
8) Beef O Brady's
9) Bernie Karem Deli & Catering
10) Blue Moon Diner & Deli
11) Bluegrass Brewing Co
12) Bobby J's
13) Bonsai Japanese Restaurant
14) Burger King
15) Burger King
16) Bw-3
17) Cafe Emilie's Tea & Coffee
18) Cafe Fraiche
19) Cafe Iris
20) Cafe' La Peche Ii
21) Cajun Kitchen
22) Carolina Shrimp Co
23) Chardeau's Classic Catering
24) China Town
25) Cinnabon
26) Clover Lane Restaurant
27) Coffee & Cream Cafe
28) Conti's Cafe
29) Dairy Queen
30) Danish Express Pastries
31) Del Frisco's
32) Denny's
33) Diamond Pub & Billiards
34) Dooley's Bagels & Deli
35) Double Dragon
36) Dutch's Tavern
37) Dynasty Buffet
38) El Tarasco
39) Emperor Of China Restaurant
40) Equus Restaurant Inc
41) Expressions Of You Coffee Hse
42) Feed Bag
43) Fishery
44) Frisch's Big Boy Restaurant
45) Frullati
46) Gasthaus German Restaurant
47) Gerstle's Place
48) Gourmet Burgers
49) Graeter's Ice Cream
50) Havana Rumba LLC
51) Heavenly Ham
52) Heine Brothers' Coffee
53) Hooters
54) House Of Dragon
55) Ice Cream Factory & Restaurant
56) Indigo Bistro & Bar
57) J P Kayrouz Restaurant & Deli
58) Jade Garden
59) Java Brewing Co
60) Jerry Green & Friends
61) Jillian's Entertainment Corp
62) Kayrouz's Cafe LLC
63) Kfc
64) Kfc
65) King Daddy Grills
66) King Wok
67) Kitty O' Kirwans
68) Kroger Catering & Banquet Hall
69) Long John Silver's
70) Lonnie's Best Taste Of Chicago
71) Lotsa Pasta
72) Lynn's Paradise Cafe
73) Magical Food Management
74) Maier's The St Matthews Tavern
75) Mancino's Pizza & Grinders
76) Mc Donald's
77) Mc Donald's
78) Mc Donald's
79) Meridian Cafe
80) Moes Southwest Grill
81) Napa River Grill
82) Nautical Restaurants Inc
83) O'Charley's
84) Off The Grill
85) Olmsted
86) Oriental House
87) Outback Steakhouse
88) Papa John's Pizza
89) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
90) Patron
91) Penn Station
92) Pizza Guy
93) Pizza Hut
94) Pizza Hut
95) Pizza Magia Corporate Office
96) Qdoba Mexican Grill
97) Rafferty's Of Louisville
98) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
99) Red Lobster Restaurant
100) Sbarro
101) Sky Bar At Saints
102) Skyline Chili Inc
103) Stan's Fish Sandwich
104) Starbucks
105) Starlight Frozen Custard
106) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
107) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
108) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
109) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
110) Thai Cafe
111) Thatsa Wrapp
112) Tokyo Japanese Restaurant
113) Tologono
114) Tony Boombozz Pizzeria
115) Tumbleweed Southwest Mesquite
116) Two Guys & A Grill
117) Utopia International Cafe
118) W W Cousins Restaurant
119) Wall Street Deli
120) Wendy's
121) Wiltshire Pantry
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Visited Louisville for the Ryder Cup and discovered this site. Tried all of their beers (9 brews available). Most noteworthy -- Darkstar Porter 4.5 out of 5, very malty and with loads of taste. Food was great. Try the bbq chicken pizza. Very tasty!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Bucklin Steve Bucklin, Orlando, FL
(09/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Great Great
Recently renovated, the BBC is one of my standard hangouts, hopefully still kid friendly despite the more upscale appearance, as I frequently have the rugrats with me. Beer selection is stronger point than consistency, as a rule, 1/3 of the beers are superior 1/3 average and 1/3 inferior. Professor Gessor's and dry hopped cask are your best bets. Menu seems to change every six months, so I will not give recommendations there, but the pizzas and chili have consistently been good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review louisville, KY
(01/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
I moved here from Dallas three months ago. After looking at my first month's checking statement, its apparent that I have a new pub... BBC. The beer is great, with a rotating selection. My favorite is the Bourbon Barrel. One of the more unique ale's I've tasted, and packs a punch with 9% abv. The Raspberry Meade is great. They just put out a lovely wheat beer, Kylee's Smokin' Wheat. If has a distinctive smokey finish, which is a nice compliment for a summer brew.

The patio is kicking throughout the week with live music. The calzones are literally the size of footballs, more than enough for two people.

The service has been great while we've been there, including that mad house, cram packed brunch on Mother's Day. If you don't stop by this place, it's your loss.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael michael, louisville, KY
(07/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
I visited this brewpub on 2/23/06 and had the following brews; Kolsch, Porter, APA, Alt, Raspberry Meade, Batch 1300, Ginger Meade, Belgian Quad, Nut Brown, & Professor MNA. The Ginger Meade was totally unpalatable. But then again I don't appreciate meade and I don't care for ginger. The Professor MNA was a wonderfully hoppy brew. Overall the brews were good but some could use some improvement. I had my first "Hot Brown" a turkey dish that is famous in Louisville. It was quite good but too large of a portion for lunch. My one complaint of this place is the inconsistency with there brew boards. There brews were printed on three different boards around the place and none of them were the same. There was some some confusion on my part and the waitress was not very helpful. This place has improved tremendously since my last review and I hope it will continue to do so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(03/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
I visited this brewpub on 2/23/06 and had the following brews; Kolsch, Porter, APA, Alt, Raspberry Meade, Batch 1300, Ginger Meade, Belgian Quad, Nut Brown, & Professor MNA. The Ginger Meade was totally unpalatable. But then again I don't appreciate meade and I don't care for ginger. The Professor MNA was a wonderfully hoppy brew. Overall the brews were good but some could use some improvement. I had my first "Hot Brown" a turkey dish that is famous in Louisville. It was quite good but too large of a portion for lunch. My one complaint of this place is the inconsistency with there brew boards. There brews were printed on three different boards around the place and none of them were the same. There was some some confusion on my part and the waitress was not very helpful. This place has improved tremendously since my last review and I hope it will continue to do so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(03/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Great Good
$7.75 for a crab cake the size of a saltine cracker was irritating. The pale ale was very hoppy but thin. The burger and service were good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from aleman3319 aleman3319, Huron, SD
(08/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
The BBC brewery on Clay and Main is booming after new ownership took over. Recently' I've heard sales have gone up over 40% this quarter alone. Dave, the brewmaster is an evil genius brewing this stuff. The Pale Ale is award winning beer, very tangy, very bitter, but I kept wanting to finishing bottles and ordering another one. Alt Bier is BBC's best seller around Louisville bars. Its medium bodied amber ale with a mild hop to it.

As some one said previously, the BBC downtown and the BBC brewpub in St. Matthews are no longer associated with each other.

The brewery on the corner of main and clay in Downtown Louisville is a well kept secret. It consists of a large warehouse for storage, brewing, and bottling; as well as a tasting room where you can taste the freshly brewed flavors. The tasting room opens around 4 and closes around 10 and serves no food. But its the only place in Louisville you can get all the great BBC bottled beers under one roof. Unless there is a festival, sports game or event of some kind downtown there is usually no more than 5-10 people in the tasting room or sitting outside. Its a great place to just sit down, chill out, and speak easy with friends. The small 1 room bar (aka tasting room) is like a museum with artifacts from Falls City, Fehr's and numerous other Louisville and local area breweries over the last 200 years. I highly reccommend all of the BBC beers made on clay and main. With the exception of Hell For Certain which contains 8.5% alcohol and tastes like fire going down, only the tough at heart can handle the stuff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad King Brad King, Louisville, KY
(07/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Had been here in past visits to Louisville, so I though a return was in order, based upon the changes I've been reading about. 8 beers on tap, plus a mead. While many were good, the overall quality may have slipped slightly. However, there were several good things to notice wile there. The Darth Wheat could pass for an amber ale at many brewpubs--very hoppy. APA was malty, hoppy; very drinkable. Stout was a sweet stout, but not really very heavy at all. The raspberry mead was very effervescent and refreshing--a welcome surprise. The place itself is expansive with very subdued lighting and outdoor seating as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
To be fare it must be stated here that the BBC on Shelbyville Road and the BBC downtown have split. They now have separate brewers and the beer is made from different recipes. The main street location serves no food, but servers the original award winning beers. The Shelbyville road location servers food, and has a very good brewer finding his own tastes. The main street location bottles all of the BBC beer available, and kegs all of the beer available on tap around town except at the Shelbyville rd locaion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Louisville, KY
(04/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Lousy So So
I just got back from Louisville, and noticed that no one has written a review on the Bluegrass in awhile - maybe everyone stopped going? The last review is dead on; food is good, service was terrible (hello?), and the beer has thinned out and lost character since my last visit. Hey guys, wise up and get your act together, you used to have a GREAT thing. If you must go, go on Wednesday night for the live bluegrass music.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chad The Brewery Guy Chad The Brewery Guy, Houston, TX
(04/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So
My wife and I visited recently. We've been going to this place since they opened. I'm not sure what happened, or when, but the quality of beers has definitely gone downhill. We got the sampler and all beers were thin and watery. They had a huge selection, but none of them stood out. The food was very good, but the waiter was nowhere to be found whenever we needed something. I hope they get their act together. It used to be great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Kirk Jim Kirk, Indianapolis, IN
(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I only had a chance to try a few of the beers. The porter was rich with a lot of chocolate notes, but not too heavy. The alt was refreshing. Even liked the IPA although I usually find them too hoppy. Overall, I liked it. There's also a location at the airport which had fewer brews but still seemed fresh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Schobel Eric Schobel, Frederick, OTHER
(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Not sure what those who are dissatisfied have been drinking, but I have been enjoying BBC's brews for over 5 years. I always stop in when I am in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review bollocks, Cincinnati, OH
(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good
I visited this brewpub for the first time in 04/03 so I have no ax to grind. I found the beers to be excellent. There were very good hoppy ales (VIP & APA) & a good Imperial Stout. My wife and I agreed that the American Amber was one of the best ambers we've tried and we've been to 400 brewpubs. We have also tried the beers at the Real Ale Fest & they were always very good. The menu is limited and the food is so-so but I don't understand why some have made negative comments about the beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(04/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
I tried this place out and wasn't very impressed with it at all. The Oatmeal stout wasn't bad but the food wasn't very good at all and our waitress wasn't exactly kind. This is an okay hang out after work for some finger food, but beyond that look elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chad Chad, Bardstown, KY
(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
Speaking as a person who has been there since the early days. The quality of the brews at the BBC is very high! There have been very minor changes in the recipes of the standards like the APA over the years. The seasonals are less consistent but are always tasty. The quality has been consistent and the judges at the Great American Beer Festival agreed many time. The Barley Wine has taken gold in Denver and Chicago muliple times. I am a homebrewer of 9 years and Worthog # 63 originally. If brew is what you like this is the right place, specially for hop headz. The servers can be rough at time but that is a given in any restaraunt, I guaratee if you go to one of the bars you will get championship service and great company to boot. I have been to tons of brewpubs and tasted thousands of beers and I aaam dam happy to have the BBC down the street. Worthog 332

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joel Joel, Louisville, KY
(01/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good So So
I have been a member of the BBC Wort Hogs (special deals and own mug)for nearly 6 years and I will not be renewing it this year. Since they went public a few years ago the beer quality has gone from great to good to mediocre. The food has gone from from good to medocre to unedible (as of 9/7/02. The place still has one of the best beer gardens I have been around but it is now only worth it if you could sneak in Cumberland Brews beer.This has been like watching a good friend slowly die. To the owners, it is time to stop bowing to your share holders and take over what was once a great place to drink fantastic beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Loiusville, KY
(09/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The best new developement at BBC is the addition of a non-smoking bar! Good beer and fresh air too! Alright!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Thornberry Jerry Thornberry, Louisville, KY
(05/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Great porter, good food, menu could be better

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Carbondale, IL
(02/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
unfortunately, the reports of this once great establishments demise are NOT exagerated. A native louisvillian, I once would visit every time I was home. at thanksgiving, I noticed the quality of beer has dipped even further. Go to cumberland instead

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review new orleans, LA
(12/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
My first visit here was in July '99. Very good beer on that visit. The Altbier was excellent and the raspberry mead was also good. Food was typical bar and grill fare. On the basis of that visit I recommended that my colleagues and I return in July 2000. Big mistake. Service and food had slipped a notch and the beer had taken a serious nose dive! I was embarrassed to have recommended it to my coworkers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Orez Jack Orez, Sheboygan, WI
(01/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
Since a friend of mine lives in Louisville, I’ve been going to the BBC about 2 times a year for the last 4 years. The BBC has changed. It used to have tasty beers, a very good selection of beers, and great food. The last two times that I’ve been there, the beer selection was inconsistent and the quality poor. Do they have a new brewmeister? It appears to me that this place is becoming a restaurant that makes beer - disappointing. Hopefully they’ll figure it out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt Eby Kurt Eby, Columbus, OH
(11/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
This brewpub is worth several visits. Expect good service, good food, and quality beer. That's what we got!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. Ross M. Ross, Elkhart, IN
(10/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
One of the best brewpubs I've ever been to. All the beers were very good examples of their respective styles. Their raspberry Mead is the best Mead I've ever had. Janell provided exceptional service and answered our beer questions. If you're in Louisville, don't miss this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Halseth Randy Halseth, Vicksburg, MI
(03/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Beers were decent, too bad they were out of the hoppy stuff. Food was inexpensive and plentiful. Service - good. Old breweriana on the walls is nice. Worth a return trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(03/15/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.671 seconds) 20:22:19 54.227.86.164, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS